The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

ShaKarz

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby ShaKarz » May 14th, 2011, 3:31 pm

hey fellas, i notice my car running sluggish (lack of power) with a/c on as compared to a/c off,
what things could be causing this?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 14th, 2011, 3:39 pm

fras wrote:1. Take off radiator cap

2. Drain fluid via drain plug or hoses (if ur car is high enough u should be able to do this without jacking up the car)

3. Remove hoses (2 radiator & 1 tranny)

4. Remove mounting brackets at the top

5. Remove fan bracket from radiator

6. Unplug and remove fan/bracket assembly from car or move it out of the way

7. Pull radiator out (should come out effortless)

fras

Postby fras » May 14th, 2011, 5:21 pm

ShaKarz wrote:hey fellas, i notice my car running sluggish (lack of power) with a/c on as compared to a/c off,

AC is a parasite... Was it always like this?
Which engine? Which plugs? Which fuel? When last u service?

gracen nice... hope u upgraded and not replaced 8-)

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » May 14th, 2011, 6:28 pm

fras wrote:
ShaKarz wrote:hey fellas, i notice my car running sluggish (lack of power) with a/c on as compared to a/c off,

4g18 engine, ngk platinum plugs, premium gas (if u mean want refrigerant i dont know), didnt service a/c in over a year but it blows COLD

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 14th, 2011, 8:25 pm

fras wrote:

gracen nice... hope u upgraded and not replaced 8-)

Of course :D No more plastic housings again :P

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » May 14th, 2011, 9:10 pm

check the location of the turbo.. :shock:

xtech

Postby xtech » May 14th, 2011, 10:11 pm

Here is some insight......

1.) Rear mounted turbos do work. Some people who cry boost lag have never seen a proper setup with a properly tuned car and the correct turbo size.

2.) They are CHEAP. You pay for the same parts you would for a traditional setup, but you don't have to have a manifold fabbed. Sure you have to run the charge pipe, but any reputable shop who can TIG weld should be able to hook you up.

3.) Tuning and theory is all the same.

4.) Oil pressure will make or break you. Major issues with the oil supply. If oil pressure exceeds safe limits, you blow oil past the turbo seals and it smokes like a bastard. Too little oil pressure and you smoke the bearings/journals.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » May 15th, 2011, 10:00 am

^^^interesting...

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 15th, 2011, 8:20 pm

fras wrote:buy a tube of polyurethane & gun and i'll fix them up 8-)
those on my car running over 1yr now... also have an extra set in storage

i did jus the front but u did all 4 any vibes but i feel i should of left it longer to dry did u leave it for 24hrs

fras

Postby fras » May 15th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Just the 2 mounts below (cross member) I did... Didn't notice any big vibrations
Left mine to dry about 2-3 days

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 16th, 2011, 7:36 am

so i just spent like an hour in my car, in front my office, trying to scrap out my IP to see if the bulb blew...
Good News: i did it successfully! :)
Bad News: the bulb's blown :(
Zero, let me know when next you're ordering bulbs again, i'll have to get back a green set for my IP...

also, the search for the elusive OEM rear mount continues... DUN! DUN! DUUUUUHN!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 16th, 2011, 4:12 pm

how much leds blew??

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 16th, 2011, 5:11 pm

just one out of the 3? 4? i cya rem hommuch com in d set, but i dont think d odometer bulb was included...

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 17th, 2011, 12:08 am

eva does the rear mount have to be original cause other places have them

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 17th, 2011, 6:54 am

Where and price mety?

Aye poly my mounts for me nah...I have the back and the cross member to do.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 17th, 2011, 7:49 am

i prefer OEM or better on my car; the substitutes i'm getting aren't better and the ones A.W.O.L posted mightn't work (as per turbo's advice)

idle, here's the rear mount list as far as i can remember:
1. Autorama - $265
2. Faiz - $195
3. ronsin - $450
4. GPS - nada
5. A.W.O.L pardna - setup :lol:

getting the polyurethane inserts for $400, for the front and back mounts, hoping to put them on this Saturday... will give you guys some feedback (other than the pretty clear results found on the net) on how good they are, because i think they'd be a viable option for most daily drivers whose driving preference may change with time (or if they selling to upgrade to an Evo, like i wish i could :( )

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 17th, 2011, 9:45 am

hey anybody knows where i can get a k&n for meh gdi with a bess price

Blowfuse

Postby Blowfuse » May 17th, 2011, 2:23 pm

Does anybody know where i can get a 4G18 cylinder gasket head...

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 17th, 2011, 5:33 pm

mety, chek TekNet. i tink dey had it much cheepa dan d odda places (like da place in Valpark, wher i buy mine :()

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 17th, 2011, 6:45 pm

^^^yea u get rob lol

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 18th, 2011, 12:06 am

eva how much u paid for yours and did u feel a difference

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 18th, 2011, 4:22 am

^^^i paid like $700 for mine from an authorized dealer :? Yes, i felt a difference... the car seems to breathe easier in that it seems to accelerate a little faster with the K&N. when i clean it, i pop the OEM back in while it dries and there's actually a noticeable difference to me and my passengers

staggagoat

Postby staggagoat » May 18th, 2011, 9:12 am

fellas which lowering/performance springs giving d best ride on the CS3A. i see megan giving real drop but the ride bouncy. tell meh wah all u experiment with and d ride quality. ah looking for a lil drop and smooth ride.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 18th, 2011, 10:29 am

Tein S-tech I believe is good

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 18th, 2011, 1:08 pm

^^^not from what i read on the net... most people say the Tein's are rather soft, and the ride quality goes bye-bye after a while (depends on how hard you drive). if you're looking at the Tein springs, you'll need to invest in their shocks as well to maintain ride quality (a bit of money, unless you can find an alternative shock to match)
there are a few alternatives, but nothing i've heard anyone with firsthand experience of

fras

Postby fras » May 18th, 2011, 2:00 pm

^I wouldn't say soft... The S.Tech rides like OE and the H.Tech are stiffer than OE!

If u buy the wrong spring for your car, I guess ur shocks would go through quicker?
We all know cars come in different trims, so if u buy springs for a different trim the spring rate would be off 8-)

staggagoat

Postby staggagoat » May 18th, 2011, 2:41 pm

thx for the feedback. but which brands have owners tried, such as eibach, h&r, sprint, b&g, megan.
what is the ride like.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 18th, 2011, 3:59 pm

Looking at this. Not too bad, it would get more heat out of the engine bay especially on hot days like today.........but when rain falls is a different story.

I'm thinking that a fabricated gutter made out of a material that would allow for airflow would do the trick.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 18th, 2011, 4:57 pm

^^^vented bonnets usually come with a removable plastic cover under the mesh, to prevent water getting into your engine bay during rain. was looking at the ones for sale on the net, will cost ~$10,000 to bring in :O shipping for a large 30lbs thing ain't cheap :(
is this someone you know who did the work? wouldn't mind getting them to mod my bonnet, if the price/quality was right...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 18th, 2011, 8:59 pm

You talking about a tray cover like this that is put on when rain is falling so that water does not enter the engine bay?

Also this bonnet is allegedly OEM. But why dont you look for a lightweight carbon fibre bonnet instead of a 30lb OEM?
Last edited by ZeroOne on May 19th, 2011, 5:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”