***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

krazed

Postby krazed » December 1st, 2009, 4:24 pm

cb3 lancer wit 4G63 T FWD

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 2nd, 2009, 1:00 am

niceee. any thoughts of going AWD in the future? or the fwd doing it for you?

krazed

Postby krazed » December 2nd, 2009, 8:23 am

the FWD does alot for me.. i mean really reall well on top end and take off its just the torque sso mch it spining them 17's if i launch hard.. but AWD definetly would like too.. you have any thoughts and knowledge about the conversion.. Like how extensive would the preparation be to accomodate it..?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 2nd, 2009, 8:57 am

krazed,i never did it but it isnt really that troublesome, all the parts bolt up from the evo 1-3 its just to find room for some :lol: from the reading ive done and the conversions locally ive checked out. i think u have to cut a space by the spair tyre space in trunk to make room for the rear setup. i think the front is boltup from the evo3.

what kinda top end you get?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 2nd, 2009, 8:59 am

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... conversion

check that link out. a few links in there also to some conversions done on the proton which has the same chassis as the cb3 etc.

krazed

Postby krazed » December 2nd, 2009, 9:04 am

somtimes around 240 to 260kph.... but need to sort out this boost problems soon cause that keeping me from hard.. it starting to miss when it over boosting..cause i have no kinda managment to handle that kinda boost.. need to keep it sticking at 12pounds.... someone also said the waste gate might be stuck.. what do i hae to do to service it.. remove it or do i have to change it

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 2nd, 2009, 4:34 pm

krazed,did you do any work on the car around the waste gate? sometimes the pin or the c clip does break. check out the waste gate to see if everything is operational there. but my problem was the controller. if you can, after you check the wastegate, try and get a controller borrowed and try it to see if thats the prob.

Postby janfar » December 3rd, 2009, 1:43 am

OR...........

You are suffering from boost creep as the turbo is providing more boost than the wastegate can dispose off. This is a common problem with the 4G63T after installing 3" exhaust. Your best bet is:

1- External wastegate
2- porting out internal wastegate (or buying the one crum on the forums have for sale.

I suffer from the same problem right now. Well used too, but my car has been down for over 2 months now and wont be back up until i feel like i have been advantaged enough by Corolla Altis' and Nissan Tiida's on the highway.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 3rd, 2009, 9:36 am

I'm still willing to bet it's that turbo xs MBC

Postby janfar » December 7th, 2009, 1:50 pm

Anybody try accessing evo321.com lately???

krazed

Postby krazed » December 8th, 2009, 10:07 am

havent really done anything much around the wastegate yet nor the boostcontroller.. i bought a pair of the HKS adjustable suspension set up for the back of the car an trying to get that worked up for now.. then looking to see whats up with this wastegate..

now if its either the wastegate or boost controller.. where is good place to get them if i need to change and who's a good mechanic to go by to do it.. ??

Nik

Postby Nik » December 8th, 2009, 11:30 pm

janfar wrote:Anybody try accessing evo321.com lately???

been trying several days now... looks like the site down :cry: keep getting routed back to google search

wanted to know what is the difference with the rear diff on the evo II & the evo III??? if there are any...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 9th, 2009, 3:16 am

aight fellas, i lookin for evo3 cradle arms. full set, front and back. bushings can be busted, once the arms good. also the stabilizer bar for the front evo3. who might have this?

Nik

Postby Nik » December 9th, 2009, 7:14 am

check D&D they have full rear setup... i just bought a full E3 rear setup (rotors, calipers brake lines, cradles, stabilizer links & bar, diff etc)

hard part is that i had to buy d whole damn ting just b'cuz i need the right side...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 9th, 2009, 10:32 am

Nik,at least u have spare parts when u ready but if ur budget was tight, thaz hard in truth :lol: hit me a pm with the price you paid if you dont wanna post please, thanks :D

Nik

Postby Nik » December 9th, 2009, 11:53 pm

Death-Row, $2,500

yea budget kinda tight... might sell off some of the parts when i'm done... might...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 11th, 2009, 12:55 am

Nik,cool. thnx for the info.

my clutch system.

so i rebuilt my master, did over the slave, changed clutch and release bearing, didnt change the pressure plate tho, had steel braided lines from the start, running amsoil gearbox oil.

i seem to be losing pressure from somewhere still, in the morning my clutch pedal soft soft until i drive for like a 30mins then it gets a lil hard.

the clutch grabbing point does alter sometimes when it gets hot.

what can be causing the loss of pressure still?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 13th, 2009, 9:57 pm

>>?????

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 13th, 2009, 10:08 pm

is the system bled properly?

how do you bleed it?

and whot dot fluid you using?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 14th, 2009, 7:58 am

MISHI,its bled properly, i bled it first with a friend, then i thought it did it wrong so i took it to my mechanic. not sure which dot he used but he also has a evo2 so i know he wouldnt use crap. not saying this cant be an error but if the wrong dot fluid was used, would the pressure be losed when it gets too hot and not when its cold like now?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 14th, 2009, 9:22 am

can't say for sure... usually dot 4 is the recommended fluid. What I used to do was get a large syringe and and small vacuum hose and put the open end on the slave bleed nipple... crack open the nut till it starts to bleed (not too much) and have someone pour fluid while I pull the syringe slowly... when I see no more air I lock it off while still pulling to keep the pressure.

try pumping the clutch pedal 3-4 timed before engaging when cold and see if it makes a difference...

Postby janfar » December 14th, 2009, 9:38 am

Postby janfar » December 20th, 2009, 6:38 am

So i finally rip down the engine. Bare to block. Was quite impressed with how clean everything was. The oil sump was clean. Remeasured bearing clearance and all was within spec. Pistons was in great condition, as was the block itself. Cant wait to start rebuilding.

Nik

Postby Nik » December 20th, 2009, 3:25 pm

my car presently looks like all i did was sent it to get paint... rub down & primed up just waiting for the other car to finish paint to put mine in d room & start :fadein:

i am still to get intercooler/piping, radiator, need to get headlights but d old ones can hold 4 now...

oh & if any1 want to trade rear windscreens i'll be glad to... i have a original cb3 rear windscreen (no wiper) & i want to get the glass with the wiper... i was told that i can get the glass cut to fit back my rear wiper but i preffer original... would really like to be able to reinstall my rear wiper as i do use it...

i will also have an evo III rear diff rotors & calipers for sale early next year...

Postby janfar » December 20th, 2009, 11:39 pm

That rear wiper does come in handy during though rainy manzan runs.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 22nd, 2009, 1:51 pm

or when ah gyul mother throw pepper sauce on yuh back glass when she ketch yuh with the daughter. :|

all in all, rear wiper ftw :lol:

Nik

Postby Nik » December 22nd, 2009, 6:24 pm

will be bringing her home tonight or tomorrow :mrgreen:
she lookin good :P :oops:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 25th, 2009, 2:53 am

just wanted to wish you guys a merry christmas. hope all is well for our cars in the 2010 also :lol:

Nik

Postby Nik » December 25th, 2009, 12:06 pm

Merry Christmas my friends. stay safe

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 26th, 2009, 12:20 am

hope u guys had a good chirstmas.

btw, any of you guys have ANY evo3 body kit parts? wing, skirts, bumpers etc? will buy any part u have. once its not fibreglass.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”