The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

amrit90901

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby amrit90901 » January 14th, 2014, 9:47 am

all who using castrol in their 4g18, anybody having a problem where the engine burning out the oil? i having this problem with the castrol magnatec, and the syntec but i tried the valvoline 20w50 and it not burning the oil... so i confused

Postby Dave » January 14th, 2014, 12:32 pm

Castrols flash point tends to be lower than most others so u r not burning it because of engine wear but the heat of engine evaporates it.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » January 14th, 2014, 1:20 pm

icefox wrote:hey fellas need some help here,got 3 error codes after trapstar scanned my car....
p0136- i think dis the O2 Sensor Circuit
p0400-Exhaust Gas Recirculation Flow
p0622-Generator Field/F Terminal Circuit

ok im really lost here, an i dont no where the hell to start or wat to look for here,tlk to me peeps

first code is O2 sensor. easier to replace than troubleshoot that one as most times the sensor is the problem. Check which sensor is at fault upstream or downstream and just replace, one is on the exhaust manifold ,the other is below the car by the cat.
2nd one is the egr valve, it just might be clogged. Google or youtube how to clean. Most times that solves the problem
Last one you on your own pardner,first time i seeing that code

amrit90901

Postby amrit90901 » January 14th, 2014, 5:06 pm

^^ thanks Dave I was wondering if I might have to rebuild the engine

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2014, 5:07 pm

Dave wrote:Castrols flash point tends to be lower than most others so u r not burning it because of engine wear but the heat of engine evaporates it.

this

i changed to shell helix, the yellow bottle

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 14th, 2014, 6:28 pm

my seals are due for changing (stil waitin on coils) and i've been running amsoil 20w-50 since day 1 and it's beginning to smoke quite alot now so i went along with a recommended 50 body oil (schaeffers) to curb the smoking lil bit, but it still is the same.

Question, would a diff brand of oil in the same straight 50, be the same or diff oil diff additives, hence less smoking???

my choices are NP, CASTROL, SHELL, VALVOLINE and SCHAEFFERS thus far...amsoil/mobil 1 doesn't have str8 50 afaik or as far as i can find...

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 14th, 2014, 6:48 pm

Shell was used in all my lancers. The new owners continue to use them. No issues and it helps with the hydraulic lifter noise. the top cover was removed from my ex ck at 200k+km no gunk or discolor.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 14th, 2014, 6:49 pm

Oh never used the yellow. Just the blue in the cb, ck, cs , they grey was used in both CY's

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 14th, 2014, 9:42 pm

NP 10-30 checking in......no oil burning either

davidboyce

Postby davidboyce » January 14th, 2014, 10:04 pm

Hi lancer tuners.. Is there anyone here with an old 4g15 cs2 or 4g18 engine? I need the tappet pan cover. I warp my bolt points over tightening in trying to seat the plug seals better. Much appreciated thank you

trapstar

Postby trapstar » January 14th, 2014, 11:33 pm

davidboyce wrote:Hi lancer tuners.. Is there anyone here with an old 4g15 cs2 or 4g18 engine? I need the tappet pan cover. I warp my bolt points over tightening in trying to seat the plug seals better. Much appreciated thank you

I have an engine complete engine for sale call me 7852810

icefox

Postby icefox » January 15th, 2014, 4:33 pm

nissan4life wrote:
icefox wrote:hey fellas need some help here,got 3 error codes after trapstar scanned my car....
p0136- i think dis the O2 Sensor Circuit
p0400-Exhaust Gas Recirculation Flow
p0622-Generator Field/F Terminal Circuit

ok im really lost here, an i dont no where the hell to start or wat to look for here,tlk to me peeps

first code is O2 sensor. easier to replace than troubleshoot that one as most times the sensor is the problem. Check which sensor is at fault upstream or downstream and just replace, one is on the exhaust manifold ,the other is below the car by the cat.
2nd one is the egr valve, it just might be clogged. Google or youtube how to clean. Most times that solves the problem
Last one you on your own pardner,first time i seeing that code

i cleaned the egr valve, an im gonna change the sensor, but the last code im lost as hell

Postby wagonrunner » January 15th, 2014, 4:41 pm

that code refers to an issue with alternator.

Possible causes
- Battery charge
- Faulty Generator
- Generator harness is open or shorted
- Generator circuit poor electrical connection
- Engine Control Module (ECM) controlled generator
- Faulty ECM

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 15th, 2014, 10:14 pm

amrit90901 wrote:all who using castrol in their 4g18, anybody having a problem where the engine burning out the oil? i having this problem with the castrol magnatec, and the syntec but i tried the valvoline 20w50 and it not burning the oil... so i confused

yeah amrit I used Castrol and oil burning too .......but do u think that Castrol is Mitsubishi enemy ...the wifey mazda and big sis almera using Castrol 20w-50 and no burning ......with the lancer on morning when I start up , I would let it warm up for about 5 mins and when I pull off a big puff of blue smoke and oil burning smell and that's the only time for the day

Postby BrotherHood » January 15th, 2014, 11:27 pm

I switched from Castrol because of that dred. Always hadda top up on oil. Currently using Royal Purple 15w40 on meh 188000 plus Kms 4G18 engine. Running much quieter, car feels lighter. No issues.

Postby wagonrunner » January 15th, 2014, 11:49 pm

I tried castrol 20W50 in my GA15DE (nissan) engine. Had to keep topping up because of the same burn off.
I'm an NP dude right through with all the other vehicles. The CS3 does enjoy the valvoline 10W30 though (dyno'd higher than with the shell blue). Never got to try NP in that one.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » January 16th, 2014, 8:51 am

icefox wrote:i cleaned the egr valve, an im gonna change the sensor, but the last code im lost as hell

icefox after cleaning the egr valve whats the status?
wagonrunner is right after a lil search the p0622 code on evolutionx forum relates to the alternator fr terminal.
"the alternator "FR" terminal is the "charging rate" signal from the alternator. It's [a signal] to the ECU..."
This could mean you alternator is bad or jus the wiring going to it could be loose or damaged.Make sure harnesses going to alternator is plugged in snugg.
You could also be old school and start the car and disconnect battery to see if alternator is hold a charge, or just have a electrician see if you receiving a steady flow from alternator.

fellas i use to use castrol magnatec which is a semi synethic. Runs to maracus and paramin use to have the car smokin blue puffs.
Have since switched to NP 20/50 since i heard idlmind and some other suggest. Np is richer and somehow seems to last longer before the velocity breaks down.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 16th, 2014, 11:26 am

NP flash point is way higher than other brands and developed for our climate. The specifics is somewhere in this thread. I used NP 15w40 which I highly recommend for CS owners. The ratings are the same or better than a lot of the Shell/Castrol/Mobil1 etc and priced competitively.

amrit90901

Postby amrit90901 » January 16th, 2014, 5:14 pm

i used castrol in all my other vehicles, when i had my primera it used to burn out the oil n i switched to mobil 1, i will try another brand when i changing oil again, my engine presently doin 220000+ km and never had any serious problems so far only the oil thing otherwise my car working real good,

mety57

Postby mety57 » January 16th, 2014, 7:08 pm

i bought Valvoline today so I,ll let allyuh know how it woking

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » January 16th, 2014, 7:09 pm

The blue bottle Shell or Total

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 17th, 2014, 2:05 pm

idlemind wrote:NP flash point is way higher than other brands and developed for our climate. The specifics is somewhere in this thread. I used NP 15w40 which I highly recommend for CS owners. The ratings are the same or better than a lot of the Shell/Castrol/Mobil1 etc and priced competitively.

X2 allyuh fellas have money buying Mobil1 and shell etc

SAE rating for NP is the same plus NP cheaper

Postby wagonrunner » January 17th, 2014, 2:15 pm

direct results of a bigger problem. "nothing made here could be good".
happy for them.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 17th, 2014, 2:19 pm

Is de tun up face yuh does get from the mech wen yuh pull out the NP from de bag for him. Lol

Postby ronsin1 » January 17th, 2014, 2:58 pm

idlemind wrote:Is de tun up face yuh does get from the mech wen yuh pull out the NP from de bag for him. Lol

dan the only time I use NP oil is in meh ole austin not is any of the lancers or the sportero.

and in the austin yuh change oil once and yuh good for about 20 years :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 17th, 2014, 3:07 pm

Where your mechanic shop located again??? Lol

Postby ronsin1 » January 17th, 2014, 3:40 pm

^^^ under the mango tree

Postby Dave » January 17th, 2014, 4:00 pm

I have mentioned this already and will say again. The garage I am affiliated with and when it had drag racing in wallerfield had 5 L28 prepped cars all spraying nitrous and ran from 13 secs and under and all ran np ultra and never did any have engine oil issues. Even the sub 14 sec sr20 ran ultra

Postby Ted_v2 » January 17th, 2014, 6:27 pm

Np oils are built well. Made for the local climate, and doesn't have a low flash point

death365

Postby death365 » January 18th, 2014, 10:02 am

How much kilos ah have again when. D first gas light comes on... Usually @ 2 clicks before E

Return to “MITSUBISHI”