The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

tripplediamond

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby tripplediamond » January 6th, 2012, 7:45 pm

where can i get a knowledgeable mechanic for my local cs2 (cedia type) lancer? i need a service bad and dont want to go to diamond motors, throttle body issues... im located couva! please help

QG

Postby QG » January 6th, 2012, 10:19 pm

What sort of throttle body issues?

If the throttle is dirty you will have bad idle from time to time and car cuts off on you when you come to stop after idling a few seconds. If by chance you have this similar problem you can clean the throttle yourself.
I bought CRC Throttle body cleaner and did it myself.

One thing though...when you use the cable to open the throttle be sure to manaully open and close the throttle by the clip. Because when i started up the lancer and press the gas pedal to over 2000rpm it stucked there :lol: :lol:
I had to switch off and play with throttle opener before it came back to normal...car works great up to this day.

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 9th, 2012, 8:05 pm

hey can anyone say that if i have a non tach ip can a ip with a tach work same country make........cs2a

Postby BrotherHood » January 9th, 2012, 11:05 pm

What coolant do you all use in your CS3?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 10th, 2012, 12:35 am

mety57 wrote:hey can anyone say that if i have a non tach ip can a ip with a tach work same country make........cs2a

jack wires would be diff. u may have to splice.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » January 10th, 2012, 1:27 pm

...so I just bought a used CS3 lancer today after driving it to work I tried to reverse park.....nothing

The car wont go into reverse.....I drove it a couple times already and I reversed out of a park to reverse in and nothing it just sits there as if it's in neutral...

Help :(

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 10th, 2012, 8:24 pm

thelem wrote:
mety57 wrote:hey can anyone say that if i have a non tach ip can a ip with a tach work same country make........cs2a

I actually bought an ip with tac saturday expecting to cut wires and modify as i have a ip with no tack. It was actually jack for jack. And worked.

yeah the jack is the same but is it singapore car with japan ip

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » January 11th, 2012, 12:06 am

Mety57 your point being it's working hell i would do just i got more important things to do like finish make pre for my project. speaking of which rooki3 gimme a pm when you get chance

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 11th, 2012, 8:19 pm

thatguy3832 wrote:Mety57 your point being it's working hell i would do just i got more important things to do like finish make pre for my project. speaking of which rooki3 gimme a pm when you get chance

bro yuh lost meh all i was trying to find out is if the japan ip with tach would work in a singapore car and........... even if i get a singapore ip would the tach work ......thats all

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » January 12th, 2012, 10:10 am

dude i was just saying he said it was jack for jack and worked which it did for me last night tried it with my moms ip and her's is singapore while i'm japanese

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 12th, 2012, 6:11 pm

thatguy3832 wrote:dude i was just saying he said it was jack for jack and worked which it did for me last night tried it with my moms ip and her's is singapore while i'm japanese

really? yuh hav ah sista? do it sidewayzzzzz. rofl

yepp it shud werk once the jacks the same i guess but think about it, y put an rpm signal on an IP that doesnt hav an rpm band when making cars? so i stil believe, some splicing may hafta be done

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 12th, 2012, 9:50 pm

thatguy3832 wrote:dude i was just saying he said it was jack for jack and worked which it did for me last night tried it with my moms ip and her's is singapore while i'm japanese

oh ho sounding good

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 12th, 2012, 9:56 pm

wait hold up that guy if the singapore ip is gdi and the japan ip is the single cam engine would the japanese ip work but both ip have the same jack

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » January 12th, 2012, 10:43 pm

my ip has the gdi eco sign on it and i'm 1.5 sohc

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 13th, 2012, 4:10 am

Lol allyuh is trouble oui.

All IPs are interchangeable.
They just output data from the ECU.
Hence a non GDI wouldnt see the GDI ECO light and even though the car didn't come with tach, your ECU still generates a rpm reading.

So wait... None of allyuh ever wonder what the fuse mark CRUISE is for?
MMC harnesses are built the same for all trims within a model, this does not necessarily mean all features will work, but more often than not, you will have the wiring for it.

So who going to organize Cruise Control??
The USDM CS has it standard.

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » January 13th, 2012, 8:30 am

idle i was just trying to figure out what his point was. and cruise control on trinidad roads only if is 50 km/h
on another note i need fogs

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 13th, 2012, 8:35 am

me 2. ent there was a place up north side i think has the 02 lancer fogs/cedia fogs? please shed light! bouce a dog n 1 side drop out...steupzzzz. turbo was now kickin eennn too.smh

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » January 13th, 2012, 8:46 am

nah i got an 06 trying not to buy it online

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 13th, 2012, 10:38 am

I have a touring bumper with oem circle fogs if anyone interested.
Slight damage to the right side of bumper. Circle fogs look better IMHO.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 13th, 2012, 11:21 am

I plugged in the lightup instrument panel on a cs2 and it works but only problem is the water temp does not work and the panel gets really hot after 5 minutes.

Im in need of an evo7 front bumper :( Anyone want a Cedia Wagon Front Bumper to buy with lip and the small center lip on it? :D

Anyone notice the exhaust tunnel under some cedia lancers have plenty more clearance? Especially the wagon having a transfer case spacing? My CS3 has good room under there and my wagon frotn half which has all the way to the center console flooring, has a more pushed out spacing area to teh foot aera on driver side, as my cs3 does not have. So far all my 4WD vehicles had this hump spacing. Makes my 4wd conversion more easier :D

Just need brembos front + back, front spindles, driveshafts and front bumper. Front spindles and driveshaft has been found already, just to save and buy.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 13th, 2012, 5:45 pm

idle, fogs alone? hommuch

told ya'll it takes lil common sense with the ip thingy.

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 14th, 2012, 11:39 am

thelem wrote:
idlemind wrote:Lol allyuh is trouble oui.

All IPs are interchangeable.
They just output data from the ECU.
Hence a non GDI wouldnt see the GDI ECO light and even though the car didn't come with tach, your ECU still generates a rpm reading.

So wait... None of allyuh ever wonder what the fuse mark CRUISE is for?
MMC harnesses are built the same for all trims within a model, this does not necessarily mean all features will work, but more often than not, you will have the wiring for it.

So who going to organize Cruise Control??
The USDM CS has it standard.

Ok confirmed that this is NOT true. Went by a partner and interchanged his non tach ip with a tach one. Everything but the tach works.

mine didn,t work also

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 14th, 2012, 11:43 am

aye allyuh i have a pair of cs2a headlights for sale it,s the one with the hi and lo beams separate

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 14th, 2012, 12:50 pm

Wayys I aint come in this thread for a while and seeing this.

You would need to get an exact Ip as the defective one nothing else would work.

I dont know if the tach would work but everything else will.

Ive experimented with the IP a few years aback.

Now when you get your exact replacement and checked that everything is working, you can transfer the mileage from the old IP to the new IP by just interchangeing the circuit board. This is a delicate procedure, care must be taken not to touch any part of the IP's gauges and pointing pins.

BrotherHood wrote:What coolant do you all use in your CS3?

Battery water, if it's purified "distilled" water ONLY or blue mountain/blue waters/crystal/daisani/....etc, will be fine for a radiator along with 50% coolant like amsoil coolant boost.

tripplediamond wrote:where can i get a knowledgeable mechanic for my local cs2 (cedia type) lancer? i need a service bad and dont want to go to diamond motors, throttle body issues... im located couva! please help

Check state of the art automotive on caroni Savannah road 222-0183. Tell them Rennie send you, might get a discount.

A.W.O.L wrote:yesterday was idle birthday :new-bday:

Congrats bro

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 14th, 2012, 8:16 pm

To the guys without tach, you ever hooked up evoscan and got an rpm reading?
Coz most likely it will, if so then you probably missing a couple wires to the IP.
I can take a pic of mine and we could compare which strands are missing.
Theres a wire map in the big CS workshop manual which will show where the RPM feed comes from.
Anybody game?

Thanks man Zero..

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 14th, 2012, 8:38 pm

Yea thats true, its just a matter of plugging in the relevant wires, same goes for the fog light on the IP.

When you install the fogs you need to wire the relevant wires to the IP jack so that the fog indicator on the Ip would light when they are switched on.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 14th, 2012, 9:09 pm

duhhhhhhhh

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 14th, 2012, 9:13 pm

idle i,m game

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 14th, 2012, 10:19 pm

Cool il take a pic tomorrow.

Postby BrotherHood » January 14th, 2012, 10:35 pm

douglaking wrote:...so I just bought a used CS3 lancer today after driving it to work I tried to reverse park.....nothing

The car wont go into reverse.....I drove it a couple times already and I reversed out of a park to reverse in and nothing it just sits there as if it's in neutral...

Help :(

I hope that maybe someone has sent you a PM and assisted you in some way because I see that nobody has replied to your post.
I have had tranmission problems with my CS3. They are a known weakness of the car. The transmission needs alot of care and timely maintenance. The reverse gear is the first gear to go bad in a transmission. Have your transmission serviced/repaired. I went to Jenton's Transmission Specialist in Aranguez and I have had no problems 11 months later.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”