Why don´t ppl like the shark mouth galant

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » November 27th, 2009, 11:54 pm

i love the sharkmouth gulant 's.... just parts isa beyotch, an it expensive teh my knowing.

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 28th, 2009, 4:49 am

complaining about expensive? A new shark mouth galant VR-G over here in singapore costs 80000 sing dollars. Thats 400 000 trinidad dollars~ now u know expensive :evil:

Postby Morpheus » November 28th, 2009, 5:00 am

^^ :shock: Fuh rizzeal?? WOW!

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 28th, 2009, 5:20 am

for real~ Well maybe cos we are so teeny weeny, it costs a bomb to drive here in our 700 sq km country of 4 million people. If cars were as cheap, roads will never be enough to fit all the drivers! so anyone here can hook me up with some aftermarket exterior accesories for the galant?

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » November 28th, 2009, 8:04 am

4 million pplz in 700 sq km :shock:

xtech

Postby xtech » November 28th, 2009, 8:24 am

zyrofillica wrote:complaining about expensive? A new shark mouth galant VR-G over here in singapore costs 80000 sing dollars. Thats 400 000 trinidad dollars~ now u know expensive :evil:

$80,000.00 SGD = $358,501.43 TTD

Singapore
Population 4,987,600 Land Area 710.2 km²

Trinidad
Population 1,305,236 Land Area 5,130 km²

Tobago has a land area of 300 km²

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 28th, 2009, 5:27 pm

yes laugh all u want. u guys don't know the feeling of sardines in a can. :? so is there a galant club over in T&T? any one can hook me up with some bodykits and the works? The stores selling them (new zealand and britain) have some really obscene prices! :twisted:

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » December 6th, 2009, 3:58 pm

bump.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 7th, 2009, 1:04 pm

zyrofillica, not to my knowledge about stores selling bodykits for the galant here...... but damn singapore is small!!!

Rah

Postby Rah » December 8th, 2009, 4:09 pm

Zyrofillica, i also had a VR-G Galant and did a lot of searching for bumpers body kits etc, the altezza style back lights you can find but not much else to be honest. Even getting the Vr-4 bumper generally means getting a"front cut". Quick question that i always wanted to ask somebody from singapore. When you sold your previous galants, how many Kilometers were on the dial? What is the average KM that ppl sell at? reason being that most of these cars arrive in Trinidad with no more than 40 000 Km on the dial, generally between 25- 35000 Km and most ppl (including me) believe that those readings are incorrect. However based on the size of the country, i am willing to re think...

geodude

Postby geodude » December 27th, 2009, 6:07 am

Zyrofillica,

althought i own a Shark Mouth Galant ( GDI 4G93), i have never explored much into after market options for it,
mine did come with the rear crystal lights, which i believe you are refering to as the " altezza style tail lamps ",
just to get you started, once a pal of mine was looking for the same lights in Trinidad and i believe the price he got from a supplier was 1400 Trindad dollars for one of the lights so a pair would be x 2.

Apart from that you should search the Car and Classified forums on this site for Galant items there are many business men on this site who can source these items, they would also be in a better position to advise you about the price and availabity of what you are looking for, and who knows if you like what a supplier has to offer then you can ask him to get whatever else you may need you want.

sorry i couldn't be more helpful.

Rah

Postby Rah » February 14th, 2010, 9:24 am

Somebody was asking about buying a Galant and i told them to check this thread, now decided to read it myself. I think its missing what are the common problems with them.
Those with the 4G93 engine suffer from fuel pump issues after a while but many have went as much as 220K Km without problems.

4G94 depending on age suffers from Throttle body issues- Magnet drops out. Newer ones (PCA series and later) have modified Throttle bodies that do not give the issue. Problem can also be repaired). Fuel pumps on the 4g94 can be adjusted compared to the earlier 4g93s however most mechanics are not aware of this and advise the owner to change.

Both suffer from Coil pack issues, the boots can burn on them if spark plugs are not changed regularly. Another small issue is that after a while some develop oil on spark plug due to a gasket that needs to be resealed/changed.
You need to change Timing belt else you risk damaging valves and rocker arms etc....
These vehicles are also noted for lifter noise however Mitsubishi has repaired the problem with the new lifters, cars from PCA onwards do not suffer the problem. As you can tell with time Mitsubishi repairs most of the problems on the vehicles, best bet is if you have a new series Galant, generally you should be ok.

Don't know if anybody wants to add any other known issues.
Generally nice car but needs maintenance and know how thus i would only recommend to ppl who know a little more about cars and service them more than twice a year.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 14th, 2010, 2:07 pm

both 4G93 and 4G94 fuel pumps can be adjusted
front lower cradle ball joint falls out and leaves you stranded

geodude

Postby geodude » February 14th, 2010, 6:06 pm

The main prob i have seen is that they have no market here in trini, you know how long i trying to sell mine, and there are many other tuners here that have their cars for sale also for quite some time,

We selling perfectly good mitsui machines that out class all ah them 14's and almeras and yet ppl not even willing to offer anything, look at the prices these cars going for 45-55 gees and yet no intrest whatsoever,

I at the point where i think i will keep mine and make it a project car, i have a crazy idea that i have been trying to get some feedback on for some time now, went to a couple of the Assie sites but no luck.

Maybe our resident experts might be able to shead some light,
Xtech what i want to do is a transplant with a VR4 heart and then get all that power to 2 wheels , the 2 rear wheels 8-) , i have never seen anyone convert a galant to a rear wheel drive as yet and i want to do it,then drift it :D

Is this possible?
waiting on some help .
laters

xtech

Postby xtech » February 14th, 2010, 7:42 pm

^^^^^^
What Mitsubishi did to get the current VR4 an the one before that an the one before that to stay on the road with all this power was a miracle of electronics controlling special mechanics.

I will read about you in the "ole talk forums" after you come on the road with 280HP to the back wheels.

Besides you wont be able to use any of the original VR4 rear diffs since they wont last long under that stress......you might have to use one from a Supra or a Skyline :| :| :|

geodude

Postby geodude » February 14th, 2010, 8:04 pm

so you are saying it is possible then. great

apart from the diff, what about a gear box for this application becasue i believe the vr4 of the gdi gear box will not work for a rear wheel drive application, which would be a a good box to mate with the Vr4 engine that will also line up with the diff you suggested?

xtech

Postby xtech » February 14th, 2010, 8:06 pm

VR4 gearbox with front diff locked to send 100% power to the rear wheels :twisted: :twisted:

geodude

Postby geodude » February 14th, 2010, 8:17 pm

you serious , them fellas say that ent go work,
aite well project is go,
i will let you guys know how it turns out or who knows you will read about me on the ole talk forum, thanks man,
i am sure i will need more info as the time goes by so i will be in touch.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 14th, 2010, 8:48 pm

but i never say it will work................
most dont even know how to get it to send 100% to the front wheels :| :| :|

Rah

Postby Rah » February 15th, 2010, 4:56 am

Xtech never heard of the Ball Joint issues, sounds scary. Geodude you are correct, resale value is not great, even internationally. The GDI Galant from Singapore/Japan still sold at about $65-70K in Trinidad for many years after most Cars had seen significant price increases. Still is a nice car, has a very nice ride, decent power and luxury features that many 2009/2010 cars still don't have. Engine has a really bad reputation though.

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » February 15th, 2010, 7:17 am

Rah wrote:Zyrofillica, i also had a VR-G Galant and did a lot of searching for bumpers body kits etc, the altezza style back lights you can find but not much else to be honest. Even getting the Vr-4 bumper generally means getting a"front cut". Quick question that i always wanted to ask somebody from singapore. When you sold your previous galants, how many Kilometers were on the dial? What is the average KM that ppl sell at? reason being that most of these cars arrive in Trinidad with no more than 40 000 Km on the dial, generally between 25- 35000 Km and most ppl (including me) believe that those readings are incorrect. However based on the size of the country, i am willing to re think...

hmmm generally dealers in singapore are known to magically shave a few tens of thousand kms off the odo. Very common practice here, and im sure they would do it without a second thought since the cars are being exported and there are less chances of the new owners finding out. the average mileage clocked in a car here is about 20+k km a year. most owners sell their cars off their new cars by the 5th year. 100k kms shd be about right for a export vehicle from singapore

Rah

Postby Rah » February 15th, 2010, 10:49 am

Thanks Zyrofilica! Just as i suspected. Most singapore used cars are sold with 20 - 40K KM on the dial, always found that to be suspect!. Zyrofillica i remember you from the Singapore Galant club, they used to have a picture page with a lot of sigapore customized Galants, any clue where i can locate it? Found the Forum but not the pictures.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 15th, 2010, 11:17 am

but won't the fact that singapore is less than 700 sq km in area provide some validation to the low numbers on the odo?
http://sg.ksdb.com/623419.page wrote:Singapore has 3000 km Roads. Total length of expressways 150 km; Total length of Major Arterial Roads 575 km; Total length of Collector Roads 405 km; Total length of Local Access Roads 2014 km; Total Road Length : 3144 km.

Trinidad is at least 6 times the size of Singapore and I would say on average a private car in Trinidad would do about 20,000km per year...100,000km in 5 years....factor in the size difference and so maybe their numbers are valid.

Rah

Postby Rah » February 15th, 2010, 12:00 pm

I thought the same thing Vega, but i remembered when i was a member of the signapore Galant club, everybody had mileage similar to what Zyrofillica stated. I remember one person stating that even though they are small there are a lot of Highways etc that allow for easy travel within Singapore, they also have roadways that connect them with Malaysia etc......
I just find it suspect that the mileage is so low, a four year car with 22K Km seems odd but i hear you!

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » February 15th, 2010, 8:11 pm

i think i have the picture somewhere, have to look for it.

mmm, singapore is small, but we make full use of our vehicles, because a car is very expensive, usually a family only has one car which is shared between all the family members. And dun forget, because we are so small, sometimes work and home is across the island and yet the trip only takes 1/2 hr. so a daily driver can easily rack up 2000kms a month.

the only way we can detect a tampered odometer is when we check back with the authorized agents which keep a record of the servicings of the vehicle. So if the odo reads 50k, but we call the agent and if the car was sent in for 80k servicing, we F!@# the 2nd hand dealer.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 16th, 2010, 12:54 am

^^^interesting........hmmm.......

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 4th, 2010, 3:14 pm

d name of d topic kinda hilarious, but is good cars!! A lil costly to maintain, but is good cars!!!

xtech

Postby xtech » March 12th, 2010, 7:04 pm

saw a pure white un-registered VR4 sedan parked up in Scorpion in Carrenage today

Hiding :stalk: waiting

:mrgreen:

bagogalant

Postby bagogalant » March 15th, 2010, 8:08 pm

I agree. I am a proud owner of a 4g94. original forest black,riding on 20" chrome and i am loving it! just hit the 95k mark and still drives smooth as a baby. by the way, what are the correct spark plugs to be used on the 4g94 and what heat range should be used when purchasing iridium plugs?

trinifohreal

Postby trinifohreal » April 18th, 2010, 1:23 am

Xtech the Ball joints fall out on the substitute front cradles sold in brown boxes, I experienced this, they didn't last a year. It is usually preceded by a squeaking noise that could be mistaken for something else. The original which I bought at DM on sale (40%) lasted 3 years without noises. Any body have advice on lowering this car? I am riding on 17 on my EA7A and the front wheel well space is killing the looks of an iconic car. Coilovers or spring and shocks? what other model galants and lancers shocks are interchangeable? I ask this because I am getting great difficulty sourcing solutions to my application, most websites offer for the USDM or the VR4 or legnum. Also guys I am a bit concerned that my oil is disappearing kinda quickly and not showing up on the exhaust and no signs of leaks I am using 5w50 Mobil

Return to “MITSUBISHI”