The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby idlemind » October 19th, 2012, 2:09 pm

I got a gallon bottle from NP, dunno how much it costing me yet.
Will find out over the weekend. But $25 real good!
If anything I'll go by the station by me and buy a qt for $36 as extra.
Thanks but I wont put you out yuh way for it..

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 19th, 2012, 4:08 pm

^^^I hope you are also successful in getting out the coolant drain plug...jus make sure you have thread seal with you if you do get it out

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 19th, 2012, 4:10 pm

Fire fuh dat...I going top hose, bottom hose..

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 19th, 2012, 6:54 pm

^^^ent lol

I aint see nothing wrong with top hose to bottom hose.

Just leave top hose disconnected and run engine when pouring in coolant, when coolant start coming out of the top hose connect it back to the rad and shut off engine.

Postby BrotherHood » October 20th, 2012, 3:02 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:BrotherHood, I'm gonna let my neighbour check it out for me, he's the one who installed the system in my car. It shouldn't be aything more than removing the door skin and inspecting the connection.

Cool.

icefox

Postby icefox » October 20th, 2012, 5:46 pm

mety57 wrote:
fras wrote:
mety57 wrote:
fras wrote:Who using megan racing lowering springs?

i used to have those on , padna the look bess but the ride could break yuh neck

:lol: how so? bouncy? what u running now?

it so bouncy coil meets coil but i cut my original springs 1/1/2 coil and much better

i wanna drop my ride 2, so u say its better to cut the springs, dan put on a drop spring

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 20th, 2012, 6:26 pm

I remember hearing that cutting springs works best but damages stock shocks over time. Also heard you can CUT the shock rod from the threading part and rethread it to make it seem like its original movements with the lower spring distance. Im NOT SURE how true but it does make sense but its who does it?

Postby BrotherHood » October 21st, 2012, 2:45 am

I think Suspex does that.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 21st, 2012, 8:10 am

most dropshops do that.

some even change diff. springs to get the required look

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 21st, 2012, 7:26 pm

^^^I would never have piece of mind if my suspension it butchered...thas why I went with coilovers

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 22nd, 2012, 7:01 am

Hey BrotherHood, I got my lock issue sorted out. Turns out that the motor in the actuator needed servicing. I tried to get one yesterday, but all the parts place were closed already and my neighbour had no choice but to open it up and try to repair it.

Turns out that there are brushes inside the actuator and he sprayed some elecrtrical contact cleaner and scrubbed them with a tooth brush and what do you know, it did the trick.

You get through with yours yet?

Idle, How did the thermostat install go? Is the temperature reading properly now?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 22nd, 2012, 7:11 am

You kno how long I wanted to suggest to you to check the actuator?
Just never got around to suggesting it.

Boy...Saturday I coming into POS, AC blowing nice everything cupasetic...
Reach where I had to go and realise my temp almost on H.
Check the radiator...empty.
So I went to Trinity in St James and they serviced it.
Had a leak at the bottom and alot of fine leaks at the top where the top cover meets the cores.
Sad part is, I had the coolant and thermostat at home :(
So they mount up without thermo and poured in water until i get a chance to flush and install thermo this week.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 22nd, 2012, 7:44 am

hi all, i am trying to help out a family member here and would appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction or direct me to the page where this was already discussed (if so).

Here is the problem:

we got a local 2005 Lancer GLX with the CVT tranny. The certified copy says the car came with a 4g18 but there is a 4g15 engine installed and something seems wrong.

1) the car is idling at 1100rpms
2) it gives a hard start, a scraping noise until it starts (similar to a start from a weak battery)
3) the car has no power (to stress on this some more I can say we cannot even pass a carburetted b12)

My questions are:

Is there a problem with the idle sensor or idle screw?
does it sound like the car was improperly wired?
is the 4g15 compatible with the original cvt tranny at all?

Thanks...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 22nd, 2012, 7:50 am

More info needed.

PM or post the entire chasis number.
Is the 4G15 is GDI?
Are you sure its CVT? (no offense I know you know your cars)
I wouldnt say Idle Control motor just yet, 1100rpm is close to regular RPM
RE: Power...There is a sensor on the tranny that may need to change. PM raybic, tell him I told you to.
Afaik once the 4G15 came with the CS, it supposed to be compatible with cvt, If it came from a CK then NO it isnt.
RE: scrapping on start could be starter need servicing.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 22nd, 2012, 8:11 am

idlemind wrote:You kno how long I wanted to suggest to you to check the actuator?
Just never got around to suggesting it.

Boy...Saturday I coming into POS, AC blowing nice everything cupasetic...
Reach where I had to go and realise my temp almost on H.
Check the radiator...empty.
So I went to Trinity in St James and they serviced it.
Had a leak at the bottom and alot of fine leaks at the top where the top cover meets the cores.
Sad part is, I had the coolant and thermostat at home :(
So they mount up without thermo and poured in water until i get a chance to flush and install thermo this week.

Sorry to hear your demise Bro, but everyday is good now right?

After changing my head gasket this year, I am always shaky now when it comes to the engine temperatue. I would monitor things for a couple days if I were you.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 22nd, 2012, 8:52 am

Yea, everything good... temp running low as usual til in install the thermo.
No oil in water and no water in oil, so I think I caught it in time.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 22nd, 2012, 9:19 am

idlemind wrote:More info needed.

PM or post the entire chasis number.
Is the 4G15 is GDI?
Are you sure its CVT? (no offense I know you know your cars)
I wouldnt say Idle Control motor just yet, 1100rpm is close to regular RPM
RE: Power...There is a sensor on the tranny that may need to change. PM raybic, tell him I told you to.
Afaik once the 4G15 came with the CS, it supposed to be compatible with cvt, If it came from a CK then NO it isnt.
RE: scrapping on start could be starter need servicing.

thanks idlemind, yes its the invecs 111 cvt that came with the car stock (lancer glx). Not sure if its the gdi 4g15 but all i do know, whoever did the swap they pull out the 4g18 and installed the 4g15 to a cvt tranny :|

could this be an issue?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 22nd, 2012, 9:26 am

Yes it can...ask if its the SOHC 4G15 or DOHC (they couldve removed the GDi engine cover)
If its really a GDI then they wouldve had to get the GDI ECU coz the 4G18 ECU wouldnt have worked.
ECUs in the CS control both the engine and cvt/gearbox and the 4G15 GDI and 4G18 EFI ECUs are different.

Theres a 4G15 SOHC non GDI engine for the CS again, hopefully they got the ECU for that.

The 4G15 from the CK is a completely different story (CKs have an ECU and TCU)

Long story short - Get the Chassis number and pic of engine bay.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 22nd, 2012, 12:09 pm

Anyone know whats a good, safe boost controller to run on the GDi 4G93T? I know there is a valve that controls the low boost pressure bcuz if you remove a hose from it, it will go pass 15psi LOL.

So any ideas? Looking to raise boost to about 8psi. Might be looking to keep this car if no one buys it by the time the other vehicles sell. And just convert it to the evo body and later on a 4g63t.

staggagoat

Postby staggagoat » October 22nd, 2012, 2:37 pm

anybody know where u could get coil pack and wiring for cs3 lancer 4g18 engine.
faiz auto have d wrong ting. also dem aftermarket coil pack any good????

Postby Team Loco » October 22nd, 2012, 3:01 pm

anyone got some 4x100 14" steelies lying around? got some brand new michelins 14" new at a deal. just need some steelies

Postby ronsin1 » October 22nd, 2012, 3:36 pm

staggagoat wrote:anybody know where u could get coil pack and wiring for cs3 lancer 4g18 engine.
faiz auto have d wrong ting. also dem aftermarket coil pack any good????

Federal has them got a set about a month ago for my CS3

daeth365

Postby daeth365 » October 23rd, 2012, 8:28 am

an clip my right hand side mirror , had to replace glass @ caribbeanglass .... its not the same at all :(

where can i find the original glass an part with clips alone .... not the whole housing ????

oh an price too plse

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » October 23rd, 2012, 8:31 am

^^^ been there and u can get the whole housing for 300 as parts places wont sell the mirror alone. ended up gettin one from those vehicles in the police compound :D

rameshb

Postby rameshb » October 23rd, 2012, 10:58 pm

daeth365 wrote:an clip my right hand side mirror , had to replace glass @ caribbeanglass .... its not the same at all :(

where can i find the original glass an part with clips alone .... not the whole housing ????

oh an price too plse

you could check Gazalie`s recently bought one for mines, by the way i change my fan belts and they can`t stop making that annoying noise,i tension the belts a couple times and no change...anyone know any good brand of belts i could get?

Postby Ted_v2 » October 23rd, 2012, 11:14 pm

try belt dressing and see if it helps

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 23rd, 2012, 11:20 pm

daeth365 wrote:an clip my right hand side mirror , had to replace glass @ caribbeanglass .... its not the same at all :(

oh an price too plse

when my mirror broke, i went to diamond motors and bought it new..cost bout $300...but worth every cent bro...original mirrors are always the best.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 24th, 2012, 7:58 am

Finally mety oil selling lol.

Thermo changed, coolant replaced yesterday.
Drilled an additional 1/8" hole in the thermo since i couldnt get anything cooler than 82 degC.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 24th, 2012, 8:11 am

^^whey boi you really afraid that engine overheats on you...again

or is it that you want to get rid of trapped air?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 24th, 2012, 8:33 am

^That.

And to burp the system for air locks, plus i fine 82degC too hot to open, wouldve preferred an 80.
While i dont want cold water cycling thru and not cooling the block properly.
I prefer it constantly pull for a little cold water and open when it hit the 82.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”