Gas tank cover not popping?
Posted: October 30th, 2008, 4:41 pm
by renegade_wolf
any of u know where i can get this to buy for a ck2 lancer?
meh problem is when i pull the leaver the cover not poping open like it used to. the locking mechanism working properly so it looking like the spring thing gone through.
right now fulling gas is a two man job one to pull the leaver and a next to push the cover.
anybody know where i could get this to buy asap.
thanks for any info in advance.
Posted: October 30th, 2008, 10:20 pm
by venum
happened to me too
someone traied to force open my CK2 fuel lid and bent the hinge
i sorta straightened it back mysel, but it not liek b4
so to open it, after i pull teh lever, the pump attendant does have to kinda play with it a lil bit
Posted: October 31st, 2008, 9:59 am
by Rudman
someone traied to force open my CK2 fuel lid and bent the hinge
i sorta straightened it back mysel, but it not liek b4
Dude, U alright? Trying Junkanese?
Get some sleep!......

Posted: October 31st, 2008, 6:07 pm
by rishi_j
do like me and invest in a small suction cup
Posted: October 31st, 2008, 8:15 pm
by Pirate
boy u hadda look of a right-off lancer and buy d assembly for small money.
Posted: November 2nd, 2008, 7:01 pm
by sickolancergyal
Man this happened to me i just bend a piece of wire place it around the bar and and it opens c0ol c0ol c0ol. laterz
Posted: November 23rd, 2008, 8:11 pm
by twisted mindz_69
tha happenin to min too.
like is a disease.
tha real f up .i gonna buy them 1.00 suction thingy and use it
Posted: November 23rd, 2008, 11:45 pm
by MISHI
You all should try unbolting the entire door off of the car. Then holding the hinge, manually attempt to move it back and forth. If you feel heavy resistance then you should find some way of loosening it... sometimes the hinge is damaged by forcefully pulling on it, sometimes it's just in need of a litle lubrication...
But do check and see if the hinge move freely. other than that there's a lil trick i learned from doing it on th evo..
Get an old disc pad with the long piece of metal that sticks out of it that serves as the warning clip (the galants carry this)
Use a pliers or something to remove it. Then pull it apart till it forms a "V"
Use some sort of rubber or electrical tape and wrap both ends... to prevent scratching...
fit one end into the slot between the two bolts of the filler door... the "V" must face to the inside.
Then bolt the fuel door tightly and check it for tension.... it should pop right out...
butusually it's just the hinge that needs lubrication...
Posted: November 26th, 2008, 8:18 am
by crazybalhead
OR it could be that the clip that holds on the spring to the door is broken. In that case, use a small metal clip with a screw hole (like the ones that comes with speakers to screw it into sheet metal, and use that to attach it ti the door with a screw.
in any case, take a ten socket and screw our the door and see what going on. Might take you five minutes to fix it.