CY lancer (08 lancer)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

JUS4SHO

Re: CY lancer (08 lancer)

Postby JUS4SHO » June 13th, 2013, 5:21 pm

idlemind wrote:Da name eh good by Bella again, he say he cyar remember who Ryan is :lol:

I just call and verify. Lol

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 13th, 2013, 8:33 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1371169945.239637.jpg

Saw this today. Hmm

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 16th, 2013, 2:39 pm

saw that when passing behind the stadium, young fella had he both hands on he head.

He looked like awol but awol has a red cy.

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » June 16th, 2013, 3:09 pm

I see alot of people driving cy with 2.0 engine now hid , flair kit , but the version with no rear disc

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » June 16th, 2013, 3:09 pm

I see alot of people driving cy with 2.0 engine now hid , flair kit , but the version with no rear disc

MitsuDiamonds

Postby MitsuDiamonds » June 16th, 2013, 10:50 pm

Yeah Anthony, i know what u mean. lol.
My CY is the 2.0...HID...flair kit...spoiler...fogs...controls on steering....headlamp levelling...AFS headlamps...sunroof.
But no rear discs :-(

fras

Postby fras » June 17th, 2013, 6:38 am

Fellas what the difference between our local GT, JDM Galant fortis & USDM ES/DE/GTS?
Focusing on engine/tranny differences (parts, sensors...)!

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » June 17th, 2013, 9:41 pm

From the info online the US version comes with two engines a 2.0 L 155HP and a 2.8L 160HP I think.
Their is no mention of GT in US.
DE is lowest trim and ex highest I think.

Some of them is now All wheel drive (not evo or rallyart I am talking about) with a 3 position
switch ...2WD,AWD, AWD LOCK .

Our local initially came with 3 engine types a 1.5L 109HP 4A91 now discontinued ,
a 1.6L 117HP 4A92 and a 2.0L 155HP 4B11

Initally the local came with the ES or GT badges on the trunk.
The ES is the 1.5L the GT is 2.0L with sports suspension, disc on all 4 wheels etc. but not all 2.0L
is GT.

The 2.0L and 2.8L engines have mivec on both valves , the 1.5L (for sure ) and 1.6L (i think )
has mivec on intake only.

Some time ago I read in the US they wanted to phase out the 2.0L engine for a 1.8L which gives better fuel economy and same HP output with mivec on intake only.
Dont know if they were serious about this.

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » June 17th, 2013, 9:41 pm

From the info online the US version comes with two engines a 2.0 L 155HP and a 2.8L 160HP I think.
Their is no mention of GT in US.
DE is lowest trim and ex highest I think.

Some of them is now All wheel drive (not evo or rallyart I am talking about) with a 3 position
switch ...2WD,AWD, AWD LOCK .

Our local initially came with 3 engine types a 1.5L 109HP 4A91 now discontinued ,
a 1.6L 117HP 4A92 and a 2.0L 155HP 4B11

Initally the local came with the ES or GT badges on the trunk.
The ES is the 1.5L the GT is 2.0L with sports suspension, disc on all 4 wheels etc. but not all 2.0L
is GT.

The 2.0L and 2.8L engines have mivec on both valves , the 1.5L (for sure ) and 1.6L (i think )
has mivec on intake only.

Some time ago I read in the US they wanted to phase out the 2.0L engine for a 1.8L which gives better fuel economy and same HP output with mivec on intake only.
Dont know if they were serious about this.

MitsuDiamonds

Postby MitsuDiamonds » June 17th, 2013, 11:53 pm

Hey guys, does anyone have a GPS installed in their car? If so, which one?
There are so many on the market right now.
I'm thinking about putting one in. I heard that the Tramigo being offered by REO Auto is pretty good.
And i would like to have one installed by someone who's familiar with the CY.
Not by someone who will be doing it for the first time....and starts to break my clips or mess up my electricals.

venum

Postby venum » June 18th, 2013, 5:12 pm

MitsuDiamonds wrote:And i would like to have one installed by someone who's familiar with the CY.
Not by someone who will be doing it for the first time....and starts to break my clips or mess up my electricals.

my pet peeve right there

REO is great, i used them on the Sportero from my turbo timer and alarm mod

Caribbean GPS in Couva has a good option, but i dunno about their install quality

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 18th, 2013, 6:35 pm

2.8 or 2.4 in the us.

MitsuDiamonds

Postby MitsuDiamonds » June 18th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Yeah Venum, i can agree. Oh, the guy who was having trouble with his lights...
He replaced the wiper switch as yu said and everything works fine.
Said he got one from someone who was scrapping a front cut....what can say...u live and u learn.
I would have never thought that the wiper switch would affect the lights in the CY.

venum

Postby venum » June 19th, 2013, 1:19 pm

^^^ yuh owe meh a drink

Moutain Dew, LLB, Green Sands or Dr. Pepper

I doh hustle like Sho fuh Minute Maid fruit coolers

btw I accepting trades for my L200 Sportero

CS3 or CY2 lancer and some $$$

CY2 hadda be bess like Sho's, cuz teh Sportero in pristine condition

see ad in my sig

MitsuDiamonds

Postby MitsuDiamonds » June 20th, 2013, 7:30 pm

Hey guys, all those with the CY's....has anyone traded their donut spare wheel for a spare rim with tyre?
Did the spare rim fit flush inside the trunk?

MitsuDiamonds

Postby MitsuDiamonds » June 20th, 2013, 7:31 pm

Venum, anytime u ready...lemme know man!

BQ7W

Postby BQ7W » June 21st, 2013, 12:45 pm

Fellas,

Im new to this thread. Was wondering where i can get a finisher to replace the stock radio? Want to put in a double din dvd.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 21st, 2013, 2:29 pm

I got the Scosche MI3019B kit. It was around 40 USD back in 2010.

http://www.amazon.com/Scosche-MI3019B-M ... 001FG31MM/

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 21st, 2013, 7:25 pm

venum wrote:^^^ yuh owe meh a drink

Moutain Dew, LLB, Green Sands or Dr. Pepper

I doh hustle like Sho fuh Minute Maid fruit coolers

btw I accepting trades for my L200 Sportero

CS3 or CY2 lancer and some $$$

CY2 hadda be bess like Sho's, cuz teh Sportero in pristine condition

see ad in my sig

WTA!!!

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 21st, 2013, 7:26 pm

trvs wrote:I got the Scosche MI3019B kit. It was around 40 USD back in 2010.

http://www.amazon.com/Scosche-MI3019B-M ... 001FG31MM/

I find the metra and the scosche don't fit perfect. The scosche is better.
I bought the oem.

MitsuDiamonds

Postby MitsuDiamonds » June 21st, 2013, 7:32 pm

The OEM is alays the best bet.

G.I

Postby G.I » June 23rd, 2013, 7:27 pm

guys im sellin...will miss my CY when she goes!

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=512294&p=7207207#p7207207

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 23rd, 2013, 8:11 pm

I had input into GI awesome ride. Car is a beast.

G.I

Postby G.I » June 24th, 2013, 9:06 pm

SHO stamp of approval!!

Cheers

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » June 27th, 2013, 12:05 pm

Replaced my front tyres yesterday since it was getting smooth ie thread wear indicators was
showing up. These were nexxen 225/50/17.
As a norm , the new tyres goes to the back and the back comes to the front.
I requested the same type be installed.
This morning when I was wiping down the car I noticed the new installed tyres are much thinner
than my original nexxens up front.
I checked the new ones and on the sidewall it marked nexxen 225/50 /17 but it is way thinner than my original nexxens up front and all have the 225/50 markings.
The new 225's now look like my original oem 205.
Now I am driving with two fat tyres in front and two skinny tyres in rear.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 27th, 2013, 3:17 pm

anthonyanthony wrote:Replaced my front tyres yesterday since it was getting smooth ie thread wear indicators was
showing up. These were nexxen 225/50/17.
As a norm , the new tyres goes to the back and the back comes to the front.
I requested the same type be installed.
This morning when I was wiping down the car I noticed the new installed tyres are much thinner
than my original nexxens up front.
I checked the new ones and on the sidewall it marked nexxen 225/50 /17 but it is way thinner than my original nexxens up front and all have the 225/50 markings.
The new 225's now look like my original oem 205.
Now I am driving with two fat tyres in front and two skinny tyres in rear.

Noob question...If your front tyres are the ones doing the turning as well as the front tyres shoulder most of the braking why put the old ones in front?

Shouldn't the best tyres be on the front always?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 27th, 2013, 7:12 pm

Good question but new tyres goes to the rear on a FWD. I tend to change all four as the circumference off the tyres will be different from the front to rear. This can affect many aspects off handling. However the fact that your front wheels will be spinning at a different speed to the rear it will also affect the ABS system.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2013, 10:20 am

JUS4SHO wrote:Good question but new tyres goes to the rear on a FWD. I tend to change all four as the circumference off the tyres will be different from the front to rear. This can affect many aspects off handling. However the fact that your front wheels will be spinning at a different speed to the rear it will also affect the ABS system.

Now I am awares. Googled some more on the topic and pretty amazed at the reasons for new tyres to the back.

On another note got back my car from Ansa/Tatil repair centre this week after carrying it to fix after an accident. Got my excess waived so wasn't out of pocket.

Negative
WRT The work done I find it to be a bit "Poohar"
The bumper doesn't fit fully flush with the fender on the right side anymore. Its a pretty small gap but it wasn't even there when I dropped the car to fix.
The tape they use to hold the flare to the body of the car showing.

Is there any way I can make the bumper flush myself or is this a job best left to the professionals? So not feeling to go back in by the people.

MitsuDiamonds

Postby MitsuDiamonds » June 28th, 2013, 12:11 pm

WRT where new tyres shud be placed....

When replacing only two tires, the new ones go on the front.

The truth: Rear tires provide stability, and without stability, steering or braking on a wet or even damp surface might cause a spin.
If you have new tires up front, they will easily disperse water while the half-worn rears will go surfing: The water will literally lift the worn rear tires off the road.
If you're in a slight corner or on a crowned road, the car will spin out so fast you won't be able to say, "Oh, fudge!"

There is no "even if" to this one. Whether you own a front-, rear- or all-wheel-drive car, truck, or SUV, the tires with the most tread go on the rear.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
New tires should always be mounted on the rear (YES! THE BACK) of any vehicle. Here is why:

When a vehicle encounters a loss of traction scenario on the front wheels, traction can easily be established by the average driver by slowing down

this is easily recoverable
it is called Understeer

When a vehicle encounters a loss of traction scenario on the rear wheels, the driver cannot compensate, effectively.
This is called Oversteer, or "Fishtailing", and is not easily recoverable by the average driver.

Therefore, the tires with the "best" tread should be mounted on the rear axle, to avoid possible life-threatening vehicle control problems.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 29th, 2013, 7:38 am

how does that affect tire rotation?

For example when you move the front tires to the rear isn't the better tire now in the front as the rear tires would wear out as much as the front?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”