The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Biggs3ne

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby Biggs3ne » September 21st, 2012, 9:45 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:
idlemind wrote:Biggs...

check this for the radiator flush:

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=98180&p=4871421#p4871421

there is a coolant drain plug at the back of the engine block in the center just under the level of

the water pump but it rel hard to get at...if you can somehow ninja yuh way into that area and

take out d plug most if not all the coolant/water from the block comes out so if people (like

myself) wanting ONLY distilled water (battery water) mixed with coolant in your system that's the

best way to do it....

otherwise...here's a simpler less time consuming method:

well firstly u make sure the coolant not boiling hot b4 taking out the drain plug on the radiator,

once all fluid drains out disconnect the upper radiator hose from the engine side (if you want you

can take off the hose from the radiator neck but it's not really necessary, take out thermostat by

just taking off the two (2) 12 bolts on the thermostat housing, there's no need to disconnect the

lower hose from the neck...just push the hose with the housing cover to the side and you can even

pour water into there if you want to further flush out the lower radiator tank.....

now, take a garden hose and let water flow at a reasonable pressure thru the neck on the engine

block that connects to the upper radiator hose so the water comes out from where the thermostat

is housed...let it run for a 5 mins more or less depending on how dirty the block is, use your

discretion....clean water would remain in the block so just re-connect the hoses and thermostat,

install the radiator drain plug, fill the coolant reservoir to the full mark then fill the radiator with your

mix of coolant and water, start the engine and top up the radiator and reservoir as needed....

Help me get this clear Turbo, Option two involves removing the thermostat housing and putting a garden hose to run in that area with the radiator drain plug removed? You are saying that by doing this the old coolant/water will exit through the thermostat housing where the garden hose is running water into the block? Did I get it right?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 21st, 2012, 9:52 am

Guys i'm hearing a noise when going uphill or on bumpy roads...its a kinda squeaking sound, not like dust in the brake shoes or anything. Hearing it only on bad roads, dunno if its a rubber or something, not sure if its front or back but its on the right side.

anybody had the similiar problem?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 21st, 2012, 11:55 am

Biggs3ne you putting the garden hose in the upper neck not by the thermostat housing opening,

do not remove the entire thermostat housing assembly eh, just the cover on which the lower hose is

attached to and the thermostat...

the radiator would be disconnected completely from the engine block so doh study the radiator drain

plug...yes the old coolant/water would be flushed by flowing water from the upper neck into the

block and it will come out from the thermostat housing, you would start to see the water coming

out clear then you're basically done flushing...

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 21st, 2012, 1:00 pm

^^^Ok I think I got it.

Step 1. Let engine cool enough
Step 2 Remove upper Radiator Hose from Engine Block
Step 3 Revome thermostat cover and thermostat, i.e remove the two 10/12 bolts I think
Step 4 Insert garden hose into upper engine block and let it expel the old coolant through the thermostat housing on the engine block.

Keeping in mind that all this is done with the engine off.

Sorry for making you repeat yourself, but I wanna make sure I understand fully before I attempt and do foolishness

Postby BrotherHood » September 21st, 2012, 2:33 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:Guys i'm hearing a noise when going uphill or on bumpy roads...its a kinda squeaking sound, not like dust in the brake shoes or anything. Hearing it only on bad roads, dunno if its a rubber or something, not sure if its front or back but its on the right side.

If only on bad roads I would think it's the stabilizer bar/sway bar bushings that needs to be replaced.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » September 21st, 2012, 3:24 pm

As brotherhood said stabilizer bar rubbers,if they worn you will get this.Not hard to replace.To eliminate the prob you could spray some silicone spray on the rubbers if your noise goes away temporarily your best guess its the rubbers.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 21st, 2012, 3:34 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:^^^Ok I think I got it.

Step 1. Let engine cool enough
Step 2 Remove upper Radiator Hose from Engine Block
Step 3 Revome thermostat cover and thermostat, i.e remove the two 10/12 bolts I think
Step 4 Insert garden hose into upper engine block and let it expel the old coolant through the thermostat housing on the engine block.

Keeping in mind that all this is done with the engine off.

Sorry for making you repeat yourself, but I wanna make sure I understand fully before I attempt and do foolishness

you 4got to take out the radiator drain plug eh...btw when taking out the thermostat just

remember the position of it when it came out...there is something called a jiggle valve (yes that's

the correct term) which is basically a hole on the actual thermostat's body with a metal pin that

allows air to pass thru so there wouldn't be an air lock so just remember the position b4 u take it out...to make it easier it's in the 12 o'clock position (no, not 6:30)

you should flush out the radiator as well...jus go easy when taking off the upper radiator hose eh

yes you do all this with the engine off

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 21st, 2012, 4:18 pm

^^^Yea I knew that about the thermostat positioning...hope the rest of ya'll who didn't know took that important note.

I got. Will attempt on Sunday/Monday. Will also try to take some pics as well for the guys who may want to do this someday as well.

Postby BrotherHood » September 21st, 2012, 7:20 pm

nissan4life wrote:As brotherhood said stabilizer bar rubbers,if they worn you will get this.Not hard to replace.To eliminate the prob you could spray some silicone spray on the rubbers if your noise goes away temporarily your best guess its the rubbers.

the ones behind the front wheels are easy to change but the ones that the bar itself passes through is tough. the entire sway bar will have to come down for that one.

fras

Postby fras » September 24th, 2012, 10:20 am

07 Local CS: Which fan is ac & which is rad?
The fan under the fan controller (passenger side) isn't working... That fan is the radiator fan?

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » September 24th, 2012, 10:50 am

sorry i got only one fan

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 24th, 2012, 11:14 am

fras wrote:07 Local CS: Which fan is ac & which is rad?
The fan under the fan controller (passenger side) isn't working... That fan is the radiator fan?

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_does_a_du ... r_fan_work

My fans operate as 1 unit/ same time. i.e when the temp is high, they both come on or when i switch on the a/c, they both turn on even if the temp is low but the fans have variable speeds cus i can hear when it speeds up and goes back down (on hot days or long driving periods on idle). as temp increases so dus fan speed. i wonder if changing the controller would make them function as separate modules. hmmmm... but i guess its like that for a purpose yahhh?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 24th, 2012, 12:35 pm

^^^ Changing the controller won't make them function separately Geo, I changed my controller earlier this year. The fans spin according to the temperature of the engine. When the ac is switched on both fans come on at a high speed. I believe that that the radiator fan is the one with the controller mounted on it. I could be wrong.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » September 24th, 2012, 12:39 pm

When Mitsubishi redesigning the Lancer

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 24th, 2012, 1:01 pm

u cud contact mitsubishi motors fur dat! wham u doh like the design of them? look a futuristic concept if u ever decide to buy 1 ...

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » September 24th, 2012, 1:24 pm

problem here ppl where can i get the clips for the bumpers?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 24th, 2012, 1:27 pm

check the motorist or any parts place...u won't find the exact type tho but u cud work up something. carry a sample and look for the closest match. i went and bought 2 and paid like 10-30 for one. diff types... sigh. or u cud jus teef it :D :D

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » September 24th, 2012, 1:29 pm

lol and one of my back light clip break too the one that goes into the fender

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 24th, 2012, 2:00 pm

yeah me too... i jus put sum silicone and that good fur now yess...u hadda buy a whole light cus i doubt that cip could be replaced

rameshb

Postby rameshb » September 24th, 2012, 7:57 pm

question...4G15 GDI engine,what transmission oil should i use?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 24th, 2012, 8:06 pm

mitsu atf spIII or equiv

rameshb

Postby rameshb » September 24th, 2012, 8:39 pm

cool thanks,another question my fan belts were recently changed along with the compressor but the belts keeps making an annoying screech every time i start up,i have tensioned the belts a couple times,any suggestions?

mety57

Postby mety57 » September 24th, 2012, 9:46 pm

rameshb wrote:cool thanks,another question my fan belts were recently changed along with the compressor but the belts keeps making an annoying screech every time i start up,i have tensioned the belts a couple times,any suggestions?

hey make sure when the ac belt was installed it wasn,t touching the other belt , on the ac compressor u,ll have to line up tthe belt on the outer groove

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 24th, 2012, 10:37 pm

geometron wrote:yeah me too... i jus put sum silicone and that good fur now yess...u hadda buy a whole light cus i doubt that cip could be replaced

I have a rear left tail light that I can get rid of if somehow the part you want can be taken from it.
The corner cracked from a fender bender but maybe you can salvage something? Up to you.

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2012, 1:27 am

rameshb wrote:cool thanks,another question my fan belts were recently changed along with the compressor but the belts keeps making an annoying screech every time i start up,i have tensioned the belts a couple times,any suggestions?

a little belt dressing or WD40 will help.

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » September 25th, 2012, 6:26 am

Geo is the clip that the metal piece on the light itself does go into on the fender.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 25th, 2012, 7:27 am

PapaC wrote:
geometron wrote:yeah me too... i jus put sum silicone and that good fur now yess...u hadda buy a whole light cus i doubt that cip could be replaced

I have a rear left tail light that I can get rid of if somehow the part you want can be taken from it.
The corner cracked from a fender bender but maybe you can salvage something? Up to you.

PapaC do you have all the clips for that light?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 25th, 2012, 7:32 am

BrotherHood wrote:
mitsu_chick941 wrote:Guys i'm hearing a noise when going uphill or on bumpy roads...its a kinda squeaking sound, not like dust in the brake shoes or anything. Hearing it only on bad roads, dunno if its a rubber or something, not sure if its front or back but its on the right side.

If only on bad roads I would think it's the stabilizer bar/sway bar bushings that needs to be replaced.

thanks dude

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 25th, 2012, 11:10 am

Biggs3ne wrote:
PapaC wrote:

PapaC do you have all the clips for that light?

Yeah i think so.
I'll take a pic of what i have and post it later.

Quick question.
What is the regular tyre size for the CS3 i should be looking for? Local CS3 that is.
And some general opinions as to where i should buy and what type. I do alot of highway runs everyday.

And anybody did a 100k service by DM recently and can give me a ballpark figure for costs?

rameshb

Postby rameshb » September 25th, 2012, 3:26 pm

mety57 wrote:

hey make sure when the ac belt was installed it wasn,t touching the other belt , on the ac compressor u,ll have to line up tthe belt on the outer groove

thanks will check....was also advised to install original belts

Return to “MITSUBISHI”