CK4 - Shocks and shaking steering wheel - help

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

sickolancergyal

CK4 - Shocks and shaking steering wheel - help

Postby sickolancergyal » September 15th, 2008, 12:31 pm

I brought new shocks and my bf and I believe that the car still drives rough as though i didn't buy all four shocks. Is there any good brand besides Tokico ?

Also, even though I camber, align, rotate the wheel and balance the rims all at the same time I'm still getting a shaking at the steering wheel when i drive over 120.. please put aside the fact that I drive at that speed lol

In addition, neone knows where i can get the mitsubishi symbol for the front grill, mine fell off and it looking shitty without it.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 15th, 2008, 12:55 pm

Best shocks for lancer KYB. Did you check yuh tyres to see how badly they are cutting..if they are?
Also check yuh rims to see if they have ne "dish".

sickolancergyal

Postby sickolancergyal » September 15th, 2008, 1:10 pm

Dish ?? and Tyres not cutting

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 15th, 2008, 2:25 pm

"Dish" Meaning giving a serious wobble.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 15th, 2008, 2:39 pm

sickolancergyal, this problem ur experiencing is form ur axles

no matter how much u align/camber/speed balance

if ur axles tripod is slack inside the cup u will have this vibration

if is not dat then Cardo-MR, suggests is ur rims.... and my abe rite

have them both checked

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 15th, 2008, 3:19 pm

OH yea i forget to mention the axles....thanks dey *KRONIK*.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 15th, 2008, 4:15 pm

word Cardo-MR,

sickolancergyal

Postby sickolancergyal » September 15th, 2008, 7:06 pm

sickolancergyal, this problem ur experiencing is form ur axles

no matter how much u align/camber/speed balance

if ur axles tripod is slack inside the cup u will have this vibration

if is not dat then Cardo-MR, suggests is ur rims.... and my abe rite

have them both checked

Thanks i thought it was the axles but the guy i spoke to acted like he didn't know. But If i camber and balance wouldn't that offset the dish ?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 15th, 2008, 10:11 pm

i believe the "dish" is referring to any damage in the circumference of the rim.
this can cause vibration also

if the guy u check eh know then have some one else sort it out 4 u

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 16th, 2008, 8:10 am

1 - check your rims
2 - Check your steering rack - bad ends can do this also
3 - check axles
4 - if u checked the above 3 and alignment and camber is good check for a bent tyre,, yes the tyre itself can be bent

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 16th, 2008, 11:40 am

First of all sickolancergyal, welcome to the forums!

Since it seems that U have a genuine problem, I will refrain from asking the usual question we ask new funers.. :lol:

Tokico shocks are never to be used on dem CK lancers, period! Ask venum, he had the same stiff ride problem when he bought them. Pelt dem Tokicos as far as yuh could throw them! Always insist on KYB for the lancers. OEM replacements are Excel-G for the front and Premium for the back.

As for the the vibrating problem, Kronik and natti have yuh covered there.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 16th, 2008, 9:40 pm

pretty much......... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » September 16th, 2008, 10:42 pm

Sicky

Front Wheel Drive Trinidad will sort out and rebuild your axels like new

disassemble it, sand blast them, rebuild, re-grease and re-install

warning: complete axel and velocity joint rebuild is a bit $$$

i spent $2800.00 for the two outer joints on the L200

Postby *KRONIK* » September 17th, 2008, 9:12 am

OR u could get a set of foreign used for like 600-800 whic is just to pull out to old and insert the new ones and top up with one qt tranny fluid :shock: :shock:

sickolancergyal

Postby sickolancergyal » September 17th, 2008, 10:10 pm

Thanks to all of you for the post.... problem is my mechanic doesn't take me seriously.

Mentioned the problem and possible solution and the --- laughed. he said he'll do it next

week though.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » September 21st, 2008, 11:13 pm

so what about if she have aftermarket whels and require hub centering rings

and lawd "Dish" Meaning giving a serious wobble.

dish is a term to reference that the wheel or rim may be bent

i would suggest rotating the wheels put the back in the front, this is a eay way to troubleshoot if a rim or tyre is bent

try this and let us know

Sam87

Postby Sam87 » September 28th, 2008, 7:47 pm

I have a lancer - With the exact problem... lol

I think I could sort out that problem....

Shaking Steering Wheel:-

I using 16" RIMS with slight bends in them. Although they in the back after 120 my steering wheel going mad.

Shocks:-

Lancer's does ride hard. I come to that conclusion after buying KyB and Moroe and got the same results.

Lancer Sign.

Went by a graphics shop and the cut a piece of vynl in the place. It hold out good and looking original.

Does that Help?

Contact me for details on persons who could link you up with what you need.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”