***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby janfar » August 25th, 2009, 8:18 am

It an evo boy... you must be firm with her... she can handle it.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 25th, 2009, 9:12 am

janfar, u was parked up by a bar in mayaro last nite ??

think i saw the car..... :lol: :lol:

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » August 25th, 2009, 9:23 am

janfar wrote:It an evo boy... you must be firm with her... she can handle it.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 25th, 2009, 11:15 am

actually, when i "rough up" my car, she works better, idles smoother. god this car likes it rough. :lol:

Postby janfar » August 25th, 2009, 4:29 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:janfar, u was parked up by a bar in mayaro last nite ??

Yeh, i live Mayaro actually, next time yuh see me dont pass me straight...

Postby *KRONIK* » August 25th, 2009, 5:11 pm

janfar wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:janfar, u was parked up by a bar in mayaro last nite ??

Yeh, i live Mayaro actually, next time yuh see me dont pass me straight...

LOL

i wont

i wasnt driving last nite.......

i was just looking out the window......

Postby janfar » August 26th, 2009, 5:54 am

Lol, ok boss man.

Death-Row, did you get rid of that noise on the gearbox?

Did you check the oil level in the gearbox?
Check the bracket on which the linkage is mounted?

I topped up my oil and fiddled with that bracket a bit and it helped the situation. I dunno if the setup would be the same for you, but its a bracket on top the gearbox.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 26th, 2009, 5:16 pm

janfar,one problem at a time :lol: :x i got the smaller filter from K&N from w2j today,thanks again, he had no probs exchanging. will fit it up later. should work if my eye is right :lol:

i need a clutch master cylinder for my car tho :evil:

Nik

Postby Nik » August 26th, 2009, 6:17 pm

fellas ah lookin for a EVO II or II shell... will even settle for a GSR shell...no engine no rights, for small money...

i want to bring her back & the remains will be placed under a long term rally project hehe

pm me any info pls... (still gots no phone) 0X

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 26th, 2009, 6:21 pm

Nik,hmmm, wendel told me about ur plans, found a crash 2, thought u coulda use some body parts since only the front get hit but will look for a shell now :lol:

Nik

Postby Nik » August 26th, 2009, 6:27 pm

thanks row

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 28th, 2009, 1:52 pm

anyone knows anything about the clutch pedal shaft?

Postby janfar » August 28th, 2009, 7:22 pm

Is that not the shaft that goes from the clutch pedal to the clutch MS???

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 28th, 2009, 7:24 pm

janfar,im not sure but my mechanic now take a look at my setup and he told me its the shaft thats too short. its not the original MC i have. is this why my shaft is too short? my mechanic told me that i dont need a new MC but he can just lengthen the shaft and it should solve the prob.

does that sound right?

also, iknow i open myself to alot of jokes with all this shaft talk eh :lol: :lol:

Nik

Postby Nik » August 28th, 2009, 8:29 pm

Death-Row, well let me start... yuh sayin yuh "shaft" too short??? :shock: :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 28th, 2009, 8:32 pm

Nik wrote:Death-Row, well let me start... yuh sayin yuh "shaft" too short??? :shock: :lol:

yea, i was waiting for that :lol: :lol:

Postby janfar » August 28th, 2009, 8:44 pm

Lol, some one told me the same thing, up on evo321, i saw that suggestion fly about a couple times. I will be out for the next month so experimentation done for the while till i get back. It has been suggested to be before and most people say it works.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » August 28th, 2009, 8:53 pm

Death-Row wrote:
Nik wrote:Death-Row, well let me start... yuh sayin yuh "shaft" too short??? :shock: :lol:

yea, i was waiting for that :lol: :lol:

carefull wit yuh words meng :lol: :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 29th, 2009, 1:15 am

so another tuner told me that this "shaft" is the shaft on the master cylinder.

so this is a pic of the MC:

the shaft with the U shape thing at the end, is that the shaft that is connected to the pedal that they speak of? never got the chance to check this out and i dont wanan go messin around down there if i dunno what im doing :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 29th, 2009, 5:00 pm

ok so i got the master cylinder from fireman. carried it to show my mechanic and he said that since my current cylinder is bigger it would be better since i have a copper clutch/HD PP. all he has to do is mod the U thing at the end of the shaft to get the correct length.

now im not one to do this kinda custom work, i rather get original stuff.

so what u guys think is best? mod my current cyl or install the evo 1 master cyl that i got. just remember my clutch setup.

yea w2j, i know, i gotta change the copper :lol: in time.

Virus

Postby Virus » August 30th, 2009, 9:37 am

I wanted to start a whole other thread for the question but i will apply it to the early evos 1-3 and well 4-6 my question is

In recent posts i am seeing some boosted nissan engines RB-20/25 car is not important but the owner/s claims that its even tuned to run on SUPER Unleaded fuel

What are the pros/cons to doing this type of tuning and can it be applied to these versions of the evo, some may say that they will not chance it and if you have the money to buy and upgrade these machines you would most definitely have the cash to put the correct gas, But am asking from a tuning POV, daily driving and longer term etc

Hope this wasnt explained before :shock:

Postby janfar » August 30th, 2009, 9:34 pm

*awaits good reply from sanctifier*

HKS-Power

Postby HKS-Power » September 1st, 2009, 2:55 am

hmmmm

reza

Postby reza » September 1st, 2009, 8:37 am

Virus wrote:I wanted to start a whole other thread for the question but i will apply it to the early evos 1-3 and well 4-6 my question is

In recent posts i am seeing some boosted nissan engines RB-20/25 car is not important but the owner/s claims that its even tuned to run on SUPER Unleaded fuel

What are the pros/cons to doing this type of tuning and can it be applied to these versions of the evo, some may say that they will not chance it and if you have the money to buy and upgrade these machines you would most definitely have the cash to put the correct gas, But am asking from a tuning POV, daily driving and longer term etc

Hope this wasnt explained before :shock:

im not a tuner...however i think that the ignition maps will just have to be altered (retarding it at certain loads) to allow the car to run safely on 92 oct. I run super in my E4, but only after E7 ecu/injectors were installed and the car was logged and maps created for my application...i believe Silvermike's car was also tuned for 92 oct.

And you are right...this should not be "chanced" without having logged the car and having the tools to alter the maps. (tunable ecu, ecu flash, wideband, datalogit cable... etc) The first time my car was logged i had crazy knock even though i was using 95 oct... remember these cars are aggressively tuned from factory to run on 98.

i believe the major drawback associated with tuning for 92 oct would be tq/hp....since higher octane would alllow you to run higher boost levels. i cant say exactly what the difference is in terms of figures..i would like to know myself... :oops:

Therefore to answer your question it is possible...and i dont think its a question of whether the owner has the money to put 95 instead of 92 oct....(my monthly gas bill is doubled if premium is used) it depends on whether the car is a daily driver or not...for me i do alot of driving therefore it was a no brainer....and i think personally that i dont need to have the most available tq/hp everyday on the road. :)...i also have a 95 oct map that i can use if i intend on attending Dex its jsut a matter of visiting my tuner and flashing that map on in a matter of seconds 8-)

BTW....the guy who did the install for me can do from E1-6.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 1st, 2009, 10:39 am

reza very good read and insight, how i aint hearing you like you hiding or what ?

reza

Postby reza » September 1st, 2009, 2:36 pm

Virus wrote:reza very good read and insight, how i aint hearing you like you hiding or what ?

i've read alot better...as i said, im no tuner, just trying to learn a thing or two from the experienced guys... :oops:

not really hiding... all work no play...wazzzup with you.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 1st, 2009, 5:00 pm

Work and more work too dude, just put stella on trinicars and papers hoping things happen soon you know how it goes

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 2nd, 2009, 1:18 am

ok, not to cut anything but i got a lil prob tonight. oil light keeps flickering on and off ever so often, sometimes wont come on for a good half hour well. oil level is great.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 2nd, 2009, 1:26 am

^ that could be an oil pressure issue, have it checked as soon as possible it cost me an engine, my mechanic and I taught it was a faulty sensor as the car was driving great and oil level was fine but after changing the sensor it came back on about 30-40 mins later, when we took down the engine the only thing that could be done was to replace it.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 2nd, 2009, 1:41 am

:shock: :shock: :shock:

can this have anything to do with the sump pan being damaged? i have a prob with my exhaust hitting the sump pan sometimes, after some time it has a dent on the pan, didnt think it would do any harm other than missshape it.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”