The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

ZeroOne

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby ZeroOne » September 19th, 2010, 7:30 pm

1. Changing thermostat -done
2. Flushing Radiator -done but want to do this again 8-)
3.Changing timing belt -done @120k
4. Flushing Transmission -done
5.Changing plugs -done
6. Rotating and balancing tires -done
7. checking braking system and flushing -done
8. Changing shocks -done
9. all filters will be changed -done (K&N filter need cleaning)
10. oil change -done Mobil1 5w-50
11. changing bad engine mount -all mounts changed last year
12. Shampoo and steam clean the interior -done 2mths ago need to do again soon though.
13. All belts replaced -done last year too

All parts replaced with OEM.

future plans

Change Radiator to dual core and install transmission cooler - yet to install the tranny cooler

Did everything on that list some last year some early this year.

A lil costly but worth it. Cost about 10k.

venum

Postby venum » September 19th, 2010, 8:49 pm

ZeroOne wrote:1. Changing thermostat -done
5.Changing plugs -done
8. Changing shocks -done
12. Shampoo and steam clean the interior -done 2mths ago need to do again soon though.

you see gentlemen ^ ^ ^ that's how it's done (EVA take note)

well done Zero

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 19th, 2010, 9:09 pm

EVA and Zero whaz allyuh method of flushing your brakes..and the radiator?

and why u need to steam clean and shampoo yuh interior so often?

W2J

Postby W2J » September 19th, 2010, 9:23 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:will take them if i can't get anything else. not a fan of brake dust... looking for EBC Green/Redstuff, if ne1 can help let me know!!

also, did the brake fluid flush today and i went to test the brakes. for some reason, my ABS isn't kicking in anymore. the pads are holding ok and i'm stopping safely, but the ABS never came on any of the 3 times i tried... can anyone help, please???

Hawk HPS are Ferro-Carbon take a read before making wrong statements please EBC's are prob the worst mistake you would ever make if you running are running stock rotors.

http://www.hawkperformance.com/performance/hps.php

Postby ronsin1 » September 19th, 2010, 9:27 pm

5.Changing plugs -done
8. Changing shocks -done

future plans

Change Radiator to dual core and install transmission cooler - yet to install the tranny cooler

a bit to much you pay I forgot I am also changing the shocks
the cost of all the above excluding the radiator and transmission cooler is $6,000.00 and this is with all original parts 8-)

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 19th, 2010, 9:30 pm

venum wrote:(EVA take note x 2)

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 20th, 2010, 7:58 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:^^^
venum wrote:(EVA take note x 2)

wtf dat suppos'd tuh mean?! :?

W2J wrote:Hawk HPS are Ferro-Carbon take a read before making wrong statements please EBC's are prob the worst mistake you would ever make if you running are running stock rotors.
http://www.hawkperformance.com/performance/hps.php

have heard/read about the dust somewhere here, and have seen some nasty reddish/orangey dust on the rims of cars that use them. yup i did read the website before i started looking; and YES, i should have some EBC rotors by the end of the week.

update on the brakes: tried again this morning and got some ABS on a hard stop from around 80kmph. guessing it was some air bubbles in the line.

as for the brake fluid flush turbo, i did it the most basic way:
1. drained all the fluid through one of the bleeder lines at the wheel (i did it at the rear, read something about an ABS reservoir)
2. refilled the reservoir with the new (DOT4) fluid
3. bled the air out of the lines at each of the 4 wheels (topping up the master cylinder with new fluid as necessary)
pretty simple, downside was that pumping the new fluid through the empty system caused the brake fluid to froth (i.e. MILLIONS of tiny air bubbles), which most likely might have caused the ABS problem i had

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 20th, 2010, 9:14 am

ronsin1 wrote:
5.Changing plugs -done
8. Changing shocks -done

future plans

the cost of all the above excluding the radiator and transmission cooler is $6,000.00 and this is with all original parts 8-)

Remember I replaced more parts than you like all 4 mounts/all the belts/brake pads plus i bought a brand new BOSCH 900ca batt which cost 1200.00.

And the 10k includes labor.

But 6k to do those things on the list sounds too low. All the mounts for example will cost ~3k if not more and all the belts will cost ~1600 and two front KYB will at least cost 1200. I know you not changing all the mounts and brake pads but eventually you will have too.

We haven't started talking about fluids and labor yet.

Turbo

I didnt flush the brake and rad myself but silver star used the same method that EVA mentioned except that i didnt have any ABS probs after.

For the radiator flush:
1. Disconnect the line from the engine that goes to the bottom of the rad.
2. Take a hose with some good pressure (not too high pressure eh) and put it in the top hole of the rad.
3. Keep the hose running until all the coolant/rust is out (you should be seeing clear water).
4. Reconnect the line at the bottom.
5. Pour in coolant.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 20th, 2010, 10:35 am

ZeroOne wrote:silver star used the same method that EVA mentioned except that i didnt have any ABS probs after.

they would have topped up the master cylinder with new fluid so the system doesn't go empty to introduce air. simple, but you need a helper who knows what they're about (which i kinda lacked)

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 20th, 2010, 11:43 am

Zero next time u do a flush, you should flush out the coolant from the engine as well...the method I thinking of using is this...(btw this method would take a while)

Disconnect the bottom hose and let the coolant come out

Take out thermostat and connect back hose then fill back with water

Start engine and idle for a few minutes

Disconnect lower rad hose again and let it drain out

Connect back hose and add water then repeat the process another time so that u make sure the entire cooling passages are cleaned out thoroughly...then when ur done, re-install the thermostat

The reason for takin out the thermostat is becuz remember the water temp would be low so that the thermostat would be closed so it wouldn't allow coolant to flow thru the entire engine...so when the thermostat is out, coolant/water can flow throughout the entire block giving it a good cleaning....

EVA I recommend you bleed your brakes again....do u have a CS workshop manual? There is a different method of bleeding for cars with ABS and Non ABS....

I wish there was a machine that connects vaccum hoses to all four bleed nipples that sucks out all the air from the system....I know there is a system that connects to only each individual bleed nipple...but having four should be less time consuming and more effective...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 20th, 2010, 11:53 am

A padner was telling me of that procedure but he didnt encourage me to do it.

I guess you have to know what you doing for that.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 20th, 2010, 12:46 pm

the hardest part is taking out and re-installing your thermostat...everything else is simple and str8 forward...and what was the reason why he didnt encourage you to do it?

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » September 20th, 2010, 12:57 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:Zero next time u do a flush, you should flush out the coolant from the engine as well...the method I thinking of using is this...(btw this method would take a while)

Disconnect the bottom hose and let the coolant come out

Take out thermostat and connect back hose then fill back with water

Start engine and idle for a few minutes

Disconnect lower rad hose again and let it drain out

Connect back hose and add water then repeat the process another time so that u make sure the entire cooling passages are cleaned out thoroughly...then when ur done, re-install the thermostat

The reason for takin out the thermostat is becuz remember the water temp would be low so that the thermostat would be closed so it wouldn't allow coolant to flow thru the entire engine...so when the thermostat is out, coolant/water can flow throughout the entire block giving it a good cleaning....

Why not pull out the thermostat, take out the bottom hose plug the bottom of the radiator and wit a cloth ,put the hose at the top wit good pressure an run d car for a couple of mins till the water runnin clear...wat u think bout that..?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 20th, 2010, 1:05 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:EVA I recommend you bleed your brakes again....do u have a CS workshop manual? There is a different method of bleeding for cars with ABS and Non ABS....

nope, don't have a manual... i'll test the ABS when circumstances permits, but i'll have DM doublecheck the brakes when i'm installing the new setup

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 20th, 2010, 1:14 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:the hardest part is taking out and re-installing your thermostat...everything else is simple and str8 forward...and what was the reason why he didnt encourage you to do it?

He just said that "you have to know what you doing". I guess this procedure differs from car to car.

OR

he probably didnt think of A.W.O.L method.

A.W.O.L that sounding better than turbo own.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 20th, 2010, 1:27 pm

yeah but A.W.O.L when u cover the bottom of the rad with a cloth the water would still kinda leak out from there as well as the water coming back to the bottom part of the radiator...d water hose wont have enuff flow to keep the water circualting inside the block....best u keep the bottom hose on then crack d drain cork and just let it flush out slowly....

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 20th, 2010, 1:44 pm

nice... let meh know when allyuh decide on a proper method.

I fed up try to get them ole farts to figure out a proper method to drain coolant.

Most I did was release the bottom hose and run water through until clear.

EVA please dont call for ABS on new pads, you'll scorch them
Theres a breaking in method you should stick to, and dont worry ABS working.
If there was a problem, the light would flash

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 20th, 2010, 2:50 pm

idlemind wrote:EVA please dont call for ABS on new pads, you'll scorch them
Theres a breaking in method you should stick to, and dont worry ABS working.
If there was a problem, the light would flash

:shock: the GIC pads cost me like $100 for the set, will give them away (if anyone wants them) when i get proper pads... i figured it might have been the pads that caused this, as they're metallic = harder = longer bedding time.
still managed to get some ABS this morning, as well as pull my 1st drift & tyre squeal since i've had EVA (i.e. >2 years) :twisted:

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » September 20th, 2010, 2:58 pm

Question: Does anyone know the part number for the bulbs which light the AC controls on the CS3 Lancer. I want to replace them with LEDs but the bulbs soooo small.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 20th, 2010, 6:49 pm

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » September 20th, 2010, 10:00 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:yeah but A.W.O.L when u cover the bottom of the rad with a cloth the water would still kinda leak out from there as well as the water coming back to the bottom part of the radiator...d water hose wont have enuff flow to keep the water circualting inside the block....best u keep the bottom hose on then crack d drain cork and just let it flush out slowly....

ok..but i say if u cork it good enough wit a decent flow of water u should be good to go...
but it still open to suggestions...

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » September 21st, 2010, 12:55 am

EVA Unit-01 wrote:still managed to get some ABS this morning, as well as pull my 1st drift & tyre squeal since i've had EVA (i.e. >2 years) :twisted:

Told u push it harder at dex :)

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 21st, 2010, 7:50 am

^^^ey ey!!! look who, boi?! like u now take off d helmet or wah?! :lol:

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » September 21st, 2010, 8:33 am

lol boy i pass tru every so often but i am working some crazy hours these days and liming plenty as well.
getting a next set of rims for dex , same original 14's but gonna get a next set and paint them.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 21st, 2010, 10:49 am

yuh eh wuh some 15's??? my set stil up 4 sale :lol:

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » September 21st, 2010, 11:06 am

^^^ he eh wah no stock rims. is ralliart ting, volk or rays he afta!

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » September 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm

Thanks zeroOne i will order them!! I already changed the ones for the IP it looking sweet

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » September 21st, 2010, 1:26 pm

^^^ eekipoo.... order 2 blue 1's for me 2! one of mine did blow when zero ordered em 4 me! THANKS. where u located?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 21st, 2010, 3:56 pm

eekipoo wrote:Thanks zeroOne i will order them!! I already changed the ones for the IP it looking sweet

Yea it really is an invaluable upgrade. Surpassed our expectations.

I still have 2 extra red sets.

TURBOT ent is stock rims you running? Why you buying a next stock set?

Postby ronsin1 » September 21st, 2010, 4:46 pm

ZeroOne wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
5.Changing plugs -done
8. Changing shocks -done

future plans

But 6k to do those things on the list sounds too low. All the mounts for example will cost ~3k if not more and all the belts will cost ~1600 and two front KYB will at least cost 1200. I know you not changing all the mounts and brake pads but eventually you will have too.

if I change all the mounts it will cost me $2,500 Max including labour The one mount that I am changing costing $300.00
Where you getting them belts all OEM Belts will cost me nothing more that $800.00 and that is installed
OEM Shocks from DM for all four shocks is costing me $1,800.00 and 400 to change
Brake pads were changed sometime last year this car does not do the mileage plus I pay $400.00 installed
Flushing the Transmission fluid costing $600.00 I think I am paying $69.00 per quart of oil and $172.00 to flush using the machine.

Yes I know eventually I will need to change all the mounts but I cannot do it right away you could ask venum if I was really going to do work on this car it would have cost me double the amount.
But now I have to worry about paying insurance in December for that car and maintenance of two more vehicles. Venum doh kill meh eh I bought a Mazda pick up :lol:

Take my word for it insurance cost me for the year all my vehicles and the house something in the vicinity of $15,000.00 :( this does not include my health, medical and annuity insurances eh :?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”