The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

douglaking

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby douglaking » September 8th, 2012, 7:48 am

Hey guys jus to update, i cleaned the throttle body and the injectors, the car worked fine for a couple days then the idle dropped again. It worked fine after that for a couple days until yesterday when it happened again this time it started and stopped immediately, with the battery light blinking on. I had drive all the way home with my foot on the gas (very fun)

When I got home I switched off and switched on again and low and behold the car idled as if nothing happened.......I'm confused now. Could it be the battery? Alternator? Plugs? ICV? Fuel Pump?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 8th, 2012, 8:40 am

seein that ur battery light was blinking, service or replace the alternator
also have the battery tested one time

Postby ronsin1 » September 8th, 2012, 8:42 am

Same experienced I had however my Battery Light did not come on my Battery died changed and since then no issue.

Your might be the Alternator most 4G engine alternators are the same bolt pattern but have different capacity for current I think you need to look for an 85 amp alternator.

Works on the CS3 today will be as follows:-
Look for and install Gear shifter knob
Look for and install Window Regulator for left side front door
Fix annoying squeak on back bumper
Change left side back bearing
Then I will be 100% fully operational with that car may attend Dex tomorrow and test it out :mrgreen: that is if meh passport stamp :oops:

Work on the Sportero:-
Fix Bend Floor Board :oops:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 8th, 2012, 6:48 pm

Have a CS3 and a Sportero........I like that.

point_blank you might have to import that part or buy a lip with it.
Seeing that soo many people loose theirs I going and crazy glue mine or something.
I think that center part is removed and replaced with a reflector or strobe light.

I looking to buy for the CS:

1. Thermostat kit
2. Gauge Unit,water temperature
3. CS5 rear break pads

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 8th, 2012, 7:29 pm

^^^ask AWOL where he got the rear disc pads when he installed rear disc brakes on his former CS

When u replace the thermostat I suggest that you flush and change the coolant one time...flush with the thermostat out eh

wham to ur water temp guage on d I.P?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 8th, 2012, 7:42 pm

Yeah yeah I flushing out the rad one time AWOL and Idle show me how to do it.

Guage unit works with the IP? It looks like this:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 9th, 2012, 2:39 pm

share with d rest ah d guys the process of how to flush coolant out d entire system, not just the rad

or that unit...you not getting a proper reading on the IP or wha?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 9th, 2012, 3:08 pm

yea I getting a proper reading, looking at ASA I thought it was part of the thermostat but I looked at the diagrams for the CS5 and its not.

So I don't need that part again.

The instructions for flushing are posted here already but I'm thinking of flushing out the rad and system separately, that way rust etc from the rad doesn't get into the system and vice versa.

The method I'm thinking of is putting a blank end on the engine inlet and connecting the hose through the engine AC heater outlet and let the water exit through the engine outlet. (BTW my AC heater lines are blanked). But I'm concerned whether this method is water pump friendly.

If that cant be done I'll check Trinidad Hoses to see if they can make an adapter for me to connect from my hose to the rad directly to minimize water spillage. I'll need to control water pressure and a blank end to put on the rad out to the overflow bottle.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 9th, 2012, 9:01 pm

Hey peeps,

im looking in the forums about a squealing belt problem in my cs3.. it just started today, but its abit annoying...stops after bout 10 seconds after starting the car (thank goodness).
I just wanted to know if it is a simple tightening or is it to change.
Any advise would be greatly appreciated :)

kiddo

Postby kiddo » September 9th, 2012, 11:07 pm

Anybody know where is could get Dual Halo projector head lamps?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 10th, 2012, 7:23 am

KURMAman wrote:Hey peeps,

im looking in the forums about a squealing belt problem in my cs3.. it just started today, but its abit annoying...stops after bout 10 seconds after starting the car (thank goodness).
I just wanted to know if it is a simple tightening or is it to change.
Any advise would be greatly appreciated :)

The belt may need a bit of tightening, probably just a tad.

Check for any cracks on the belt or signs of wear. If they are present, you should replace the belt.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 10th, 2012, 12:51 pm

^^ thnx. i checked the belt..no cracks or damage..( i read MISHI post) So i'll go by a machanic and get it checked to make sure.

venum

Postby venum » September 10th, 2012, 7:58 pm

Hot Rod wrote:idlemind or venum ........ how long interms of mileage should i leave the cvt oil in the tranny???\
i read differnt articles which said a range of 25k to 100k .......... ne advice here fellas

20,000km

if you want to leave it in for more than 50,000km intervals, plz check me when you ready to buy a new tranny. :D

DM does it at 40,000km i was told by one owner who strictly and religiously takes his local cs3 there

mobil 1 15w in Blondie from 2x,000km til today almost 200,000km

Silver has Shell Helix grey bottle

mety57

Postby mety57 » September 10th, 2012, 8:17 pm

kiddo wrote:Anybody know where is could get Dual Halo projector head lamps?

from dual star on tuner

mety57

Postby mety57 » September 10th, 2012, 8:20 pm

venum wrote:
Hot Rod wrote:idlemind or venum ........ how long interms of mileage should i leave the cvt oil in the tranny???\
i read differnt articles which said a range of 25k to 100k .......... ne advice here fellas

20,000km

if you want to leave it in for more than 50,000km intervals, plz check me when you ready to buy a new tranny. :D

DM does it at 40,000km i was told by one owner who strictly and religiously takes his local cs3 there

i have a 5 quarts bottle of cvt fluid

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 11th, 2012, 12:15 pm

^^^ Wey boy Mety! You still have that fluid for sale? How much you selling it for?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 11th, 2012, 12:20 pm

anybody ever put bump stop / h rubbers on their springs? does this affect ride height/quality? i'm changing my shock rubbers so i was contemplating gettin some to avoid bottoming out the shock when hitting holes....

also, gettin a set of F&R cs 5 hole brakes. any diff between the 4 hole oem? what other parts wud i need for the conversion to werk? (hub, axles, shocks, cradles, spindle etc)

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 11th, 2012, 2:29 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Yea I going to change oil myself, save myself a $60.

i hadda do this my self, free oil change my a$$

$300.00 oil + $25.00 filter + 75 to change

i paid $400.00 to change my oil recently, from $330.00 to $360.00 and now $400.00

bullhs!t

Postby Team Loco » September 11th, 2012, 2:59 pm

i am getting a strange humm from the front of my cs3. its weird. the faster i go, it gets worse. i am sure its not tyres or wheel bearings, checked those. its getting worse now since i am feeling it on the steering but the tyres are properly balanced. sounds like a swarm of killer bees! i am thinking tranny or axles. any known common problems based on the sound?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 11th, 2012, 4:01 pm

geometron wrote:anybody ever put bump stop / h rubbers on their springs? does this affect ride height/quality? i'm changing my shock rubbers so i was contemplating gettin some to avoid bottoming out the shock when hitting holes....

also, gettin a set of F&R cs 5 hole brakes. any diff between the 4 hole oem? what other parts wud i need for the conversion to werk? (hub, axles, shocks, cradles, spindle etc)

everything works back original bolt for bolt with stock 4 hole components, u don't need any parts for the conversion...jus make sure u get the handbrake cables with it

you getting it from 7381 or wha

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 11th, 2012, 4:10 pm

Team Loco wrote:i am getting a strange humm from the front of my cs3. its weird. the faster i go, it gets worse. i am sure its not tyres or wheel bearings, checked those. its getting worse now since i am feeling it on the steering but the tyres are properly balanced. sounds like a swarm of killer bees! i am thinking tranny or axles. any known common problems based on the sound?

Im getting the same thing, this happened after i changed tyres, so i thought it was my wheel bearings but people say its not. I had it slightly on other tyres but those tyres were bad, so whatever it is, is annoying.

Anyone got an answer/solution for this?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » September 11th, 2012, 9:05 pm

venum wrote:

20,000km

im using mobil 1 10W-30 and the SPEC III cvt fluid...im at 206,000km in about 7 years of use...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 11th, 2012, 9:25 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:
Team Loco wrote:i am getting a strange humm from the front of my cs3. its weird. the faster i go, it gets worse. i am sure its not tyres or wheel bearings, checked those. its getting worse now since i am feeling it on the steering but the tyres are properly balanced. sounds like a swarm of killer bees! i am thinking tranny or axles. any known common problems based on the sound?

Im getting the same thing, this happened after i changed tyres, so i thought it was my wheel bearings but people say its not. I had it slightly on other tyres but those tyres were bad, so whatever it is, is annoying.

Anyone got an answer/solution for this?

Power steering hose sometimes makes this noise after it is repaired.

And 300.00 for oil????

I pay 450 for 12 quarts of NP 10w30 at their warehouse in POS. That lasting me a good 6 months
I change oil every 3000km.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 11th, 2012, 9:27 pm

^^Thought it was just me, that $300 for Oil is a bit disturbing indeed. Which brand oil do you use Maria?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 11th, 2012, 10:26 pm

anyone has a pic of a cs5w 5 stud setup? i wanna take a look at the mounting points
also whats the spacing on them?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 11th, 2012, 10:37 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:
geometron wrote:anybody ever put bump stop / h rubbers on their springs? does this affect ride height/quality? i'm changing my shock rubbers so i was contemplating gettin some to avoid bottoming out the shock when hitting holes....

everything works back original bolt for bolt with stock 4 hole components, u don't need any parts for the conversion...jus make sure u get the handbrake cables with it

you getting it from 7381 or wha

well i saw he has a set for sale so i was wondering if its worth the $ or i shud invest in the engine/suspension or even 16' wheels...

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » September 12th, 2012, 12:13 am

Hey guys, I'm gonna do a tranny oil change soon and I'm wondering if it's ok to use the mitsubishi cvt oil (black bottle) instead of the recomended ATF SP lll for my 02'. CS2. GDI ?

Postby ronsin1 » September 12th, 2012, 6:06 am

^^^ that has been discussed to many times use the SP III oil

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 12th, 2012, 6:43 am

have original power steering hose, never changed, never repaired and no leaks, no hard steering points etc. Sounds like the tyre is making alot of noise but its not the tyre and have me wondering if its wheel bearing but mechanics say they cant really say as it does not sound like it.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 12th, 2012, 8:56 am

sound boy 64 the mounting points on the 5 stud are the same as the stock 4 stud setup....

geometron the front rotors on the 5 stud setup are 11" and carry a bigger caliper so it's basically a brake upgrade, so it's up to you to decide...I heard that EVO 7 brakes work bolt for bolt on that spindle...actually I saw an Airtrek (which uses the same 5 hole brakes setup from a sports edition/ralliart cedia) with aftermarket big brembo brakes but the rear was the same stock brakes tho...
Last edited by turbo_beast369 on September 12th, 2012, 12:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”