The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby Dave » August 3rd, 2014, 11:39 am

jason1984 wrote:Anybody know where in the east/west corridor i can buy original KYB shock for my cs3?

Dollar savers are kyb dealers and they are in the bamboo and El Socorro

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 3rd, 2014, 2:55 pm

anybody in here with a successful cvt to manual.swap using the cvt ecu?

i.e no flat spots during acceleration???

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 5th, 2014, 9:14 pm

need the small brake pedal from the manual conversion ASAP

Postby BrotherHood » August 8th, 2014, 9:14 am

BrotherHood wrote:I had this problem before about two years ago. It was remedied, and now I see it was temporarily, with WD40 spray. Now it has persistently come back. My indicator/park & headlamp switch is F*^%ing up. I have tried the WD40 this time again, but to no avail. At times I would move the switch to either side to activate the indicator and it would not come on at all. Sometimes I would turn the switch once to activate the park light, and it would not come on at all.
I sometimes have to pong it or rock it. This is annoying and unsafe. This has potential for hazardous developments on the nation's roads.

What do I need? An indicator switch? The entire column behind the steering where the switch goes into?
Please advise and give your input.

Please assist/advise accordingly fellas. This problem is becoming completely disastrous.
What is the name of the part behind the steering wheel where the indicator/lights switch and winshield wiper switch is? I want to end this problem and make a purchase of the part this weekend.
This annoying, frustrating and dangerous.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » August 8th, 2014, 9:47 am

Guys can u give mi some advice....I took out my throttle body and cleaned it now the car is burning gas......like frm arima to POS.....from full tank to half in the 3 quarter area......my mech said diamond motors has to recalibrate it but my car is foriegn used and they dont do that on foriegn used vehicles ..where else can this be done.btw its a cedia lancer

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 8th, 2014, 1:57 pm

Replace the entire Indicator arm BH.
venum had a problem like this with his L200 I think. Send him a pm.
Call Bella for the part.

Casper, in all my years with a Cedia, I have never heard about a DM re-calibration, and I cleaned my TB a few times well. You can try to leave the battery off over night to reset the ECU. There could be other reasons as to why you are burning gas..

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 8th, 2014, 2:57 pm

BH I had that problem and after months of complaints DM changed the whole indicator switch. That solved the problem for me.

Postby BrotherHood » August 8th, 2014, 3:51 pm

idlemind wrote:Replace the entire Indicator arm BH.
Call Bella for the part.

PapaC wrote:BH I had that problem and after months of complaints DM changed the whole indicator switch. That solved the problem for me.

Thanks fellas. One thing though. Am I asking for/changing just the indicator switch or the entire part with the switches behind the steering?
The windshield wiper switch works fine.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 8th, 2014, 4:58 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
idlemind wrote:Replace the entire Indicator arm BH.
Call Bella for the part.

PapaC wrote:BH I had that problem and after months of complaints DM changed the whole indicator switch. That solved the problem for me.

Thanks fellas. One thing though. Am I asking for/changing just the indicator switch or the entire part with the switches behind the steering?
The windshield wiper switch works fine.

I think just the indicator arm unless its connected to the windsheild wiper as well.

missyniques1

Postby missyniques1 » August 9th, 2014, 2:56 pm

Hi, I am a Cs2a owner. Bought the car in April, hate it!! It sucks all my money. Two days after i bought the car from a very dishonest individual who sold me the car because he knew the transmission was going, i observed a few problems. After spending $4000 to change the barrings in the Transmission (or so i was told), 5 weeks later (by the same person who repaired my transmission) i am being told i need a new one.

So hear is the problem i am having, if i accelerate too fast (mash the x down) the car is loosing power at 40km but begins to build up gradually......if i mash down slowly and let the car build up slowly, i dont feel "loosing power" feeling. The same person who charged me $4000 to change the barrings and told me my transmission was fine, is now telling me that the drum has a leak which is causing the problem (he came to this conclusion by only driving the car). Any advise or suggestions??? I am very frustrated as i feel everyone is taking advantage of me because i am a female and i dont know anything about cars.....*sigh*
Last edited by missyniques1 on August 12th, 2014, 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 9th, 2014, 6:07 pm

missyniques1 wrote:Hi, I am a Cs3 owner. Bought the car in April, hate it!! It sucks all my money. Two days after i bought the car from a very dishonest individual who sold me the car because he knew the transmission was going, i observed a few problems. After spending $4000 to change the barrings in the Transmission (or so i was told), 5 weeks later (by the same person who repaired my transmission) i am being told i need a new one.

So hear is the problem i am having, if i accelerate too fast (mash the x down) the car is loosing power at 40km but begins to build up gradually......if i mash down slowly and let the car build up slowly, i dont feel "loosing power" feeling. The same person who charged me $4000 to change the barrings and told me my transmission was fine, is now telling me that the drum has a leak which is causing the problem (he came to this conclusion by only driving the car). Any advise or suggestions??? I am very frustrated as i feel everyone is taking advantage of me because i am a female and i dont know anything about cars.....*sigh*

Hey missy...welcome to our thread where almost all of us here owns a CS :wink:
A couple guys here experienced this problem and can assist, its a transmission solenoid that needs to change I believe. Now where exactly you're having this leak? You seeing fluid anywhere?

missyniques1

Postby missyniques1 » August 9th, 2014, 6:14 pm

I am not having any leak. No visible signs. The man just said that when he drove the car. The car is still working. I just drive slowly and take my time accelerating. I just don't know what to do again. I have spent too much money. Don't want anyone taking advantage of me again :(

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 9th, 2014, 6:52 pm

missyniques1 wrote:I am not having any leak. No visible signs. The man just said that when he drove the car. The car is still working. I just drive slowly and take my time accelerating. I just don't know what to do again. I have spent too much money. Don't want anyone taking advantage of me again :(

Don't worry chick you're in good hands here.
Icefox and Brotherhood have the remedy for you.
Come on guys...missy needs sound advice. 8-)

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » August 9th, 2014, 7:35 pm

Come down to solodex tmrw...
I sure idle an me could find time to come look at it plus some of the gurus there could give some free input

missyniques1

Postby missyniques1 » August 9th, 2014, 7:40 pm

What is rpm? And do I know if my car is dropping rpm? D things I reading here so confusing :s

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » August 9th, 2014, 8:31 pm

Hey tuners. .well have my lancer for like a 3 mths..love she so far..few things
The car making a fair amount of noise whend idling what could be causing that ( wanna get that nice smooth silent idle like it had when I bought it)

I find the coolant going down kinda fast or is that something normal in the lancers but not seeing any signs of leaking.

Next thing I have a lil 1.3 engine...so you know is slow mo...any tips to get a lil pep in d step

;-);-);-)

Postby BrotherHood » August 9th, 2014, 8:51 pm

missyniques1 wrote:Hi, I am a Cs3 owner. Bought the car in April, hate it!! It sucks all my money. Two days after i bought the car from a very dishonest individual who sold me the car because he knew the transmission was going, i observed a few problems. After spending $4000 to change the barrings in the Transmission (or so i was told), 5 weeks later (by the same person who repaired my transmission) i am being told i need a new one.

Yes idlemind, ah reach.

I had a similar problem on my CS3, a couple months after purchasing it as well. For use of a better word, the car would literally 'crawl' from a standstill position. This would happen with my foot all the way down on the pedal. The acceleration was extremely poor but my revs per minute (rpm) (gauge with number 1 to 8), would be very high. So the car would be 'bawling' and revving high, but acceleration and engine speed was not matching up.

I avoided all inclines because I would not be able to ascend even the least steepest decent.
Upon advice, I took my car to Jenton's Transmission Specialist in Aranguez. They are not too far on Aranguez Main Road, if entering from the highway side. They did an excellent job. Problem never came back and that was about three years ago. I asked what was wrong after they repaired it and they told me that the solenoids in the transmission needed servicing. It was a day job. Dropped it in the morning and I got t back in the evening. However, I believe this is dependent on their workload at the point in time.

Total cost was around $1150. Jenton's number is 675-0248.

Postby BrotherHood » August 9th, 2014, 8:59 pm

idlemind, I got the indicator switch from Bella today. Did the switch and it works like new. For future reference, the entire bracket behind the steering wheel with both switches cost $500.

moses_boss12 wrote:Hey tuners. .well have my lancer for like a 3 mths..love she so far..few things
The car making a fair amount of noise whend idling what could be causing that ( wanna get that nice smooth silent idle like it had when I bought it)

I find the coolant going down kinda fast or is that something normal in the lancers but not seeing any signs of leaking.

Next thing I have a lil 1.3 engine...so you know is slow mo...any tips to get a lil pep in d step

;-);-);-)

Yes moses....
That noise while idling is caused by worn/busted engine mounts, especially the transmission mount. Have those mounts changed and you good to go.
About the coolant, not sure about that one. However, the coolant isn't supposed to go down fast.

missyniques1

Postby missyniques1 » August 9th, 2014, 9:05 pm

Someone told me my gears slipping. How do I know if this is tru? And can the scleniods cause that? It so weird. I doh even know what is d rpm :'(

Tell me how to further check it nah. I doh wah go Jentons and then they tell me $6000 Plz and I hadda clean their business place for d next 3 years :(

Postby BrotherHood » August 9th, 2014, 9:46 pm

missyniques1 wrote:Someone told me my gears slipping. How do I know if this is tru? And can the scleniods cause that? It so weird. I doh even know what is d rpm :'(

Tell me how to further check it nah. I doh wah go Jentons and then they tell me $6000 Plz and I hadda clean their business place for d next 3 years :(

The rpm is the gauge in your instrument panel/cluster that reads from 1 to 8, or 9, depending on the car.

The gauge on the left is the rpm game. Revolutions Per Minute.
The one in the middle from 0-220 kph is the speedometer.
The two small ones on the right are the gas and temperature gauge.
The higher the revs, the faster the acceleration of the car.

If the rpm is high, 4 and above, the car accelerate quite moderately to fast. If the opposite is happening then you know something is wrong.

The slipping you talked about, the solenoids are causing that. You see, the problem you are getting is because there isn't a smooth transition of the gears in the transmission. The accelerates poorly because the car sort of stays in one gear or fails to go into a gear to efficiently propel the car foward in the drive gear.

As long as the car can move from point A to you point B, you have minor issues. The real problem would have been if the car was not moving at all. That happens when the transmission belt has been busted. So yes, you have a problem but ideally it isn't as problematic. Jenton's will fix you up good. The solenoids need servicing.

Jenton's also does a diagnosis/test drive before. This is done daily to new customers cars between 7am and 8am to ascertain the problem. Sometimes a test drive may not be ample enough to tell what is wrong. They may need to take down the transmission. Either way, they will tell you what is wrong and give you an associated cost before hand. This diagnosis/test drive is free.

Worst case scenario. Car not moving at all. Transmission belt burst. You would need to rebuild. Cost $6000 up.
You do not have this problem because your car is still moving. Don't be too hard on yourself.

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » August 9th, 2014, 11:18 pm

BrotherHood wrote:idlemind, I got the indicator switch from Bella today. Did the switch and it works like new. For future reference, the entire bracket behind the steering wheel with both switches cost $500.

moses_boss12 wrote:Hey tuners. .well have my lancer for like a 3 mths..love she so far..few things

;-);-);-)

Yes moses....
That noise while idling is caused by worn/busted engine mounts, especially the transmission mount. Have those mounts changed and you good to go.
About the coolant, not sure about that one. However, the coolant isn't supposed to go down fast.

Yea bro mechanic really say have to change my rear engine mount and transmission mount...so that changing month end :grin::grin:....but the coolant not going down drastically fast. .but I compared to another car in my yard a ad wagon..and d wagon not moving as fast. ....

anybody ever by their parts by gobins in aranguez..pardner tell mr they have oem and prices on point

missyniques1

Postby missyniques1 » August 9th, 2014, 11:25 pm

Omg that was so helpful. OK well wen I observe d slipping wen I take off quick, the rpm goes up to 4 for a few seconds then drop to between the 2 and 3 and kinda remains stagnant add usual. I don't feel that bad again. I could hug allyuh but only after I hear wat jenton say! Lolz will update yall [WHITE SMILING FACE]

Postby BrotherHood » August 10th, 2014, 12:24 am

Glad to assist.

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » August 10th, 2014, 11:18 am

Yea so this morning before I left home checked the overflow bottle and saw ot went down some more. ..only to realise that the top of the radiator have coolant on it. .so o can safely assume is small leak somewhere. ...anybody know where I could get it checked and fixed at a decent price

And how soon you think I have before I actually get it fixed. .is it something to get done ASAP. ..also I hearf chlorine in water will rust the inside of the radiator this true and if so can I use it temporarily until my stuff got fixed

missyniques1

Postby missyniques1 » August 10th, 2014, 11:21 am

What area u comin from Moses?

Postby ronsin1 » August 10th, 2014, 11:31 am

moses_boss12 wrote:Yea so this morning before I left home checked the overflow bottle and saw ot went down some more. ..only to realise that the top of the radiator have coolant on it. .so o can safely assume is small leak somewhere. ...anybody know where I could get it checked and fixed at a decent price

And how soon you think I have before I actually get it fixed. .is it something to get done ASAP. ..also I hearf chlorine in water will rust the inside of the radiator this true and if so can I use it temporarily until my stuff got fixed

You need to get it fixed ASAP
As for water once the water is mixed with coolant Yuh good to go.
The higher the pressure get in the system the leak will get bigger what I did when I had a leak was leave the cover off but with that you need to ensure you check and top up. Which is a pain had an important meeting which I needed to make a highway run from San Fernando to Chaguanas I stopped at every flyover check and topped up on my return I stopped off by my Radiator guy and had him install a dual core brass top radiator and changed my thermostat at the same time.

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » August 10th, 2014, 11:36 am

I am in pos..live and work in town area. ....is the cash to go by the radiator man right now. ...my partner told me wipe offf and look for the leak and put poxy...any views on that

missyniques1

Postby missyniques1 » August 10th, 2014, 11:43 am

Cuz I know this very good radiator place in arima. Very honest ppl if u interested I could give u directions. I would tell d person ur problem and see how they could help also. Will let u know a little later

nivek

Postby nivek » August 10th, 2014, 11:55 am

^^ i personally find jentons too expensive...it have a guy name glasses in longdenville...very reasonable and does good work....tel-665 3926 or 721 8019

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » August 10th, 2014, 12:12 pm

Thanks for the info guys...if anybody knows anyone else closer to town please share ..:grin::grin:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”