Carb. Flooding

Posted: March 18th, 2009, 11:27 am
by centralized(m)
hey fellas was d ceen??? still at it with meh 4g15 carb. dey until i find a good replacement engine (efi-with tranny) for the libero (any suggestions/ good pricing????)!!!!! well i dont have the time too look tru the forum to find info on carb flooding.....but wen i did a tune up d other day and using bars spray to clean the carb i realized it had alot of gas in the carb. still afta the car is switch off...the mech say d carb flooding but he dont deal up with carb. repair and ting......but i do find my car runs rich....as i smell gas plenty and that my gas is wasting away!!!!

Note: perivous spark plugs b4 tune up resulted in an un-smooth ride but since i changed to ngk v-power i saw a drastic change in startup power and idling.....

so waht i wanna know is 1. what can cause the carb. to flood??
2. is it repairable??
3. where i can go to get it repaired professionally without any firg ups.....lol.....???? Is chag. auto a good place to go???

Posted: March 18th, 2009, 7:32 pm
by centralized(m)
any1?????

Posted: March 19th, 2009, 6:28 am
by janfar
Yuh need to overhaul that carb for sure. The jets probably clogged open and allowing excessive gas to come into the carb.

Where you from???

Posted: March 19th, 2009, 9:25 am
by Dave
carbs flood cause the float sink or check valve not working properly(worn or sticking)

can be fixed but these pieces might be hard to find and might also cost a pretty penny

Posted: March 27th, 2009, 7:16 pm
by saltydog
your carb look like this

http://www.ehautolink.com.my/EHAutolink ... 20T120.jpg

then rebuild show be very straight forward, the kit should be cheap and available by most parts places. the problem sounds more like float adjustment and set up.

if it looks like this

http://www.ehautolink.com.my/Image/52/4G15

good luck they are a pain in the a$$

Posted: March 28th, 2009, 1:37 pm
by centralized(m)
i not seein the 2nd pic but is the first one an electric carb??...cause dat is what in d 'bero!!!!! not too sure if it looks like it

Posted: April 6th, 2009, 7:51 pm
by centralized(m)
anyting else i need t know fellas!! Where i can get this fixed to oem specs or even ah slight tune up??????

Posted: April 18th, 2009, 9:44 pm
by DJ Anand
i have the same prob with my ck2 carb. when i switch off, the engine sputters and then cuts off while spitting out gas. Had the carb serviced but did not make any difference. When i start with the engine cold, if i press the accelerator the car cuts off....yea i have problems. HELP US SOMEONE!!!!

Posted: April 19th, 2009, 9:44 am
by centralized(m)
what type of brand of gasket is on the carb. for the 4g15 engine??????

Posted: April 20th, 2009, 7:53 am
by Dave
i have the same prob with my ck2 carb. when i switch off, the engine sputters and then cuts off while spitting out gas. Had the carb serviced but did not make any difference. When i start with the engine cold, if i press the accelerator the car cuts off....yea i have problems. HELP US SOMEONE!!!!

plunger is in need of changing

your only get by is wait for car to fully warm and then move off

Posted: April 20th, 2009, 12:11 pm
by prutoonkman
Yes partner, its a long time I haven't played around with a carburetor but the following can be noted from my experience.
1. Check the float to see if it has a hole. If this is so then replace it.
2. If 1 is not true then check the float adjustment. With the float up (not touching the top cover) the check valve should cut off the supply of gas (verifying the operation of the check-valve as well). You can check this by blowing from the gas inlet while raising float. Adjust float as necessary. The float works just like a tank float. I believe that the carburetor kit has a check valve.

Carburetor kits are available so the pump and main gasket can be changed. I don't think it is necessary to take out the entire carb just the top piece since it is a flooding problem.

Posted: April 21st, 2009, 2:53 pm
by deltamike
The cab is probably continuiously over flooding but you may not see the effect white driving hard because the gas would be burning off.However you can make the following checks when you have switched off the engine.
1.After switching off take a peep down the cab throat and observe if gas is still trickling .( you may have to open the trottle )
2.You can also disconnect the supply line to the pump ( mechanical ) or cab and check for flow. The car should be parked at an incline with the back lower than front.
Now if in any of the above checks gas is flowing then your gas tank is being pressurised. There supposed to be a return line on the pump to prevent this from happening. You must still check the float and check valve as the other guys mentioned in their response.

Posted: April 21st, 2009, 3:49 pm
by centralized(m)
what type of brand of gasket is on the carb. for the 4g15 engine??????

Posted: April 24th, 2009, 8:31 am
by Dave
keystar is the brand

Posted: April 24th, 2009, 10:43 am
by centralized(m)
thanks man, Dave,

Posted: April 24th, 2009, 8:15 pm
by prutoonkman
Dave you remind me of the brand. You are right although I think it is Keyster if my memory serves me right but what the hell, as long as he gets it and he is happy then I am happy too.