Evolution / Impreza WRX, Sti Challenge - Upcomming Event

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

TREX

Evolution / Impreza WRX, Sti Challenge - Upcomming Event

Postby TREX » January 14th, 2008, 2:20 pm

CARS is in the process of planning a special event for 2008. We are calling it the Evolution / Impreza Challenge and essentially it is a competition designed to match our two favorite rivals the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution and the Subaru Impreza WRX/STi in head to head competition and see which mark will come out on top.

We are still in the planning stage but the key items to note are as Follows:

1. The proposed date will be July / Aug 2008 whenever we get a free weekend.

2. The event will be open to all Evos form the 1 to X and all Impreza WRX and Sti models. To keep it simple for this event we will stick to this class only.

3. So far we are looking at 2 events, a drag event at Camden and a Solodex event at ARC. The solodex course, it will be simple and fast, designed to test the cars and drivers.

4. Solodex Class EP rules will apply with some possible exceptions, which will be discussed at another date.

5. We are hoping that the events can be run on a Saturday (Drags) and Sunday (Solodex) with the final results being tallied and prizes awarded on the Sunday. If this cannot work then it will have to be on 2 separate weekends.

6. This will be a team event so we will start by liaising with the Mitsubishi and Subaru clubs after which each club can select a team. I’m thinking that a team will comprise a minimum of five (5) cars with two (2) alternates one for Solodex and the other for drags. That way the dedicated Drag cars can compete at what they are best at without having to compromise performance on a handling biased event.

7. The points will be calculated using the TOTAL score of the team so everyone has to pull his/her weight and perform. For the solodex event, the competitors will be allowed to drive the course at speed before hand to ensure that they understand it and to avoid DNF’s.

8. The 2 teams must be selected before hand and competitors must come prepared.

9. Helmets are mandatory. Roll cages as determined by the ¼ mile speeds (am not sure about this).

We still have some issues to iron out and there will be a cost to host the event, to kick things off my company will be a sponsor and I HOPE that some of you guys can encourage other organizations to participate. We not looking for huge sums but something reasonable will work.

That’s the plan for now; I will arrange a meeting after Carnival with members of the 2 clubs and the Head of Solodex to get things kicked off.

If this event works well we intend to make it an annual affair and perhaps include some more marks.

Take care

Barry M

evo6

Postby evo6 » January 14th, 2008, 5:05 pm

Nice!!!! I in dat. Can anyone tell if their is an evo club in Trinidad, and if so where can I find them, website or something.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » January 14th, 2008, 9:08 pm

Sounds good Barry....some suggestions..

1. Teams should comprise of less cars, two or three maybe....that way we get a lot more teams.
2.Have a general meeting with all those interested.
3.Solicit a sponsor...maybe Duane Trinituner might be interested.

all in all i'm in....

DEVI

Postby DEVI » January 14th, 2008, 9:10 pm

^oops sorry barry just read youre whole post...

Zandolie

Postby Zandolie » January 15th, 2008, 3:44 am

I coming for that...and I like the timeframe to get ready.

daymean

Postby daymean » January 15th, 2008, 8:08 am

yea i am interested as well..do u have to be a member of cars to take part...??

TREX

Postby TREX » January 15th, 2008, 8:23 am

daymean wrote:yea i am interested as well..do u have to be a member of cars to take part...??

NO MEMBERSHIP TO CARS NOT REQUIRED BUT u should consider joining the club.

stretch

Postby stretch » January 15th, 2008, 10:25 am

is G.Carrington Colt/Evo hatch considered an evo???

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » January 15th, 2008, 11:11 am

lookin fwd to this event.

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » January 15th, 2008, 11:13 am

i sure hope one weekend would do it
Last edited by blackNshine on May 26th, 2008, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » January 15th, 2008, 12:37 pm

Lovely...good to see things like this in motion. Image

TREX

Postby TREX » January 15th, 2008, 12:44 pm

R. Mutt wrote:Lovely...good to see things like this in motion. Image

I think this is long overdue and i'm fed up with all the ole talk about which one is better so its Put UP or Shut Up time and come August my RS2 will be packin'
and takin NO SUBE prisoners.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 15th, 2008, 1:41 pm

hells yea i in this... i will fly in just for this event yes.

gotta buy meh victors early beofre everybody buy them up :wink:

TREX

Postby TREX » January 15th, 2008, 2:20 pm

MadCrix wrote:hells yea i in this... i will fly in just for this event yes.

gotta buy meh victors early beofre everybody buy them up :wink:

We keep a special place for u Crix

BTW congrats buddy

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 15th, 2008, 2:22 pm

thanks man i home on de 13th so i may make it for dex... see you den

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » February 29th, 2008, 10:33 pm

Excellent idea, agree with Devi that teams should be 3 cars, so more teams, more competitive.

"is G.Carrington Colt/Evo hatch considered an evo???'

Whatever this is, he should be given a special Guest Invitation.

If possible, will make ASPL timing system available if there is a Drag/Dex course- 2 cars running against each other simultaneously.

W2J

Postby W2J » March 1st, 2008, 2:45 pm

when will this be I am interested once I get the new project this week coming.
Last edited by W2J on March 1st, 2008, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 1st, 2008, 3:11 pm

yea yea when when

DEVI

Postby DEVI » March 1st, 2008, 7:39 pm

What are the categories....Drags, Solodex, Drifting ???.....

daymean

Postby daymean » April 18th, 2008, 11:24 am

bump....whats the latest with this???

TREX

Postby TREX » April 23rd, 2008, 8:02 am

TIME IS SHORT NOW.
I need to meet with Reps from the Mitsu and Sube Clubs. Will discuss with Ryan P and Devi N on Sunday and kick things off from there.

ARC is not a problem but CAmden costs 15K per event and we don't have that kind of cash so I'm doing some negotiating on the side.
Will keep u posted.

W2J

Postby W2J » April 23rd, 2008, 9:04 am

TREX wrote:TIME IS SHORT NOW.
I need to meet with Reps from the Mitsu and Sube Clubs. Will discuss with Ryan P and Devi N on Sunday and kick things off from there.

ARC is not a problem but CAmden costs 15K per event and we don't have that kind of cash so I'm doing some negotiating on the side.
Will keep u posted.

very sad seeing that TTASA does not pay a black cent for use of Camden. I guess bunny needs to get himself another evo or Daniel needs more sponsorship.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 17th, 2008, 4:11 pm

What's the status?
:mrgreen:

W2J

Postby W2J » May 17th, 2008, 9:11 pm

^ like you ready... my new clutch should be going in tuesday

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 17th, 2008, 10:06 pm

allyuh realise it eh have any scoobie men that worth racing??

is only evos that really will be racing each other... except salty dog :lol: :lol: :lol:

one sided is joke lol

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 24th, 2008, 8:31 am

Subie men don't stand a chance. :lol:
So how is this thing going down?
Impreza vs Evo:
Events: Solodex, Drag, Rally, Navigational Rally, VK Super Special....................
How many teams per event? How many people per team?
Evo Solodex Team (s) ?
Evo Drag Team (s) ?
How we deciding who runs what?
:?:

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 24th, 2008, 8:36 am

Solodex options: Jodi, Devi, Mykoo, Crix, Mudboy, Pornie, Sanctifier, Zandolie, W2J, Carrington..................
Drag Options: No CT9A, Pornie, Jodi, Zandolie, Carrington, W2J .................................
Please add any names that I may have forgotten. :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » May 24th, 2008, 6:08 pm

^ drop Zando...his car is sold....

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » May 24th, 2008, 7:16 pm

^^ add mishi to dat .....ah hear he in boot camp training right now

Postby Razkal » May 24th, 2008, 7:16 pm

^ :shock: the lovely white 6 that I wanted to buy so so bad but now its gone so i cant and i didnt even know it was for sale up until i read this post and am now mortified and frankly saddened a bit? that car? :(

Return to “MITSUBISHI”