JIC FLT TAR or KW VARIANT 3???

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

daymean

JIC FLT TAR or KW VARIANT 3???

Postby daymean » February 13th, 2009, 9:19 am

Hey guys,

considering some coilovers for my car.
I am interested in the JIC FLT TAR coilovers, here is a link with the specs....
http://www.jic-magic.com/Vi...CarModelID=41&CarMakeID=6
i am looking at the ones with the softer spring rates...8kg/mm front and 7kg/mm rear....because it will be mainly used on the streets and minor solodex...i don't want an overly stiff set-up...

what are your views on this suspension compared to the KW Variant 3's??

wishihadaEVO

Postby wishihadaEVO » April 8th, 2010, 9:54 pm

this may be kinda late bro, but what did you end up going with?....i am looking for coilovers for my evo right now and was looking for some user feedback from evo owners out there. Wanted to know if you had any feedback to give.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 9th, 2010, 8:30 am

wishihadaEVO, what you wanna know bout the evo coilovers?

wishihadaEVO

Postby wishihadaEVO » April 10th, 2010, 11:48 am

Tein type flex, was looking a those, just how bad and rough do they ride?......what are other good options for evo dampers. my OEM shocks are on the way out so want to replace with the best possible solution. my vehicle is daily driven with the often "spirited driving" and probably some solodex in the future. any first hand reviews on the teins would be useful as i was looking at those, best blend of cost and quality. i have often observed many people complain of japanese coilovers giving a bad ride.

LevinBZR

Postby LevinBZR » April 11th, 2010, 7:34 am

I've used the JIC before... really rough... really rough but the performance was superb (I sold those after no time). I had a foreign used set of HKS Hipermax II (didn't last) and have Cusco Zero 2E now, and the ride is really comfortable in comparison to the JIC.

I have a partner who has the Tien flex and they dont seem any different to the Cusco and I use my car daily. His car isn't a daily driver but the tradeoff for performance with a slightly stiffer ride is worth it. If my car wasn't a daily driver i'd get the JICs back but my vote is for the Cusco Zero 2E (not the 2R)... and they were available when I got them. I heard good things about Ksport and D2 (in terms of value for money)which i can't vouch for.

Read some reviews on evolutionm.net Peace.

wishihadaEVO

Postby wishihadaEVO » April 11th, 2010, 2:27 pm

Thanks LevinBZR thats exactly where the problem started, when i was reading alot of reviews on the evom forums. them guys don't really like the Teins (good performance but poor ride, which is expected) from what i was seeing, and the have rated the JICs very highly along with others like Ohlins ($$$$$$), KW etc. i have found that the D2 and K sport are decent but are entry level and budget and as such i think you lose some quality here but i never had any experience with any of them. Stance GR+ (monotube as opposed to the twin tube type flex) seems to be very highly rated as a slight notch below the high end JICs, Zeal function X and and Cusco 2R etc and in the same bracket as the type flex. right now i am leaning toward the Tein type Flex only because it is a recognized manufacturer but could be swayed to the Stance if i hear from anyone who has them in trinidad on their performance on our bad roads and on the track. .........by the way sorry for hijacking this thread here but i wanted to hear the evo owners' reviews cause our roads not like roads in the US

LevinBZR

Postby LevinBZR » April 11th, 2010, 10:14 pm

Daymien most likely won't mind the hijack, cool guy. I haven't seen or heard of anyone with the Stance in Trini but i won't be surprized if someone has them. If you're not accustomed to coilovers it'll take an adjustment priod. The first car that i had with coilovers was my Levin and since then all my cars had coilovers, all of which were significantly stiffer than stock. But if it's a sports car, it should feel as such and perform as such. The problem is the trini roads. I blew some coilovers by running them on their stiffest one day while i was driving through (a wicked pot hole) Santa Cruz.... bad idea. Considering the range of adjustment on most coilovers, for your purposes, the tEIN Type Flex should do the trick. The rest is up to you to tune to your specifications. I've had some expensive burn to learn experiences with coilovers so just go easy on the tuning until you get the hang of it.

wishihadaEVO

Postby wishihadaEVO » April 12th, 2010, 11:53 am

LevinBZR wrote:Daymien most likely won't mind the hijack, cool guy. I haven't seen or heard of anyone with the Stance in Trini but i won't be surprized if someone has them. If you're not accustomed to coilovers it'll take an adjustment priod. The first car that i had with coilovers was my Levin and since then all my cars had coilovers, all of which were significantly stiffer than stock. But if it's a sports car, it should feel as such and perform as such. The problem is the trini roads. I blew some coilovers by running them on their stiffest one day while i was driving through (a wicked pot hole) Santa Cruz.... bad idea. Considering the range of adjustment on most coilovers, for your purposes, the tEIN Type Flex should do the trick. The rest is up to you to tune to your specifications. I've had some expensive burn to learn experiences with coilovers so just go easy on the tuning until you get the hang of it.

thanks for all the advice and feedback hoss, big up.
the TME looks nice too BTW i usually see it on cipriani blvd.
raspect!

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » April 13th, 2010, 10:57 am

I am the agent for k-sport in trinidad so I might be biased but they are great value for money and give a good ride on the street. solodex performance speaks for itself.

wishihadaEVO

Postby wishihadaEVO » April 13th, 2010, 12:20 pm

saltydog wrote:I am the agent for k-sport in trinidad so I might be biased but they are great value for money and give a good ride on the street. solodex performance speaks for itself.

Of course Ryan, your track record is what had me considering the K-Sports initially when i spoke to you but the only thing i worried about is that i don't know much about the product to make an informed decision but i see a few people well speak about them as a good bang for your buck coilover on the evom forums.

wishihadaEVO

Postby wishihadaEVO » April 13th, 2010, 12:33 pm

Saltydog, i was swayed to the reputation of the tein and what "may" be a good blend between street use and track, i think the spring rates are not too harsh too and the twin tube provides more stroke and damping capability than the track oriented mono tube. but i could be all worng here and misinformed thats why i value input from guys like you and levinBZR....maybe ryan i eat my words and come back to get rid of the teins and outfit some K-sport but i hope not cause i would have wasted some money.....oh an when i checked out the prices all over the net the average price is 1900 USD then plus shipping, CIF, VAT etc and this guy Nik had them for 11800 TTD with a one year warranty so that is another deciding factor that price is wayyyyyyyyyy cheap for what you are getting .....................i hope :)

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » April 14th, 2010, 8:42 pm

no probs man, btw i sell the k sports for TT $6500 which is cheaper than you could get them in the US for

Return to “MITSUBISHI”