W.T.K Can a 4G92 MIVEC be turbo-charged??

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Cardo-MR

W.T.K Can a 4G92 MIVEC be turbo-charged??

Postby Cardo-MR » December 3rd, 2007, 1:43 pm

Can it be done??Well i was talking to some friend & well they said I could Turbo it & run 9psi MAX,without internals.
Any advice from the xperts?? :?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 3rd, 2007, 5:00 pm

More like 7 psi safely wih an intercooler

Check out the forums at www.mivec.co.nz

fras

Postby fras » December 3rd, 2007, 6:06 pm

All these mivec guys wanna go faster... Engine Swap!

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 3rd, 2007, 8:56 pm

fras wrote:All these mivec guys wanna go faster... Engine Swap!

All ready did a swap 2 a mivec.I jus askn if it can b turboed.....I keepn my mivec NA.will make it FAST from there!!

fras

Postby fras » December 3rd, 2007, 9:23 pm

Ok cool

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » December 4th, 2007, 5:38 pm

i say yes

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » January 11th, 2008, 1:24 pm

there are 300 hp turbo mivecs in Australia; Daniel Ramoutarsingh used to race a turbocharged mivec (mirage) in wallerfield......so the answer is yes

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 12th, 2008, 3:06 pm

Buh didn't he change the block or engine??

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » February 6th, 2008, 3:20 pm

i know the fella who worked on the engine personally, and he gave no indication that the block or head was changed....he told us that the 4g92 mivec engine is an excellent engine for turbocharging, as is

venum

Postby venum » February 6th, 2008, 4:27 pm

naything can take boost

how well it is done will determine the reliablility under boost

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » February 6th, 2008, 4:37 pm

^^^ that guy of your left out some details .. because that not true ..

Bang for the buck its not wort it ..

1st .. you will have to reduce the compression a mivec runs 11- 1
2nds .. intenals anything more that 7 - 9 psi your engine will blow up .. the mivec pistons and crank are build with light weight in mind ( its not strong enough )
3rd .. management you will have to get your working becuse you got the map and bigger injector also the mivec to keep talking with each other
4th the mivec rockers aren't very strong ( light weight thinking ) anythink above 12psi and boof there gone

the 300hp that was mentioned earlier is pratically a a whole head and block internals redone on the mivec engine from rpw

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » February 6th, 2008, 5:04 pm

firstly, mivec comes with a steel crank, no problem there

a set of glx pistons will be used, they will have to be treated to take the heat....$200 tt per piston

valve springs can be re used, they strong enough

most expensive addition will be the management system

no more than about 9 lbs of boost

fras

Postby fras » February 6th, 2008, 5:08 pm

If u up for a project... Why not 6-7psi!
If not... NOS!

southside crew

Postby southside crew » February 7th, 2008, 2:01 am

^^ what kinda times we looking at with those set ups?

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » February 7th, 2008, 4:29 pm

fras wrote:If u up for a project... Why not 6-7psi!
If not... NOS!

Actually I'm going with the NOS.The turbo is 2 much down time for me & MONEY even doh it can be done with it Bone STOCK.
NOS would be in by july /august.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » April 3rd, 2008, 2:36 pm

bUH THE MIVEC CAN BE TURBOED....EVEN IF ITS A 2.0V6 MIVEC
http://swervemotorsports.com/hks/hks-sl ... 38323.aspx
iF I GEH A FTO ENGINE RIGHT NOW....I SELL MY 1.6MIVEC....SO NE ONE HAVE ONE?? :D

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » April 3rd, 2008, 2:37 pm

^^I FIND THE SET UP NEAT TO N THE LINK.

Performance nation

Re: W.T.K Can a 4G92 MIVEC be turbo-charged??

Postby Performance nation » February 12th, 2021, 10:03 am

I am at 13psi with my stock mivec

Haze

Postby Haze » February 12th, 2021, 10:44 am

#performance nation.. how long have u had this setup running and what size exhaust and turbo?

Performance nation

Postby Performance nation » February 12th, 2021, 12:43 pm

My Wagon turbo charged approaching 3 years and I am running 3 inch exhaust

Performance nation

Postby Performance nation » February 12th, 2021, 1:36 pm

Haze wrote:#performance nation.. how long have u had this setup running and what size exhaust and turbo?
This Wagon turbo charged approaching 3 years and the turbo is a gt28.stock head and block engine is unopened.

Haze

Postby Haze » February 12th, 2021, 9:31 pm

ok nice, I'm running the manifold and turbo off of the airtrek which is the tdo4hl. currently have on 2inch exhaust which i need to widen

Performance nation

Postby Performance nation » February 13th, 2021, 9:00 am

What boost and power you running
Haze wrote:ok nice, I'm running the manifold and turbo off of the airtrek which is the tdo4hl. currently have on 2inch exhaust which i need to widen

Haze

Postby Haze » February 15th, 2021, 4:50 pm

right now i am currently on 9psi using 440 cc HI injectors

Performance nation

Postby Performance nation » February 15th, 2021, 11:04 pm

What ECU
Haze wrote:right now i am currently on 9psi using 440 cc HI injectors

Haze

Postby Haze » February 16th, 2021, 9:45 pm

Megasquirt2 plug and play, what are you using?

Performance nation

Postby Performance nation » February 16th, 2021, 10:38 pm

Aem
Haze wrote:Megasquirt2 plug and play, what are you using?

Haze

Postby Haze » February 17th, 2021, 12:04 pm

Do you have any pictures? And what size injectors ?

Performance nation

Postby Performance nation » March 28th, 2021, 1:15 pm

Haze wrote:Do you have any pictures? And what size injectors ?
I am using evo 3 injectors
IMG_20210328_130829.jpeg
IMG_20210328_130906.jpeg
IMG_20210328_130946.jpeg
IMG_20210328_131022.jpeg
IMG_20210328_131107.jpeg
IMG_20210328_131212.jpeg
IMG_20210328_130442.jpeg
FB_IMG_1608816762718.jpeg
The attachment IMG_20210328_130737.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG_20210328_130648.jpeg is no longer available

Haze

Postby Haze » April 29th, 2021, 7:57 pm

Looks good bro, what you have your plugs gapped at?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”