Post Your EVO HP/TQ and MODS Thread

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Silvermike

Re: Post Your EVO HP/TQ and MODS Thread

Postby Silvermike » July 28th, 2010, 6:58 am

gsc cams ftw. i wanna get some s2's

W2J

Postby W2J » July 28th, 2010, 8:59 am

Silvermike wrote:gsc cams ftw. i wanna get some s2's

S2's are a thing of the past like HKS go with some S3 with Teknet's special grind

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 28th, 2010, 9:13 am

^ could i run that on crower titanium springs/ retainers?

W2J

Postby W2J » July 28th, 2010, 10:33 am

^ yups

ecktt

Postby ecktt » July 28th, 2010, 4:20 pm

I thought Kelfords were currently the best cams

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2010, 5:54 pm

W2J wrote:go with some S3 with Teknet's special grind
What is the duration @ 1mm lift... total valve lift and other specs please?
Are special valve springs needed?... Price for complete kit?
Info needed to compare with other brands to suit my application.

hmph

Postby hmph » September 7th, 2010, 1:19 pm

W2J wrote:
Silvermike wrote:gsc cams ftw. i wanna get some s2's

S2's are a thing of the past like HKS go with some S3 with Teknet's special grind

details on the "special grind"? :D

320whp here with matching TQ mod list: 3" exhaust :oops:

Messi

Postby Messi » September 22nd, 2010, 11:47 am

Car is now at 383 awhp and 368 awtq. Feels nice......

W2J

Postby W2J » September 22nd, 2010, 2:38 pm

^ nice good to hear bro FP and Coolingmist FTW!

Postby crazybalhead » September 22nd, 2010, 2:49 pm

Saw a white VII with an AMS fridge, bronze Vlk CE??? on my street Cunupia, thais any ah allyuh or what???

Messi

Postby Messi » September 22nd, 2010, 2:53 pm

W2J wrote:^ nice good to hear bro FP and Coolingmist FTW!

yup.. coolingmist kit is a definite for anyone doing these level of upgrades. Tuner said there are some minor things to sort out on the map but ran out of paid dyno time. Will probably look at to cap it at 400awhp on the stock bottom. Wish i had some more power band.. FP red keeps making power!!!

W2J

Postby W2J » September 22nd, 2010, 3:02 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Saw a white VII with an AMS fridge, bronze Vlk CE??? on my street Cunupia, thais any ah allyuh or what???

it probally part of the blow up crew or the not making power crew.

kai

Postby kai » September 24th, 2010, 12:45 pm

W2J wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Saw a white VII with an AMS fridge, bronze Vlk CE??? on my street Cunupia, thais any ah allyuh or what???

it probally part of the blow up crew or the not making power crew.

lol,the man now start to do a lil thing

Postby crazybalhead » September 27th, 2010, 6:13 am

Saw it again, I feel is meh young boy neighbour buy eet. Saw a cedia dashboard in it :|

Messi

Postby Messi » September 29th, 2010, 11:32 pm

Car re-tuned.. sitting on a sweet 400whp.. feels like a beast..this is on thr 4wd dyno in couva....

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 30th, 2010, 5:34 am

^ ^ ^ Is the lag bad for street use?

Messi

Postby Messi » September 30th, 2010, 10:43 am

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Is the lag bad for street use?

Honestly, this was something that i was afraid of as well, but i realise it's something that you read about more than you really feel. I am so happy, i didnt go with a green, bc the red pulls like a raped ape when spooled. Full boost is around 4000 rpm, car will make boost from 2900 rpm just not much.. will probably hit like 8-9 psi 3500 rpm and then boom.. 24-25 psi from 4000 rpm to 7000 rpm. Jason Laing - FTW- ( my tuner) was able to get the RED to spool very close to stock at all. I dont miss the stock turbo at all. Lag is overrated on the streets. I am in traffic everyday and i am not one for going WOT on small streets. The dual MIVEC is perfect for these upgraded stock frame turbos. List of Mods if you want to know

FP red turbo port n polished with upgraded 18psi actuator
Cosworth Mx1 Cams
Perrin FMIC
ETS Intake
Grimspeed 3 port EBCS
RC eng 750cc injectors
Walbro 255 pump
Ultimate racing UICP, DP and TP
T1r CBE and LICP
Coolingmist Alky kit with M7 nozzle

DTLRD's car will be a monster if this is how my little car feels...

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 30th, 2010, 11:52 am

Messi wrote:I am so happy, i didnt go with a green... Full boost is around 4000 rpm, car will make boost from 2900 rpm just not much.. will probably hit like 8-9 psi 3500 rpm and then boom.. 24-25 psi from 4000 rpm to 7000 rpm. ...

The dual MIVEC is perfect for these upgraded stock frame turbos...
Thanks for the feedback. Car sounds like fun. Only problem is...spool is still too peaky for Street & Solodex use for me.
8-9 psi 3500 rpm and then boom.. 24-25 psi from 4000 rpm to 7000 rpm...
I need more than 8-9 psi @ 3500 rpm... I'll still choose the FP Green for my application.

IMHO the FP Red is great for a 2.0L road car... but needs a stroker to reduce spool rpm enough for Solodex...
Otherwise I'll have to rev higher... with more load on the drivetrain... more clutch wear... and more risk of breakage.

My $0.02¢

W2J

Postby W2J » September 30th, 2010, 7:17 pm

^ nope it's all in the engine and cam gear tune

example -4 -1 will give you full boost with a red on a non mivec 4g63 around 4200rpm, +1 -1 will give you full boost with a red on a non mivec 4g63 around 3800rpm.. and Wade we have not talked about lean spool and ignition as yet, I know certain Blacks that give 28psi in 1st gear @ only 4400 rpm on pump and meth.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 30th, 2010, 8:53 pm

^ ^ ^ That might sound like an option...but IMHO it's unlikely that fiddling with cam & ignition timing will ever spool a 2.0L plus FP Red at or below 3500 rpm...far less an FP Black. 3500 rpm or less...and a 9000 rev-limit are my targets.

W2J

Postby W2J » September 30th, 2010, 9:19 pm

^ you will be amazed when you find a good tuner or somebody knows what they doing, I have been told a certain stock silver evo6 that eat up a blue box lancer with nauz last Saturday had some 264/272HKS and a HTA86 that was getting full boost at 4200 in 1st gear :twisted: btw why the hell would you want to rev to 9k when a green will not be able to flow past 7800rpm?

Messi

Postby Messi » October 1st, 2010, 9:41 am

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ That might sound like an option...but IMHO it's unlikely that fiddling with cam & ignition timing will ever spool a 2.0L plus FP Red at or below 3500 rpm...far less an FP Black. 3500 rpm or less...and a 9000 rev-limit are my targets.

I am no tuner and even less technical on these matters. As W2J said, it is possible to get a Red to spool as low as 2900 rpm on the dual mivec 4b11. There are guys on the forums that have demonstrated this but have qualified this by saying obviously, your turbo is going to blow just as quickly.Its really all in the tune. The average spool time for the RED in the states on 93oct and or E85 is 3700rpm but they can run more timing etc right? You can get really agressive on the MIVEC to help with spool but you run into compressor surge issues etc. Yup for soldex, i can see the Green being best for you. I dont race, solodex or any of those things with my car. A lot of the auto x guys in the USA remain with the stock turbo for the same reasons you outlined. Its all about your goals right?

Messi

Postby Messi » October 1st, 2010, 9:52 am

W2J wrote:^ you will be amazed when you find a good tuner or somebody knows what they doing, I have been told a certain stock silver evo6 that eat up a blue box lancer with nauz last Saturday had some 264/272HKS and a HTA86 that was getting full boost at 4200 in 1st gear :twisted: btw why the hell would you want to rev to 9k when a green will not be able to flow past 7800rpm?

Again, from what i have seen from the dyno charts are the only guys that have stroker kits on the EVO x are the guys running T3 turbos or the FP black. There are guys on built 2.0L engines but those cars are being built of the 1/4 mile and well will rev easily to 9000 rpm. AMS has built block they will sell you that will rev to 9500 rpm. Thats one of the reasons i choose a RED as well, cause i know there is the possibility to get more power out of it if/when i do choose to mess with the stock block, exhaust mani, etc. Right now, i am still at my stock rev limit 7600rpm but will only redline my car to 7000 rpm. I don't trust the stock block and a bad tank of gas!!!

ecktt

Postby ecktt » October 1st, 2010, 10:44 am

bad as in dirty or not 100 RON?

Messi

Postby Messi » October 1st, 2010, 12:07 pm

I dont think we have 95RON. Isnt our ron 95?

W2J

Postby W2J » October 1st, 2010, 12:11 pm

^ NP's 95 ron at the pump is about 89 Ron+Mon/2 in the states!!!! our gas knock tolerance is so much PISS eh.. STEUPS!!! thak god for meth

ecktt

Postby ecktt » October 1st, 2010, 1:38 pm

Ron+Mon/2 = Anti-Knock Index (AKI) (what the North American folks use)
Our 95 RON = 91 AKI. From what it worth, my n00b tuning got my car running knock free and smoothly on Super. She was lazy low down but felt pretty good above 5000 rmp (sorry no hard numbers). I'm sure an experienced tuner might have done better. I have no problems with the gas down here. Even if we got the holy 98-100RON, we would complain about the price of it. What I should be looking for is some E85.

Messi

Postby Messi » October 1st, 2010, 2:35 pm

W2J wrote:^ NP's 95 ron at the pump is about 89 Ron+Mon/2 in the states!!!! our gas knock tolerance is so much PISS eh.. STEUPS!!! thak god for meth

Say that again brother... race gas too exps to stock etc!!!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 1st, 2010, 3:39 pm

Messi wrote:...it is possible to get a Red to spool as low as 2900 rpm on the dual mivec 4b11...
...for soldex, i can see the Green being best for you.... A lot of the auto x guys in the USA remain with the stock turbo for the same reasons you outlined. Its all about your goals right?
dual mivec 4b11... Nope. Evo 6 non-mivec 4G63 here.

Its all about your goals right?... Yup. Not too interested in even using my Evo as a daily driver.
Strictly for dex... and maybe a street run once every couple weeks...or once a week at most.
A nearly stock E6 Clone will be my daily driver.

W2J wrote:...why the hell would you want to rev to 9k when a green will not be able to flow past 7800rpm?
My E6 has the optional OEM final drive...so I need higher rpm to reduce the number of gearchanges between cones.

... plus I want quick spool and good midrange torque. Not interested in drags. As Messi said...different goals.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » October 1st, 2010, 5:34 pm

Sanctifier, when will the car be ready to compete in solodex?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”