by idlemind
wrong spark plugs?
u engine wash regularily? relubricate?
ur coil packs fastened properly?

check the CS Lancer! Thread first post for the correct plug

4g18

Posted: November 19th, 2008, 8:02 pm
by krazykid24
the packs are fastened properly, no regular washes, no lubrication... (dont really understand what you meant....lubricating what? ) i'll have to check the spark plug issue....

Posted: November 19th, 2008, 8:15 pm
by idlemind
lubricate as in regreasing the engine area with wd40, shock oil, crc after engine wash

re

Posted: November 19th, 2008, 8:19 pm
by krazykid24
i think my wife took the car and did that once.... what can that cause if anything? seeing that the other things u mentioned doesnt apply to me... do you have any other ideas other than the lubrication? thanx!

Posted: November 19th, 2008, 8:35 pm
by idlemind
ensuring the coil packs are well grounded
and the type of plug u using are ur major areas to investigate

u can also consider a grounding kit

theres a mech, Robert Chan somewey dey in sando
do a search here for him or other guys here from south can tell u where he's located

Posted: November 19th, 2008, 8:38 pm
by ronsin1
check with he user ryansouthman he had similar problems with his coil packs

Posted: November 20th, 2008, 7:59 am
by venum
sounding like bad grounding to me

Posted: November 20th, 2008, 9:03 am
by Cardo-MR
I suffered the fate with one of the coil packs melting @ the tip........the only thing that caused it was using the wrong plugs,causing the current to jump & not flow smooth.......
Mine was a MIVEC doh..

Posted: November 20th, 2008, 9:20 am
by maniac kid
last time i checked (which was a while back) robert chan was located behind belgroves funeral home (on d coffee)

re: coil pack melting

Posted: November 20th, 2008, 6:50 pm
by krazykid24
thanks for all the advise....got it checked out today and it really was a bad ground that led to parts of the harness being burnt out also... it all sorted out now.... but the price of those coil packs are EXPENSIVE.... $1500.00 for one by Marud's on Union Rd. M/Bella... oh well.... thanks for the help!!!!

Posted: November 20th, 2008, 9:29 pm
by idlemind
glad to hear u got it sorted
u got a good engine there, take care of it :idea: