W.T.K Can a 4G92 MIVEC be turbo-charged??

Posted: December 3rd, 2007, 1:43 pm
by Cardo-MR
Can it be done??Well i was talking to some friend & well they said I could Turbo it & run 9psi MAX,without internals.
Any advice from the xperts?? :?

Posted: December 3rd, 2007, 5:00 pm
by MISHI
More like 7 psi safely wih an intercooler

Check out the forums at www.mivec.co.nz

Posted: December 3rd, 2007, 6:06 pm
by fras
All these mivec guys wanna go faster... Engine Swap!

Posted: December 3rd, 2007, 8:56 pm
by Cardo-MR
fras wrote:All these mivec guys wanna go faster... Engine Swap!

All ready did a swap 2 a mivec.I jus askn if it can b turboed.....I keepn my mivec NA.will make it FAST from there!!

Posted: December 3rd, 2007, 9:23 pm
by fras
Ok cool

Posted: December 4th, 2007, 5:38 pm
by SCHOLARS
i say yes

Posted: January 11th, 2008, 1:24 pm
by rjaggs
there are 300 hp turbo mivecs in Australia; Daniel Ramoutarsingh used to race a turbocharged mivec (mirage) in wallerfield......so the answer is yes

Posted: January 12th, 2008, 3:06 pm
by Cardo-MR
Buh didn't he change the block or engine??

Posted: February 6th, 2008, 3:20 pm
by rjaggs
i know the fella who worked on the engine personally, and he gave no indication that the block or head was changed....he told us that the 4g92 mivec engine is an excellent engine for turbocharging, as is

Posted: February 6th, 2008, 4:27 pm
by venum
naything can take boost

how well it is done will determine the reliablility under boost

Posted: February 6th, 2008, 4:37 pm
by Mitsu power
^^^ that guy of your left out some details .. because that not true ..

Bang for the buck its not wort it ..

1st .. you will have to reduce the compression a mivec runs 11- 1
2nds .. intenals anything more that 7 - 9 psi your engine will blow up .. the mivec pistons and crank are build with light weight in mind ( its not strong enough )
3rd .. management you will have to get your working becuse you got the map and bigger injector also the mivec to keep talking with each other
4th the mivec rockers aren't very strong ( light weight thinking ) anythink above 12psi and boof there gone

the 300hp that was mentioned earlier is pratically a a whole head and block internals redone on the mivec engine from rpw

Posted: February 6th, 2008, 5:04 pm
by rjaggs
firstly, mivec comes with a steel crank, no problem there

a set of glx pistons will be used, they will have to be treated to take the heat....$200 tt per piston

valve springs can be re used, they strong enough

most expensive addition will be the management system

no more than about 9 lbs of boost

Posted: February 6th, 2008, 5:08 pm
by fras
If u up for a project... Why not 6-7psi!
If not... NOS!

Posted: February 7th, 2008, 2:01 am
by southside crew
^^ what kinda times we looking at with those set ups?

Posted: February 7th, 2008, 4:29 pm
by Cardo-MR
fras wrote:If u up for a project... Why not 6-7psi!
If not... NOS!

Actually I'm going with the NOS.The turbo is 2 much down time for me & MONEY even doh it can be done with it Bone STOCK.
NOS would be in by july /august.

Posted: April 3rd, 2008, 2:36 pm
by Cardo-MR
bUH THE MIVEC CAN BE TURBOED....EVEN IF ITS A 2.0V6 MIVEC
http://swervemotorsports.com/hks/hks-sl ... 38323.aspx
iF I GEH A FTO ENGINE RIGHT NOW....I SELL MY 1.6MIVEC....SO NE ONE HAVE ONE?? :D

Posted: April 3rd, 2008, 2:37 pm
by Cardo-MR
^^I FIND THE SET UP NEAT TO N THE LINK.

Re: W.T.K Can a 4G92 MIVEC be turbo-charged??

Posted: February 12th, 2021, 10:03 am
by Performance nation
I am at 13psi with my stock mivec

Posted: February 12th, 2021, 10:44 am
by Haze
#performance nation.. how long have u had this setup running and what size exhaust and turbo?

Posted: February 12th, 2021, 12:43 pm
by Performance nation
My Wagon turbo charged approaching 3 years and I am running 3 inch exhaust

Posted: February 12th, 2021, 1:36 pm
by Performance nation
Haze wrote:#performance nation.. how long have u had this setup running and what size exhaust and turbo?
This Wagon turbo charged approaching 3 years and the turbo is a gt28.stock head and block engine is unopened.

Posted: February 12th, 2021, 9:31 pm
by Haze
ok nice, I'm running the manifold and turbo off of the airtrek which is the tdo4hl. currently have on 2inch exhaust which i need to widen

Posted: February 13th, 2021, 9:00 am
by Performance nation
What boost and power you running
Haze wrote:ok nice, I'm running the manifold and turbo off of the airtrek which is the tdo4hl. currently have on 2inch exhaust which i need to widen

Posted: February 15th, 2021, 4:50 pm
by Haze
right now i am currently on 9psi using 440 cc HI injectors

Posted: February 15th, 2021, 11:04 pm
by Performance nation
What ECU
Haze wrote:right now i am currently on 9psi using 440 cc HI injectors

Posted: February 16th, 2021, 9:45 pm
by Haze
Megasquirt2 plug and play, what are you using?

Posted: February 16th, 2021, 10:38 pm
by Performance nation
Aem
Haze wrote:Megasquirt2 plug and play, what are you using?

Posted: February 17th, 2021, 12:04 pm
by Haze
Do you have any pictures? And what size injectors ?

Posted: March 28th, 2021, 1:15 pm
by Performance nation
Haze wrote:Do you have any pictures? And what size injectors ?
I am using evo 3 injectors
IMG_20210328_130829.jpeg
IMG_20210328_130906.jpeg
IMG_20210328_130946.jpeg
IMG_20210328_131022.jpeg
IMG_20210328_131107.jpeg
IMG_20210328_131212.jpeg
IMG_20210328_130442.jpeg
FB_IMG_1608816762718.jpeg
The attachment IMG_20210328_130737.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG_20210328_130648.jpeg is no longer available

Posted: April 29th, 2021, 7:57 pm
by Haze
Looks good bro, what you have your plugs gapped at?