The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 24th, 2012, 9:57 am

hey guys i'm having a little problem with my cs2, lemme see if i could describe it accurately.

When i'm driving, at random times i get a kinda jolt. Mostly when i mash the brakes, while slowing down i get the same jolt. I dunno what is causing it, do u guys have any idea?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 24th, 2012, 12:07 pm

^^ My car does the same thing from time to time as well and I'm thinking it's the step up motor or the solenoids in the transmission. I could be wrong.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 24th, 2012, 12:23 pm

Thermostat

The thermostat’s job is to block the flow of coolant so a cold engine will warm up quickly, and to then maintain the engine’s operating temperature within a certain range. Most are set to open at 195° or higher.

A bad thermostat is often blamed for causing an engine to overheat. But in many cases, the thermostat is a victim and not the cause of the problem. Severe overheating can often damage the wax element in a good thermostat, which is why it should always be tested following an episode of overheating even if you’ve diagnosed something else as the cause (like a coolant leak).

You can check the thermostat by starting the engine and feeling the upper radiator hose (or use an infrared non-contact thermometer to read its temperature). The hose should not feel uncomfortably hot until the engine has warmed up and the thermostat opens. If the hose does not get hot, it means the thermostat is not opening.

Another way to test the thermostat is to remove it and dip it into a pan of boiling water (it should open). The exact opening temperature can be checked by using a thermometer.

If the thermostat needs to be replaced, install one with the same temperature rating as the original. Using a cooler thermostat (160 or 180) in an attempt to "cure" poor cooling performance can increase fuel and oil consumption, ring wear and emissions. Vehicles with computerized engine controls use engine temperature to go into closed loop and to control other emission and drivetrain functions, so if the engine never reaches a normal operating temperature it can cause additional problems for your customer.

That last part probably does not apply to high performance cars that run lower temp thermostats and run on standalone engine management systems

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 24th, 2012, 12:38 pm

A colder thermostat helps to offset our warmer climate.
Its easier to cool a colder water temp in the radiator than to try an cool water in excess of 82degC.
Esp since it stands to reason that our thermos will remain open for longer and much more frequently.
Therefore coolant in the rad doesnt stay still for long to cool down.

Postby wagonrunner » October 24th, 2012, 12:48 pm

It won't stay in the block long enough for suitable heat transfer to take place either.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 24th, 2012, 1:14 pm

hey mety,

i dunno if u get meh msg bout buying de oil..i'll msg u in a few days nah..waiting to get paid.

icefox

Postby icefox » October 24th, 2012, 3:01 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:^^ My car does the same thing from time to time as well and I'm thinking it's the step up motor or the solenoids in the transmission. I could be wrong.

I experiense the same jolt on my cs2 an I never got a solution, sometimes wen am aplying brakes goin down hill I get a bigger jolt

mety57

Postby mety57 » October 24th, 2012, 9:27 pm

KURMAman wrote:hey mety,

i dunno if u get meh msg bout buying de oil..i'll msg u in a few days nah..waiting to get paid.

ohhh man roger that

rameshb

Postby rameshb » October 24th, 2012, 10:31 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:try belt dressing and see if it helps

tried that, didn`t help at all.....besides that i need to get both front door lock actuators for a cs2, it is a cable type so i don`t think the normal universal actuator would work...tried bella and bamboo..nothing

Postby BrotherHood » October 24th, 2012, 11:17 pm

rameshb wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:try belt dressing and see if it helps

tried that, didn`t help at all.....besides that i need to get both front door lock actuators for a cs2, it is a cable type so i don`t think the normal universal actuator would work...tried bella and bamboo..nothing

A Gates belt is a good replacement. Carry the old one with you so you can match the belt numbers/length.
Where to get it? Automotive Supplies, Charles Street, P.O.S. It's the same street with Diamond Motors but lower down closer to Wrightson Road.

@ Biggs, I haven't gotten my prob sorted out yet but now that I am kinda sure what's the cause, I will have it repaired.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 25th, 2012, 7:16 am

Yep the problem lies with the actuator. Two issues to consider are if the actuator is getting sufficient current and if the actuator needs servicing or replacing.

mety57

Postby mety57 » October 25th, 2012, 8:43 pm

rameshb wrote:
daeth365 wrote:an clip my right hand side mirror , had to replace glass @ caribbeanglass .... its not the same at all :(

where can i find the original glass an part with clips alone .... not the whole housing ????

oh an price too plse

you could check Gazalie`s recently bought one for mines, by the way i change my fan belts and they can`t stop making that annoying noise,i tension the belts a couple times and no change...anyone know any good brand of belts i could get?

hey padna i had that same problem with the belt the brand of the belt wasn,t the problem but it was the installation .. the ac belt was rubbing on the other belt right where it crossing because on the ac compressor had a extra groove and i line it up on the inner one but wasnt seeing it touching but when the car running noise so check the belt line up on the compressor btw normal gates belt works well

rameshb

Postby rameshb » October 25th, 2012, 10:35 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:Yep the problem lies with the actuator. Two issues to consider are if the actuator is getting sufficient current and if the actuator needs servicing or replacing.

the actuators in them cars (mostly newer model cars) make onto the door lock itself

rameshb

Postby rameshb » October 25th, 2012, 10:37 pm

mety57 wrote:
rameshb wrote:
daeth365 wrote:an clip my right hand side mirror , had to replace glass @ caribbeanglass .... its not the same at all :(

where can i find the original glass an part with clips alone .... not the whole housing ????

oh an price too plse

you could check Gazalie`s recently bought one for mines, by the way i change my fan belts and they can`t stop making that annoying noise,i tension the belts a couple times and no change...anyone know any good brand of belts i could get?

hey padna i had that same problem with the belt the brand of the belt wasn,t the problem but it was the installation .. the ac belt was rubbing on the other belt right where it crossing because on the ac compressor had a extra groove and i line it up on the inner one but wasnt seeing it touching but when the car running noise so check the belt line up on the compressor btw normal gates belt works well

i look but i not seeing it touching...the noise only occurring during start up,real annoying

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 26th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Hey Peeps, you all ever used Mitsubishi ASA? I'm seeing that there is one for the US, Japan, Europe and General.

I'm tryna figure out which one to download for my car, CS3 4G18 engine!!!

Any advice?

rameshb

Postby rameshb » October 26th, 2012, 10:47 pm

changed the belts today,no noise since..hope that is the end of it

QG

Postby QG » October 26th, 2012, 10:52 pm

staggagoat wrote:anybody know where u could get coil pack and wiring for cs3 lancer 4g18 engine.
faiz auto have d wrong ting. also dem aftermarket coil pack any good????

RONS in duncan vlg has!!

QG

Postby QG » October 26th, 2012, 10:58 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:hey guys i'm having a little problem with my cs2, lemme see if i could describe it accurately.

When i'm driving, at random times i get a kinda jolt. Mostly when i mash the brakes, while slowing down i get the same jolt. I dunno what is causing it, do u guys have any idea?

That's the transmission torque converter! When the car decreases in speed, the transmission will gear down giving u a little jerk.
However if your transmission mount is bad, you will feel that jerk a little more than usual...so you can problably get your mounts (both engine & transmission) looked at.

Other than that, what you described is natural.

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » October 26th, 2012, 11:01 pm

tranny mount. you know how long i suppose to tell them that. smh ah getting old every time i come online i forget to post something anyway. Still have the bumper clips if anyone interested 20 for 1

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 27th, 2012, 9:23 am

Biggs3ne wrote:Hey Peeps, you all ever used Mitsubishi ASA? I'm seeing that there is one for the US, Japan, Europe and General.

I'm tryna figure out which one to download for my car, CS3 4G18 engine!!!

Any advice?

depends on where car was manufactured, its definitely not US

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 27th, 2012, 12:45 pm

it won't hurt downloading both Japan and General

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 27th, 2012, 1:15 pm

Got my back engine mount polyU'd for 500$, friend in arouca carried it for me, wanna take pics when i go collect it and have him put it on, should put an end to this stop at traffic bad vibration.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » October 28th, 2012, 8:46 am

I have a 4G15 GDI throttle body for sale. Please let me know if anyone is interested. Bought it for a friend but her mechanic got one for her and installed it. So i am just stuck with it.

Postby Team Loco » October 29th, 2012, 10:13 am

anyone has the part number for the fan control unit? mines is faded. trying to source it online to purchase

staggagoat

Postby staggagoat » October 29th, 2012, 1:55 pm

NEED SOME ADVICE: CS3 lancer with 4G18 engine

What other engine can i use to replace my 4g18 that is better and uses the same mounts.
What will i need and who can do it. Also COST.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » October 29th, 2012, 2:04 pm

4G15, 4G92. mounts may differ with most if not all diff engine types unless u going back 4g18. your best bet is go back factory or u cud slap in a GDI 4G15...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 29th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Team Loco wrote:anyone has the part number for the fan control unit? mines is faded. trying to source it online to purchase

that writing on the control unit isn't the part number

OEM part number is 1355A124 assuming your car is a local CS3...year doesn't matter

got mine off www.oemmitsubishiparts.com based in Texas USA

Postby Ted_v2 » October 29th, 2012, 4:51 pm

4g15 dohc

mety57

Postby mety57 » October 29th, 2012, 8:05 pm

staggagoat wrote:NEED SOME ADVICE: CS3 lancer with 4G18 engine

What other engine can i use to replace my 4g18 that is better and uses the same mounts.
What will i need and who can do it. Also COST.

wha happen to your engine

amrit90901

Postby amrit90901 » October 30th, 2012, 8:03 am

good day tuners, i having a problem with my cs3 i would like some help:
i having some problems with the ABS before when you reach at 120km/h the pedal would become stiff & i wont get any brakes unless i drive up to past the 120 & if the ABS light comes on,
over the weekend i was driving and noticed that the pedal started becoming stiff at low speeds between 40-80km/h.
if any body can enlighten me on the problem i would appreciate it, because we've had the car from brand new( approximately 11 years) n this is the only big problem besides changing the transmission

Return to “MITSUBISHI”