Problem with My Galant 2.0GDI

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Rapido

Problem with My Galant 2.0GDI

Postby Rapido » November 20th, 2007, 1:10 pm

Its a slight problem that happens once in a while, car drives fine and then suddenly at around 4,000rpm the engine light would come on and if I mash down on the acelerator to go max, the car would just stay at 4,000rpm and drive like it has no more power.
oh yea the engine is a 2.0 gdi.
As soon as I release from the accelerator and accelerate at a regular pace the light comes off and car drives as usual.
I had my mechanic check it and we jus changed a coil and cleaned the entire fuel system, still happening though. its really not bothering me as i really don't drive my car hard at all but i'm still trying to figure out what could be causing it.
Any productive input would be much appreciated!
thanks

Re: Problem with My Galant 2.0GDI

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 20th, 2007, 1:45 pm

Rapido wrote:...then suddenly at around 4,000rpm the engine light would come on ...As soon as I release from the accelerator and accelerate at a regular pace the light comes off and car drives as usual.
I had my mechanic check it and we jus changed a coil and cleaned the entire fuel system...thanks

Forgive my ignorance on the subject, but was the mechanic's decision to change the coilpack and clean the fuel system based on a computer diagnostic error code :?:

Rapido

Postby Rapido » November 20th, 2007, 1:58 pm

did diagnostic, found that one of the coils were slightly faulty so i told him go ahead and change it
the fuel system i asked to do some time as i was doing a full servicing

dragslide2020

Postby dragslide2020 » November 20th, 2007, 2:24 pm

is it an electronic accelerator or a cable? also it suppose to have a sensor just above the gas pedal, could be faulty

xtech

Postby xtech » November 20th, 2007, 7:25 pm

could be his trottle body magnet falling apart....oh an if u did hear a poping sound it could of been be your coil packs or a sticking lifter valve. same thing happened to my 4G93GDI...............start a Rapid search Rapido search an diagnos before u find yuh self dead in traffic..................or driving on 3 pistons like me. Car would not rev past 4k for nutting

Postby ronsin1 » November 21st, 2007, 6:42 am

^^ I very much doubt it's the TB I more believe it the TPS or as you said could be the sticking lifter valve

Rapido there are alot of threads on the forum that discussed GDI engines just do a search and maybe you could out what porblems you may have encountered

Rapido

Postby Rapido » November 23rd, 2007, 8:20 am

can you recomend anyone good close to pos and environs for me to take my car to check out these things?

venum

Postby venum » November 23rd, 2007, 6:16 pm

sounds liek a TPS to me

saw this with a 1.5 (4G15) GDI already

TPS was gonnnnne

started teh car, and it automatically revved up to max

Rapido

Postby Rapido » November 23rd, 2007, 8:59 pm

nah man venum, its not like that

i start to buck and loose power at around 4,000rpm
its like a speed/power cut at that rpm

anywhere under 4,000rpm the car drives fine
after that light comes on and then when i reduce speed and the position of the accelerator the light comes off and the cars goes back to normal

Rapido

Postby Rapido » November 26th, 2007, 4:14 pm

bump

anyone know where to take it to check?
i'm sending it down to my mechanic again today, hes saying it has somethign to do with some fuel something not working good.

anyone know anywhere else??

Rapido

sdf

Postby Rapido » December 6th, 2007, 12:34 pm

Just a update...

got the car back from diagnostic...

mechanic took out throttle body, opened it up, opened up some fuel regulator or some crap so and cleaned it out, took out some rust, flushed the entire fuels system and injector system.

have to watch how it moving now
working back to normal and gettin full range of power...

i told him about tps but hes sayin it not that...gotta monitor yes...

ricka

Postby ricka » December 7th, 2007, 11:02 am

Rapido can I get contact number for your mechanic. I might have similar problem :(

@gent 47

Postby @gent 47 » May 11th, 2008, 12:57 am

u might want to check ur high pressure pump on the engine. its supposed to be pushing fuel at 5 megapascals(750 psi).run a diagnostic and see.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”