what to do first for more speed?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

iamjack

Postby iamjack » May 31st, 2007, 10:15 am

Kronik wrote:you will have all wheel disc brakes.........i still have to do the conversion in my lancer, but when i do it i will show you iamjack

thanks Kronik

lemme see if i got this straight,
it'll still be a fwd drive car but have the braking of an AWD car?

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » May 31st, 2007, 10:29 am

Kronik wrote:you will have all wheel disc brakes.........i still have to do the conversion in my lancer, but when i do it i will show you iamjack

Kronik
, include a chick in that all wheel disk brake conversion lesson 101, a'ight? I want to do add rear disks to my lancer.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 31st, 2007, 10:33 am

Iamjack, U have the FWD part right.

What makes U think that 4 wheel discs is a pre-requisite for an all wheel drive car?

Yes, most 4 wheel drive cars have rear disc.......so does a lot of 2 wheel drive cars (in their sportier offerings). So to say 4 discs makes for the braking of a 4 wheel drive car is not totally correct.

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » May 31st, 2007, 10:37 am

iamjack wrote:

thanks Kronik

lemme see if i got this straight,
it'll still be a fwd drive car but have the braking of an AWD car?

Hey jack, yeah, your CK2 will still be a FWD cuz like Rudman said, adding rear disk will only give you the all wheel stopping power - no torque cranking the rear wheels, you have to do those mods to get the AWD...

Hopefully Kronik has patience to deal with us noobies, GRIN!

iamjack

Postby iamjack » May 31st, 2007, 10:45 am

i just want that all wheel stopping power
i dont want to do an AWD conversion, if it means id be losing torque

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » May 31st, 2007, 11:00 am

Hmmm? Am not sure if it u'd lose torque or if it's just that none will be added... Will do some reading... :?

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2007, 12:33 pm

instead of using 4wheel disc brakes...a simple use of "performance disc pads" up front will show improvement...e.g Hawk-HPS, EBC-greenstuff for cars under 200bhp

i think 4wheel disc brakes are over rated unless ur into rallying, drifting or unless u change engine/do serious mods where trhere is tremendous increase in hp

"The High Performance Street compound offers a higher coefficient of friction over stock brake pads and can provide you 20-40% more stopping power and higher resistance to brake fade than most standard replacement pads"--- taken off Hawk's site

"Glycol fluids degenerate and after 3 years can contain up to 12% water which causes "vapour lock" and spongy brakes under heavy loads. Always use fluid from a SEALED container and never re-use after the container has been allowed to stand for more than 90 days."
taken off EBC's site
http://www.ebcbrakes.com/automotive.html

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 31st, 2007, 3:31 pm

These brake upgrade that X Factor are talking about were discussed more fully in this thread:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » May 31st, 2007, 5:46 pm

Lean Wid It...take some ^Pretty^ good advice...stay slow...remember all we've seen in the past 2 weeks

hindian

Postby hindian » May 31st, 2007, 9:02 pm

aye jack my car has all wheel discs and it stops like a biatch but remember my car is also rear wheel drive GSR box lancer so this was the original setup. i wish i cud get some high performance brake pads for them though :(

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » June 1st, 2007, 12:36 am

^Pretty^ wrote:Lean Wid It...take some ^Pretty^ good advice...stay slow...remember all we've seen in the past 2 weeks

yeh girl fuh reall eh!!...thas good talk..but speed can help u get out of accidents as well to :lol:

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 1st, 2007, 7:16 am

i will take pics of when i doing the conversion for alluh, and i will see how best i could put down the procedure

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » June 1st, 2007, 1:59 pm

Kronik wrote:i will take pics of when i doing the conversion for alluh, and i will see how best i could put down the procedure

Kewl! Thanks man... Aye if you need help, i can pass you a spanner and thing, lol...

iamjack

Postby iamjack » June 1st, 2007, 9:23 pm

those EBC performance pads does sound like the better route
its cheaper firstly and less of a headache in terms of rear disc conversion
which seems un-necessary since i dont have that much horses under the hood

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 6th, 2007, 10:39 am

well i did the conversion yesterday, it took anout 4-5 hours, it ook pics and thing, when i organise it and thing, i will let you know

the main difference in stopping power i getting is a smooth deceleration, as opposed to before when i mash brakes and after a few seconds when it gets hot it doesnt hold as well.............problem solved now :D

teichou

Postby teichou » June 7th, 2007, 2:04 pm

post the pics
with explanations
and where exactly did you purchase the setup and the cost

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 8th, 2007, 10:20 am

i can tell you the prices now, dont have enough time to post the pics and thing now

bought the setup from a guy on tuner with the, handbrake cable, brake line, and the two arms with all the bushings and thing included for $1600 (the man originally wanted $2000)

and i paid $500 for the installation, it took about 4-5 hours, from taking out the first bolt to taking a test run

teichou

Postby teichou » June 8th, 2007, 8:41 pm

what about all thios abs and stuff
my ride has abs will it be a problem to fit and will it work efficiently
and what are the size of the rotors front and rear
i kina new to this and i ain shame to ask when i don't know instead of pretending and looking foolish in the end

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 9th, 2007, 9:36 am

the brakes i got had abs marked on them, but my car doesnt have abs, so is normal brakes for me

but if you have abs, it should work, i dont know how different the abs ones are

teichou

Postby teichou » June 10th, 2007, 10:37 am

^^^ do you have a number for the place where i could purchase them?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 10th, 2007, 8:48 pm

you could search the bamboo, but i bought mine from someone who was selling it here on tuner

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 10th, 2007, 10:54 pm

tell me thats a joke right cause I didn't know 180km/h was fast ....i always thought that was cruising speed :roll:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 11th, 2007, 7:15 am

^ ^ ^ 112 mph is cruzin' for you? Yuh have ah real fas car dey, padna!

Rudman

Postby Rudman » June 11th, 2007, 8:35 am

TriniVdub wrote:tell me thats a joke right cause I didn't know 180km/h was fast ....i always thought that was cruising speed :roll:

I will read about you in the papers very soon :!:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 11th, 2007, 8:47 am

^ ^ ^ That's what I was thinking too... :roll:

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 12th, 2007, 4:34 am

with the roads in trinidad highways, 180km does have yuh car jumping up and down with the setta wave in the road dem

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 12th, 2007, 7:09 am

^ ^ ^ They say "SPEED" kills, but IMHO bad manners and dotishness do a much better job.
You don't need much speed to KILL yourself. 25-30 mph into a concrete wall will do.
I'm more concerned about constipated young fellas with NO formal training...
NO controlled practice... little "seat time"... and a quick car thinking they are Sebastian Loeb.

Mix in a few gallons of insecurity... and the need to show how macho they are...
maybe a lil liquor and some padnas (or a girl) to show off for, and... :roll: :roll:

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » June 12th, 2007, 1:18 pm

I guess that's why he's a "Ricer" huh? Good of you fellas to guide the young 'uns...
You're right tho Sanctifier, imagine that, 11 ppl in one week? C'mon TriniVdub, slow down.

omegajedi

Postby omegajedi » June 12th, 2007, 3:09 pm

Hey this is what happens when you drive reckless and with no care for others....

And this one happen today on the beetham next to the dump....

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » June 12th, 2007, 3:25 pm

this we see all the time and yet ppl cant get the hint and take it down.. IMO a heap of this could be avoided if :
1) de crooked fools down in licensing office stop takin bribes and havin a setta ppl on de road driving who shouldnt be even ridin a bike
2) de parents / relatives of these ppl stop givin dem gas money ,, ( joke )

but seriously, is a real disturbing trend that needs to end.... one way or the other. You all happen to notice that ppl hardly ever use that thing called an indicator anymore? is just decoration on cars these days. In reality, the carnage on he road only gonna get worse. Hopefully when they finished killin themselves then there would be only real drivers on the road ( really morbid theory ) but say what... then there would be another accident surely,, it just goes on, and on , and on

Return to “MITSUBISHI”