The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Biggs3ne

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby Biggs3ne » February 2nd, 2012, 9:17 pm

idlemind wrote:
Biggs3ne wrote:
idlemind wrote:Guys your concerns are valid.

Because in the thread Zero posted I specifically asked which part number it was because I knew there were 2 different controllers for the Evo and CS.

W2J posted that his model supersedes both controllers. Now granted his clientèle would mainly consist of Evo owners, I suggest you ask him if he knows of any CS owners who bought it from him for you to contact and ask, how it works.

Il try to do some research and see what I can find.
I recommend to those whose fans run after the ignition is turned off, to get your controller changed.

Thank you for the response Idlemind. I want to share something with you guys. While driving through the traffic in POS this afternoon I noticed that my temp guage went to the hald mark and my idle would drop to about 4000 rpms around there when I came a complete stop. The car would jerk a bit when i took my foot of the brakes and tap the gas pedal. I found it odd that the temp rose so high considering that my fans never cut off...Is this a sign that my controller is on its way out soon.

I doubt it's the step-up motor because I replaced the throttle body and sensor last night and the car idles normal when the temp guage is about 1/4 high.

Can anyone explain what's happening here? I'm thinking it's the fan controller, but I am also getting thoughts about my thermostat as well...really not sure who the culprit is

Before you assume the Controller is bad check your thermostat and fans first!
What mileage the car doing and have you ever changed the thermostat?
Does your fans work as it should? Meaning, does it cycle on periodically without the AC and more rapidly with the AC on?
Do you have a single or double fan? Do the both fans trip on and off together?
If your fans arent working, test by running a direct to your battery with speaker wire before you assume its the controller.

Idle the car is currently doing 208K and no I have never checked the thermostat before.
The fans do not work as they should as they come on from the time I switch on the ignition, the cycle speed is constant regardless if the ac is on or off.
Both fans come on at the same time and come off at the same time as well, which is usually a couple seconds after I switch off.

I already ran them straight to the battery and also checked them with a volt meter as well.

How do I check the thermostat and what exactly am I testing?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 2nd, 2012, 10:00 pm

OK you definitely have to change that Thermostat. There would be corrosion and/or it may have stuck. No way to check really until you scrap it down and see.

And your Controller definitely gone thru. Not sure if it will address you problem experienced today but it sounds to me like a cooling issue.

Also check your Coolant levels, when last you did a radiator flush?
Does your Coolant reservoir bottle overflow when the car is running hot?

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 3rd, 2012, 12:10 am

idle do u know where they sell the coil pack stem for the 4g15 gdi

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 7:24 am

There's a code on the stem itself. Send it to me.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 3rd, 2012, 7:27 am

idlemind wrote:OK you definitely have to change that Thermostat. There would be corrosion and/or it may have stuck. No way to check really until you scrap it down and see.

And your Controller definitely gone thru. Not sure if it will address you problem experienced today but it sounds to me like a cooling issue.

Also check your Coolant levels, when last you did a radiator flush?
Does your Coolant reservoir bottle overflow when the car is running hot?

Thank you for the response Idlemind. While changing the radiator coolant last month I noticed that there were some small holes on my radiator. It is not leaking as yet, but eventually it would. Should I buy black a plastic radiator or a metal one? Also, I will check my coolant reservoir bottle next time before I switch off.

I usually top up my radiator every 2 weeks or so, but lately i've noticed that it will pop and then i will hear a sound like water going down bathroom sink. Also, when I start up the car with cap off I notice that the coolant water gets bubbly as if there's soap in it. Could this be a sign that I need to replace my head gasket? I researched online and they listed many other signs and symptoms associated with a blown head gasket. However, these two signs are the only ones that I've noticed in addition to white smoke blowing out my muffler when I start up in the morning. The white smoke only occurs in the morning and not during the day.

Can anyone advise me?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 9:15 am

Dont buy back a plastic, always go back brass/metal. Plastic rads are not designed to cope with our climate. It sounds like you leaking water somewhere, or its evaporating, or its flowing out of the reservoir. Whenever you open your radiator cap, you should always be able to see coolant and not have much to top up. Go by a Radiator mech and let them test the pressure in your system.

The bubbly look in the radiator, is normal to a point. The white exhaust on mornings are also normal.
The symptoms of a blown head gasket are mainly oil in your radiator and water bubbles on you oil dipstick.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 3rd, 2012, 10:20 am

idlemind wrote:Dont buy back a plastic, always go back brass/metal. Plastic rads are not designed to cope with our climate. It sounds like you leaking water somewhere, or its evaporating, or its flowing out of the reservoir. Whenever you open your radiator cap, you should always be able to see coolant and not have much to top up. Go by a Radiator mech and let them test the pressure in your system.

The bubbly look in the radiator, is normal to a point. The white exhaust on mornings are also normal.
The symptoms of a blown head gasket are mainly oil in your radiator and water bubbles on you oil dipstick.

Taking into the consideration the mileage on the car would it be a good idea to change the head gasket in any case as I have not done so as yet?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 10:31 am

Not too sure on that one, 200k km is alot.
It is to my understanding that head gaskets don't go bad unless the engine over heats and it blows.
I could be wrong.

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 3rd, 2012, 10:38 am

hey idle coil packs look good plugs lil blkish no oil get the missing last night how will i know if the hp pump going

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 3rd, 2012, 10:41 am

or could it be dirty injectors i run super

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 3rd, 2012, 10:45 am

idlemind wrote:Not too sure on that one, 200k km is alot.
It is to my understanding that head gaskets don't go bad unless the engine over heats and it blows.
I could be wrong.

Ok, well in that case I will just focus on a new rad, fan controller and thermostat....

Does anyone know where I can get these parts at reasonable prices?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 3rd, 2012, 11:40 am

idlemind wrote:Dont buy back a plastic, always go back brass/metal. Plastic rads are not designed to cope with our climate

but yet still my original rad is approaching 9 years and the car always park in the sun.......I never changed the coolant in my system since the car was new (I know I looking for trouble)

nuttin wrong with the original plastic if u don't drive in alot of bumper to bumper traffic in hot sun regularly and put out rel mileage on a weekly basis

I recommend an aluminum radiator out of all (if you could locate one)

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 12:15 pm

turbo, how much driving you does do in that CS???..yuh real looking for trouble dey.
And yuh answer yuhself.
Climate + driving conditions + traffic would kill a plastic radiator eventually.

Try and do some real driving and put it to the test na....

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 3rd, 2012, 1:08 pm

Idle, Turbo - do you guys know where I can the radiator at a reasonable price?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 1:19 pm

Most radiator places will have a brass tank they can substitute, i think i paid $500 for the top tank years ago.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 3rd, 2012, 4:27 pm

idlemind wrote:turbo, how much driving you does do in that CS???..yuh real looking for trouble dey.
And yuh answer yuhself.
Climate + driving conditions + traffic would kill a plastic radiator eventually.

Try and do some real driving and put it to the test na....

well boi I livin jus under 10 mins from work....highway run once in a while if need be
I supposed to change d coolant long time, I might put the texaco red coolant rel soon and well I bought a new oem thermostat long time and never installed it yet...interesting enuff when I changed the water pump a year ago it didnt have any kinda corrosion....but I know it has to be done soon...when have you done yours? eh eh

I give it a "real drive" now and then, I doh really baby it either....then again it's no EVO
and when u say put it to d test u mean test it till it blow? LOL
meh fan controller done have meh fan running overtime till it eventually bun d motor, yuh wha it overheat or wha...

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » February 3rd, 2012, 6:02 pm

Re: tranny fluid paying $300 for it in south.

Postby BrotherHood » February 4th, 2012, 12:19 am

thatguy3832 wrote:Re: tranny fluid paying $300 for it in south.

The ATF SP III?? Where in South?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 4th, 2012, 12:23 am

geometron wrote:lol. abt oils, wonder in a comparison test how would the mitsu sp III stand up to amsoil, royal purple manufacturer specific oils? i currently use amsoil 20w-50 and amsoil auto tranny fluid!

battimamzelles no unna stand inglais

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » February 4th, 2012, 1:31 am

La Romaine chablal or sum like that heading palmiste from bamboo junction

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 4th, 2012, 4:50 pm

BrotherHood wrote:^^^ A concern that I also share because my fans do the same thing and I want one to purchase before it gets to a point on no return.

Hey BrotherHood, any luck on your end locating an original fan controller?

If I have any luck on my end I will let you know.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 4th, 2012, 4:54 pm

geometron wrote:
geometron wrote:lol. abt oils, wonder in a comparison test how would the mitsu sp III stand up to amsoil, royal purple manufacturer specific oils? i currently use amsoil 20w-50 and amsoil auto tranny fluid!

battimamzelles no unna stand inglais

Geometron - how long have you been using that amsoil fluid in your tranny? That's a first because I usually hear guys on here talk about using the mitsu fluid and no other because of the CVT...It may seem as though all is well for the time, but sooner or later you may suffer the consequences....

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 4th, 2012, 6:37 pm

u see. the tranny i have is the mivec tiptronic non cvt. amsoil fluids are just on par with other if not better than most! rated as one of the top oils/ if not top in recent times...

Postby BrotherHood » February 5th, 2012, 12:21 am

Biggs3ne wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:^^^ A concern that I also share because my fans do the same thing and I want one to purchase before it gets to a point on no return.

Hey BrotherHood, any luck on your end locating an original fan controller?

If I have any luck on my end I will let you know.

Na bro, nothing yet.

Postby ronsin1 » February 5th, 2012, 7:48 am

OEM fan Controller at Faiz in Marabella for $1240.00 TTD

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 5th, 2012, 9:08 pm

Thanks for the info Ronsin1

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 6th, 2012, 12:26 am

problems guys when driving and temp reach half i get a jerk and bad idle when i stop , now yesterday the car didn,t move except for reverse ,,shift to neutral and the car revs clean back in drive no reving or very little .....i have heard of some cars if it is going to over heat or overheating it will shut down or not move ...now i used wifey car today so i didnt chek to see if the fans working so was also wondering if this can be the fan unit issue too .......1 thing when it cold no problem..has anyone have this prob b4

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 6th, 2012, 12:44 pm

You seem to have the same issue as me Mety57, just a tad worse. The posts on page 269 would be of some use to you.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 6th, 2012, 3:19 pm

Does anyone know where I can locate an OEM thermostat? Also, can you indicate the part# and provide a ball park figure of how much it costs?

venum

Postby venum » February 6th, 2012, 10:31 pm

idlemind wrote:I recommend to those whose fans run after the ignition is turned off, to get your controller changed.

This happens on our silver CS3 since it was bought roro almost 3 years ago . . . still happens

both fans work as they should, no overheating

started happening to one of our other CS3's, but the engine fan started to die because the controller had it spinning at higher revs constantly which required a change of both

so I would say not a major issue, unless your fans stop working or do not work as they should

Return to “MITSUBISHI”