Early Evo 1-3 upgrades...

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Early Evo 1-3 upgrades...

Postby janfar » February 7th, 2009, 4:49 pm

I have been in possesion of an Evo 1 for a year now and its time to start modifications. I have been doing some research on different aspects of the vehicle and was wondering what are some of the things you guys have done.

So, what upgrades have you guys done and where did you get them?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 8th, 2009, 9:32 am

Well I don't own an evo 1-3 but basically those cars ran 10psi if I'm not mistaken.

Usually people change the fuel pump and run a boost controller (all the ones I've seen used a Greddy profec B) and took it to about 15psi safely. Some even uprated the injectors as well...

Of course exhaust is also performed by many (3") and also the intake by means of simply just an aftermarket filter.

A good set of platinum plugs is also a benefit, but don't count out a fresh set of normal NGK plugs.

As well of course many change the stock clutch setup. Some choose the street and strip way for a little more drivability, or the copper route for more performance. That choice is up to you in the end.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » February 8th, 2009, 9:09 pm

Evo 1-3s have the same engine as the US Eclipse. Upgrades and parts are readily available out of the US as well. I suggest you have a read at dsmtuners.com or dsmtalk.com (found those via google).

Postby janfar » February 9th, 2009, 3:01 am

Ok, i think they run at about 11-12 PSI.

I have already installed a walbro fuel pump and ACT street and strip.

Looking forward on redoing the intake and exhaust next... Any suggestions?
Last edited by janfar on February 9th, 2009, 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

FORDRACING

Postby FORDRACING » February 9th, 2009, 8:58 am

3 inch exhaust from front straight to back will free up d power in the mid range to high rpm area rel nice. Boost controller, I see u was talking bout 22 psi no way on stock set up, can safely run 16 psi tuned wit and safc and pushing it 18 psi on pump gas and 20 psi on race gas. Intake is needed makes a hell of a alot of difference HKS has a bolt on set up which is ideal. I have an evo 2 which is my daily driver which i currently run 16 psi tuned wit an safc II and i have also been doing my research just as u have, if u want i can send u links to some good sites just for your knowledge etc. I would definetly stress on getting an apexi safc if u gonna up boost as i'm guessing u working on a budget here right so any sort of management is out of the question. Oh and most importantly make sure that your timing belt, balance shaft belt is in good shape. I would also recommend getting a metal head gasket and while u at it some arp head studs just to make sure tings safe. These small mods that are not soo costly will really free up some power trust me.

Postby janfar » February 9th, 2009, 9:36 am

Budget...

Made a typo with the 22 there hoss.

Where can i get the HKS intake for my car?

Looking at going the full management way, but in a timing. Wanna do mods one at a time and log the difference.

I figure my next mod will be intake.

FORDRACING

Postby FORDRACING » February 9th, 2009, 9:44 am

I guess a good start would be W2J on the forum, or TUNER IMPORTS, give them a call and see what they can source for you they have a lot of familiarity with these cars and engines and have some aftermarket support for these models.

EVO III Monster

Postby EVO III Monster » February 10th, 2009, 12:50 pm

real good advice dey gregory...........

FORDRACING

Postby FORDRACING » February 10th, 2009, 1:07 pm

THANKS BRO JUST SHARING A BIT OF WHAT I HAVE LEARNED FROM RESEARCH AND FELLOW EXPERIENCED EVO 1-3 OWNERS LOL.

scientist

Postby scientist » February 10th, 2009, 3:45 pm

Heres a better piece of advice...Stay away from the HKS intakes with mushroom filters. Your turbo will hate YOU.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 11th, 2009, 11:28 pm

any of u all thinking about selling allyuh evo 1-3...i real sorry but i think its the sweetest evo!

southside crew

Postby southside crew » February 12th, 2009, 6:26 pm

yea Evo2 for sale ... best condition .. 735-3418 gregory..

Nik

Postby Nik » February 12th, 2009, 7:28 pm

scientist wrote:Heres a better piece of advice...Stay away from the HKS intakes with mushroom filters. Your turbo will hate YOU.

just wondering... why???
i have one on my gsr, & now u have me curious
my car workin good as is so far... basically stock 4G93T with an aeromotive fuel pressure regulator, apexi safc II, manual boost controller (keepin at the stock 10 psi for now) & the hsk intake setup.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 13th, 2009, 12:57 am

southside crew wrote:yea Evo2 for sale ... best condition .. 735-3418 gregory..

isnt this d yellow aka d fastest evo II in tnt? ....or this is another car?

southside crew

Postby southside crew » February 13th, 2009, 9:11 am

next car silver..

My car is D yellow EVO III that you talkin bout...

OMAR last car ( hunterzforlife car now) was the fastest EVO II 12.1 with NOS...

Postby Maserati » February 13th, 2009, 7:08 pm

Nik wrote:
scientist wrote:Heres a better piece of advice...Stay away from the HKS intakes with mushroom filters. Your turbo will hate YOU.

just wondering... why???
i have one on my gsr, & now u have me curious

read here
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=230720

Nik

Postby Nik » February 14th, 2009, 3:05 pm

thanks for the link Maserati, definitely gonna change my hks filter to either k&n or apexi

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 15th, 2009, 3:03 am

apexi FTW!!

Postby *KRONIK* » February 15th, 2009, 9:48 am

JJ16 wrote:apexi FTW!!

i cant see myself pelting out 1200 for a filter though :? :? :?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 15th, 2009, 5:19 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
JJ16 wrote:apexi FTW!!

i cant see myself pelting out 1200 for a filter though :? :? :?

think about how much good it would do to your engine and then you would notice tha 1200 isnt much 8-)

Postby *KRONIK* » February 15th, 2009, 5:53 pm

550 for a K&N works good 4 me :mrgreen:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 15th, 2009, 7:02 pm

^^ :lol: true eh, but i guess some ppl would prefer apexi over K&N....which one last longer *this question is directed to someone who had both* if it have anyone like that here.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 15th, 2009, 7:07 pm

i wont know......

ive been using K&N since i had an intake and it works good and clean up is easy..... :lol:

FORDRACING

Postby FORDRACING » February 15th, 2009, 7:56 pm

I currently have the apexi intake set up works for me.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 15th, 2009, 9:22 pm

^^^how much u pay for it?

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » February 16th, 2009, 11:46 am

apexI workin good here also.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » February 16th, 2009, 1:10 pm

Funny thing is I have the HKS and it works great for me..

FORDRACING

Postby FORDRACING » February 16th, 2009, 2:24 pm

JJ16 check GT RACING he might be able to handle yuh.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » February 17th, 2009, 10:35 am

or call Brian last night I saw the complete BOLT on kit fo rthe EVO 1-3 /389 7333

Return to “MITSUBISHI”