The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

mety57

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby mety57 » December 9th, 2012, 12:21 am

xtech wrote:sorry i am late but when i came across this problem it was nothing electrical.....you will get no codes until the engine starts and the ECU records it.

so in our case the trigger wheel for the crank was loose and was not properly aligned with Top Dead Center (I think its called) so ECU will not know when to fire piston 1....sound like u have this problem and maybe mech dont know how to reset this trigger wheel to correct position.

if it was not doing anything before it was because the trigger was not moving with the crank
now you get spark but its out of timing so engine will not start that means the trigger is moving again

so where the trigger wheel located and do u have pics of it

xtech

Postby xtech » December 9th, 2012, 7:23 am

Its #9 Sensing blade

only thing our fault was on a 4G93GDI

I dont know where the crank sensor is on this engine
timingblade.jpg

car boys

Postby car boys » December 9th, 2012, 3:47 pm

hey guys i have a 2004 cs3 lancer an i gettin ah funny smell whenever i start up meh ac for about ah 20 sec then it dies down an u still smell it ah little then it dies off... cant u tell me wats the problem plz...an i fine dat it ant coolin as much as b4... asap

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 9th, 2012, 5:34 pm

reminds me of a time when my padna who have a vrg. As soon as he switch on the A/C, man that thing smelled like rotten farts...goddamn. Couldn't sit in the car for long till you start to stifle with stench. So we immediately took out the ventsand glove box compartment filter and we found a cellphone and a vial of something from when he purchased the car till now. (those stuff was sitting in the vent since he bought it). we took it out n cleaned it but it still smelt like rotten socks. So we took it to the a/c guy and he changed out the filters, compressor (used a b14 one since he says it works better than the oem galant's own) and evaporator. Stench is gone now. Have a look inside ur vents and you will be surprise what u may find...dead rats, stationery, insects....

Have a read

http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/ho ... ir/2423551

kiddo

Postby kiddo » December 9th, 2012, 6:14 pm

I have that same problem with my AC cs3 2006.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » December 9th, 2012, 9:02 pm

that smell is probably the R134A A/C gas leaking from the evaporator

car boys

Postby car boys » December 9th, 2012, 11:01 pm

do u know 2 fix it

mety57

Postby mety57 » December 10th, 2012, 12:07 am

EXODUS wrote:reminds me of a time when my padna who have a vrg. As soon as he switch on the A/C, man that thing smelled like rotten farts...goddamn. Couldn't sit in the car for long till you start to stifle with stench. So we immediately took out the ventsand glove box compartment filter and we found a cellphone and a vial of something from when he purchased the car till now. (those stuff was sitting in the vent since he bought it). we took it out n cleaned it but it still smelt like rotten socks. So we took it to the a/c guy and he changed out the filters, compressor (used a b14 one since he says it works better than the oem galant's own) and evaporator. Stench is gone now. Have a look inside ur vents and you will be surprise what u may find...dead rats, stationery, insects....

Have a read

exo I getting that same smell but they say that the cs2a has no a/c filter

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 10th, 2012, 5:39 am

First thing to do is replace the cabin filter.
The 2001-2003 CS never came with any. But there's a dotted line in the plastic you can cut out and install one. Just remove the glove box and you will see.

A good carbon filter costs about $200. Any AC place should have them. I got mine by King Kool and they cut out the plastic for me.

mety57

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby mety57 » December 10th, 2012, 7:55 pm

hear what I did I saw it on 2guys garage on speed .....turned on the fan on high speed and turn the vent on fresh air and use Lysol on the inlet and it will help clean mold off the evaporator and I clean the drain line...........so far it working I ain't getting the rotten socks soo far

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 11th, 2012, 9:12 am

where is the ac inlet?

mety57

Postby mety57 » December 11th, 2012, 12:12 pm

when yuh open the bonnet to the left side

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 11th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Hey Idle, saw you today at the bottom of Lady Young, Savannah side....whey yuh pull out them mud flaps from bai???? looking good though

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 12th, 2012, 8:12 am

:lol: thanks bro...

Pulled off the back pair to do some editing for a better fit.
Cant seem to find the time to get around to doing it..

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » December 12th, 2012, 9:24 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:GDi 4G93T hits a cut at 15psi exact. Was running that tonight for fun and it wont go past 15psi without cutting, other than that, it pulls hard. Just only did a few pulls and dropped it back stock as it was not my controller. At 15.5 or more it just cuts completely.

you making me feel to do a GDI 4G93T conversion with that post yes...BUT...with a gearbox lol

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 12th, 2012, 9:29 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:GDi 4G93T hits a cut at 15psi exact. Was running that tonight for fun and it wont go past 15psi without cutting, other than that, it pulls hard. Just only did a few pulls and dropped it back stock as it was not my controller. At 15.5 or more it just cuts completely.

you making me feel to do a GDI 4G93T conversion with that post yes...BUT...with a gearbox lol

:D :D :D

Postby ronsin1 » December 12th, 2012, 10:31 am

OK so at this point an ECU will be installed in the Car the ECU looks like it was really faulty as the system was throwing all types of codes.

The Electrician swapped an ECU with another car and it started. So we will be looking for one now.

As Soon as I can Update I will

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 12th, 2012, 10:36 am

4G18 ECUs are a hard find bro..

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 12th, 2012, 11:09 am

EXODUS wrote:reminds me of a time when my padna who have a vrg. As soon as he switch on the A/C, man that thing smelled like rotten farts...goddamn. Couldn't sit in the car for long till you start to stifle with stench. So we immediately took out the ventsand glove box compartment filter and we found a cellphone and a vial of something from when he purchased the car till now. (those stuff was sitting in the vent since he bought it). we took it out n cleaned it but it still smelt like rotten socks. So we took it to the a/c guy and he changed out the filters, compressor (used a b14 one since he says it works better than the oem galant's own) and evaporator. Stench is gone now. Have a look inside ur vents and you will be surprise what u may find...dead rats, stationery, insects....

Have a read

Postby Team Loco » December 12th, 2012, 11:44 am

we use the valvoline version of this in our pick up fleet. right now i have one to clean my hilux. the valvoline works great. liqui moly is also a great brand

Postby Team Loco » December 12th, 2012, 11:46 am

i did a review on the valvoline a/c cleaner here:

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=431636&hilit=valvoline

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » December 12th, 2012, 12:16 pm

ronsin1 wrote:OK so at this point an ECU will be installed in the Car the ECU looks like it was really faulty as the system was throwing all types of codes.

The Electrician swapped an ECU with another car and it started. So we will be looking for one now.

As Soon as I can Update I will

If you can't find the ECU have it repaired by Victor Whiby in San Fernando 653-2871

Postby ronsin1 » December 12th, 2012, 1:30 pm

^^^ the Electrician told me to go there

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 12th, 2012, 4:39 pm

Did a lil trick on the 4g93t gdi.....got it to boost up to 9psi til 3200rpm and drop back to stock 4-5psi!

IT PULLS REALLY QUICK!!!! That little boost off it gets feels great and keeps the car quick. I could imagine it holding 9psi right thru! But im leaving it like this, safest way.

Will upload a vid, was at 40 in the vid or a little more and reached 95 or so very quickly. That timing would normally reach me around 75.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 12th, 2012, 6:35 pm

^ cant you just stick a boost controller and pump it up?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 12th, 2012, 7:20 pm

^^Yea but alot of reviews show that this turbo does not last long under 9+psi. That is for people who used controllers and let it stick 9psi all the way to gear change / redline.

I prefer this way, the car boosts off very quick and reaches speeds much quicker which is good enough for me.

Wanna keep this car the way it is, reliable and fun and not over do it currently. So im happy with boost raise for the first 3000rpm.

Currently thinking to scrap the evo project and convert this car into the evo with all the parts and drop in a 4g63t in time. Along with complete evo interior and just end the story of trying to afford an evo7 lol. Already have all the parts for the evo body as well as the 4wd setup. All im missing is a 4g63t.

Can always make fiberglass copies of body parts to make the other project a full race car since i already have the engine built already and the chassis is just waiting for power.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 12th, 2012, 9:08 pm

i agree wrt the body mods, if memory serves my correct your cs already has the evo interior not so?

swap et the body parts but leave the current engine setup

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 12th, 2012, 9:32 pm

in the long run,. ya gonna spend more on evoin up a lansa than actually buying one inno. i good with d 1.8 fur d while. dem r33/34 dem temptin meh to go nissan. :D ....

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 12th, 2012, 10:32 pm

I already have the parts, and i had gotten everything on deals, thats the only reason im considering.

A good legal EVO7 is about 150-160K MINIMUM.

But i have the parts doing nothing and i see no future in drag racing, so i might as well use it on this one and keep it a daily nice working tiptronic vehicle looking exactly like a evo7 and later on buy a real evo for weekends.

Overall in my JZ and RB experience, if this little 1.8 can perform so well against some sr20det's FWD, and seeing how easy it is to run 12's with a real evo, not to mention cheap....Im not going back skyline or supra or silvia....im sticking with either Mazda Rotary or Mitsubishi. JZ and RB just takes alot of money to run quick.

Im sticking with EVO for now. Later on my real vehicle will be a 2011 Ford Mustang, and before it comes, its gonna be built and twin turbo'd.

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 13th, 2012, 8:08 am

agent007 wrote:
idlemind wrote:Yes it can...ask if its the SOHC 4G15 or DOHC (they couldve removed the GDi engine cover)
If its really a GDI then they wouldve had to get the GDI ECU coz the 4G18 ECU wouldnt have worked.
ECUs in the CS control both the engine and cvt/gearbox and the 4G15 GDI and 4G18 EFI ECUs are different.

Theres a 4G15 SOHC non GDI engine for the CS again, hopefully they got the ECU for that.

The 4G15 from the CK is a completely different story (CKs have an ECU and TCU)

Long story short - Get the Chassis number and pic of engine bay.

sorry i took so long to reply bro but see pic below:

The engine # is GI-S4FF

Could anyone of you guys help me?

The problem is, the certified copy says 4G15 due to engine change and maybe the brain but everything else seems to be 4G18 according to the pic above. The original CVT tranny like it's not compatible with the engine since the car not moving at all....can't pass 80kmph.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”