The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

turbo_beast369

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 12th, 2013, 12:30 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:The Tiptronic is also cvt if I can recall.
The best swap will be a ck gearbox with a cs flywheel

just to note: CK 4G15 and CS 4G15 (MPI) carry the same part number flywheel

Postby Ted_v2 » November 12th, 2013, 5:38 pm

Uhhh the 4g92 and the 4g15 flywheel are different then?

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 12th, 2013, 11:10 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Hey all. Been getting some problems with a CS3.
Presently:
At around 110km/hr and above, I am getting a slight shake on the steering wheel.
The shaking is more intense when braking at speeds of 110km/hr and above.

Previously:
Steering would shake noticeably at speeds of 110km/hr and above, whether driving or braking.
I changed the right steering end on advice of an alignment shop and the problem did not go away.
Went to align this time at Master Serv and they told me I needed to change the cradle arm bushings before I could align.
I changed the left steering end and the large bushing in both cradle arms (bushings bought from Diamond Motors).
Went back to Master Serv, did a speed balance of the front wheels and 4 wheel alignment.
The shakes did not go away.
Went to a tyre shop in my area and did another speed balance and I specified the speed that I was getting the shaking at. After the speed balance, the shake lessened while driving at 110+ but the shake was still noticeable while braking.
Note: The brake pedal is not vibrating while pressing it so I don't think it is the rotors.

Can anyone here advise on what could be the problem?
Thanks.

could be a bad wheel bearing

Postby BrotherHood » November 13th, 2013, 10:17 am

Who has had or currently have 18" wheels on their CS? Biggs, I know you for sure did have 18" at some point.

How wide can I go? 7/7.5? Is full lock of the wheels achieved? Any modifications to be done?

Anyone, feel free to give feedback. I want to go 18" lightweight/racing rims soon.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » November 13th, 2013, 11:14 am

mety cud be right but bad wheel bearing normally makes a annoying sound at high speeds.

BH i got 18's on my cs for over a yr. You can go 7.5 but 7 is better and yes full lock is achieved.
It hav small tire mark impressions on the inner shield from when i lock all and if i slam on a brakes the tires touch the front shield.
Only mods you might hav to make is to the back fenders. right now the back fender lip touches when i hav to many beyotches in the car and the car dips...
Wanna roll dem caz i wa drop my babie by xmas.
As i say dat. who hav on drop springs and where can i get fenders rolled, not pungg up with no hammer.
Last edited by nissan4life on November 13th, 2013, 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 13th, 2013, 11:15 am

18" and lightweight doh go hand in hand...unless is rays grams or volk u going eh :D ... i had 18" black on 215/35/18 tyres and fack that ride was horrible @ the cost of ur suspension. not me... width was 7.5. i wanna get some 16" and some spacers for that stickin out look and at least a 235/45 profile @ back and 215/45 up front... will have to beat in the fender or fold lip a little...

n4l, check Suspex or QCC and Dualstar on the forums for fender flaring/rolling...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 13th, 2013, 11:27 am

Them gram lights aint light at all, 18" is 20lb minimum.

http://measurespeed.com/gramlights-rims ... weight.php

Lightest rim ive used was stock 14"

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 13th, 2013, 12:04 pm

nissan4life wrote:Triniautomart idle said it,bad tires or rim can cause dis and it aint hard to warp your tires to get that effect.
When they speed balancing my rims i always stand by machine and make sure it comes back to zero.You wudnt believe the kinda sheit men does do with your rims even when they hav a machine guiding them.
You say you changed right end then left? You hav a inner and outter end, so it 2 on each side.4 in all
Both ends hav a part to play with the steering.
Also you could have someone check the steering rack itself, it cud be bad/damaged.

Is there anywhere that would be able to take of the tyres and check the rims for me?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 13th, 2013, 12:18 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Uhhh the 4g92 and the 4g15 flywheel are different then?

4G92 flywheel is 7 hole
4G15 flywheel is 5 hole

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » November 13th, 2013, 1:31 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Is there anywhere that would be able to take of the tyres and check the rims for me?

The machine is suppose to balance rim with tires on, only if its not coming back to zero they start looking to see if rim is bent or if tire has flaws.
If the rims are speed balanced to zero you good, also check to see if any of the weights fell off.
Wheel bearing cud b bad as mety said to check this you need to get both front tires safely off the ground
Jus go by alignment place and ask ask dem to put car front in the air, put it in drive and notice if you have any abnormal movements when someone mashes x.
When my front bearing was bad,my front tire was whining like a badess with the load of the car off it.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 13th, 2013, 3:57 pm

Will try to get that done this weekend or earlier if possible.
Thanks for the advice.

QG

Postby QG » November 13th, 2013, 9:50 pm

still tippin' wrote:Just want to find out with regards to the 04-06 CS. How do you know if a transmission is cvt?

The Transmission would be label L,D2,D3,N,R,P.
Also when you floor the x, your rpm would remain above the 6,000rpm while your speed increases.

Postby BrotherHood » November 13th, 2013, 10:03 pm

nissan4life wrote:mety cud be right but bad wheel bearing normally makes a annoying sound at high speeds.

BH i got 18's on my cs for over a yr. You can go 7.5 but 7 is better and yes full lock is achieved.
It hav small tire mark impressions on the inner shield from when i lock all and if i slam on a brakes the tires touch the front shield.
Only mods you might hav to make is to the back fenders. right now the back fender lip touches when i hav to many beyotches in the car and the car dips...

EXODUS wrote:18" and lightweight doh go hand in hand...unless is rays grams or volk u going eh :D ... i had 18" black on 215/35/18 tyres and fack that ride was horrible @ the cost of ur suspension. not me... width was 7.5.

ZeroOne wrote:Them gram lights aint light at all, 18" is 20lb minimum.

Now fellas, I said lightweight because alloys/black is lighter than the chrome I am accustomed to. I have been on 20" chrome for about let's say, seven months in total over the past two and three quarter years I have had this car. For the rest of the time I am rolling on the 14" OEM wheels. Hope that clears up 'lightweight'. :lol:

I want to go with a 215/35 profile tyre and rim with a width of 7.5 maximum. This will be more comfortable than the heavy 20" chrome and something that in my opinion, I can keep on and roll around with for longer periods of time or even keep them on ultimately.

Chrome, especially 20" is very flashy :cool:
I like that but I like a comfortable ride more.

n4l, how is the ride with your 18"? Is it chrome or alloy/black?

Postby BrotherHood » November 13th, 2013, 10:17 pm

QG wrote:
still tippin' wrote:Just want to find out with regards to the 04-06 CS. How do you know if a transmission is cvt?

Also when you floor the x, your rpm would remain above the 6,000rpm while your speed increases.

I have an '05 CS. Mine is P,R,N,D,Ds,L .
Ds- Drive sporty. This gear is to be used extra power when ascending an incline and to assist with braking when going downhill.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 13th, 2013, 10:58 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Chrome, especially 20" is very ricey :cool:

fix0red

but hey, it's ur money so....

buh srsly, BH...check out racetrac in arouca... them fellaz sure to have what you want!!! i myself hadda make a spin up sometime...

here....http://racetracwheels.net/products/

i likin dis 1

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » November 14th, 2013, 8:13 am

BrotherHood wrote:
I want to go with a 215/35 profile tyre and rim with a width of 7.5 maximum. This will be more comfortable than the heavy 20" chrome and something that in my opinion, I can keep on and roll around with for longer periods of time or even keep them on ultimately.

Chrome, especially 20" is very flashy :cool:
I like that but I like a comfortable ride more.

n4l, how is the ride with your 18"? Is it chrome or alloy/black?

BH i running chrome with 215/35/18. Runs ok, dont really feel anything on the road,ever so often the holes in the road gets to me, but with that profile tire you cant do anything as there isnt much cushion between rim and tire.

If you want to be comfortable would go 17's with a 205/50/17 for a comfortable ride.
Tires mitten be low profile but you ll be comfortable.
Last edited by nissan4life on November 14th, 2013, 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 14th, 2013, 9:59 am

BrotherHood wrote:
QG wrote:

I have an '05 CS. Mine is P,R,N,D,Ds,L .
Ds- Drive sporty. This gear is to be used extra power when ascending an incline and to assist with braking when going downhill.

Same with my '03 CS3 (P,R,N,D,Ds,L ), but this does not necessarily mean that a car with this is CVT. The CS Lancers that came with the CVT did have this set up though.
A simple way to know if it is a CVT is by not getting a drop in the RPM when gears change.
It seems as though the car has just one gear when driving.
For instance, I can depress the gas pedal till my RPMs hit about 2500, stop pressing any further, and my car will start to accelerate till it reaches about 100km/hr. The RPMs can remain constant while your car keeps accelerating.

Postby BrotherHood » November 14th, 2013, 10:33 am

EXODUS wrote:buh srsly, BH...check out racetrac in arouca... them fellaz sure to have what you want!!! i myself hadda make a spin up sometime...

here....http://racetracwheels.net/products/

i likin dis 1

Now that rim you post there is exactly the style I am looking for. That one rel forkin nice. I will check them out. Thanks.

nissan4life wrote:BH i running chrome with 215/35/18. Runs ok, dont really feel anything on the road,ever so often the holes in the road gets to me, but with that profile tire you cant do anything as there isnt much cushion between rim and tire.

If you want to be comfortable would go 17's with a 205/50/17 for a comfortable ride.

Ok. I had 18" on a vehicle before. No problems and ride wasnt too bad. I will go with the 18". Thanks.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 14th, 2013, 5:27 pm

nissan4life wrote:If you want to be comfortable would go 17's with a 205/50/17 for a comfortable ride.

i think 205/50/17 will rub/wouldn't be able to achieve full lock.

Im running 205/45/17 and sometimes the front wheels rub on full lock when going down or up into a sharp depression. No rubbing on flat road.

Postby gastly369 » November 16th, 2013, 8:43 pm

hey guys some assistance please.

so i have a cs2 glx lancer with a 4g18 engine. bought the car abt 2 weeks now and noticed 2 days ago the temperature gauge started rising to almost right up while driving with the ac on. as soon as i cut of the ac the temp went back down to half.now this problem happens occasionally. this morning i drove the car with the ac for abt an hr and half at a relatively high speed and temp remained normal.

so i checked the mechanic today to see wat might be the problem checked for a thermostat but it was previously removed and there is no water leaks. the fan seems to be working normal as i took the ac of and waited for the engine to build a heat for the fan to come on and it did at a normal speed, when the ac is on it runs at full speed. the mechanic suggested a second fan installed as the car came with one fan so i checked the ac man and he installed one to the front of the condensor.

took the car out for some errands this afternoon and noticed the gauge rising again but not as high as before but still rising and dropping so it seems the second fan is helping but im still concerned as to why the gauge is rising. this only happens wen the ac is on.

also the radiator has been changed to a metal radiator and i flushed it yesterday and the water came out clean.

any assistance please thanks

Postby Ted_v2 » November 16th, 2013, 9:54 pm

Any loss of power or any milky color in the radiator?

Postby gastly369 » November 16th, 2013, 10:08 pm

nope car pulls normal. radiator liquid is normal colour.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 17th, 2013, 7:22 am

Is the fan a 4 wire fan?

if yes maybe its not stepping up. It usually is a variable speed and maybe when the ac comes on its not speeding up.

Postby gastly369 » November 17th, 2013, 8:08 am

wen the ac switches on u can hear the fan at full speed. very loud. im gonna check another mechanic/ electrician this morning.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » November 17th, 2013, 11:47 am

gastly369 wrote:hey guys some assistance please.

so i have a cs2 glx lancer with a 4g18 engine. bought the car abt 2 weeks now and noticed 2 days ago the temperature gauge started rising to almost right up while driving with the ac on. as soon as i cut of the ac the temp went back down to half.now this problem happens occasionally. this morning i drove the car with the ac for abt an hr and half at a relatively high speed and temp remained normal.

so i checked the mechanic today to see wat might be the problem checked for a thermostat but it was previously removed and there is no water leaks. the fan seems to be working normal as i took the ac of and waited for the engine to build a heat for the fan to come on and it did at a normal speed, when the ac is on it runs at full speed. the mechanic suggested a second fan installed as the car came with one fan so i checked the ac man and he installed one to the front of the condensor.

took the car out for some errands this afternoon and noticed the gauge rising again but not as high as before but still rising and dropping so it seems the second fan is helping but im still concerned as to why the gauge is rising. this only happens wen the ac is on.

also the radiator has been changed to a metal radiator and i flushed it yesterday and the water came out clean.

any assistance please thanks

Could be ur coolant temperature sensor..unit located by d thermostat housing...

Postby gastly369 » November 17th, 2013, 1:12 pm

how can i check to kno if its bad? where can i get one to purchase? someone suggested changing tranny oil and engine oil.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 17th, 2013, 3:09 pm

it looks like one above with one wire on it.

its like this with the radiator hose connecting to it

Postby gastly369 » November 17th, 2013, 3:15 pm

will check it for him later

shared 2nr act :lol:

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » November 17th, 2013, 7:20 pm

gastly369 wrote:how can i check to kno if its bad? where can i get one to purchase? someone suggested changing tranny oil and engine oil.

PM W2J for d unit..not sure wherr sells dem locally

Postby BrotherHood » November 18th, 2013, 12:10 am

Biggs3ne wrote:i have ah extra shifter BH...Tip but d handle is d same anyways...will link u if u want it

Biggs, link meh na. I get back meh ride. PM me yuh number

Return to “MITSUBISHI”