CY lancer (08 lancer)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » March 3rd, 2008, 4:49 pm

Black out rear lights......don't do it......oh the insanity!

Welcome back once again and thanks for that informative review. Alyuh really making me feel to chuck the CK fore the CY now.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 3rd, 2008, 4:57 pm

probably i said it wrong. the surrounding colour around the existing lights themselves.

Mazda 3 did it. Initial roll out was pink/salmon coloured rear lights. Recent models (PBZ onward I think) came black background.

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » March 4th, 2008, 12:20 pm

^^ jus keep us posted

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 6:25 am

yeah the car just crazy

if upgrading the parklight bulbs use leds eh i change to the hyperwhite bulbs and i found the head started to discolour the surrounding plastic (whiter the light more heat) so i just installed some leds

Brian check out the sticky for some chapters of the service manual, also did you break in the engine according to the manual ?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 5th, 2008, 10:27 am

JUS4SHO wrote:yeah the car just crazy

if upgrading the parklight bulbs use leds eh i change to the hyperwhite bulbs and i found the head started to discolour the surrounding plastic (whiter the light more heat) so i just installed some leds

Brian check out the sticky for some chapters of the service manual, also did you break in the engine according to the manual ?

Yes. Religiously.
I was speaking to Service Dept recently and in their opinion, the engine isnt really broken in for full spirited driving till 15,000km. I disagree tho.

Additionally, dont you find that early morning/cold starts produce a better throttle response in take-off and generally more aggressive acceleration? Try it out and see. I find there is a minor delay in take-off when the engine reaches operating temp. I believe I read somewhere in the manual that this is actually something to do with the transmission when cold or hot and the differences in responsiveness. But I'm also thinking the E-Throttle has some connection as well.

Yes, I'd like to also change out those amber park lights. Where did you get the LED's and what exactly did you pick up? Wattage etc.

Thanks for the stickys too!

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 11:32 am

nice, here what, i broke in mine via

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

methods

leh we go on the dyno nah just to verify which is better what yuh say

i want to get these to replace that ugly orange bulb in the head light

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/PIAA-115 ... enameZWDVW

as for the trottle responce early morning will always be better the air is more dense then

also

page 3 have the comp. bulb list

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 11:36 am

bOOsTmaN yuh get the ride yet?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 5th, 2008, 11:51 am

JUS4SHO wrote:nice, here what, i broke in mine via

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

methods

leh we go on the dyno nah just to verify which is better what yuh say

i want to get these to replace that ugly orange bulb in the head light

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/PIAA-115 ... enameZWDVW

as for the trottle responce early morning will always be better the air is more dense then

also

page 3 have the comp. bulb list

Agreed. But this is case once the engine itself is cooled down. So say, early morning, then lunchtime, then when you leave the office at night, etc...at least 3-4 hours in between.

im definitely down for the dyno, though i expect sub-100 numbers. few forums in the US (4b11 option tho..2.0Litre) are already exploring Injen CAI, Mazda 3 designed CAI and straight through mufflers (which apparently stifles 20% of engine power supposedly). And yes, the exhaust pipe diameter is amazing at 2.25". Its one of the first things i noticed.

here is my dilemma tho, the 4g92 (1.6) DOHC MIVEC supposedly pushed 175hp (more like 160hp tho). How the hell a 4A91 (1.5) DOHC MIVEC engine push 109 hp? Besides electronic control, i still feel some waking up is very possible...do I want to attempt? probably not.

yes i would also prefer a fully clear front light area. not that it doesnt look super sexy as is now, but i feel Mitsu will tweak the look in their '09/'10 batches based on feedback.

let me kno on the dyno thing. we can compare the hp loss between new and 15,000KM (no filters changed yet on mine, except oil - basically 2 oil changes to date).

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 12:10 pm

well i only had the first 1000 km done approaching 2000km

based on the breakin i followed it was only effective for the first 40km which was good cause i got my car with 13 KM on it

March already cramped so lets look at april for the dyno dat good with you?

you might be able to tell me this the 2.0 GTS is that a 1 year only production world wide ? i ask this cause i know its a 1 year only run in the US as the engine i being replaced for 09 with the 2.4 L

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » March 5th, 2008, 12:49 pm

not yet sho, want a early 5000+ license plate... they are at 49xx so i'm waiting till it finish.

I have a ck4 with a 4g15 DOHC (auto) and right before the temperature reaches half. the response is significantly better :) after that run is back tuh normal. Even if i don't start the car from say las night till about after 12pm the nex day it will still perform like that. but after that "good pull" thas it for the day

another thing i notice as well, if u drive rel hard. for instance, say you have your foot stick to the floor from sando to grand bazaar. and then foot down again from grand bazaar to diego. that transmission gonna get so hot it will start to act weird until u let it kool. The engine temp. would still read half tho. buh performance would suck until u let it cool down. Not that i ever drove that hard tho :oops:

would a transmission cooler help??

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » March 5th, 2008, 1:09 pm

^^^ yes it would

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 1:17 pm

bOOsTmaN wrote: Not that i ever drove that hard tho :oops:

would a transmission cooler help??

yes it woulg

so who drove it that hard sum sorta fairy or sum ting :lol: :lol:

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 5th, 2008, 1:40 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:well i only had the first 1000 km done approaching 2000km

based on the breakin i followed it was only effective for the first 40km which was good cause i got my car with 13 KM on it

March already cramped so lets look at april for the dyno dat good with you?

you might be able to tell me this the 2.0 GTS is that a 1 year only production world wide ? i ask this cause i know its a 1 year only run in the US as the engine i being replaced for 09 with the 2.4 L

april dyno sounds like a plan. will give audi a call closer to then.
as far as i kno, the 2.0 GTS will continue to be run for Japan and other export destinations (Caribbean etc.). In the US, their previous Lancer (with the OZ rim options, etc.) came with the 2.4 but was a SOHC is I'm not mistaken. the New Ecplise also carries a 3.5L V6 Mivec i think, so 2.0 Litre for them is a bit of an insult (especially at 155hp or less).

Im seeing quite a bit of the fully loaded 2.0s on the road (easily noticed by the strip along the middle of the doors and of course - sweet 18" rims).

Also, i keep hearing that a few of the GLS packages like what we have are not indentical with regard to features like HIDs, Auto Wiper, Auto Headlights etc. For instance, i chose the one without sunroof and its crammed with all the features found in the 2.0 GTS. the 2.0 GT however, doesnt come with a sunroof either (maybe weight reduction on hood?).

There are so many options available. I saw they imported a Barbados model CY with 2.0 engine, no HIDs or fancy trim/flair, but had tiptronic CVT transmission (and no paddle shifters). So they've rolled out at least 6 or more option models to choose from.

Here is the link to the Barbados line up of the Lancers offered and their corresponding prices. Easy to see, we got them at a steal down here.

http://www.simpson-motors.com/gallery.c ... 2&Info=593

And to address Boostman, something I've always said is that once the car wasn't built for racing, then dont push it like it was. (Plus, please note that race engines are usually rebuilt after very brief utilization). No production vehicle (economy class or otherwise) is designed to be utilized at full output for extended periods without significant wear and tear on internals. Even with a cooler for the transmission, what about the engine oil? what about the water temp? As you go along, you'll find yourself having to continue to 'beef up' other supporting areas to assist in optimal performance delivery.

For me, sure, occassional spirited run with the CY. But I keep in mind, its almost a 3 tonne vehicle being carried along by a tiny 1.5 (low output) engine. I cant expect miracles from it and therefore treat/drive it accordingly.
Last edited by VW_Exec on March 5th, 2008, 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 1:49 pm

^^ well this goes back to a question i asked eariler because my car is labeled LANCER EX and the only EX i know is available in singapore i have the sunroof and flair package with hid etcc

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 1:54 pm

oh did you use the stage function on the deck? all i have to say is dayam !! SQ in they MC :shock:

check out some accessories available to the AU market i like the rear air dam

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.au/#/w ... er&id=3020

btw did u get carpet floor mats ? i did not and so far to get them from japan costing $1800+ TT

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 5th, 2008, 2:07 pm

Actually, yes, i've noticed a few with the EX logo.

Maybe they've been shipping these units from Singapore based on unavailability in JDM market?

As I mentioned, I got mine from the first batch and I remember there were posters with the Lancer EX logo all around the showroom. There were no models with the badging on it tho. Also, i've noticed that the units with Hubcaps and no flair kits come with the EX badge, so I assumed that was the low-end version (de-trimmed, etc.)

Remember back in the day with GL, GLX, GLXi etc? What is your chassis code? Mine is CY2A yet in Barbados, the indentical model is trimmed CY4A.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 5th, 2008, 2:17 pm

yep, the deck is amazing. sound quality is superb for just four speakers around the doors only. I hear the 9 speaker setup in the GT is really jumping!

I got your usual rubber/fabric mats (generic brand). took the dark grey/black velvet interior with the carbon fibre grain finish (hate how the wood grain looks).

im lookin around for an oval chrome muffler tip to fit the cut-away section of the rear bumper. Saw it recently on a 2.0 litre red GT and it looked mad crazy.

Aussies really have it all. Those Headlamp protectors look ideal for our roads!

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 5th, 2008, 2:18 pm

will have to check :oops: but i belive its CY4A will confirm l8tr

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » March 5th, 2008, 5:06 pm

Mitsu_Exec wrote:
And to address Boostman, something I've always said is that once the car wasn't built for racing, then dont push it like it was. (Plus, please note that race engines are usually rebuilt after very brief utilization). No production vehicle (economy class or otherwise) is designed to be utilized at full output for extended periods without significant wear and tear on internals. Even with a cooler for the transmission, what about the engine oil? what about the water temp? As you go along, you'll find yourself having to continue to 'beef up' other supporting areas to assist in optimal performance delivery.

lets just say i've learnt the hard way and i now DO realise that i drive a family sized sedan and not a race track car.

so i'm driving to conserve gas these days. :lol:

fras

Postby fras » March 5th, 2008, 5:23 pm

JUS4SHO n Mitsu_Exec is there manual available?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 5th, 2008, 5:40 pm

Not readily available in Caribbean Domestic Market.

I have heard that they will bring them in on special order, but 2.0L versions only (GT/GTS)

fras

Postby fras » March 5th, 2008, 6:03 pm

Ok
And whats the prices on these 2.0L?

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » March 5th, 2008, 8:36 pm

The 2.0l (GT/GTS) goes for $225k down hear.not the manual doh.The 2.0 es mivec goes for bout $190k.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 6th, 2008, 6:57 am

right so i check it, It's a CY2A dat would make sence since history will show that 2 is denoted for 1.5 engines :oops:

and here are some pic doh study the pretty CS in some of the pics

Yeo

Postby Yeo » March 6th, 2008, 8:20 am

How yuh get that dent in de last pic?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 6th, 2008, 8:48 am

^^^ stupezz long story , its a auto gate we have and i did not install the motion sensor (security reason) , so i open the gate to drive out, zara was comming home and pressed the button to open the gate which caused it to close on my car

Yeo

Postby Yeo » March 6th, 2008, 9:21 am

What we did with our place, on the top of the wall nearest the gate motor, we hooked up a 35 watt bug light (yellow, and does not attract flying insects at night) so when ever someone activated the gate (in motion), the light would go on.

We also did not have the auto-close feature, 1 push on the control to open, and another to close.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » March 6th, 2008, 10:00 am

car looking good sho!!

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » March 6th, 2008, 8:19 pm

Nice car(s) dey SHO. Didn't know you coulda get flare kit with the 1.5L models.Cool. Take good care of it man.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 12th, 2008, 7:00 am

thanx

Return to “MITSUBISHI”