Page 1 of 2

Need insurance for an Evo!!

Posted: June 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm
by Triniwondaboy
Hey anyone can give me some leads on getting insurance for an Evo 9? Went through the yellow pages and nada. Seems no one would touch it and those that would only off 3rd party which is worthless.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 10:01 am
by crazybalhead
They will tell you not to buy that vehicle.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 10:09 am
by Triniwondaboy
So far they just told me flat out no we don't insure them.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 10:20 am
by hmph
So far they just told me flat out no we don't insure them.

unfortunately u gonna really catch u @ss to get that. for my IX it was real pressure. and 3rd party worthless.

you under 25? is it a 2005 or 2006?

lol they even ask me what mods...

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 10:23 am
by Triniwondaboy
It's an 05 and I'm 32. Who did you get it from? And to think this is my third car too!

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 10:26 am
by hmph
cool with your age it should not be a worry. i got it with algico.

BTW i wanna see ur IX lol..

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 10:27 am
by crazybalhead
Trini, it soes not matter. I recently got into an accident with my vii, even though I told them I was right, they assume I was wrong based on the vehicle, and are TELLING other insurance companies this. Will not go into detials, still being investigated.

It is very frustrating. No-one is willing to insure an evo.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 10:38 am
by Triniwondaboy
I spoke to ALGICO and nought but I'll try them again.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 11:10 am
by idlemind
crazybalhead, doesnt the police report decides who wrong and who right?

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 11:22 am
by blackb12
try presidential insurance.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 11:23 am
by crazybalhead
Yes, but my insurance prefers to believe the other guys "police report" rather than check with the station themselves. It's only because I am complaining they are sending an investigator today. I was driving an evo so I wrong nah.

I got an officer to read the station diary entry to me and I am clearly right.

:| :| :|

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 11:48 am
by De Dragon
crazybalhead wrote:Yes, but my insurance prefers to believe the other guys "police report" rather than check with the station themselves. It's only because I am complaining they are sending an investigator today. I was driving an evo so I wrong nah.
I got an officer to read the station diary entry to me and I am clearly right.

:| :| :|

Yet yuh buying ah nex' one? :lol: I know the mentality, he driving fas' cyar so he automatically wrong :?

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 4:31 pm
by Triniwondaboy
crazybalhead, doesnt the police report decides who wrong and who right?

Its actually the insurance that decides who is write and wrong. The police just take both sides of the story and charge anyone who has to be charged.

Gonna check with Presidential and with New India

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 6:42 pm
by wagonrunner
Triniwondaboy wrote:crazybalhead, doesnt the police report decides who wrong and who right?

Its actually the insurance that decides who is write and wrong. The police just take both sides of the story and charge anyone who has to be charged.

Gonna check with Presidential and with New India

really??

Posted: June 10th, 2009, 2:45 pm
by honda hoe
ummm

u could check wit dream carz

they guarantee full comp on sports vehicles they sell

dunno if they could arrange someting wit u if u didn't buy the car from them

Posted: June 10th, 2009, 3:57 pm
by Dion76
call 3k's brokers in tunapuna 477-5890 & 663-3476

Posted: June 11th, 2009, 2:14 am
by ecktt
I was in the same boat a few months back. Some international companies will insure ur car but you will still need local third party coverage to drive on the road.
basically the international insurance will cover you and the thrid part will cover.....wait for it....the thrid parties.

I said screew all of that and just took the thrid party. Then again, I don't cross 80 kmph all that much.

Posted: June 11th, 2009, 9:05 am
by venum
How come your insurance believing the other guy's police report. Won't u both have the same report if u both went 2 report it together ?

If it is so much trouble to get full comp insurance for a sports car, then plenty ppl gonna take the third party and this could mean trouble for other drivers who get hit by the sports car with 3rd party insurance

Imagine u driving a Pajero/Prado/mecerdes/bmw/audi and u get hit by the sports car

Did u talk to your agent?

Who u insured with ?

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 12:07 pm
by Triniwondaboy
Got through via Dream Carz. Even though he said they only insure for him I asked them and they say they do it for anyone. Still debating if to do the car through Dream Carz though but we'll see.

They do just as the Honda Young Lady said (mums brough me up that way) they insure with an international company and 3rd party to drive here.

If you guys know anyone looking for insurance let me know and I can give them the link.

It's 20g's though :-(

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 8:10 pm
by Slow Poke
^^^^fyi honda hoe is male lol 20g's real steep try bankers insurance

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 8:30 pm
by Triniwondaboy
Yeah he was a buyer for my Sir just didn't relaise.

Tried Bankers and nought. To make things worse RBTT won't do the loan on foreign insurance so back to square one. Might move baks if I get someone else

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 8:37 pm
by honda hoe
try scotia

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 8:42 pm
by Triniwondaboy
Plan to try someone else on Monday bright and early.

Posted: June 13th, 2009, 10:42 pm
by Dion76
call 3 k's insurance brokers they do evo's and scotia bank is good

Posted: June 13th, 2009, 10:58 pm
by ZeroOne
check dis fella he could give yuh some advice

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=252920

Insurace

Posted: June 14th, 2009, 10:53 pm
by mello1
Hey you can check New India Couva they did full comp on my evo 7

Posted: June 16th, 2009, 1:28 pm
by honda hoe
^ hmmmmm

Posted: June 16th, 2009, 8:17 pm
by rmrunner
cut all things short try NEW INDIA>>>>they does insure anything or COLFIRE

Posted: June 16th, 2009, 8:52 pm
by QG
Wayyy, all that stress dude!

And BTW, police not suppose to say whether you or the other person right or wrong. What they do, is take report, listen to both person and go through the details step by step.

Some Police will then try to reason it out using the DETAILS they got and try to get the wrong person to understand that he or she is wrong so both person comes to an agreement.

*BUT IT IS REALLY UP TO THE INSURANCE TO DETERMINE WHO IS RIGHT OR WRONG*

Posted: June 18th, 2009, 8:58 am
by dgobo
Insurance companies in trinidad are full of sheit. i did, get my vii insured fully comp with maritime but unfortunately i was involved a lil accident with it, after that i got a big bag of salt for my present viii with them.
i got the foreign insurance for a year or two, which cost something like 16k per year, never had a claim, thank god. so i cant really comment if it's worth it.

Now im just third party and really really careful, would love to go back fully comp with a reputable local company thou, just for the piece of mind.

anyway best of luck bro