The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

icefox

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby icefox » October 30th, 2012, 8:59 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Got my back engine mount polyU'd for 500$, friend in arouca carried it for me, wanna take pics when i go collect it and have him put it on, should put an end to this stop at traffic bad vibration.

hey im having dat same bad vibration, wen i stop at traffic or any time the vehicle is in drive or reverse an the vehicles has stopped, so im guessing dat the mount mite be my same problem

Randizzle_74

Re: CS Lancer! A/C problem

Postby Randizzle_74 » October 30th, 2012, 11:19 pm

Hey guys , I have a 2006 CS3 Lancer ( Local ) and have been getting some problems with the A/C lately. The A/C cools as normal but would randomly blow hot air at times. I only noticed this after a sudden acceleration to merge on the highway. I carried it to an A/C guy who noticed that at times , the compressor is losing power / does not turn on because no current is going to it , so he sent me to an electrician to get it checked. The electrician swapped one of the A/C relays ( in the smaller, narrower fusebox under the hood) with the horn relay as a test. However , the problem is still there.

What is weird to note is that about a month ago , the radiator got a crack and the car overheated ( about 3/4 temp gauge ) and I noticed that the radiator fans never came on . I mentioned it to the mechanic who then unplugged a wire ( not sure if its the fan control or a temp sensor ) and the fans came on.

I brought this up because after the electrician swapped the relays, the radiator fan now comes on when the engine is on ( I assume this is normal ) , however I still have the problem with the A/C . I'm not sure if the relay was bad , because the horn still functions as well.

Would really appreciate it if someone can shed some light on these problems.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 30th, 2012, 11:47 pm

Anyone know where i can get engine belts for the GDi 4G93T? Wanna change those out too as well as timing belt.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » October 31st, 2012, 8:36 am

Randizzle_74 wrote:Hey guys , I have a 2006 CS3 Lancer ( Local ) and have been getting some problems with the A/C lately. The A/C cools as normal but would randomly blow hot air at times. I only noticed this after a sudden acceleration to merge on the highway. I carried it to an A/C guy who noticed that at times , the compressor is losing power / does not turn on because no current is going to it , so he sent me to an electrician to get it checked. The electrician swapped one of the A/C relays ( in the smaller, narrower fusebox under the hood) with the horn relay as a test. However , the problem is still there.

What is weird to note is that about a month ago , the radiator got a crack and the car overheated ( about 3/4 temp gauge ) and I noticed that the radiator fans never came on . I mentioned it to the mechanic who then unplugged a wire ( not sure if its the fan control or a temp sensor ) and the fans came on.

I brought this up because after the electrician swapped the relays, the radiator fan now comes on when the engine is on ( I assume this is normal ) , however I still have the problem with the A/C . I'm not sure if the relay was bad , because the horn still functions as well.

Randizzle_74 from what you stating it could be a couple of things.If it colds soemtimes it could be the compressor clutch switch could be going(this is responsible for the cycling on and off of the compressor), the switching of the relays is to test if the relay is good but the electrician should of also checked the relay and the compressor before and after he switched relays with a volt meter to see which one is at fault.
From my lil knowledge the fact the car overheated could be a thermostat stuck in close position or the thermostat sensor is/has failed(as it turns the fans off and on) If the mechanic unplugged the thermostat sensor and the fans came on it means that sensor isnt working. Switch the car on plug back in the thermostat sensor and if fans turn off you have one of the culprits.
Report back to the forum

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 31st, 2012, 10:08 am

mety57 wrote:
venum wrote:
Hot Rod wrote:idlemind or venum ........ how long interms of mileage should i leave the cvt oil in the tranny???\
i read differnt articles which said a range of 25k to 100k .......... ne advice here fellas

20,000km

if you want to leave it in for more than 50,000km intervals, plz check me when you ready to buy a new tranny. :D

DM does it at 40,000km i was told by one owner who strictly and religiously takes his local cs3 there

mobil 1 15w in Blondie from 2x,000km til today almost 200,000km

Silver has Shell Helix grey bottle

i have a 5 quarts bottle of cvt fluid

yuh still have the CVT fluid??

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 31st, 2012, 11:18 am

ZeroOne wrote:
mety57 wrote:
venum wrote:
Hot Rod wrote:idlemind or venum ........ how long interms of mileage should i leave the cvt oil in the tranny???\
i read differnt articles which said a range of 25k to 100k .......... ne advice here fellas

20,000km

if you want to leave it in for more than 50,000km intervals, plz check me when you ready to buy a new tranny. :D

DM does it at 40,000km i was told by one owner who strictly and religiously takes his local cs3 there

mobil 1 15w in Blondie from 2x,000km til today almost 200,000km

Silver has Shell Helix grey bottle

i have a 5 quarts bottle of cvt fluid

yuh still have the CVT fluid??

lol mety..like everyone checking yuh one time for de CVT. i was waiting til next week to buy it from him, but u fix ur mix man..doh want to hold back a sale.

Randizzle_74

Postby Randizzle_74 » October 31st, 2012, 3:10 pm

nissan4life wrote:
Randizzle_74 wrote:Hey guys , I have a 2006 CS3 Lancer ( Local ) and have been getting some problems with the A/C lately. The A/C cools as normal but would randomly blow hot air at times. I only noticed this after a sudden acceleration to merge on the highway. I carried it to an A/C guy who noticed that at times , the compressor is losing power / does not turn on because no current is going to it , so he sent me to an electrician to get it checked. The electrician swapped one of the A/C relays ( in the smaller, narrower fusebox under the hood) with the horn relay as a test. However , the problem is still there.

Randizzle_74 from what you stating it could be a couple of things.If it colds soemtimes it could be the compressor clutch switch could be going(this is responsible for the cycling on and off of the compressor), the switching of the relays is to test if the relay is good but the electrician should of also checked the relay and the compressor before and after he switched relays with a volt meter to see which one is at fault.
From my lil knowledge the fact the car overheated could be a thermostat stuck in close position or the thermostat sensor is/has failed(as it turns the fans off and on) If the mechanic unplugged the thermostat sensor and the fans came on it means that sensor isnt working. Switch the car on plug back in the thermostat sensor and if fans turn off you have one of the culprits.
Report back to the forum

So when i'm plugging back in the thermostat sensor , should the car be at normal running temperature for the fans to remain on ? Or do I need to turn on the A/C for them to remain on ? Or are they just supposed to remain on at low speed regardless of conditions.

I just made a drive from Uwi to Couva and when I came home the fans were on at a low speed and turning on the A/C made them spin at high speeds. Car was cooling as normal , however last night A/C was going warm again after a 5 minute drive. When I pulled over , fans weren't spinning at all , regardless if A/C was on or off. The car jerked sometimes when I pressed the A/C button and it even shut down once. Any way I can tell if compressor clutch switch is going ?

BlackXT

Postby BlackXT » October 31st, 2012, 8:31 pm

CS Parts for sale viewtopic.php?f=6&t=468116

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 31st, 2012, 9:10 pm

OK so i changed the back mount, it was really soft, however, im getting vibration still. Idles on the mark it should but when i hold aorund 800-900rpm, its smooth. Driving smoother but still some vibration. I am hearing it could be as how i upgraded my exhaust from the lame 1.75-2" to 2.25", i needed to run a flexpipe.

Anyone got any advice on this? Its feeling like something lower on the body and when the mech checked it, the exhaust pipe is really stiff, the engine does not move like it used to now, before it used to rock back and rock foward, now it does not as much, a slight thing which i think is normal when putting on reverse or drive.

Its feeling really rough/heavy like, if its the engine shaking up the whole car.....I have changed all mounts to new ones, twice, so i have ended up with a spare set of mounts now.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 31st, 2012, 9:28 pm

how much you all pay to replace CVT fluid for the CS2 and where?

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » November 1st, 2012, 9:06 am

Randizzle_74 wrote:
nissan4life wrote:
Randizzle_74 wrote:Randizzle_74 from what you stating it could be a couple of things.If it colds soemtimes it could be the compressor clutch switch could be going(this is responsible for the cycling on and off of the compressor), the switching of the relays is to test if the relay is good but the electrician should of also checked the relay and the compressor before and after he switched relays with a volt meter to see which one is at fault.
Report back to the forum

So when i'm plugging back in the thermostat sensor , should the car be at normal running temperature for the fans to remain on ? Or do I need to turn on the A/C for them to remain on ? Or are they just supposed to remain on at low speed regardless of conditions.

I just made a drive from Uwi to Couva and when I came home the fans were on at a low speed and turning on the A/C made them spin at high speeds. Car was cooling as normal , however last night A/C was going warm again after a 5 minute drive. When I pulled over , fans weren't spinning at all , regardless if A/C was on or off. The car jerked sometimes when I pressed the A/C button and it even shut down once. Any way I can tell if compressor clutch switch is going ?

Under normal conditions the thermostat sensor should never be unplugged because it sends a reading to the ecu to control the fan/s to cool the radiator.Yes the car should be at normal runnign temperature for fans to engage,plug in sensor and let the car warm up and see if fans comes on after a while.The two fans should spin at a higher rpm when the a/c is switched on and the compressor is cycling.
To test the compressor clutch have some one turn on a/c unit for you while you look at the compressor while the car is running. You shuold notice two things
1.when the clutch normally engages you hear a click and
2.you can look at the front and you'll see the clutch spinning/moving (the clutch is the piece on the front of the compressor that is in the center of the pully)
If you clutch engages your fault is somewhere else parnder.
Your problem kinda broad, it could be relay,fan control module playing up, thermostat sensor, bad/broken wiring in the harness from your a/c control.
I kow it can be frustrating just buying parts and switching out and having no solution to your problem so have a PROPER AUTO-ELECTRICIAN check your car, check your thermostat sensor, the fan control module and the relay for correct readings on a ohms meter, and then from there they should be able to guide you accordingly cause your problem could be stemming from a couple of things or maybe just one.
Not sure any other of the older heads on the forum could input there lil knowledge to help you out brother, caz im not sure the kiind of readings you should be looking for when testing. ANYONE?
Report back bro.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 1st, 2012, 11:06 am

^^^jus a simple correction here, it's not called the thermostat sensor, proper name is coolant temperature sensor (not the sensor that sends a reading to the temp guage)

the problem more sounding like the fan control unit or the coolant temperature sensor...whenever the a/c starts blowing warm pull to the side and see if the compressor still spinning

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 1st, 2012, 9:41 pm

Right so my back mount is in polyurethane, holding good, found my problems, the tranny mount i was given a CK mount and it is shorter than the cedia mount altho they both look same and bolt the same. It now raised my transmission back to where it was but bcuz of the lower mount, it busted the front mount, so now i need to do over the front in polyurethane and hopefully, all vibration is done.....Currently it acts like its perfect, just on idle, slight vibration, can deal with it but might as well fix it before other mounts damage.

Anyone got a stock cedia wagon turbo exhaust barrel? want something to make the car sound like it has no exhaust at all now.

rameshb

Postby rameshb » November 4th, 2012, 3:13 pm

looking for the power steering line, think is the high pressure line for a 4G15, anyone know where i can get one?

genghis

Postby genghis » November 4th, 2012, 5:49 pm

carry your old line to those industrial hose ppl. where you located i know 2 off the top of my head in central.

i did it on my cs3 when my ps hose started leaking.

rameshb

Postby rameshb » November 4th, 2012, 10:44 pm

genghis wrote:carry your old line to those industrial hose ppl. where you located i know 2 off the top of my head in central.

located in couva

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 5th, 2012, 5:36 am

anyone know where i can get a cedia control fan unit? The black box that controls teh fans? Mines staying on for a few seconds when car off and sometimes goes on and off. No issues with cooling or ac but dont wanna take the chance

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » November 5th, 2012, 7:44 am

Contact W2J

Postby Team Loco » November 5th, 2012, 8:13 am

rameshb wrote:
genghis wrote:carry your old line to those industrial hose ppl. where you located i know 2 off the top of my head in central.

located in couva

same here. i buying mines new on eaby, usd$100

fras

Postby fras » November 5th, 2012, 11:26 am

Where to get this grille?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 5th, 2012, 11:45 am

pm dualstar...

fras

Postby fras » November 5th, 2012, 12:04 pm

Who changed there ac filter? Where did u get it?

Postby Dave » November 5th, 2012, 12:40 pm

TYC

In Stock! lol

Postby Team Loco » November 5th, 2012, 3:24 pm

i installed one in my cs3 singapore. it didnt have one before.

Postby BrotherHood » November 6th, 2012, 11:38 am

CS3A local 2005, does it have an AC Filter?

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » November 6th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Ok Used 10 from my set fitting properly into the bumper keeping the next 10. Still got 20 more clips guys 20 for 1 check me

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 6th, 2012, 4:04 pm

^^^post a pic of said clips please

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 6th, 2012, 5:50 pm

hey hey... do u guys with aftermarket springs use gas or oil shocks??? i have kyb excel g gas shocks and my mech says the oil shock would be better n last longer. isn't gas better than oil wrt lowered suspension... :S

also, those of u with poly'd mounts/bushings...what diff u feel in sytability, ride comfort and handling???

doing sum suspension work atm and rim swap yr end and was considering goin back with my original springs cus i gettin fedup of them megans bumpity bump now.... facking road cud never remain in 1 piece wid WASASSSHOLESSSSSS

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » November 6th, 2012, 7:56 pm

Parthner want to install a prosport tachometer in his cs 4g18 auto.
Where can he take the signal for the tach for people who have done this?

Postby Dave » November 7th, 2012, 9:16 am

what happen to factory tach?

he will need a tach adapter to get a clean signal to the aftermkt tach

Return to “MITSUBISHI”