The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby moses_boss12 » January 28th, 2015, 6:03 am

Based on personal experience,which rim size and specs gave you all best performance and smooth ride???..wanna get a set but contemplating on what to get..i know 14 inch are the recommended size for the cs..any suggestions

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 28th, 2015, 7:23 am

moses_boss12 wrote:Based on personal experience,which rim size and specs gave you all best performance and smooth ride???..wanna get a set but contemplating on what to get..i know 14 inch are the recommended size for the cs..any suggestions

In some models, like mine, 15s were the recommended size.
Best performance and comfort for me was 195/50/15.
And I went thru 15, 16, and 17".

amrit90901

Postby amrit90901 » January 28th, 2015, 7:47 am

I had 205-45-17 on a 17x7 +42offset with dropzone springs n the ride was much more comfortable than the stock springs and 15's

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » January 28th, 2015, 12:24 pm

15s ftw...came right down from 215 35 18 to 195 45 15

Postby BrotherHood » January 28th, 2015, 2:28 pm

Well from experience, nothing beats my 205/60/14 on 32psi.

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » January 28th, 2015, 5:00 pm

The sticker on the inside of the driver side door latch recommends 195/55 15 as the largest @2.2 bar front and 2 bar rear. 32,30 psi , that's my setup and handles great , suspension components last longer too , my cuz have 18" on his cs you feel every lil bump on the road

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » January 28th, 2015, 5:53 pm

chosen1 wrote:
idlemind wrote:Jade check your plugs and coil packs for oil.
You can be burning off all the oil there.

If the plug seal is leaking..it wouldn't be to the tune of a gallon of oil i dont think, while i agree that he should check for it.

its leaking somewhere and zero may be correct. you should also check to see if you have oil burning as a result of worn rings. check to see if you have oily cooling fluid as well.

No oily fluids...oil isn't burning, I added a lot more oil and so far I've been checking it and Its not going down.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 28th, 2015, 5:55 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:
chosen1 wrote:
idlemind wrote:Jade check your plugs and coil packs for oil.
You can be burning off all the oil there.

If the plug seal is leaking..it wouldn't be to the tune of a gallon of oil i dont think, while i agree that he should check for it.

its leaking somewhere and zero may be correct. you should also check to see if you have oil burning as a result of worn rings. check to see if you have oily cooling fluid as well.

No oily fluids...oil isn't burning, I added a lot more oil and so far I've been checking it and Its not going down.

pass your finger inside the muffler tip, is is black and powdery or oil pastey?

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » January 28th, 2015, 11:49 pm

Thanks for the info guys..was really looking at getting some 17's, but happy for the feedback...anything in particular i need to pay special attention to if i decide to go with the 17's ?? likewise the 15's

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 29th, 2015, 4:26 am

moses_boss12 wrote:Thanks for the info guys..was really looking at getting some 17's, but happy for the feedback...anything in particular i need to pay special attention to if i decide to go with the 17's ?? likewise the 15's

With 17s the lighter the better. Chromes tend to be the heaviest. Don't go ridiculously wide too...a 7" or 7.5" rim width max, if you go wider you will have to flare the fenders. Expect minor rubbing on the fender shield when locking over...it all depends on the offset of the rim and tyre size combination (a 46mm or less offset and 215/45/17 max tyres size). But if you are ok with a lil rub, then don't let these figures hinder your decision.

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » January 29th, 2015, 7:53 am

idlemind wrote:
moses_boss12 wrote:Thanks for the info guys..was really looking at getting some 17's, but happy for the feedback...anything in particular i need to pay special attention to if i decide to go with the 17's ?? likewise the 15's

With 17s the lighter the better. Chromes tend to be the heaviest. Don't go ridiculously wide too...a 7" or 7.5" rim width max, if you go wider you will have to flare the fenders. Expect minor rubbing on the fender shield when locking over...it all depends on the offset of the rim and tyre size combination (a 46mm or less offset and 215/45/17 max tyres size). But if you are ok with a lil rub, then don't let these figures hinder your decision.

Thanks for the info bro !

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 29th, 2015, 8:39 am

hey guys i'm having a lil issue......sometimes when i start on mornings the car cuts off.

I restart and then it idles rough for a lil bit then back to normal.

I changed the plugs and service injectors, still get the problem.

A mechanic suggest that it might be something to do with some part by the gas tank.

Cant remember exactly what he said. :?

Just changed timing belt, bushing and knuckle joint 2 days ago, this car driving me crazyyyy :evil:

:oops:

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » January 29th, 2015, 10:17 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:hey guys i'm having a lil issue......sometimes when i start on mornings the car cuts off.

A mechanic suggest that it might be something to do with some part by the gas tank.

Just changed timing belt, bushing and knuckle joint 2 days ago, this car driving me crazyyyy :evil:

Clean the throttle body and check you air filter... last time this happened to me it ended up being a failing coilpack( i have gdi and that has a minds of its own)... you ll never really know until the coil pack actually ready to give up

If it is a gas/pump related problem it should happen occasionally and not only on cold starts

Ask the old guru idle and see wa he says.

Postby ronsin1 » January 30th, 2015, 5:43 am

nissan4life wrote:
mitsu_chick941 wrote:hey guys i'm having a lil issue......sometimes when i start on mornings the car cuts off.

Clean the throttle body and check you air filter... last time this happened to me it ended up being a failing coilpack( i have gdi and that has a minds of its own)... you ll never really know until the coil pack actually ready to give up

If it is a gas/pump related problem it should happen occasionally and not only on cold starts

Ask the old guru idle and see wa he says.

do you rough idle when the AC is on or just at start up

could be one of two things

IACV or coil packs

inspect the coil packs sometimes there is white residue on top of it if you see that then I recommend you change your coil packs

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 30th, 2015, 10:27 am

@nissan4life i change air filter regularly so i doubt is that but it doesn't happen all the time. Only recently it start back.

@ronsin1 it idles normal otherwise except on some mornings. This morning it didn't cut off but i get the sputtering idle before it went to normal.....i am letting it idle a couple minutes before i leave home.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 30th, 2015, 12:53 pm

Chick. What engine we takking about?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 30th, 2015, 1:01 pm

4g 15

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 30th, 2015, 1:05 pm

GDI or non GDI?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 30th, 2015, 1:11 pm

non gdi

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 30th, 2015, 1:30 pm

Ok so you need to be checking air, fuel and spark with idling/start up issues.

Spark and air are fairly easy to check.

Spark: When the car is idling normal, unplug each coil pack one by one. Whenever one is unplugged the idle is supposed to drop drastically like it wants to cut off, but plug them back in quickly to prevent the cut off. So you unplugging one at a time and quickly plugging back in to prevent cut off. If you notice no change in idle when any is unplugged then you have a failing coil pack and that can be your problem.

Next thing to check is your air intake system. Look at the system from the nozzle until it goes into the air intake manifold. Does it have any electrical plugs along the way or even after it goes into manifold? It should have one below the the last bit of air tubing and at the top of the manifold. You need to have these electrical sensors cleaned. The one above is a MAP sensor and the one below is the Idle control sensor.

Absent to these then you check fuel. Do you use super or premium? Do you wait the the car is on E to full? Do you full up at a run down gas station? It could very well mean you got some bad gas if it only recently happening. If not then you can have the mechanic check the fuel pump and clean out the tea bag filter.

Wait until the gas light comes on and scrap out the back seat and remove the gas pump. You should be able to tell how clean inside your gas tank is.

Other than that you could wait until the gas light comes on, go by a new gas station and put $20 premium and pour in a bottle of octane boost and drive it like you stole it for a 10 minutes. Make sure and kick down a few times.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 30th, 2015, 1:42 pm

idlemind wrote:Ok so you need to be checking air, fuel and spark with idling/start up issues.

Spark and air are fairly easy to check.

Spark: When the car is idling normal, unplug each coil pack one by one. Whenever one is unplugged the idle is supposed to drop drastically like it wants to cut off, but plug them back in quickly to prevent the cut off. So you unplugging one at a time and quickly plugging back in to prevent cut off. If you notice no change in idle when any is unplugged then you have a failing coil pack and that can be your problem.

ok, will try this

Next thing to check is your air intake system. Look at the system from the nozzle until it goes into the air intake manifold. Does it have any electrical plugs along the way or even after it goes into manifold? It should have one below the the last bit of air tubing and at the top of the manifold. You need to have these electrical sensors cleaned. The one above is a MAP sensor and the one below is the Idle control sensor.

Will need some help with this one. :?

Absent to these then you check fuel. Do you use super or premium? Do you wait the the car is on E to full? Do you full up at a run down gas station? It could very well mean you got some bad gas if it only recently happening. If not then you can have the mechanic check the fuel pump and clean out the tea bag filter.

I use super and red line gas treatment once in a while. I full up at mostly at the unipet p/town. I think only once the car ever got to E before full up, i like my tank always above quarter tank.

Wait until the gas light comes on and scrap out the back seat and remove the gas pump. You should be able to tell how clean inside your gas tank is.

will do this also.

Other than that you could wait until the gas light comes on, go by a new gas station and put $20 premium and pour in a bottle of octane boost and drive it like you stole it for a 10 minutes. Make sure and kick down a few times.

will try this one last :lol:

Thanks for the advice :)

Shinmiri.mitsukai

Postby Shinmiri.mitsukai » January 31st, 2015, 3:51 pm

Guys have a cs3a with 4g18 changed the idle sensors already a few months ago but now I find that after I drove for some time car driving good then when I stop and switch off for a few mins and try to start back the engine starts but then idles down to cut off. Only after the car parked for a few hours and seems only when the engine cools down then it starts again. Was told to try changing the cam shaft sensor, the crank shaft sensor. Anyone had a prob like this can give some advice? Really don't know what is the prob.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2015, 12:56 pm

ronsin1 has experience with cam and crank shaft sensor issues

Postby ronsin1 » February 3rd, 2015, 11:54 pm

idlemind wrote:ronsin1 has experience with cam and crank shaft sensor issues

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

btw since yuh buy the kia yuh doh take ppl call

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 4th, 2015, 7:20 am

Ever since you start calling from big shot numbers.

Postby ronsin1 » February 5th, 2015, 12:29 am

I never knew digicel phone was big shot phone

I goin tell my ma and pa I is ah Big shot

Postby Dave » February 5th, 2015, 8:09 am

Look how tables have turned lol
*makes a call to 375xxxx from 365xxxx*

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » February 7th, 2015, 10:40 am

Guys anyone knows where i can get the idle control sensor for the CS3 and the cost of it,want to get on ASAP
Last edited by moses_boss12 on February 7th, 2015, 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

andy111

Postby andy111 » February 7th, 2015, 11:45 am

What the bumber on the sensor..have two..

fras

Postby fras » February 9th, 2015, 1:03 pm

Where selling 4G18 engine or head/block

Return to “MITSUBISHI”