***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 7th, 2009, 11:52 am

hmmm, any info on shipping an exhaust system from japan? nengun says ill have to organize my own shipping since its too big for them or something.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 7th, 2009, 12:24 pm

Why don't you browse the mitsubishi lancer register foruma and see?

You may find places recommended to buy CD/E 9A systems...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 7th, 2009, 12:33 pm

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 8th, 2009, 12:26 am

MISHI,thnx for the links. will send them along with some other sites some emails on shipping. im getting the systems, just shipping is a prob since some sites say its too large and i will have to organize the shipping on my own. :x

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 8th, 2009, 7:29 am

Get an ezone account. You'll get a london address as well...

Postby janfar » September 8th, 2009, 5:55 pm

How much will it cost in total for the exhaust including shipping.

Like i said, I did mine locally and the difference. The guy i went to has a lot of experience in what he is doing. To each his own eh but i think the locally will be much more feasable. I have heard on many occasions on the 321 and LR forums of guys buying ready made kits and having to still modify them in some small way of the other to make it fit perfect without touching. I would not like to spend 5000TTD on a ready made brand name system only to have it cut in some places to make it work.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 8th, 2009, 10:02 pm

Well if it costs 650 sterling which is $6825.00 TT (which i find is crazy)

Then you have to factor the 30% duty in this case $2047.50

Then you have to add VAT 15% to that which is say $1330.88

Then usually a package like that is about 20kgs which would be about $ 840.00

So your looking at total $11043.38

Which is honestly ridiculous as in the first place, UK prices MUCH more then US...

But that would be the WORST CASE scenario as someimes depending on the box size & on the good graces of the officer dealing with your package, the prices could be less...

Postby janfar » September 8th, 2009, 10:27 pm

MISHI wrote:Well if it costs 650 sterling which is $6825.00 TT (which i find is crazy)

Then you have to factor the 30% duty in this case $2047.50

Then you have to add VAT 15% to that which is say $1330.88

Then usually a package like that is about 20kgs which would be about $ 840.00

So your looking at total $11043.38

Which is honestly ridiculous as in the first place, UK prices MUCH more then US...

But that would be the WORST CASE scenario as someimes depending on the box size & on the good graces of the officer dealing with your package, the prices could be less...

Too many uncertainties. Like I said, 4k giving you a really well finished exhaust from a man with 25 yrs experience.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 8th, 2009, 11:19 pm

not disagreeing with you at all... agreed on the fact that it is a good option, but i'm just working on the basis of longevity and ease of install (and removal) for cases such as removal of your gas tank...

Personally if i could do it all over again with 9630 or the day i decide to buy an AWD gas tank, I would go with the bolt on item.

I am sure that the prices can be found cheaper...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 9th, 2009, 2:07 am

what about shipping the item to a "yard" where a friend is packing a container for trinidad? domestic shipping in japan cheap?

i need to do over my exhaust, wanna do something good and done.

Postby janfar » September 9th, 2009, 8:47 am

MISHI wrote:not disagreeing with you at all... agreed on the fact that it is a good option, but i'm just working on the basis of longevity and ease of install (and removal) for cases such as removal of your gas tank...

Personally if i could do it all over again with 9630 or the day i decide to buy an AWD gas tank, I would go with the bolt on item.

I am sure that the prices can be found cheaper...

Ease of installation and removal is up to you and the guy doing it for you. If you tell him where you want flanged points you can have it made. Like a flange point just before the gas tank to drop it and be able to access everything down there. Its just a matter of design.

Postby janfar » September 11th, 2009, 11:50 am

Allyuh get well quiet boy!!!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 11th, 2009, 12:04 pm

no it's a valid point...not much to say after that. once they can do that properly here it's all well and fine.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 11th, 2009, 12:59 pm

janfar,well that should be a good thing, that everyone quiet :lol:

well so far, my car has been doing well, shifter probs down to a minimum. basically, just enjoying the car for now as a daily driver. i still wanna do the poly bushings tho since my current bushings are GONEEE

Postby janfar » September 11th, 2009, 2:50 pm

See if yuh could get W2J to bring them down as a set... soldave stop answering emails completely so I aint know whats going on with him.

Swift Boy

Postby Swift Boy » September 11th, 2009, 4:11 pm

soldave got banned

Postby janfar » September 11th, 2009, 4:21 pm

Well, he get banned. I was communicating with him via email and not PM. He is still on geekmapped (http://www.geekmapped.com/forums/index.php) and frequents the DSM sites.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 11th, 2009, 11:41 pm

janfar,yea, w2j said to bring in my stuff once i take it out from the car and he'll compare it to what he has, if its not in stock, i guess he can bring in a set for me. just time. past few months was spent on the car, everyday doing something, so im taking a lil rest. will start back next month. my starter playin the ass now too. :?

yea, soldave not responding to msn messenger messages or emails.

Postby janfar » September 12th, 2009, 10:21 am

If hes getting poly bushes i will definitely be taking a set.

I need to install an external to stop all the mad spiking when i get back though, that priority right now. I was thinking about modding the original exhaust manifold with a flange on top to take the wastegate then plumb it down to join the down pipe. That means pulling down my exhaust again, for the millionth time...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 16th, 2009, 10:54 am

so whats the latest?

Postby janfar » September 16th, 2009, 12:09 pm

I on wuk, it have no evos here... :cry: :cry: :cry:

Many scooters though...

And guana like rain, wonder what would happen if i cut up and freeze bout 12 and bring home.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 17th, 2009, 1:48 am

well i still aint service meh starter yet, timeeeeeeeee, working night these days so my schedule screwed up.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 17th, 2009, 5:52 am

janfar wrote:And guana like rain, wonder what would happen if i cut up and freeze bout 12 and bring home.

i want!!! :lol: :lol:

Postby janfar » September 17th, 2009, 6:04 pm

What wrong with the starter???

Anybody ever look into the ostrich mappable ecu system???

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 18th, 2009, 1:45 am

ok well, i not sure its the starter now, could be a electrical prob. my turbo timer stop working now :| fuggin pressure after pressure, i need a drink :|

Postby janfar » September 18th, 2009, 1:37 pm

It happens dude. If i give you the story of my evo you will cry. I bought the car in January and wasnt able to really drive it till maybe March... pressure after pressure after pressure. From parts to mechanic to gas tank to clutch.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 18th, 2009, 2:19 pm

janfar, :lol: :lol:

Postby janfar » September 18th, 2009, 2:22 pm

Death-Row wrote:janfar, :lol: :lol:

I kid you not. Thats why i do all my work myself. Change my own clutch. All oils. Suspension parts. Align and camber. The works.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 18th, 2009, 2:47 pm

i myself did alot of stuff, prev owner wasnt a bad owner, just didnt have much time i think plus the car was parked up for a time. i got my car up and running in good condition about 2 months after i got it. still fixin but soon ill be rollin in a good working car, i hope :lol:

Postby janfar » September 18th, 2009, 3:11 pm

Same with me. Everytime i improve i reach another bump in the road. Nows it boost creep. Its an ongoing process i guess. I hope to have my car to its peake soon. Its hard having to work on the car month on month off.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”