2 inch piping

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

SilverTortiz

2 inch piping

Postby SilverTortiz » September 21st, 2007, 7:18 am

changed my 4g18 extractor(4~2~1) n muffler,
do i need to change my 1.5 inch to 2 inch piping?
whats the effect gain?

Postby Dave » September 21st, 2007, 8:02 am

2" is the ideal size for that application, basically u stiffling the free breathing extractors now

maniac kid

Postby maniac kid » September 21st, 2007, 3:32 pm

since you are on that topic... i wanted to know if i should also change to 2 inch piping. i have stock 4G92 with stock extractors and a muffler

SilverTortiz

Postby SilverTortiz » September 21st, 2007, 10:27 pm

2" is the ideal size for that application, basically u stiffling the free breathing extractors now

thanks for the info

daymean

Postby daymean » September 24th, 2007, 2:24 pm

since you are on that topic... i wanted to know if i should also change to 2 inch piping. i have stock 4G92 with stock extractors and a muffler

hmmm..not sure..cause its stock i think that increasing de diameter will lead 2 a reduction in torque. - have not tested it not sure just my 0.02c

rev hard

Postby rev hard » September 24th, 2007, 7:14 pm

hmmm..not sure..cause its stock i think that increasing de diameter will lead 2 a reduction in torque. - have not tested it not sure just my 0.02c[/quote]

yea for real it stock so by changing that alone could end up with too much free flow...not sure either will have 2 find out some more info..

betogt

Postby betogt » September 26th, 2007, 12:55 am

hi man, i have a 4g18, with stock exhaust manifold, my pipe is 2.25", with 2 detonators for the noise, one is 2.0" and the other one is the stock one, size 1.75", my muffler is a carbon fiber apexi. In terms for the backpressure it won´t affect cause you want a 2.0", but if you want a 2.5", it will affect the backpuressur and giving less power to the car. mine was excellent, so good luck man!

Postby crazybalhead » September 26th, 2007, 1:37 pm

2 detonators!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

Holy expolosives batman! Are you sure that is safe??

Postby tr1ad » September 26th, 2007, 1:44 pm

BWDMC

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 26th, 2007, 1:47 pm

:roll: :roll: :roll:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 26th, 2007, 2:06 pm

Sigh..

some very good info wrote:
For all engines from 1.0 - 1.5 litre, especially the smaller 8 and 12 valve engines we recommend :-

For 90% of people with mild modifications a 2" press bent system would do the job perfectly. Mandrel bent would produce no credible gains for your application other than giving you a larger bill.
For those with larger modifications like some of our stage 2 upwards modifications, 2" mandrel bent is the perfect size where air flow volume is a lot greater with items like twin throttle bodies, or camshafts stage 2 etc.
For those with race style system in naturally aspirated form like a quad TB system, 60mm Twin TB system etc, then a 2 1/4" mandrel bent system is as large as you would want to go.
For those with our turbocharger kits you would be recommended to run either a 2 1/4" mandrel bent system or a 2 1/2" press bent system. Any larger is again, a waste of time and money.

For all engines from 1.6 - 1.8 16v litre engines we recommend :-

For 90% of people with mild modifications a 2 1/4" press bent system would do the job perfectly. Mandrel bent would produce no credible gains for your application other than giving you a larger bill.
For those with larger modifications like some of our stage 2 upwards modifications, 2 1/4" mandrel bent is the perfect size where air flow volume is a lot greater with items like twin throttle bodies, or camshafts stage 2 etc.
For those with race style system in naturally aspirated form like a quad TB system, 60mm Twin TB system etc, then a 2 1/4" mandrel bent or 2 1/2" press bent system is as large as you would want to go.
For those with our turbocharger kits you would be recommended to run a 2 1/2" mandrel bent system. Any larger is again, a waste of time and money.

For all naturally aspirated 2.0 16v and larger 4cyl engines, along with up to 2.5l V6 24v engines we recommend :-

For 90% of people with mild modifications a 2 1/2" press bent system would do the job perfectly. Mandrel bent would produce no credible gains for your application other than giving you a larger bill.
For those with larger modifications like some of our stage 2 upwards modifications, 2 1/2" mandrel bent is the perfect size where air flow volume is a lot greater with items like twin throttle bodies, or camshafts stage 2 etc.
For those with race style system in naturally aspirated form like a quad TB system, 60mm Twin TB system etc, then a 2 1/2" mandrel bent or 2 1/2" press bent system is as large as you would want to go.
For those with our turbocharger kits you would be recommended to run a 2 1/2" - 3" mandrel bent system. Any larger is again, a waste of time and money.

For all naturally aspirated 3.0 V6 engines and larger we recommend :-

For 90% of people with mild modifications a 2 1/2" press bent system would do the job perfectly. Mandrel bent would produce no credible gains for your application other than giving you a larger bill - mostly for the 3.0 sedan and 4wd vehicle.
For those with the 3.5V6 and planning on modifying the vehicle, 2 1/2" mandrel bent is the perfect size where air flow volume is a lot greater with items like twin throttle bodies, or camshafts stage 2 etc.
For those with race style system in naturally aspirated form like a quad TB system, 60mm Twin TB system etc, then a 2 1/2" mandrel bent or 2 1/2" press bent system is as large as you would want to go.
For those with our turbocharger kits you would be recommended to run a 2 1/2" - 3" mandrel bent system depending upon the boost level and choice of noise.

But Seriously..... "detonators"??? :? :? :? :? :? :?

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 26th, 2007, 2:46 pm

i think is a language barrier issue.... somthing gettin screwed up in the spanish to english translation.... i pray to god he means resonator. but then again........explosive power he lookin for

betogt

Postby betogt » September 26th, 2007, 11:06 pm

illumin@ti wrote:i think is a language barrier issue.... somthing gettin screwed up in the spanish to english translation.... i pray to god he means resonator. but then again........explosive power he lookin for

well i think youre right! cause here in guatemala we call them detonators, that really is a resonator how you call it, is just for reducing the noise cause i have a free 2.25 pipe! thats it

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 27th, 2007, 9:34 am

ok. it's the first time we ever heard it termed like that ...

Langdon

Postby Langdon » September 27th, 2007, 10:52 am

^Jokes :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » October 10th, 2007, 2:06 pm

so wat u suggest 4 a 4g15 DOHC. cuz my padna put 2 1/4 on his 4g92 and wen u mash the X the car duz rev and wait a bit then hav a rel torque-y kinda pull off.

boogy

Postby boogy » October 17th, 2007, 2:10 pm

lawd

Postby *KRONIK* » October 18th, 2007, 1:42 pm

serious ting. and the car obnoxiously loud and annoying.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”