The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby ronsin1 » October 30th, 2011, 12:39 pm

change the belts

QG

Postby QG » October 30th, 2011, 1:45 pm

thatguy3832 wrote:Decided to do some work on the car changed rotors today.
I got more stuff to do but they will all come in time.
and no comments on the dirty car. :agrue:

Hey you got the 2005 model?
And what size engine?

slick

Postby slick » October 30th, 2011, 2:10 pm

ronsin1 wrote:change the belts

as i thought...ah well

mety57

Postby mety57 » October 30th, 2011, 3:11 pm

allyuh i want fold down back seatsssssss

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » October 30th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Mety me too and QG is a 06 and it's a 4G15 Sohc

QG

Postby QG » October 30th, 2011, 3:23 pm

Okay cool!!

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » November 1st, 2011, 8:31 pm

fellas is the gates water pump any good?

Postby BrotherHood » November 1st, 2011, 10:17 pm

Question:

I am having problems with my indicator switch in my 2005 CS3 Lancer. When its in the turn right or left position its sometimes doesnt light up or would light with the ticking sound and just stop. Also, my park lights would be on and it would flicker and blink or jus come off while in the 'park light position'. My indicator switch I need urgently!!!! Can't be changingb lanes on you guys and turning without indicating. In the Classifieds I posted that I wanted one to buy. I am getting one from a CS2.
What I want to know is if the CS2 indicator switch will work on my CS3.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 2nd, 2011, 8:29 am

you sure the problem is the indicator switch?

The switch from the CS2 should work but i would take out my switch and compare it with the new one first if i were you.

Postby BrotherHood » November 2nd, 2011, 10:19 am

^^^ I'm sure it's the switch. Thanks.

Postby BrotherHood » November 2nd, 2011, 10:36 pm

CS2 switch did not work on my CS3. Fits in place but with engine idling it doesn't indicate. The back of the switch is slightly different. I need a CS3 indicator switch.

venum

Postby venum » November 4th, 2011, 7:50 am

BrotherHood wrote:Question:

I am having problems with my indicator switch in my 2005 CS3 Lancer. When its in the turn right or left position its sometimes doesnt light up or would light with the ticking sound and just stop. Also, my park lights would be on and it would flicker and blink or jus come off while in the 'park light position'. My indicator switch I need urgently!!!! Can't be changingb lanes on you guys and turning without indicating. In the Classifieds I posted that I wanted one to buy. I am getting one from a CS2.

problem is the switch contact

changing the switch does not necessarily guarantee a solution

might be the contact where the indicator stalk connects to the harness inside the steering column

had this problem with my L200.

Mitsu uses ground switching on the L200, not sure about the Lancer

Anil Sooknanan sorted it out - 396-1036

venum

Postby venum » November 4th, 2011, 8:00 am

had to clean the headlights on Blondie as it was very dirty and really affecting vision in the night

before

After

done at Carplus on Cipero street - $150.00

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » November 4th, 2011, 8:34 pm

wow^^^^^

Postby BrotherHood » November 5th, 2011, 1:38 am

venum wrote:had to clean the headlights on Blondie as it was very dirty and really affecting vision in the night

before

After

Carplus made you look like you bought a brand new headlight at Bobby's in the Bamboo :lol: . Nice job Carplus.

Postby BrotherHood » November 5th, 2011, 1:44 am

venum wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Question:

problem is the switch contact

changing the switch does not necessarily guarantee a solution

might be the contact where the indicator stalk connects to the harness inside the steering column

had this problem with my L200.

Mitsu uses ground switching on the L200, not sure about the Lancer

Anil Sooknanan sorted it out - 396-1036

Thanks much. Appreciated.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 5th, 2011, 7:20 am

BrotherHood wrote:
venum wrote:had to clean the headlights on Blondie as it was very dirty and really affecting vision in the night

before

After

Carplus made you look like you bought a brand new headlight at Bobby's in the Bamboo :lol: . Nice job Carplus.

Do not do this.

Venum yuh just wasted 150.

Check this thread.

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=402834

venum

Postby venum » November 5th, 2011, 12:46 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Do not do this.

Venum yuh just wasted 150.

Check this thread.

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=402834

I don't think so

the headlights were badly discoloured to the point that night vision was impaired, now they like showroom condition and give excellent vision at night

they protected with mothers Plastic polish now, so they should withstand teh UV deterioration better (they were previously not treated with Mothers) and I plan to maintain the Mothers Plastic polish on them

that thread you linked has an option for $650.00 which is more expensive regardless of teh renewed UV protection benefit

if the lights get discoloured I buying brand new OEM or aftermarket projector ones for HID which are ~ $2000.00 + . . . if we keep the car that long

so I spent $150.00 to prevent spending $2000.00 + a risk well worth taking

look at it like this - some risks work out others do not

if this works out I would have spent $150.00 and not have to put out $650.00 or $2000+

if it doesn't then I would have only lost $150.00

either way it is not $150.00 wasted as the lights will last some time before discolouration happens again

$150 vs $650 vs $2000+ with same results

there is no guarantee that the UV restoration will work better than the Carplus option as teh UV coating will deteriorate over time as well

time will tell how well the Carplus option works out which will be posted here

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » November 5th, 2011, 1:13 pm

allya have any reviews on the gates water pump for the 4g18...?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 5th, 2011, 1:57 pm

venum in your case that would work out but for someone looking for a long time fix that 150 may be 150 better contributed to the 650 option.

venum

Postby venum » November 5th, 2011, 9:40 pm

^^^ Agreed, but we have no idea that the Carplus option isn't a long time fix

the $650 option may just be marketing for all we know . . . no offense to the seller of that option

time Zero, time will tell, let's not discount any options

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 5th, 2011, 10:48 pm

a few treatments of mothers plastic polish n u orn like corn.... 650 for headlight treatment? ahahahahahahaha. W.O.T

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 5th, 2011, 11:46 pm

venum wrote:^^^ Agreed, but we have no idea that the Carplus option isn't a long time fix

the $650 option may just be marketing for all we know . . . no offense to the seller of that option

hey the job on your lights look better than the job on the mazda

slick

Postby slick » November 6th, 2011, 1:29 am

Well I have to change the fan belts and I'll also be hitting the 100,000KM mark so I have to change the timing belt as well.

Besides the firm, what would be my other options for getting these original items?

Or is it advisable to just get these from the firm?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 6th, 2011, 6:56 am

mety57 wrote:
venum wrote:^^^ Agreed, but we have no idea that the Carplus option isn't a long time fix

hey the job on your lights look better than the job on the mazda

I wouldn't compare a glass headlight to a plastic headlight if i were you not to mention that they are two different brands, designs, etc.

I agree that time has to pass. I await the results.

slick timing belt should be nothing but OEM, other belts you can get after market, gates is a good brand, but if you can get all belts OEM that would be best.

venum

Postby venum » November 6th, 2011, 8:25 am

^ ^ ^ I have used Gates timing belt on my L200 with perfect results

there are good non-OEM options available if u cannot get OEM

If using non-OEM then change earlier than 100,000km if u still have your vehicle at that time

I would try to get OEM though

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 6th, 2011, 1:53 pm

Cool, good to know.

You need to change belts after a while so no hard and fast rules there.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » November 7th, 2011, 4:30 am

slick wrote:Well I have to change the fan belts and I'll also be hitting the 100,000KM mark so I have to change the timing belt as well.

Besides the firm, what would be my other options for getting these original items?

Or is it advisable to just get these from the firm?

recently did my 100K service, changed all the belts to Gates. only thing is the a/c belt stretched a little, so i have to go get that tightened (maybe weekend). like [b]venum[/b[ said, non-OEM is a viable option, but you'll need to change at shorter intervals...

go OEM if you could afford it, but you're hardly gonna find it outside of DM, and places like Faiz and Federal usually sell it at DM price + $100

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 9th, 2011, 10:18 pm

hey ppl whats the plug gapping on a gdi engine i want to used some irridiums

xtech

Postby xtech » November 9th, 2011, 11:53 pm

who can gap iridium's?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”