The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

venum

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby venum » September 26th, 2010, 7:43 pm

looking good EVA

nes123

Postby nes123 » September 26th, 2010, 8:09 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
nes123 wrote:

I assuming ya flush ya tranny with nothing other than oil rigght?..if so I can tell ya an easy way to DIY....just buy 2 extra qrts of tranny fluid and with engine running,disconnect the line sending fluid thru the radiator and let it drain in a bucket.....DO NOT let the transmission pump suck in air,so ya have to move fast by adding two qrts fluid in there.....then ya after about 10secs,start to pour in the other bottles until the dirty fluid coming out the radiator hose comes out clean..then switch off and reconnect ya hose...save ya $172 dey

Yes you assumed correct and if you were in this forum long enough you would know I was one of the major contributors of the transmission oil thread
Changing the oil manually is a chance I am not willing to take again $172 is small money to do it the right way and actually you will only be saving about 40-60 dollars if you have to buy two extra quarts of oil. I have done this method only once.

Guys breakdown will be provided soon

Why ya don't wanna take the chance again if ya don't mind my asking?did the tranny fail for you afterward or something?...but IMO spending $40-$60 vs spending $172...is a savings...but if ya have the money to spend why not...was just an alternative I was giving ya....cuz dat $112 extra will help mih wit a bill in the house or someting...just saying :)

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 27th, 2010, 4:27 am

turbo, d service manual said the bolts must be torqued to 100 +/- 10 NM, but everyone says it doesn't matter. i]"Once u titen it hard" sed da Trinis...[/i] and no, i need a set of shims cause i have a couple missing. will check Faiz for them and hopefully get them on this weekend (never had any problems w/o them, though)

fras, only the front. more than enough stoppin power for my "lil 4G18" (as CS3A would say)

Postby ronsin1 » September 27th, 2010, 5:54 am

nes123 no the transmission did not fail I just think it to risky doing it that way IMHO no matter how good you are at this you may become over confident at some point and something may slip and you end up loosing the transmission. Again I prefer pay a $100.00 more to get it done with the machine

BTW anyone using the ceramic brake pads what is the performance like

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » September 27th, 2010, 8:45 am

yep more than enuf eva! once yuh upgrade yuh rotors n pads!

fras

Postby fras » September 27th, 2010, 9:38 am

I just like rear disc, it adds to the sporty look :mrgreen:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 27th, 2010, 9:55 am

^^^ YES...yes it does ;)

EVA right now all my wheel nuts are torqued to 75 lb/ft which is equivalent to around 100 +/- 10 NM with a long ass torque wrench I does borrow from one ah d company mechanics :)...now i does make sure my wheel nuts are torqed becuz dem wheel spanner is lil toys for tightening wheel nuts....u does get almost a whole turn or more with the torque wrench after tightening with wheel spanner (unless you using a snipe for more leverage)

ronsin1 I think dat guy name CS3A_GLX has on the Daishin ceramic disc pads....

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 27th, 2010, 10:27 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:...now i does make sure my wheel nuts are torqed becuz dem wheel spanner is lil toys for tightening wheel nuts....u does get almost a whole turn or more with the torque wrench after tightening with wheel spanner (unless you using a snipe for more leverage)

You walking with a torque wrench when you have a flat?

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » September 27th, 2010, 10:34 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:^^^ YES...yes it does ;)

EVA right now all my wheel nuts are torqued to 75 lb/ft which is equivalent to around 100 +/- 10 NM with a long ass torque wrench I does borrow from one ah d company mechanics :)...now i does make sure my wheel nuts are torqed becuz dem wheel spanner is lil toys for tightening wheel nuts....u does get almost a whole turn or more with the torque wrench after tightening with wheel spanner (unless you using a snipe for more leverage)

ronsin1 I think dat guy name CS3A_GLX has on the Daishin ceramic disc pads....

yeah i have on the wagner brake pads front n rear! got my SP performance cross drilled and vented discs up front and rear discs in the back!

can cross drilled rotors be mounted at the rear? reason i ask is that my rear disc is made into the drum unlike the front where u can change your rotors if it warps. what happens if your back rotors warp? how you suppose to change em for those that have rear discs on their vehicles?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 27th, 2010, 10:52 am

Rear discs will hardly likely warp coz its still primarily handbrakes unless ABS kicks in

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 27th, 2010, 11:03 am

idle I have a torque wrench in my trunk that isnt functional anymore becuz some parts that activate the spring setting are missing but the ratchet is still working so I just use it was a really long 1/2" power handle/ratchet....if I get a flat at least I have the leverage to slacken them when needed... and I could tighten it back tight enuff till I torque it back to spec....

CS3A_GLX the rear disc is NOT made into the drum...actually it comes out easier than the front rotor....just remove the lower caliper pin then swivel the caliper with the disc pad upwards then take out the rotor, simple....to take out the front rotor u hadda unbolt the entire caliper assembly...

I dunno if there are cross drilled applications for the rear rotors...I think there are u know but I know for sure there are slotted applications available

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » September 27th, 2010, 2:51 pm

^^^ hmmm from an angle, the rear brakes looks like its joined with the drum! anyhow, what size brake pad or rear brake pad # does it carry? i still have mine from the conversion so incase i need to change em i wanna know the part # !
front n rear caliper looks different size to me :P

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 27th, 2010, 4:54 pm

rear disc pad part # MZ690187

yeah my front caliper wayyy bigger than d rear....

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » September 27th, 2010, 5:48 pm

oh and u all know diff parts from different makes of vehicles may line up on our lancers? heard ppl say that the rotors and the calipers of mitsu vans can be modified and fitted to a shark mouth galant. if so, what interchangeable stuff is there for our lancers? hyundai or mazda 323 stuff may work!

QG

Postby QG » September 27th, 2010, 6:34 pm

You see how Insurance does benefit when u take out claims lmfao!!!
The lancer glass cracked and it spreaded very rapidly, so moms took the $4000 winshield claim and carry the car by Double Zee in Gasparillo. Double Zee price was $3000 so the Insurance gets $1000 for themselves to keep.
But still that $3000 is plenty, because last time double zee charged just over $2000 I believe lol.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 27th, 2010, 7:38 pm

was it the OEM windscreen?

or was the brand "Pilkington"

Postby ronsin1 » September 28th, 2010, 9:14 am

QG wrote:You see how Insurance does benefit when u take out claims lmfao!!!
The lancer glass cracked and it spreaded very rapidly, so moms took the $4000 winshield claim and carry the car by Double Zee in Gasparillo. Double Zee price was $3000 so the Insurance gets $1000 for themselves to keep.
But still that $3000 is plenty, because last time double zee charged just over $2000 I believe lol.

lucky you for four years I had fully comp on my car did not have to change the windscreen and beating the highway everyday

the day after I renewed to third party a stone hit the windscreen and crack the glass

life real sweet yea All I could do is laugh :lol:

zico85

Postby zico85 » September 28th, 2010, 1:10 pm

Ok a couple questions here which i think will benefit everybody

1)How much do u guys pay to change tranny fluid with machine and where?I pay about $700 fluid included.

2)Where is the best place to buy timing belts for the cedia GDI?and the best place to change dem.

3)EVA where did u get those bad ass rotors to buy?and how much for the front?

4)Everybody seems to have experimented with most of the brake pads,now which ones do u guys believe gives the least brake dust?

5)Anybody have a wide selection of LED's locally in a store?

QG

Postby QG » September 28th, 2010, 8:38 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:was it the OEM windscreen?

I honestly don't know, because is moms who went.
The OEM windscreen would have Mitsubishi Logo on it?

She said the guy asked her what model lancer she got and he went in the back and brought out the screen for her.

QG

Postby QG » September 28th, 2010, 8:41 pm

lol @ ronsin1...things like that happen yes! Just glad it happen to us while on full comp :lol:

QG

Postby QG » September 28th, 2010, 8:45 pm

Zico85, to answer number 2 queston is simple...Diamond Motors!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Once u have the money to put out, I will recommend a Dealership Maintained car.

If not...Federals would be my second best Pick on parts and to get the job done.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 28th, 2010, 8:51 pm

QG wrote:The OEM windscreen would have Mitsubishi Logo on it?

yes it would have the mitsu logo on it

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » September 29th, 2010, 12:10 am

zico85 wrote:Ok a couple questions here which i think will benefit everybody

X10!!!!!!!! :roll:

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » September 29th, 2010, 7:11 am

^^ pm dual star on the forums. he has in stock for the cs. SP performance!

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » September 29th, 2010, 8:51 am

what abt that industrico guy with thte 300 a side rotors?? any good?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 29th, 2010, 10:15 am

EBC rotors were brought in for me, can't find a dealer locally for rotors or pads

u cud get d Gates belts elsewher 4 ur car, wud b cheapa dan DM.

zico85

Postby zico85 » September 29th, 2010, 12:56 pm

zico85 wrote:Ok a couple questions here which i think will benefit everybody

1)How much do u guys pay to change tranny fluid with machine and where?I pay about $700 fluid included.

2)Where is the best place to buy timing belts for the cedia GDI?and the best place to change dem.

4)Everybody seems to have experimented with most of the brake pads,now which ones do u guys believe gives the least brake dust?

5)Anybody have a wide selection of LED's locally in a store?

Orite thanx fellas jus two more i tryin to find out

2)Everybody seems to have experimented with most of the brake pads,now which ones do u guys believe gives the least brake dust?

QG

Postby QG » September 29th, 2010, 6:44 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:
QG wrote:The OEM windscreen would have Mitsubishi Logo on it?

yes it would have the mitsu logo on it

Okay I will check for it, thanks.

genghis

Postby genghis » September 30th, 2010, 11:08 am

yeah fellars,

i trying to help a friend, he has a local CS, his radiator Fans seem to have gone dead on him.
he has the 2 fan setup. i called bella who didn't have any right now but he say that goes for about $1500.

any ideas who i could check?

QG

Postby QG » September 30th, 2010, 6:05 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:was it the OEM windscreen?

I checked it this morning bro...its Pilkington!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”