THE OFFICIAL MITSUBISHI Q & A THREAD (NO BUY OR SELL POSTS!)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

JJ16

Re: Ask ANY QUESTION HERE!!

Postby JJ16 » October 12th, 2010, 9:26 pm

Well i've tested Redline already and well i still stick to Castrol...somehow I dont really see the difference in them, the only difference is that the other oils usually burn out faster in my engine, when i really push the engine, and the castrol doesnt...so i stick to that.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 12th, 2010, 10:08 pm

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=336106

Based on the arguments there, could any other one work as a direct replacement for the engine ?

Postby A172 » October 13th, 2010, 5:58 am

QG wrote:Some ppl have claimed that their engine performed better with the use of Royal Purple! I have never used it so I can't really give my input into if it's a better oil than Redline or Castrol.

But I can say that Castrol Full Syntec and Mobil 1 full syntec are great oils!!!! Very costly but great! Those two I have personally used already. My 4G18 currently uses Castrol Full Syntec 5W 50.

steups

placebo and mango-tree tuners FTL

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » October 13th, 2010, 12:38 pm

what lancer axle would fit in a f5m221rrme gear box ? ck,cb,cs,e33?

trinichic134

Postby trinichic134 » October 14th, 2010, 9:33 am

QG wrote:Some ppl have claimed that their engine performed better with the use of Royal Purple! I have never used it so I can't really give my input into if it's a better oil than Redline or Castrol.

But I can say that Castrol Full Syntec and Mobil 1 full syntec are great oils!!!! Very costly but great! Those two I have personally used already. My 4G18 currently uses Castrol Full Syntec 5W 50.

:mrgreen: BUMP :mrgreen: Thanks QG.

trinichic134

Postby trinichic134 » October 14th, 2010, 9:34 am

JJ16 wrote:Well i've tested Redline already and well i still stick to Castrol...somehow I dont really see the difference in them, the only difference is that the other oils usually burn out faster in my engine, when i really push the engine, and the castrol doesnt...so i stick to that.

:mrgreen: BUMP. :mrgreen: Thanks JJ16.

QG

Postby QG » October 14th, 2010, 6:38 pm

cool scene!

jusme

Postby jusme » October 15th, 2010, 12:53 pm

Hello mitsu owners, can anyone explain why the average price of a used lancer (cs3 in particular) is so much lower compared to other brands in the same year (eg nze, almera, es8 civic etc)?

ps: Remember the subject of this thread...

Any info would be greatly appreciated

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » October 15th, 2010, 7:57 pm

i have a shark mouth galant went to the mechanic to change engine when done notice the tiptronic not working. can any one fix that. 7702135

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » October 16th, 2010, 8:32 am

trinibajan34 wrote:what lancer axle would fit in a f5m221rrme gear box ? ck,cb,cs,e33?

any body

Postby Newbie » October 17th, 2010, 5:50 pm

Hi, i need some help, i have a 4G63 non turbo the first generations like from the evo 1,2,3. I noticed some oil leaking from the cam sensor, so i took it off to check the seal, i cleaned the cam sensor carefully with purple blaster because it was dried up oil really dirty.I dried it as best as i could, using a blowdrier too
so i put it back and put it in the way i took it off, the problem now is the car will idle rough like its missing for about 3-4 seconds then cut off, i tried moving it a little, but it will still cut off. what do you guys think.

now while it was idling rough, i tried moving it a little, to see if i could get it correct, idle better, but it did'nt work.

anyone got a new or used one to sell, cause i'm thinking it may be bad.

any help would be great

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 17th, 2010, 6:21 pm

b14inb12 it could be as simple as electrical problems....

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 17th, 2010, 7:53 pm

Was just wondering ... can an ECU be repaired?

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » October 17th, 2010, 10:31 pm

yes it might be a electrical problem so is their any one who knows about shark mouth tiptronic wiring

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 18th, 2010, 10:15 am

Parvin, yea, depending on what it is you could try, but if you can get a new one that would be the best option.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 18th, 2010, 4:35 pm

JJ16 wrote:Parvin, yea, depending on what it is you could try, but if you can get a new one that would be the best option.

Well I got someone to test the replacement idle speed controller but it not receiving any signal. The faulty one was used for a couple of years as far as I know so I was told due to the length of time it was used, the ecu/brainbox could be damaged.

Part # MR 507191

Diamond Motors quoted me $12650.00 :agrue:

Been calling around to get a replacement and getting quotes from $400 - $2000 ... sooooooooooooo, i don't think ppl really know what I referring too or maybe some just cheap ???

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 18th, 2010, 7:03 pm

amm yea i feel they just cheap, almost anything @ diamond motors expensive..

what engine ECU u want?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 18th, 2010, 7:28 pm

JJ16 wrote:amm yea i feel they just cheap, almost anything @ diamond motors expensive..

what engine ECU u want?

4G92

Local Ck4
Year - 2000

Part # 507191 ( printed on sticker )

Parvin wrote:I was having problems with the idle Speed Controller on a 4G92 engine for some time now. Got a replacement to try.

Now the problem is when it was connected, it still didn't work. It wasn't receiving any signal. Thought the sensor was bad so I tried another one, but still no signal.

I was told the brainbox needed changing. the sensor was bad for a year or 2 or even more I think. Could that have caused the brainbox to go bad if indeed that is the problem? And can it be repaired? I didn't get another one yet to test but DM selling that part for $12650 ... way out of my reach.

Part # MR 507191

Added info;

I had about 3 diagnostics run on the vehicle from different people at different times throughout the year. The thing is, the bad sensor NEVER showed up. Everything was shown as working properly.

Any advice?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 19th, 2010, 8:38 am

Well if you wanna replace the ECU, just go in the bamboo and tell them you want a Single Cam 4G92 ECU (automatic) or if you car manual tell them a Manual ECU

Postby Newbie » October 19th, 2010, 11:40 am

Newbie wrote:Hi, i need some help, i have a 4G63 non turbo the first generations like from the evo 1,2,3. I noticed some oil leaking from the cam sensor, so i took it off to check the seal, i cleaned the cam sensor carefully with purple blaster because it was dried up oil really dirty.I dried it as best as i could, using a blowdrier too
so i put it back and put it in the way i took it off, the problem now is the car will idle rough like its missing for about 3-4 seconds then cut off, i tried moving it a little, but it will still cut off. what do you guys think.

now while it was idling rough, i tried moving it a little, to see if i could get it correct, idle better, but it did'nt work.

anyone got a new or used one to sell, cause i'm thinking it may be bad.

any help would be great

ok guys i got it working, nothing is wrong with the sensor, the problem was the timing, i needed to rotate it a few times to get it right, i opened it and saw it had a plate with cuts in it at different points, but one was different, so i assumed that it had to be not in the correct timing with the cam.
So i put it in tried it, it didn't work, took it out turned it one full turn, tried again and it worked fine.
Starts and revs like normal.
i think the cam and the sensor should have been keyed so it can only go in one way, then it will always be in time and won't have the mistake i made.
or just pay closer attention to the orientation of it when i took it out.
So i could say i really learn something there.

QG

Postby QG » October 19th, 2010, 9:17 pm

JJ16 wrote:Well if you wanna replace the ECU, just go in the bamboo and tell them you want a Single Cam 4G92 ECU (automatic) or if you car manual tell them a Manual ECU

Yeah or check M&N in Bamboo...Number 2 Settlement.
The Motorists should have too.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 19th, 2010, 9:31 pm

Thanks fellas.

So is really the ecu gone through too ?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 19th, 2010, 11:41 pm

what i suggest you do, is **once the car driving i guess** go to the bamboo with it, tell them you suspect the ECU needs to change...let them test one for you and once it works, well u know thatz d problem.

or if you have a friend with the same type of engine / ecu, just plug it in, try it and you would get your answer.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 20th, 2010, 12:06 am

JJ16 wrote:what i suggest you do, is **once the car driving i guess** go to the bamboo with it, tell them you suspect the ECU needs to change...let them test one for you and once it works, well u know thatz d problem.

or if you have a friend with the same type of engine / ecu, just plug it in, try it and you would get your answer.

Kool scene.

The car working and driving .. it's just the idle sensor isn't getting any signal. Will go with your troubleshooting tips tough

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » October 25th, 2010, 3:01 pm

Fellas would FWD tranny be able to handle the 6a13TT ??

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 25th, 2010, 11:19 pm

which FWD Tranny?

spam

Postby spam » October 27th, 2010, 6:58 am

can you convert a rwd vehicle to fwd

if yes wat problems wud u encounter, not a daily driver.

also i want to upgrade my ck to evo suspension can anyone give an average cost for doin that ?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » October 27th, 2010, 8:50 am

the answer to your first question can be simply found on Google.

the second question, the answer can be found in the bamboo :)

Just note its not going to be cheap

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » November 8th, 2010, 12:45 am

greetings tuners, im looking for a mass air flow sensor for a 2002 cs2a 1.5 gdi i called most popular parts dealers in the bamboo also diamond with no luck. any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 8th, 2010, 10:49 pm

i have 2 questions 1 i added a cone filter on my gdi engine and i notice the plugs had gotten real blk which means i burning rich how can i solve this prob ....oh the car still works smooth///////.....2 can any other tranny or gearbox be a replacement for the cvt tranny ..4g15 gdi oh 1 more can the e throttle be replace wth a normal throttle body

Return to “MITSUBISHI”