PapaC wrote:Anybody ever had a problem with the lights for the CS3 flicking off randomly?
Sometimes you turn on the indicator, or use the power locks, or even pull for the wipers causes all the lights inthe car to trip off, dashboard, headlamps and all.
Hazard lights still work when that happens though, have to flip it off and on again to come back on after a couple secs.
Dealer checked and couldn't find a problem, then they changed the switch for the lights at the right side of the steering wheel, still happens sometimes, but very randomly.
BrotherHood wrote:PapaC wrote:Anybody ever had a problem with the lights for the CS3 flicking off randomly?
Sometimes you turn on the indicator, or use the power locks, or even pull for the wipers causes all the lights inthe car to trip off, dashboard, headlamps and all.
Hazard lights still work when that happens though, have to flip it off and on again to come back on after a couple secs.
Dealer checked and couldn't find a problem, then they changed the switch for the lights at the right side of the steering wheel, still happens sometimes, but very randomly.
I have that problem presently. I took it to an electrician. After trying to source the problem, all he did in the end was spray up the switch with some WD-40,and I have seen significant improvement. Cost me $20 just for the time.
Now and again it flickers off completely but when that starts to happen I spray it up with WD-40 myself.
Under your steering wheel, where the adjust lever is, there are two phillip head screws. When that comes out, pull out the switch/es, spray the contacts both on the switch and behind the steering column.
ZeroOne wrote:BrotherHood wrote:PapaC wrote:Anybody ever had a problem with the lights for the CS3 flicking off randomly?
I have that problem presently. I took it to an electrician. After trying to source the problem, all he did in the end was spray up the switch with some WD-40,and I have seen significant improvement. Cost me $20 just for the time.
Now and again it flickers off completely but when that starts to happen I spray it up with WD-40 myself.
Under your steering wheel, where the adjust lever is, there are two phillip head screws. When that comes out, pull out the switch/es, spray the contacts both on the switch and behind the steering column.
Which electrician charge yuh 20 for that?
Biggs3ne wrote:I have a CS3a and this is what's happening for the longest while. When I turn the ignition on both fans come on at the same time and they don't ever come off, even after switching off the car(keys in hand) the fans still run for about 2-3 seconds.. Is this how the fans supposed to function, or is there a problem with my fan control unit?
The guy who sold me the fan motor when I changed it back in December said that the AC Fan only comes on when the AC is turned on and should not be on if the AC is not in use....I know you guys are very knowledgeable and as such I await your repsonses.
ZeroOne wrote:Biggs3ne wrote:I have a CS3a and this is what's happening for the longest while. When I turn the ignition on both fans come on at the same time and they don't ever come off, even after switching off the car(keys in hand) the fans still run for about 2-3 seconds.. Is this how the fans supposed to function, or is there a problem with my fan control unit?
The guy who sold me the fan motor when I changed it back in December said that the AC Fan only comes on when the AC is turned on and should not be on if the AC is not in use....I know you guys are very knowledgeable and as such I await your repsonses.
See below
Biggs3ne wrote:I have a CS3a and this is what's happening for the longest while. When I turn the ignition on both fans come on at the same time and they don't ever come off, even after switching off the car(keys in hand) the fans still run for about 2-3 seconds.. Is this how the fans supposed to function, or is there a problem with my fan control unit?
ZeroOne wrote:Yes, you would have to get the correct fan control unit that can connect 2 fans.
Read this
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=323241&hilit=fanBiggs3ne wrote:I have a CS3a and this is what's happening for the longest while. When I turn the ignition on both fans come on at the same time and they don't ever come off, even after switching off the car(keys in hand) the fans still run for about 2-3 seconds.. Is this how the fans supposed to function, or is there a problem with my fan control unit?
It could be the fuse for the lights in the ECU that is in the engine at the top of the battery.
You could try to locate the relevant fuse in that ECU pull it out and spray the slot with some WD40 then clean the fuse and put it back.
ZeroOne wrote:BrotherHood wrote:PapaC wrote:Anybody ever had a problem with the lights for the CS3 flicking off randomly?
Which electrician charge yuh 20 for that?
ZeroOne wrote:Yes, you would have to get the correct fan control unit that can connect 2 fans.
Read this
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=323241&hilit=fanBiggs3ne wrote:I have a CS3a and this is what's happening for the longest while. When I turn the ignition on both fans come on at the same time and they don't ever come off, even after switching off the car(keys in hand) the fans still run for about 2-3 seconds.. Is this how the fans supposed to function, or is there a problem with my fan control unit?
It could be the fuse for the lights in the ECU that is in the engine at the top of the battery.
You could try to locate the relevant fuse in that ECU pull it out and spray the slot with some WD40 then clean the fuse and put it back.
idlemind wrote:Guys your concerns are valid.
Because in the thread Zero posted I specifically asked which part number it was because I knew there were 2 different controllers for the Evo and CS.
W2J posted that his model supersedes both controllers. Now granted his clientèle would mainly consist of Evo owners, I suggest you ask him if he knows of any CS owners who bought it from him for you to contact and ask, how it works.
Il try to do some research and see what I can find.
I recommend to those whose fans run after the ignition is turned off, to get your controller changed.
Biggs3ne wrote:idlemind wrote:Guys your concerns are valid.
Because in the thread Zero posted I specifically asked which part number it was because I knew there were 2 different controllers for the Evo and CS.
W2J posted that his model supersedes both controllers. Now granted his clientèle would mainly consist of Evo owners, I suggest you ask him if he knows of any CS owners who bought it from him for you to contact and ask, how it works.
Il try to do some research and see what I can find.
I recommend to those whose fans run after the ignition is turned off, to get your controller changed.
Thank you for the response Idlemind. I want to share something with you guys. While driving through the traffic in POS this afternoon I noticed that my temp guage went to the hald mark and my idle would drop to about 4000 rpms around there when I came a complete stop. The car would jerk a bit when i took my foot of the brakes and tap the gas pedal. I found it odd that the temp rose so high considering that my fans never cut off...Is this a sign that my controller is on its way out soon.
I doubt it's the step-up motor because I replaced the throttle body and sensor last night and the car idles normal when the temp guage is about 1/4 high.
Can anyone explain what's happening here? I'm thinking it's the fan controller, but I am also getting thoughts about my thermostat as well...really not sure who the culprit is