The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby ronsin1 » April 15th, 2011, 10:52 am

ronsin1 wrote:yuh see that is why I no longer own a car vehicle with a sun roof. The horror stories I could tell you but it was never electrical always something manual

we it seems my new vehicle will have a sun roof so I guess I need to retract this statement :shock:

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 15th, 2011, 5:59 pm

Good read idlemind, it shows that at times you really have to do things yourself to get good results.
Everyone telling you is cable when in fact it was something else.
Based on your experience with this is their any maintainiance plan you can suggest to us ( seeing that you opened and serviced the unit yourself) such that we can avoid this ie lubrication, tightning of bolts etc.
The only thing I do with my sunroof is to clean the channel , and armol around the rubber strips to prevent it from drying out and becoming brittle. This is the only time the sunroof operates.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 15th, 2011, 6:49 pm

Cleaning the tracks and lubing the rubber is good servicing.

As I was telling fras, its worthwhile to check the motor and see that the bolts are tightened and/or reinforced.

Simplest way will be to crack open the rear A pillar covers from the headliner.
Do the same for the center pillars. Just leave them cracked open for now.

Remove the 3 circle clips in the headliner at the top of the rear windscreen.
Now gently pull down the headliner. You will have to wedge it out of the A pillars.

Having the headliner halfway hanging out now, you should be able to reach the sunroof motor.
Now check to see it's bolted down in all corners. Best bet will be to ensure there is no play between the motor and roof. If there is tighten all the bolts. If you feeling savy drop the rest of the headliner, remOve the motor and bolts and add a lock washer to each bolt and reinstall.

If this happens to anyone, I will be more than willing to help out.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 16th, 2011, 7:52 am

All dis amount ah drama for ah sunroof. You do realise a big hole in your roof is less chassis rigidity for solodex, jess saying.

Personally, I agree with Ronsin. I don't see the need for them, waste of time IMO.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 16th, 2011, 8:10 am

Accuse it of adding more weight (easy 20lbs) but what's your arguement for less chassis rigidity???

In fact I would be inclined to think that I have better roof reinforcement than your CK.

I should've really taken pics yes. There's a big hole no doubt but if there was flex wouldn't the glass shift or eventually shatter?? Jus consider that there are about 4 bars going across, door to door , preventing any flex on top of whatever reinforcement there would normally be.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 16th, 2011, 8:19 am

^^^yup, all dat reinforcement's to hold the weight of the mechanisms...

anyone knows where i can find a Gates timing belt for my 4G18? i checked W2J, he only has OEM; GPS gots none :(

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 16th, 2011, 8:39 am

^Call Faiz. 658-7584. Well from your description it sounds like the reinforcement is a bit more than the CK's roof reinforcement, so I have no counter-argument there.

I guess dat ole talk came about when people added a sunroof when there was none from the factory

You will do well in your marriage!..... :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 16th, 2011, 9:26 am

Rudi you like sheit yes. The wisest of men are the ones that believe the wife knows everything.

Aaron try Autorama, I got my 4g93 gates there.

ace

Postby ace » April 16th, 2011, 11:03 am

great info

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 16th, 2011, 1:45 pm

i checked by Faiz this morning, they have 3 Gates belts for the Lancer but doesn't know which is for which engine :roll: i have to carry a sample :?

i got the guy at RepuAuto to order the Energy Suspension set for EVA, he'll confirm on Monday... it's also cheaper than the dealers here on 2nr :?

will check AutoRama next week when i get some time to run away from work... last time i think he didn't have when i asked. seems the belts are hard to find, heard it from a lot of places that used to carry Gates...

Rudman, i still trying to come up Dex to show yuh what the CS could do, but it'll be hard cuz is mih bro buttday :(

QG

Postby QG » April 16th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Idlemind...what a story, it actually got my attention to read All lol.

Glad that problem was solved. I totally agree with your statement with self proclaoimed electricians...and to add in mechanics too.

Sometimes I does do a better job diagnosing than them.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 18th, 2011, 2:43 pm

WHA ALLYUH THINK?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 18th, 2011, 2:52 pm

yuh buy CS3A_GLX lights owha?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 18th, 2011, 2:56 pm

lol nah nah..didn't u notice the entire headlight isnt blacked out?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 18th, 2011, 3:06 pm

You leave it as the indicator or convert to a park light?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 18th, 2011, 4:00 pm

Everything remained the same, remember my indicator is amber led so I can't use that as park light

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » April 18th, 2011, 5:47 pm

hahahha ... i taut turbo try a lil of my stylin dey oui! the grille need to paint n i have a wicked idea for u for those headlights bro! gimme a few to find d pic n i'll post it. i see me n u hatta get d lenny sumadhs! we stikkin jed.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » April 18th, 2011, 10:01 pm

interesting..

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » April 18th, 2011, 10:12 pm

dis is it! looks wicked sick...dunno how he did that but...

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 19th, 2011, 4:22 am

^^^dat lookin bad! but u hav 2 open ur headlight to black the indicator alone, no?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 19th, 2011, 7:57 am

dat bumper lookin rel bad tho...these headlights rel easy to open, jus put it in the oven on low heat for a bout 5-7 min and pry out the lens

QG

Postby QG » April 19th, 2011, 9:18 pm

I like the look Turbo_Beast!

These people for real? A popular business place in Duncan Village changed the plugs in the Lancer and did not see the oil all over the spark plug chamber and coil plug?? Steups! Even by the crease between engine head and block have oil leaking out. The oil stain by tappet was there about 2 months now but i never observed any on the plug wire.

I find the car driving and idling real low to cut off, when i examined mom's lancer, it have oil by plug area. We carried the car today by them and they said we need to get Plug Seal and Tappet seal. They don't have the seal in the shop...not even GASKETS!! So we going on cipero street tmrw to buy the parts and head down duncan vlg again for them to fix it.

The plugs change about 3 days now right by them in Duncan Vlg, you think if we clean it out the plugs can be re-used or buy another set of plugs?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 19th, 2011, 11:10 pm

QG, 4G18 or 4G15??

<<<< AA...12 pounds a Boost in yuh pweffen

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 20th, 2011, 12:54 pm

A.W.O.L watch the pic and notice the top middle area of d grille then watch both left and right upper sides...thas what I was tellin you about...now in a dark coloured car you would hardly notice it...

QG

Postby QG » April 20th, 2011, 7:17 pm

4G18 bro.

I think the guy also stated to get the plug seal for the dual coil pack engine. I never came across 2 coil packs lol. :lol:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 20th, 2011, 8:43 pm

^^^I think he meant get the plus seals for the engine with only 2 coil packs = 4G18...

xtech

Postby xtech » April 21st, 2011, 8:03 am

searching Google Images for Legnum I found a picture of a Chinese CS Lancer

QG

Postby QG » April 21st, 2011, 2:23 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:^^^I think he meant get the plus seals for the engine with only 2 coil packs = 4G18...

4G18 did came with 2 coil packs?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 21st, 2011, 2:34 pm

Yea 4G18 has 2 coilpacks, one for each 2 cylinders

venum

Postby venum » April 21st, 2011, 5:00 pm

xtech wrote:searching Google Images for Legnum I found a picture of a Chinese CS Lancer

sexxiness defined

Return to “MITSUBISHI”