evo conversion

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

cars

evo conversion

Postby cars » September 13th, 2007, 9:49 pm

I'm trying to find a cost effective solution without sacrificing reliability for a evo swap in a ck lancer and faced with the following issues.

1) If I need a GSR box and transfer case, or could I use an evo box with the GSR transfer case?

2) Is the GSR box and transfer case strong enough to handle 400hp reliably
OHH! Is the gear ratio in the auto the same as the manual????
Thanks guys!!

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » September 13th, 2007, 10:05 pm

You might find some helpful information here.

Evolutionize your Lancer - http://www.zorce.com/zforums/viewtopic.php?t=617

TREX

Postby TREX » September 14th, 2007, 7:37 am

Same yourself the trouble and just buy a good used Evo.
They as dependable as sunrise once you maintain them correctly.

These Swaps are difficult and costly

good Luck anyway

BM

southside crew

Postby southside crew » September 14th, 2007, 8:09 am

TREX wrote:

^^ second this view....

Sanctifier

Re: evo conversion

Postby Sanctifier » September 15th, 2007, 11:31 am

cars wrote:...a cost effective solution without sacrificing reliability for a evo swap in a ck lancer...
1) If I need a GSR box and transfer case, or could I use an evo box with the GSR transfer case?

2) Is the GSR box and transfer case strong enough to handle 400hp reliably
OHH! Is the gear ratio in the auto the same as the manual????
Thanks guys!!

Good advice from TREX. Buy 2nd hand Evo. If not, swap 4G93 from a 4wd GSR...
and UPGRADE the brakes. Safest swap of all IMHO.

could I use an evo box with the GSR transfer case? Yup! Bolt-in job. Haven't checked Part# yet
but I suspect 4wd 1.8 GSR uses the same transfer case as Evo 4-6 GSR.

GSR box and transfer case strong enough to handle 400hp reliably?...
GSR Transfer case = Yup!... GSR gearbox = Nope, not IMHO.
With a 4G63... 400 bhp will probably give you about 385-400 lb-ft torque too.
400 bhp / 400 lb-ft (flywheel) = 45% increase in power and torque through stronger Evo box.
Yup 1.8 GSR box will work... but IMHO a highly tuned 4G63 will affect 1.8 GSR box eventually.
BTW padna... PLEASE swap in Brembos (& Evo Master cylinder too.) Yuh goin' to need it.
Even stock GSR brakes just barely adequate for 4G93 turbo... 4G63 require Brembos...
or you will be sorry.

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on October 18th, 2007, 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

cars

Postby cars » September 17th, 2007, 7:15 pm

I'm not too concerned about the swap as i'm doing the work myself. I'll try to research part numbers converning the transfer case. Brembos are a must...like Wilwood though...master cylinder too...

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 17th, 2007, 8:42 pm

^ ^ ^ My comment about the 4G63 swap into a FWD Lancer wasn't about your ability.

It was about the excessive torque steer you might get when using it as a daily driver.
Do a search on "Torque steer" it was discussed on the forum a few months ago.

My $0.02¢

cars

Postby cars » September 18th, 2007, 7:52 pm

nonono...i'm converting

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 18th, 2007, 8:45 pm

^ ^ ^ To 4WD :?: :!: ... That is one hell of a job.
Fabricating a body-jig for it?
I'd like to see it when it's on the road. Good luck.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 19th, 2007, 7:31 am

Cars, you doing all the welding?

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » September 19th, 2007, 1:37 pm

I would like to believe the GSR gearbox too handle alott of power...
The 1.6 SOHC gearbox has handled 350+HP with proper clutches and its still going comfortably..so why won't the 1.8 handle ah lil 400... :shock:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 19th, 2007, 9:46 pm

^ ^ ^ Sorry Imports but I have no specific info on capacity of 1800 GSR 5-speed.
I just wanted to be safe rather than sorry... so I bought a couple Evo boxes as well. :lol:

Don't worry the last one was an RS box... spare for the Evo. Using the other for the clone. :wink:

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » September 20th, 2007, 9:17 am

"safe rather than sorry" is always the best way.... :mrgreen:

hottstuff

Postby hottstuff » September 23rd, 2007, 10:27 am

southside crew wrote:
TREX wrote:

^^ second this view....

For real.I couldn't have said it better myself.As for the box if you want to run a 2.0 4G63T and getting problems with the conversion yuh could go front wheel.In that case the GSR box will take the pressure once yuh have ah up-to-mark clutch,release bearing and pressure plate.Or yuh could run the 4G67 box from the hyundai tiburon.This is what ll them fellas usineg especially since Mitsubishi made the block and gearboxes for hyundai so is bolt for bolt.Or yuh could get an all wheel drive box and convert it to front wheel only by opening it up an Sanctifier will give the details on the procedure.

boogy

Postby boogy » October 18th, 2007, 9:04 am

Although I believe the 1.8 gsr box could handle the power, I don't think it would last too long. As Sanctifier, said better be safe than sorry, go evo box.

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » October 22nd, 2007, 12:15 am

T.I made a good point about the capability of the 1.6 g/box.ithink the gsr box should hold up .

Return to “MITSUBISHI”