The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

EVA Unit-01

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 19th, 2011, 4:17 am

CF?! :shock: dat alone is almos d price of an Evo!!! :lol: if i could find someone to do the Evo vents on my original bonnet, or make a new one out of fibreglass, maybe i can afford that...

*UPDATE*

got my rear engine mount yesterday @ DM = $800
also went to check out the poly mount inserts from Energy suspension, but they can't fit. they're way too small and can't even be forced on. will check around today for any that will work, before i install in the morning...

Postby Rooki3 » May 20th, 2011, 1:50 pm

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 20th, 2011, 2:01 pm

pm xtech

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 20th, 2011, 6:39 pm

Anyone ever convert a CS lancer 4wd?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 21st, 2011, 10:35 am

so i just got back from replacing my rear engine mount... the original one was only torn halfway through one (of four) of the rubber struts,but that was enough to cause a vibration :? (looks like you were right, A.W.O.L, could've made the rest of the year :lol: )

also installed Energy Suspension polyurethane inserts on the front mount only. they don't make for the CS but the front inserts from one of the Eclipse models worked, but was too small in the back (approx. 2.5" compared to 4" diameter on the CS rear mount).

on the drive home, i noticed:
1. no change in vibration when idling in Neutral
2. noticeable vibration in Drive, at 1000rpm and below
3. barely discernible increase in vibration during normal driving
4. no noticeable difference in "pull-off" (torque) during kick-down, but slightly more vibration around 5000-5500rpm (supposed highest hp range of engine)

will see if there's any change as it works in over the next couple of weeks... :mrgreen:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 21st, 2011, 1:07 pm

it have nothing like working in when it comes to stationary mounts u know...yuh rel harden, yuh doh listen when ppl talk to yuh lol

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » May 21st, 2011, 1:29 pm

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:Anyone ever convert a CS lancer 4wd?

know a guy that converted his,havent gotten to see it as yet.converted to 4wd,put in a 1.8 mivec engine,4wd gearbox to go with it,i think he got a subframe from a evo7,spindles,driveshafts everything,as far as i know it didnt have any issues with the lining up of it.his own is the cs2 shape gdi model.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 21st, 2011, 1:47 pm

I contacted vyshall about the ploy bushings......

I find them to be too expensive. The 2 front cradle arm bushings is approx 2800, the back is approx 1300, and that is without any labor cost to install.

The only brand that make the poly bushings for the CS is superpro.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » May 21st, 2011, 3:09 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:so i just got back from replacing my rear engine mount... the original one was only torn halfway through one (of four) of the rubber struts,but that was enough to cause a vibration :? (looks like you were right, A.W.O.L, could've made the rest of the year :lol: )

turbo_beast369 wrote:...yuh rel harden, yuh doh listen when ppl talk to yuh lol..

X100...hahahahaha....u read my mind turbo... :lol: :lol: :lol:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 21st, 2011, 3:22 pm

ZeroOne wrote:I contacted vyshall about the ploy bushings......

I find them to be too expensive. The 2 front cradle arm bushings is approx 2800, the back is approx 1300, and that is without any labor cost to install.

Yea dude, thats like WOW, way out my budget range.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 21st, 2011, 3:25 pm

daniel135 wrote:
A-1 Superior Tech wrote:Anyone ever convert a CS lancer 4wd?

know a guy that converted his,havent gotten to see it as yet.converted to 4wd,put in a 1.8 mivec engine,4wd gearbox to go with it,i think he got a subframe from a evo7,spindles,driveshafts everything,as far as i know it didnt have any issues with the lining up of it.his own is the cs2 shape gdi model.

Was thinking to bring an evo7 shell, crashed one just to do the swap. Wanna build an evo, from ground up instead of buying one as i like to have the body/chassis re enforced and stitch welded on weak points like my skyline was done. Car does handle more tougher.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 21st, 2011, 4:37 pm

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:I contacted vyshall about the ploy bushings......

Yea dude, thats like WOW, way out my budget range.

In this case im thinking its better to go OEM, wasn't expecting poly bushings to be so expensive.
We talking about 4000 here......know how much OEM bushings you could buy with that?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 21st, 2011, 6:56 pm

Get a tube of poly urethane from the 10$ store and stick in some of them and it works, worked well with my van, dunno how much difference it might do with these.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 21st, 2011, 11:22 pm

A.W.O.L wrote:
EVA Unit-01 wrote:so i just got back from replacing my rear engine mount... the original one was only torn halfway through one (of four) of the rubber struts,but that was enough to cause a vibration :? (looks like you were right, A.W.O.L, could've made the rest of the year :lol: )

turbo_beast369 wrote:...yuh rel harden, yuh doh listen when ppl talk to yuh lol..

X100...hahahahaha....u read my mind turbo... :lol: :lol: :lol:

*steups* alyuh jes jealous :lol:
nah, i don't like it when my car's anything but impeccable, and i've seen what bad mounts can do so it wasn't a question if to change the mount

also, it's just an insert, not a full poly bushing so it will take a lil softening up with use... it isn't tie-strapped in like the other inserts, there're 2 giant washers holding them in place between the thingy, so in time they'll work themselves into the mount comfortably... from what i've read on the net, it takes about 2 weeks...

Zero, Energy only makes the cradle arm bushings for the CS, i got a price of TT$850 on them but you may get it cheaper elsewhere...
as for the SuperPro stuff, vyshall quoted me TT$1750 for the full front end kit: 6 bushings, etc etc... didn't ask about the rear, but i'm REALLY confused what he quoted you for at that price :shock:

he also told me he has a poly compound made SPECIFICALLY for DIY mounts at TT$700, for you guys who might wanna DIY up the place to make new poly mounts or even just fill up he spaces in a good mounts... i'm keeping my torn rear mount for this as an option in the future...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 22nd, 2011, 12:40 am

I think I might just use OEM bushings and done.

Even if you get the front for 1750, the back is approx 1300.

1750+1300= 3050.

Now add installation labor to that.

The front for 850 is a lot more affordable, who has it?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 22nd, 2011, 1:55 am

that TT$850 is just for the cradle arm bushings alone eh... call between vyshall, Tuner Imports, Streetwise Performance and GPS, see who's the cheapest

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 22nd, 2011, 1:20 pm

them polyurethane bushings will give d car a slightly stiffer ride eh...
EVA all dat waste ah time money yuh spending on yuh suspension and whatever else on a automatic stock non turbo car could be better spent on a downpayment for an EVO....unless yuh keepin d car longer and boosting it down....

next 2 yrs or so I gonna sell mine and buy a factory turbo car then just buy upgrade kits from there..

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 22nd, 2011, 1:43 pm

^^^yes, the Evo vs Upgrade debate rages ever on in my mind... still can't decide btwn bein patient wile i save, or havin d bess CS3A 2 drive now :?
while it may be a "automatic stock non turbo car" as you put it, it still is EXTREMELY fun to drive and more capable than most other cars i've seen for pure driving ability :mrgreen:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 22nd, 2011, 2:41 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:them polyurethane bushings will give d car a slightly stiffer ride eh...
EVA all dat waste ah time money yuh spending on yuh suspension and whatever else on a automatic stock non turbo car could be better spent on a downpayment for an EVO....unless yuh keepin d car longer and boosting it down....

next 2 yrs or so I gonna sell mine and buy a factory turbo car then just buy upgrade kits from there..

thats my plan too 8-)

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 22nd, 2011, 5:34 pm

aye eva thanks with the info about the k&n airfilter teknet have it for 560

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 23rd, 2011, 7:59 am

EVA drive a manual turbo car and then you could use the word fun...when you done yuh go have a one big big smile on yuh face that will last throughout the day lol

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » May 23rd, 2011, 6:07 pm

Driving a manual car on the whole is fun.. 8-) turbo is even better!!!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 24th, 2011, 4:42 am

Driving a homemade built up evo7, turbo, 4wd is lots of fun :D

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 24th, 2011, 12:22 pm

How to adjust the power steering belt? (4g15 GDI)

I believe mine is a lil slack.

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 24th, 2011, 4:42 pm

ok zero it,s easy now the belt could be rubbing the steering and alternater belt so macco to see if this is so .......ok align the pulley gaps with the 2 bolts on the side of the pump so u will have acess to them then slacken the top back bolt ,then u can adjust the adjuster bolt in front of the pump don,t for get make sure on the ac compressor the belt is on the last groove outward if probs still check me and i,ll adjust for u it,s no probs

mingrio

Postby mingrio » May 26th, 2011, 1:16 pm

How do you check d fluid level in the CS3 lancer CVT transmission,i know where the dip stick is but the thing is dont know what level it has to be when it's cold or when it is hot.

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 26th, 2011, 11:59 pm

it,s marked on the stick

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 27th, 2011, 7:57 pm

mety57 I haven't checked that belt since you posted that....

I hit the passenger side of my bumper...quite a bit of damage done...the fog itself broke ( I always knew this thing was fragile).

It is repairable but you know me i want a new OEM one :lol:

And im selling my rear drums no one interested though. I was well hoping to buy a lil tequila for the crew with that money.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » May 28th, 2011, 5:42 am

talkin bout crew wen is the lime..???
we stickin dread..?

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 28th, 2011, 10:54 am

hey i have question does the SRS light in the CS3 stay on or does it come off after the engine is on?

i hope you all have covered this already but 238 pages are too much to check for that. I checked out two today and just making sure that everything is ok.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”