CK4 Lancer Fuel Consumption
Posted: October 11th, 2007, 11:51 am
by Corollaman
Mornin tuners,
Lately, I've noticed that my mileage has been getting really poor with the lancer (4G92 SOHC Singapore). 300km/tank So, I decided to do try the usual fixes:
1. Make sure tires inflated properly.
2.Clean injectors
3. Change air filter
4. Spray out throttle body (and change oil after)
My mileage went up a little but not significantly.
So then I decided to run a little experiment. I filled up and, using a wideband O2 sensor, I drove in a way to keep the air/fuel ratio at least above 13.8.
One tank later, my mileage improved drastically (duh). However, I noticed that , once i press more than quarter throttle the car runs ridiculously rich - between 10.4 to about 12.5 lambda. I really REALLY had to feather the accelerator just to hit about 400km to a tank.
Is it that the stock engine management on the lancer is poor, or could there be another problem - eg. O2 sensor.
Thoughts and suggestions welcome!
Avin.
Posted: October 11th, 2007, 12:31 pm
by Dave
u cleaned the air flow sensor?
the sensor is heated and if dirty would run extra hot and the incoming air to cool and yield signal to ecu would not be relaying correct info
do when air flow stone cold and use electrical cleaner and let air dry and reset ecu too
did u reset ecu when u did above?
tps may also need recalibrating
Posted: October 11th, 2007, 2:59 pm
by Corollaman
Thanks Dave!
Nope, didn't clean the air flow sensor.
I'll try that and see.
did u reset ecu when u did above?
Did what above exactly.
As for calibrating the tps, no, i didn't think of that.
Posted: October 11th, 2007, 3:35 pm
by Dave
reset ecu and check back tps
tps works with maf in telling injectors how much should be sprayed dependent upon air flow and how much the throttle is open
maf service interval is actually when air fliters are serviced/changed
Posted: October 18th, 2007, 9:03 am
by twigs
My lancer is also doing bout 300km\tank . I tried of the most of the things above.What i would like to know is how do u reset the ECU and calibrate the TPS.
Posted: October 18th, 2007, 5:44 pm
by venum
reset ecu:
disconnect -ve battery pole only for ~ 10 min
make sure that the disconnected trerminal doesn't ground off
to calibrate TPS you need teh voltage specs of teh TPS and a voltmeter
Posted: October 18th, 2007, 7:39 pm
by Corollaman
Where i getting those voltages hoss.
It's a 4 wire connector.
One hadda be +ve
One hadda be gnd
One hadda be the actual voltage off the wiper.
But what is the 4th wire for?
Posted: October 19th, 2007, 9:44 pm
by blazing
+ve
-ve
closed position sensor
open position sensor
tps closed should be 0.5v and wot should be 5.0v i think.
can anyone confirm?
Posted: October 20th, 2007, 7:08 pm
by ziggi_d
^^^ i think i could second what blazing said b/c on Closed throttle i get a reading of +0.5v and on full open i get a reading of +5v on my AFC dilpsay. By its always best to use a meter in your case to make shure.
Posted: January 4th, 2008, 3:14 pm
by solidust
i also gettin bout 300km/h but one question. u all puttin super or premium???
stuff
Posted: April 24th, 2008, 1:03 pm
by mitsutt
solidust wrote:i also gettin bout 300km/h but one question. u all puttin super or premium???
dont mean to bring it back but d question didnt get ans.
Posted: April 30th, 2008, 8:51 am
by mitsubishi
Well I don't know wat going on with my CK4 (local with 4G92). If we reading the same metres in terms of Trip Meter, I need to know if mine is in km or miles. If u guys are getting 300 km to your tank, then that u is still amazing compared to me. I only got 175 (km or miles).
What can i do?????
miles or km
Posted: April 30th, 2008, 7:00 pm
by quintessentiallyenigmatic
mitsubishi wrote:Well I don't know wat going on with my CK4 (local with 4G92). If we reading the same metres in terms of Trip Meter, I need to know if mine is in km or miles. If u guys are getting 300 km to your tank, then that u is still amazing compared to me. I only got 175 (km or miles).
What can i do?????
to know for sure on your odometer the larger numbers indicate what is being checked......my ck4 has miles larger in white & km in yellow smaller
so therefore it's really 175 x 1.6 to get kms (280 kms)
i get like 140 miles on 3/4 tank don't run under 1/4
hope this helps & what those guys said above , regular servicing, you'll see the numbers going up
Posted: May 1st, 2008, 11:01 am
by ~Vēġó~
that 300km is worth how much $$$$ as you say per tankful????
From my past experience with the GDI galant 300 km use to cost around $80 in terms of short driving frequent stops etc.........with long runs 300km was around $70...........premium gas I'm referring to eh!~
Re: miles or km
Posted: May 1st, 2008, 2:07 pm
by mitsutt
quintessentiallyenigmatic wrote:mitsubishi wrote:Well I don't know wat going on with my CK4 (local with 4G92). If we reading the same metres in terms of Trip Meter, I need to know if mine is in km or miles. If u guys are getting 300 km to your tank, then that u is still amazing compared to me. I only got 175 (km or miles).
What can i do?????
to know for sure on your odometer the larger numbers indicate what is being checked......my ck4 has miles larger in white & km in yellow smaller
so therefore it's really 175 x 1.6 to get kms (280 kms)
i get like 140 miles on 3/4 tank don't run under 1/4
hope this helps & what those guys said above , regular servicing, you'll see the numbers going up

huh
Posted: May 1st, 2008, 2:38 pm
by KURMAman
hmm..well, i sometimes had that problem, but not as bad. In a week, id do about 650km and thats on one tank of gas..full to near empty.
stuff
Posted: July 2nd, 2008, 5:44 pm
by mitsutt
bump
Posted: July 2nd, 2008, 7:08 pm
by Morpheus23
230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on
That's about 345kms
stuff
Posted: July 2nd, 2008, 7:28 pm
by mitsutt
Morpheus23 wrote:230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on
That's about 345kms
4G92 SOHC
ah need some help with d mileage AC on 24/7
change oil,filters,plugs,clean injectors and trottle body and still not happy what to do again
Posted: July 3rd, 2008, 10:50 pm
by *KRONIK*
Morpheus23 wrote:230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on
That's about 345kms
my 4g15 DOHC does about the same ting.....
mon-thur
grande to curepe
A/C only
fairly agressive drvin
Posted: July 3rd, 2008, 11:50 pm
by Morpheus23
*KRONIK* wrote:Morpheus23 wrote:230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on
That's about 345kms
mon-thur
grande to curepe
A/C only
fairly agressive drvin
Really? You automatic too right? Phew, I thought it was just me. But I wonder if it's the general figure..........for this engine with auto tranny I mean.
Posted: July 4th, 2008, 7:06 pm
by blazing
230 miles... damn i get that in km
Posted: July 4th, 2008, 8:10 pm
by mitsutt
blazing wrote:230 miles... damn i get that in km
Posted: July 4th, 2008, 10:28 pm
by *KRONIK*
Posted: July 4th, 2008, 10:38 pm
by *KRONIK*
Morpheus23 wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:Morpheus23 wrote:230 miles on a 4G15 DOHC. Moderate driving with AC mostly on
That's about 345kms
mon-thur
grande to curepe
A/C only
fairly agressive drvin
Really? You automatic too right? Phew, I thought it was just me. But I wonder if it's the general figure..........for this engine with auto tranny I mean.
i duz wonder the same ting
Posted: September 15th, 2008, 1:06 pm
by sickolancergyal
I get 240 Miles on $100- $120 premium when i asked the mechanic he was like that's good...lol I'll see if i can get fix this up. Thanks for the info.
Posted: September 15th, 2008, 9:46 pm
by silver racer
wit a prestone treatment i got ovr 250 miles.. dats roughly ovr 400km wit a/c runnin rite tru, c-bay 2 uwi.. but i runnin on 17's doh so i dunno if dat offset d odo
Posted: September 15th, 2008, 10:08 pm
by *KRONIK*
silver racer, u in uwi???