***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 19th, 2009, 1:30 am

as they say, keep fixing, just now yuh go have a new car :lol:

Postby janfar » September 19th, 2009, 10:17 am

Ahahah, and the man really tell me. "No matter what, just remember, is ah ole car yuh buy eh". and Rightfully so, i never blame he for the car. I know what i was getting my broke ass into. Aye tunerimport tell me he getting polybushes and stuff for our cars. I check him already.

Mishi i aint say buy or sell eh... no gimme no award... pweeze.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 19th, 2009, 10:35 am

same here, i know what i got myself into, its a great car, just a few parts reaching their lifespan i guess. the poly bushes well, i gotta check which ones from the evo can work on mine. ian told me to take it out and bring it so he can compare and he'll see.

what i wanted to know tho, how can i change my suspension to full evo3? so i wont have to go diggin around for GSR suspension parts but EVO3 parts also instead. everything bolt for bolt?

Postby janfar » September 19th, 2009, 10:54 am

Its the CB chassis so i dont wht it wont work. But how is the front and rear suspension made up. Couldnt be that much of a difference.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 19th, 2009, 1:45 pm

janfar,thats what im thinkin. also, was checkin my clutch master cylinder fluid just now, ting black, i changed the rubbers in the slave about a 2 months ago and i rebuilt the master about 3 weeks ago. what could cause this?

Postby janfar » September 19th, 2009, 1:49 pm

Didnt you change your CM cyl recently? Is the clutch working fine wrt engaging and disengaging??? If you got inferior seals (ie non viton rubber) then the rubber itself maybe disintegrating in the brake fluid. I could be wrong eh (or be called a Mangotree mechanic) but could be. Where i work deals with orings and seals by the tonne so inferior oring/ plain rubber and not viton could fail easily.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 19th, 2009, 1:54 pm

i always getting shaft when i try to "rebuild" or "get it used" steups. thaz why i like brand new things for yes.

well so far, clutch working as b4. as you remember, my shifting etc was always bad/crunchy etc. it got better since i changed the rubber etc, not fully perfec tho but i can live with it.

im hearing a noise recently tho, when i let go of the X at higher RPM on first and second and the car gives a "buck" type movement while slowing down and hear like some peice of metal dragging or rubbing or something.

also, when i run the car hard and i take hard right/left turns while driving in my driveway, i hear a type of rubbing or humming of some sort. when i turn back the wheel straight, it stops.

goddddddddddddd i need some rum :roll:

Postby janfar » September 19th, 2009, 2:05 pm

Well, you need some good stuff. Browse the DSM forums and find out if they CM is the same and we could prolly bring in a few, i have my peeps plus im going through MIA in 10 days on my way home.

Dont know bout the buck but the noise i hear (always) was explained to me by soldave as being clutch chatter and that it was normal with aftermarket clutch systems. Sometimes like if i am doing about 30-40 in 2 and i come off the x quickly it give a series of jerks but i guess thats the extreme clutch trying to grab the slowing flywheel to the enertia given by the GB... (mangotree mech theory)

That rubbin/ hummin, are the tyres touchin anywhere???? also, the bearing on the long front axle (dunno if theres one on the GSR) should be passenger side... have u checked it for play.

If u check all these and still cant figure it out you need to take my advice.

Go on the Audio classifieds and get a good soundsystem to cancel out the noises. It will make you an alcoholic...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 19th, 2009, 2:24 pm

janfar, :lol: :lol: i changed all the wheel bearings, is that the same as the bearing u speak of on the long front axle? if not, i havent touched that yet, i think it really is comming from the passenger side, the noise that is.

well, clutch chatter, amm, it only started happening a week ago, my clutch in over 3 months now or something, never heard it b4.

Nik

Postby Nik » September 19th, 2009, 6:00 pm

Death-Row, the EVO III suspension is bolt for bolt... the GSR comes with the same setup as the the EVO (shock & spring) only diff is the sway bars... (EVO's have 1 or 2 extra i think)... but why bother with original suspension go aftermarket... (was) lovin my D2 coil-overs on my EVO & the Cusco coil-overs i had on my GSR were the best...

as for clutch chatter i've never experienced that with either car... the GSR had ACT street & strip setup with a lightened flywheel & it was a EVO III gb i had & was in use for over 1yr & the EVO II has ACT 6 puk copper, heavy duty pp & lightened fly wheel installed approx 9 months ago an as i said never experienced this...

Postby janfar » September 19th, 2009, 6:18 pm

I know for a fact that the evo 2-3 cradle arms are wider than the evo1 and as a result the axles are longer as well. The drop links for the 1 is mounted on the cradle and the e2-3 are mouned to she shock. I dont think there is any difference in the back.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 21st, 2009, 4:07 am

*sneeze*

Postby janfar » September 21st, 2009, 8:38 am

Death-Row wrote:*sneeze*

Sounds like something was installed.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 21st, 2009, 9:08 am

oh the car ketch the cold?? :lol: :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 21st, 2009, 9:56 am

:lol: :lol: nah, well, i checked my power steering fluid and it was low, added more, the humming noise stopped so far. still having the other noise :x

Postby janfar » September 21st, 2009, 2:16 pm

Ahaha, yuh remind me of the famous backfiring cortina.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 22nd, 2009, 12:25 pm

ok, so i went to the electrician today, checked out the started, it seems to be good, he replaced some switch/relay or something. seems to be working fine now. my turbo timer stopped working 3 days ago tho, gonna sort that and the oil leak out on friday hopefully. once the oil leak is taken care of, ill drain all oils, gb, engine, tc, diff etc and replace with amsoil or redline according to the reviews/research i do at that time.

how you guys going?

Postby janfar » September 22nd, 2009, 2:39 pm

I have an oil leak from my turbo line on the head. And that damn thing hard to work with. Its the hardline with the banjo fittings. Anybody know where i could get the flex lines for that.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » September 22nd, 2009, 6:34 pm

^^ W2J Has the *2G INSTALL KIT* from Forced Performance it has all the Crush washers / flex line (steel braided) / return hose with adaptors/ J pipe ...etc..

Postby janfar » September 22nd, 2009, 6:36 pm

Serious, need to hit him a PM. Wonder whats the cost?

Postby janfar » September 27th, 2009, 10:08 pm

Home, home on the beach,
where the carite and de cobo does play.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 27th, 2009, 10:59 pm

baseball...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 28th, 2009, 12:06 am

well i drunk right now. but meh car wukkin good lmao. dont worry fellaz, as a wize tuner told me tonight, dont drink and drive so i parked up and walk home lol.

Postby janfar » September 28th, 2009, 6:55 am

Anybody up for some drifting on the beach in Mayaro??? Its lots of fun and I can get you to a car wash for underwashing after...

Low tide, the beach is about 100ft (shoreline). Absoluteley beautiful to feel your car try to loose grip in the sand.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 28th, 2009, 7:13 am

janfar,im up for that :D lemme know in advance tho, will see what shift im working at the time :lol:

Postby janfar » September 28th, 2009, 7:20 am

Will have to check the tides. But prepare for me to give you a weekday when no ones on the beach. Cause you can get up to speeds of 200km easy when you see the room. Imagine 10-15km of empty straight just for you to make you car go all over. And no police to charge you.

Nik

Postby Nik » September 28th, 2009, 9:42 am

janfar, so u start the drift thing now lol

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » September 28th, 2009, 10:35 am

remember when y'all actually do this "you tube" is your friend. :)

Nik

Postby Nik » September 28th, 2009, 3:31 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ury_cl3qMqU&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Nik

Postby Nik » September 28th, 2009, 3:32 pm

excuse the quality... phone video lol

Return to “MITSUBISHI”