The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby idlemind » October 3rd, 2012, 8:10 am

Allyuh fellas serious??
Since I convert to 4G18 is level super from day one..no problems.
Had to use Premium out of necessity a couple times and noticed no difference besides it burning faster.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:39 am

well boi, I running premium in my tank for years now and I never had any idle, fuel nor ignition problems so I just want to be on d safe side and try to maintain the ocatane level if possible...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 3rd, 2012, 9:45 am

Hows about allyuh run Super for one week and see?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 3rd, 2012, 10:30 am

well normally I run out a tank in approx 2 weeks...I filled up monday so I go try super when my tank runs low

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 3rd, 2012, 12:40 pm

If you take 2 weeks to burn one tank of Premium then I hate to be the one to tell you...you are actually burning Super level octane. All octane levels start dropping the longer it takes to consume.

Best if you keep half tank of gas to make sure you always maintain the highest levels of octane.

Postby Team Loco » October 3rd, 2012, 1:01 pm

filled her up with super last night for the first time. i didnt tell my wife. tank was dead empty last night. wife called this morning to ask me why the car feeling different. dunno what she meant but i guess on the highway it felt different

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 3rd, 2012, 1:28 pm

idlemind wrote:If you take 2 weeks to burn one tank of Premium then I hate to be the one to tell you...you are actually burning Super level octane. All octane levels start dropping the longer it takes to consume.

Best if you keep half tank of gas to make sure you always maintain the highest levels of octane.
noted

you got thru with yuh brake shoe replacement/adjustment yet?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 3rd, 2012, 5:26 pm

idlemind wrote:If you take 2 weeks to burn one tank of Premium then I hate to be the one to tell you...you are actually burning Super level octane. All octane levels start dropping the longer it takes to consume.

I not taking any chances on my GDI, its been problem free since I got it and i wanna keep it that way.

Takes me close to 3 weeks to burn a full tank but I always refill at half tank.

Postby ronsin1 » October 3rd, 2012, 6:19 pm

Ok I filled with Super today and used a Prestone octane boost which should raise the octane level about 5 points

I will be using the car for the next couple days to monitor before I give it back to my wife.

icefox

Postby icefox » October 3rd, 2012, 7:14 pm

Two weeks alya say a full tank does last. :shock: am u all hardly drive dose vehicles had 2 be

Postby wagonrunner » October 3rd, 2012, 7:19 pm

ronsin1 wrote:used a Prestone octane boost which should raise the octane level about 5 points

I'd love to see that math.

mety57

Postby mety57 » October 3rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:well normally I run out a tank in approx 2 weeks...I filled up monday so I go try super when my tank runs low

but turbo u can afford premium

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 3rd, 2012, 9:41 pm

ZeroOne wrote:

And how often do you drive that car? I use Super and a tank usually lasts me 4-5 days to just a tad or so under the 1/4 mark.

When I used premium in the past the tank lasted about 3-4 days.

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:47 pm

I've been running super in d 4g18 more than two years now,no issues whatsoever.Never put in any treatment,never cleaned injectors,car doesnt burn much gas either,and runs really well.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » October 3rd, 2012, 10:16 pm

daniel, ever tried premium and notice any diff?

raybic, so wha we go do dan? yunno that GDI 93T can't drink anything other that costs less than $5.75.

when i had my 4g18, a full tank of premium lasted me 7-9 days til empty with a lil spirited driving here and there. now my tank takes 4-6 days of that same driving style with the engine change. make sure ur cars fuel system is clean, alignment is done and proper tyre pressure are in check to save you the lil $ with that Premium increase.

Postby ronsin1 » October 4th, 2012, 5:12 am

ronsin1 wrote:used a Prestone octane boost which should raise the octane level about 5 points

I'd love to see that math.

that is according to the prestone bottle that is why I say "should"

xtech

Postby xtech » October 4th, 2012, 5:57 am

First they say........

A super- concentrated street-legal fuel additive that contains MMT and will raise octane in regular unleaded gasoline by up to 10 points*. Helps restore performance and acceleration lost due to fouled injectors and deposits in the system.

Then they explain

*One point is equal to 0.1 octane number

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 4th, 2012, 7:03 am

Biggs3ne wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:

And how often do you drive that car? I use Super and a tank usually lasts me 4-5 days to just a tad or so under the 1/4 mark.

When I used premium in the past the tank lasted about 3-4 days.

I drive everyday to and from work, 4g15 GDI. I get approx 350km/tank sometimes more depending an my driving.

Tank running out after 4 days is unheard of in my case. I only need to visit the gas station twice a month.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 4th, 2012, 7:36 am

xtexh is right...it says so on the back of the Prestone bottle so thats only a 0.5 octane.

Heres something to consider:

Assuming most of the population becomes wise and realise that their car can run Super (92RON), then it is fair to assume that sales in Premium (95RON) will drop and it will sit a longer time in Gas Station's storage tanks waiting to be sold, correct? Given the fact that octane levels drop over time, and you insist on putting Premium...then I hope you choose your Gas Stations wisely, otherwise you will be paying $5.75 a liter for Premium that has dropped to 92~93 RON because its not selling, and Stations are not re-fueling.

As I have always advised in this thread, Guys please fuel at Stations that have a high sales turnover. That way you will be sure that trucks are offloading 'fresh' gas almost every other day, and maintaining the octane levels advertised. Octane levels start dropping as soon as it leaves the refinery, maybe not as much as a full point a day..but still, its something to be mindful off.

With that said, it is reasonable to assume that Unipet would have higher octane gas because their trucks full at Petrotrin and delivered direct to stations. Whereas NP fuel is shipped from Petrotrin to Sealots then are filled onto trucks and delivered to Stations. Now soon enough all this will change and all fuel (Unipet and NP) will be loaded to trucks from NP's Caroni gantry.

So make your decision, I personally choose NP because their fuel handling practices are sound.
As far as I heard Unipet mixes their Super and Premium storage tanks, I dunno, its up to you and how your car reacts. Mine doesn't complain with Super, but I only choose 'newer' NP stations to refuel.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 4th, 2012, 7:51 am

xtech wrote:Almost all countries consider cheaper Super as RON95 an premium at RON98.

Now the Prime Minster would be very correct when she says nearly all cars require regular/super

She needs to stop trying to fool us....

Plus we need to be mindful Thanks to the importation of used cars 90% of the cars on the road are meant for 1st world market.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 4th, 2012, 8:03 am

Adding to xtechs post:
According to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octane_rating
Which you should always take with a pinch of salt coz of wikipedia's citing issues..

Singapore: All four providers, Caltex, ExxonMobil, SPC and Shell have 3 grades of petrol. Typically, these are 92, 95, and 98 RON. However, since 2009, Shell has removed 92 RON.

Hong Kong: only 98 RON is available in the market. There have been calls to re-introduce 95 RON, but the calls have been rejected by all petrol station chains, citing that 95 RON was phased out because of market forces.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » October 4th, 2012, 10:05 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:

noted

you got thru with yuh brake shoe replacement/adjustment yet?

and to all that wondering why I take about 2 weeks to burn out my tank is because my workplace is approx 8 mins away, whenever I lime it's mostly in sando and environs so for me it's mainly just home to work and vice versa and I very rarely drive hard unless I'm in a hurry to get somewhere or when my head lil nice(which isn't a good thing). I use my car everyday. Yes I could afford premium but I guess I'll have to overtake less on d road and use A/C less lol

Postby Rooki3 » October 4th, 2012, 10:57 am

icefox wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:i use super all the time 4g15 sohc, no problems, gas treatment ever so often

i switch to super bout a month ago, 4g15 sohc, but i here my engine pingin on occasions... dont no the cause but i need to get this fix. an i see switching back to premium is no longer an option

i doh even know how to notice pinging, car gets me from point A to B

also, full tank of gas lasts me 5 days with ac on all the time

Postby wagonrunner » October 4th, 2012, 11:37 am

Rooki3 wrote:i doh even know how to notice pinging, car gets me from point A to B

turn off your radio, and try to climb a long hill quickly.
the extra load, and sustained acceleration will make the noise if it's doing it. as well as loss of power.

It varies from a crackling sound (mild ignition rattle) to full panside. :lol: :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » October 4th, 2012, 11:58 am

I set my ECU to flash the check light when knock is detected.

What I did after seeing it flash a few times was instal a fuel pressure regulator and a external pump.

U guys might not be able to get the check light to warn u like me but u can beef up yuh fuel system to pump a bit extra.

GDI an turbo GDI guys will need a meth kit for sure

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 4th, 2012, 1:04 pm

What abotu adjusting the stock regulator in the front pump? My mech turned up the pressure a bit, black smokes on FULL THROTTLE but normal under cruising. Know engine issues so far, nothing, have not heard pinging either and i mix super with premium.

Postby wagonrunner » October 4th, 2012, 2:00 pm

xtech wrote:beef up yuh fuel system to pump a bit extra.

trying to follow this.
while a lean mix leads to detonation, as long as the timing is advanced the mix detonates before piston can take advantage of it, more gas solves that?

Postby Rooki3 » October 4th, 2012, 2:05 pm

Rooki3 wrote:i doh even know how to notice pinging, car gets me from point A to B

turn off your radio, and try to climb a long hill quickly.
the extra load, and sustained acceleration will make the noise if it's doing it. as well as loss of power.

It varies from a crackling sound (mild ignition rattle) to full panside. :lol: :lol:

yea, thamx, did this, no noises, besides d annoying noise cvt makes

Postby wagonrunner » October 4th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Rooki3 wrote:yea, thamx, did this, no noises, besides d annoying noise cvt makes

out of curiosity which hill did you try it on?

xtech

Postby xtech » October 4th, 2012, 2:24 pm

Fuel system modification is just a first step. U will need a fuel and ignition controller as well.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”