***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 27th, 2009, 4:12 am

janfar,are you doing any maintainance on the engine b4 u put it in? change out filters, oils, lines, belts etc? would be good to change a few things so it leaves less room for something to go wrong.

belt kit, not sure, check w2j ?

Postby janfar » October 27th, 2009, 4:23 am

Yeh. Well, its a front cut. So im pulling down the gearbox and checking the clutch to see the state of it. Changing the release bearing and back seals. Will change all the water line to high pressure high teperature line. I want to change the timing belts and seals in front the engine. All oils and filters to be changed. Any other maintenance to be done will be done now. So when it goes in it will all be well. Well hopefully.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 27th, 2009, 4:27 am

nice nice nice, if you dont mind me askin, how much did you pay for the front cut and where did you get it? from the prices i hearing these days for evo3 parts, is bess i bring in a full 3 and just take from dat yes :lol:

Postby janfar » October 27th, 2009, 5:03 am

YHPM.

But when yuh buy the front cut u take the engine and sell bonnet, fenders, bumper, lights and all the other bits that you dont need. You would make back at least 5k from what you spent.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 27th, 2009, 6:24 am

hmmmm, thanks for the info.

Nik

Postby Nik » October 27th, 2009, 6:47 am

use what u need & sell what u dont need best thing to do lol...

janfar, u get d cut already? i callin 1st dibs to check u for some stuff lol

Postby janfar » October 27th, 2009, 11:49 am

U dont need to call dibs hoss, you have it already, you know the cut from by D&D so yuh saw the condition. Cut should be home today. Im not in country so u have to liase with me on here till. Lemme know what u want.

Nik

Postby Nik » October 27th, 2009, 10:18 pm

lol scene scene lol... i not rushin anything right now so i can hold on till ur back in trini... will pm u on exactly what i need/want & we'll work from there

Nik

Postby Nik » October 28th, 2009, 7:45 pm

fellas ah lookin for the weather strip for the cb3/evo1-3 front to back & around the rear windscreen, both left & right side preferably in good condition or better yet new :fadein:

have any idea where i can buy them???

Postby janfar » October 29th, 2009, 6:06 am

I think double zee has the universal weather strips.

Nik

Postby Nik » October 29th, 2009, 7:17 am

kool... will check them saturday as i hadda buy the windscreens... hopefully they have the rear windscreen with the space 4 the wiper too...

janfar, check yuh pm

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 29th, 2009, 7:57 pm

hey nik, can you post a price for the windscreen and where u got it when u do? i need a windscreen also, not getting time tho. if i know where and how much, i can just send my bro or someone to get it done.

glad to see u back in the game tho hoss. :D

Nik

Postby Nik » October 29th, 2009, 8:43 pm

Death-Row, will do... nex month-end i shud be back out... hopefully :oops:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 4th, 2009, 3:42 am

so how alyuh fellas doin? right now my car seeing some stress. not getting to do anything on it due to my work schedule these days. suspension in a mess, clutch master cylinder fluid still black, oil need chaning in box, tcase, diff, engine etc but engine still leaking oil some fuggin where.

btw nik, nice sig :D

Virus

Postby Virus » November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

^^^^ made a trip into the bamboo, just scouting for some rotors for a cs3 and guys right after bobby's there is a place seenath or something so you wouldnt believe the amt of frnt cuts there for 3-5/6 evos prices not to bad either, if you all looking for anything i think there might be a good place to look am sure you guys know where am talking about but in my last trip to the bamboo there cuts have increased so check it out

QG

Postby QG » November 4th, 2009, 12:26 pm

Seenaths does have some good stuff...so I heard!

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » November 4th, 2009, 3:15 pm

Alotta valuable info in here jed... And yeah seenaths is good!

Nik

Postby Nik » November 5th, 2009, 7:46 pm

Death-Row, thanks...
oh the windscreens cost $1800 in total after discount from double zee... front is $800 got it for $600, rear is $1500 got it for $1200 due to a small scratch which can polish off... oh & the rear is an oem...

yea seenaths have stuff but they also buy from other places in d bamboo & sell back @ higher prices... eg D & D had 2 or 3 complete front cuts (evo 1-3) 3 months ago sellin between 18 - 22K... went bak 2 days later 2 check on something for my GSR @ the time & they weren't there... when i asked my padna there he told me that seenaths purchased 2 & one was sold to a customer... went seenaths same day & saw the 2 front cuts priced @ 30K & 32K... that's y it is always better to shop around lol... not saying that they doh have good things just just saying shop around as this is one of the tricks of the trade :roll:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 6th, 2009, 2:48 am

Nik,nice nice. will keep that in mind. just time these days tho. guessin u put in ur windscreens, glad to see u progressing in ur project :D

Postby janfar » November 6th, 2009, 3:22 am

Update on my stuff fellahs. I obviouly can't work on my car cause of the nature of my job so i left it the care and duty of a friend who owns a mech shop and i always help out when i am home. When im home, i work on cars at his garage for free and he makes the money, i dont want the money cause i just like doing it.

I asked to buy the front cut, i gave him the cash and payed for a truck and everything. Is one setta excuses, and i dont like to beg for favours, so as a result, my badmindness has led to a harsh decision.

I am going to buy a second car...

I am then going to tear the ass off betsy and rebuild it piece by piece upgrading everything to the maximum level of performance attainable. I know it would take some time as i am doing the work myself. I will be posting my progress as i go along. i want tp build an engine that can crank out 600AWHP. All input would be greatly appreciated.

So in the mean time, would anyone care to go offroad... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Virus

Postby Virus » November 6th, 2009, 5:42 am

:twisted: count me in

janfar but for the second car what are you going a later version or going back the same?

Postby janfar » November 6th, 2009, 7:05 am

Lol, nah, more offroad than that... Wish i could have another evo, but house takes priority, so a lowly Suzuki Jimny with heavy duty suspension is the call of the day.

Virus

Postby Virus » November 6th, 2009, 11:53 am

^^^^ Still Very Cool dude cheers with that :D

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 6th, 2009, 12:47 pm

janfar,i myself going through some stress, almost every part in my car needs changing :lol: :lol: these cars are old and i know prev. owners and me dont drive them easy. parts will go bad or have gone bad already.

i myself am planning on i spend my money right now, if i should just maintain it for now or go full on with each part i change to obtain my final goal.

Postby Dave » November 6th, 2009, 12:52 pm

I am hearing what you guys are doing and my suggestion would be to tackle one aspect of the car at a time, obviously you need to prioritise them, e.g. fix all susension issues and then move on

These cars takes lots of abuse and don't do/add more to the damage

always remember a stitch in time saves nine so don't be the one saying, i won the race but my engine is gone

btw, row, your rear rotors, well the lhs one looks like it needs some attention, machine or replace

Postby janfar » November 7th, 2009, 3:17 am

Dave wrote:I am hearing what you guys are doing and my suggestion would be to tackle one aspect of the car at a time, obviously you need to prioritise them, e.g. fix all susension issues and then move on

These cars takes lots of abuse and don't do/add more to the damage

always remember a stitch in time saves nine so don't be the one saying, i won the race but my engine is gone

btw, row, your rear rotors, well the lhs one looks like it needs some attention, machine or replace

Dave boy, that kinda hard when all aspects failing at the same time. Last time i was home was only for 2 weeks, the car was down for 2 days cause the banjo bolt from turbo oil feed to head broke, had to make a new one out of a old caliper bolt from my last corolla, 2 days later, slave cylinder failed, had to jack up the car in front my aunt house in the hot sun to change, another week later, turbo line water house burst and car overheated resulting in a forked head gasket, plus with that said im gonna have pressure test the lot.

My decision was as a result on continuous inconvenience and unreliability. Im gonna do everything over a period of time and prep her for street legal/ drag capable, given that freeport is a go.

Nik

Postby Nik » November 7th, 2009, 9:09 am

strange enough the only prob i ever had with mine was the cv joint that broke as a result of excessive drift practice lol aside from that any other problems were cosmetic... lower lip ripped out backing out of drive way, knobs by ac vents broke so all vents remain open... thats abt it...

Postby janfar » November 7th, 2009, 9:33 am

Mine seemed to have had a much tougher life before i got it, including the fact that it got heavy usage for 3 weeks followed by -4times a week- starts for 4 weeks.

Nik

Postby Nik » November 7th, 2009, 9:37 am

ur probably right... i have mine as a daily driver & the previous owner used it most days during the week & i know he used to hammer it as do i at times lol

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 9th, 2009, 1:39 am

aight fellas so im really confused onto what i should set my goals to with my car. im thinkin of power goals of something like 350 to the wheels. im confused tho, should i go with a 4G63T and if im going with this, should i keep the gsr box or go through a full conversion with diff etc? or just take that money, drop some forged pistons and rods in the 93T along with some other parts to make my goal?

also, i always had this thought, what would it take for a evo 4-9 engine to fit in ours chassis? also what gearbox, tcase etc could be used? ive always been interested in dropping in a VII engine or 8 for many reasons, parts avail. in the US being one of them.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”