4g63 vs sr20?????????

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

electricity

help

Postby electricity » September 14th, 2009, 8:18 pm

hey guys....i was wondering what sort of engine conversion you can do with your stock 1.6 4g18 engine and cost factor.
is there anyone in trinidad that has a different engine in their 2002 cedia/glx lancer like sr, rb, mivec turbo and whats the cost to install. Also can you turbo your stock engine???

QG

Postby QG » September 14th, 2009, 9:49 pm

ShIvAm wrote:could reliability play an impotant part here:?: :|

I would more say Durability!

Those sirus engines has strong Iron block...SR is alumium with cast iron block.

Sirus would more handle high boost safely than any SR

hmph

Postby hmph » September 15th, 2009, 9:23 am

QG wrote:

A.W.O.L

Re: help

Postby A.W.O.L » September 15th, 2009, 2:20 pm

electricity wrote:hey guys....i was wondering what sort of engine conversion you can do with your stock 1.6 4g18 engine and cost factor.
is there anyone in trinidad that has a different engine in their 2002 cedia/glx lancer like sr, rb, mivec turbo and whats the cost to install. Also can you turbo your stock engine???

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » September 29th, 2009, 3:54 pm

QG wrote:

ent SR turbo is aluminum block??
durabile is joke.. I once drove from presal flyover to san f'do with a blown head gaskit firing on two cylinders with my sirius turbo, just slapped on a new gaskit and skimmed the head face, & good tu go...

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » September 30th, 2009, 10:03 pm

The SR20DET is a turbocharged and intercooled version of the SR20DE, initially producing 205 PS (151 kW) in the S13 Nissan Silvia and 180SX. The second generation in the S14 Silvia produced 220 PS (166 kW) through the use of Nissan's VTC variable valve timing and a ball bearing turbocharger. The final S15 Silvia version produced 250 PS (187 kW) @6400 rpm and 275 N·m (203 ft·lbf) @4800 rpm with an improved Inconel impeller wheel for its turbocharger. The SR20DET has become a common engine swap for a wide spectrum of cars ranging from Nissan Sentras (using FWD versions of the SR engine), to Datsun 510s (Datsun 1600) because of its compact size, RWD format, and its OEM turbo

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia :|

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » September 30th, 2009, 10:05 pm

The 4G63 was a 1997 cc version. (85 mm Bore x 88 mm Stroke) SOHC and DOHC were produced. The DOHC version was introduced in 1987 in the Japanese market Galant VR-4 and came turbocharged or naturally aspirated. It is found in various models including the 1988-92 Galant VR-4 and the U.S. market 1990-1994 Eclipse, as well as the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution I-IX.

The SOHC version was used in Mitsubishi Galant models until 1993. It has 76 kW of output and 157 NM of torque at 4750 rpm.

Also the SOHC version is produced until the late 90s and early 2000 and it is used in Mitsubishi cars like the Montero and the 2.0L 2-door Pajero with an output of 101kW at 4700 rpm. Also the N33 and N83 Spacewagon(UK market) in single cam 16 valve format.

The Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon and Plymouth Laser introduced the DOHC turbocharged intercooled version to the U.S. in 1989 through Diamond Star Motors, a joint venture between Mitsubishi Motors and the Chrysler Corporation. From 1990 to late April 1992 came beefier rods and the use of 6 bolts to secure the flywheel to the crankshaft; May 1992 to 2006 Evolution versions have lighter rods and use 7 bolts to secure the flywheel to the crankshaft. They are referred to as the "six bolt" and "seven bolt" engines, respectively.

Output for the 2003 Japanese/US Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution is 271 hp (202 kW) at 6500 rpm with 273 ft·lbf (370 N·m) of torque at 3500 rpm. It has a cast iron engine block and aluminum DOHC cylinder head. It uses multi-point fuel injection, has 4 valves per cylinder, is turbocharged and intercooled and features forged steel connecting rods.

In the United Kingdom, a special Lancer Evolution, the FQ-400, produces 302.13 kW (405.2 hp), from a 4G63 engine. At 202.6 hp (151.3 kW) per liter, it has the highest specific output per liter of any production engine. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia :|

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » September 30th, 2009, 10:10 pm

So the Mitsubishi Sirius or 4G6 engine ofcourse is the better engine :idea: :idea: :idea:

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » September 30th, 2009, 10:14 pm

The 4G63, also producing 300 PS (221 kW) at 5500 rpm and 540 N·m (398 lb·ft) at 3500 rpm. It is mated to a 6-speed INVECS-type sequential transmission via a triple-plate carbon clutch and distributes power to all four wheels via front-, centre- and rear- active differentials. The car's suspension is independent, with MacPherson struts and coil springs at each corner. The brakes are vented discs clamped by 6-piston calipers at the front, and 4-piston calipers at the rear. :idea: :idea: :idea:

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » September 30th, 2009, 10:31 pm

The Mitsubishi 6G7 or Cyclone V6 engine from Mitsubishi is a series of V6 piston engines Five displacement variants have been produced with both single- and double- overhead camshaft layouts. MIVEC variable valve timing has also been implemented in some versions, and the 2.5 and 3.0 L versions were also available with gasoline direct injection. Modern versions feature a one-piece cast crankshaft and cast aluminum intake manifold.The 6G72 is a 2972 cc engine. Bore is 91.1 mm (3.59 in) and stroke is 76 mm (3.0 in). SOHC 12-valve, SOHC 24-valve, and DOHC 24-valve versions have been produced.210 hp (157 kW; 213 PS) at 5500 rpm with 278 N·m (205 ft·lbf) of torque at 4000 rpm. It has a cast iron engine block and aluminum SOHC cylinder heads. It uses MFI fuel injection, has four valves per cylinder with roller followers and features fracture-split forged steel connecting rods. :idea: :idea:

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » September 30th, 2009, 10:32 pm

so if is speed yuh lookin 4 go for mitsubishi engines & dont cross breed !! 0X geez man it have so much nissan already :!: :!: :!: :!:

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 1st, 2009, 7:27 am

some good info Gaijjin,

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » October 1st, 2009, 7:58 am

^^^x2

yea but u forget an important factor.........cost

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » October 1st, 2009, 9:31 am

This fella could write a book.. rass....Gaijjin, what is your ride ?? hope you're not all talk an no car... :?

Postby Maserati » October 1st, 2009, 5:24 pm

:? :? the man say his source is wikipedia

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » October 1st, 2009, 5:56 pm

just giving him a :pokes: for :pics: :drama:

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » October 1st, 2009, 7:58 pm

:!: :!: :!: 0X
Last edited by Gaijjin on January 12th, 2010, 7:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » October 1st, 2009, 7:59 pm

0X :!:
Last edited by Gaijjin on January 12th, 2010, 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 12th, 2010, 7:22 pm

:idea: yuh kno i tink i ha the $ to pull off a SR install...

too bad i change my plans

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » January 12th, 2010, 8:10 pm

how bout ah CA18?? just a suggestion :idea:

air wick

Postby air wick » January 12th, 2010, 8:16 pm

i have some padnas one with a sr20vvl and the other with a 4g63T (1.8 cedia turbo) .... and the sr20 does put level licks on it.... i guess its because the 4g63T is tiptronic

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » January 12th, 2010, 10:19 pm

Travis wrote:i have some padnas one with a sr20vvl and the other with a 4g63T (1.8 cedia turbo) .... and the sr20 does put level licks on it.... i guess its because the 4g63T is tiptronic

am.... 4g63t is a 2.0L not 1.8L .Cedia turbo is 4g93t I think? Of coarse the srvvl would beat it!

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » January 12th, 2010, 10:39 pm

janfar wrote:Was their a rearward mounted version of the 4G63T.

If not, plan on paying a minimum 12k for engine and GB and if your lucky transfer case. You then need strong diff to handle that torque since more than likely you will be condemning the front wheel drive off the GB.

As sanctifier rightfully said, high aspirations should be accompanied by deep pockets.

RWD 4g63t was in aussie starion but in sohc design, its an easy conversion to rwd a dohc 4g63 theres a few conversion kits to do the job

RX7 box was factory fitment behind the 4g54 in the Triton and Mazda bravo pickups though i dont know if the 54 and 63 share the same bell housing pattern

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 13th, 2010, 2:23 pm

sr20= parlour engine, 4g63= gsr engine :D .. Both engines are really durable though.. Depends on what u want to achieve!

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 11th, 2010, 10:56 pm

4G63T vs SR20T
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2PNBz4VZ7Nc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 12th, 2010, 8:59 am

Evo anyone? :D

sharkmouth

Re: 4g63 vs sr20?????????

Postby sharkmouth » September 20th, 2010, 7:14 pm

RB-20

D - Double Over Head Cams
E - Electronic Fuel Injection
T - Turbocharger

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » December 10th, 2010, 10:12 am

so what yuh really going with ?......

mitsuboi

Re:

Postby mitsuboi » December 15th, 2010, 9:53 am

Travis wrote:i have some padnas one with a sr20vvl and the other with a 4g63T (1.8 cedia turbo) .... and the sr20 does put level licks on it.... i guess its because the 4g63T is tiptronic

like ur padna cya drv.......
btw sr=2.0 4g63t=2.0 however is a 4g93t in d cedia=1.8

btw mr shiviam....is such a shame som ppl nvr experience d greatness of d 63 ....u shud though b4 u mek ur decision....u go say fire bun sr aftr....

XP50

Postby XP50 » February 19th, 2011, 8:15 pm

the 4G63 is a nice little engine, i liked it very much, but the power of my sr20vvl for an aspirated engine, all i can say is vvl all the way.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”