The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Nalissa

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby Nalissa » November 18th, 2013, 1:22 pm

Has anyone ever had to replace their fuel pump on their cs3?

QG

Postby QG » November 18th, 2013, 2:30 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
QG wrote:
still tippin' wrote:Just want to find out with regards to the 04-06 CS. How do you know if a transmission is cvt?

The Transmission would be label L,D2,D3,N,R,P.
Also when you floor the x, your rpm would remain above the 6,000rpm while your speed increases.

I have an '05 CS. Mine is P,R,N,D,Ds,L .
Ds- Drive sporty. This gear is to be used extra power when ascending an incline and to assist with braking when going downhill.

Oh yeah, its Ds, then D.

Postby BrotherHood » November 19th, 2013, 2:26 am

nissan4life, how it working/looking?

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » November 19th, 2013, 9:07 am

BrotherHood wrote:nissan4life, how it working/looking?

Havnt gotten the time to install, will do it today hopefully and i go let you know.

Postby BrotherHood » November 19th, 2013, 9:39 am

nissan4life wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:nissan4life, how it working/looking?

Havnt gotten the time to install, will do it today hopefully and i go let you know.

Cool. :cool:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 19th, 2013, 12:35 pm

gastly369 wrote:hey guys some assistance please.

so i have a cs2 glx lancer with a 4g18 engine. bought the car abt 2 weeks now and noticed 2 days ago the temperature gauge started rising to almost right up while driving with the ac on. as soon as i cut of the ac the temp went back down to half.now this problem happens occasionally. this morning i drove the car with the ac for abt an hr and half at a relatively high speed and temp remained normal.

so i checked the mechanic today to see wat might be the problem checked for a thermostat but it was previously removed and there is no water leaks. the fan seems to be working normal as i took the ac of and waited for the engine to build a heat for the fan to come on and it did at a normal speed, when the ac is on it runs at full speed. the mechanic suggested a second fan installed as the car came with one fan so i checked the ac man and he installed one to the front of the condensor.

took the car out for some errands this afternoon and noticed the gauge rising again but not as high as before but still rising and dropping so it seems the second fan is helping but im still concerned as to why the gauge is rising. this only happens wen the ac is on.

also the radiator has been changed to a metal radiator and i flushed it yesterday and the water came out clean.

any assistance please thanks

you ever changed the water pump? maybe the blades are rusted and not able to pump the water fast enough

or it could be that some coolant rubber hoses are collapsing and causing a starvation

once your fan comes on at normal operating temperature then nothing is wrong with the coolant temperature sensor

amrit90901

Postby amrit90901 » November 19th, 2013, 3:53 pm

When I had this problem I changed the fan module, n that was it if it's a 4g18 the most likely it has the two single fans, if u get a good used one u'll be lucky I bought a brand new one in diamond motors for $1800

Postby BrotherHood » November 19th, 2013, 5:49 pm

EXODUS, let me know how those bulbs work.

Sent from my Super Laptop via a Phase Beam :lol:

Postby gastly369 » November 19th, 2013, 7:30 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:

you ever changed the water pump? maybe the blades are rusted and not able to pump the water fast enough

or it could be that some coolant rubber hoses are collapsing and causing a starvation

once your fan comes on at normal operating temperature then nothing is wrong with the coolant temperature sensor

i'll have to find out from the previous owner if he ever changed the pump. as for the hoses they seem to be oem from production so ill take a look at them. one person suggested there might be air in the system. is that possible?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 19th, 2013, 9:24 pm

BrotherHood wrote:EXODUS, let me know how those bulbs work.

boi one of the 68 smd leds came loose :S. the other shows fine... the T20 doesn't fit nowhere... the rest is fine. i need a pair of the 12 LED dome light when next in pos and also the 68 smd leds

Postby BrotherHood » November 19th, 2013, 11:47 pm

EXODUS wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:EXODUS, let me know how those bulbs work.

boi one of the 68 smd leds came loose :S. the other shows fine... the T20 doesn't fit nowhere... the rest is fine. i need a pair of the 12 LED dome light when next in pos and also the 68 smd leds

Ok well return the pair of 68LED and the T20. I will replace the 68LED but what's wrong with the T20?. Ordered the wrong size base or something? Anyhow, if you want, I will refund you the cost of the T20.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 20th, 2013, 7:47 am

gastly369 wrote:
turbo_beast369 wrote:

i'll have to find out from the previous owner if he ever changed the pump. as for the hoses they seem to be oem from production so ill take a look at them. one person suggested there might be air in the system. is that possible?

probably yes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUpXgAJ1gjU

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 20th, 2013, 3:02 pm

more parts

looking for some one to polyurethane the old mounts.

I ordered the 4g93 plug seal gasket like this by mistake, pic of it a couple pages back, willing to let it go for 100

Last edited by ZeroOne on November 20th, 2013, 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby BrotherHood » November 20th, 2013, 3:33 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
turbo_beast369 wrote:

probably yes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUpXgAJ1gjU

ZeroOne wrote:more parts

looking for some one to polyurethane the old mounts.

[size=150]Image

Those engine mounts look like 'd sheit' self! Can't beat original.

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 20th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Nalissa wrote:Has anyone ever had to replace their fuel pump on their cs3?

not yet but why yuh ask?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 20th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Walbro one time

Postby gastly369 » November 20th, 2013, 9:30 pm

thanks for the link turbo_beast369 will give it a check tmr and see if it helps.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 21st, 2013, 9:11 am

Nalissa wrote:Has anyone ever had to replace their fuel pump on their cs3?

yep i had to when my walbro one failed when i installed the 93t. i got severe sputter and had to keep my foot on the gas pedal or else it wud cut off and my gears weren't changing when i mashed the kick down or even to overtake. i replaced it with the same walbro and it serves me fine up to this day... regular servicing it required and well change gas filter every yr or so

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 21st, 2013, 9:16 am

no problem...our engines don't have coolant bleeders like that honda engine tho but turning on the

heater might help who knows....what you can also do is start the engine when cold and open the

radiator cap and leave it open until the coolant level rises and start to bubble over like in the video....

Postby BrotherHood » November 23rd, 2013, 6:07 pm

Biggs, thanks a lot pal. Really appreciate it. *bonx*

Postby Ted_v2 » November 23rd, 2013, 8:24 pm

Or you could do the same what he said but flip a half way filled 2 liter bottle and it will work

star369

Postby star369 » November 23rd, 2013, 8:59 pm

Flush radiator check all water jackets for small leaks that may be evaporating so u wont see carry by electrician and make sure the both speeds are hooked up

star369

Postby star369 » November 23rd, 2013, 9:00 pm

Flush radiator check all water jackets for small leaks that may be evaporating so u wont see carry by electrician and make sure the both speeds are hooked up

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » November 24th, 2013, 12:54 am

BrotherHood wrote:Biggs, thanks a lot pal. Really appreciate it. *bonx*

U good to go now....i passed through by daniel earlier on today (saturday)...ended up giving him d bulbs as he told me he needed for his ID plates...hope u.doh mind...

Postby BrotherHood » November 24th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:

U good to go now....i passed through by daniel earlier on today (saturday)...ended up giving him d bulbs as he told me he needed for his ID plates...hope u.doh mind...

No problem at all. He will like them.

still tippin'

Postby still tippin' » November 25th, 2013, 2:02 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
QG wrote:
still tippin' wrote:Just want to find out with regards to the 04-06 CS. How do you know if a transmission is cvt?

Also when you floor the x, your rpm would remain above the 6,000rpm while your speed increases.

Ds- Drive sporty. This gear is to be used extra power when ascending an incline and to assist with braking when going downhill.

Thanks for the info. Well almost all I have seen have that. Is it difficult to find these lancers with a non-cvt transmission? I have read most of this thread and I know that the cvt just requires proper and timely maintenance, but do I have anything to fear with it especially if buying a second-hand car. Thanks

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » November 25th, 2013, 2:33 pm

Let someone familiar with cvt test drive d car first...d glx models dont give as much trouble as non glx...well at least I saw it posted here on tuner...

If u purchase, have fluid checked and changed immediately if required...no mashing out from stand stills...

Postby BrotherHood » November 25th, 2013, 10:39 pm

still tippin' wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:
QG wrote:

Thanks for the info. Well almost all I have seen have that. Is it difficult to find these lancers with a non-cvt transmission? I have read most of this thread and I know that the cvt just requires proper and timely maintenance, but do I have anything to fear with it especially if buying a second-hand car. Thanks

That's it! Do that and you will have nothing to fear.
With regards to purchasing a second-hand one, if you don't have any friends with CVT or cannot have them available them to test drive it on your behalf, pay particular attention to the pull off. If the takeoff is sluggish and/or if there is vibration/s felt on pull off, the transmission is bad/on it's way to failure.
Regardless, the first thing you would want to do is flush the transmission upon purchase.

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » November 27th, 2013, 10:41 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
Biggs3ne wrote:

Yea guys thanks.looking bess!!wen we doin d lancer meet ppl?

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » November 27th, 2013, 10:42 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
Biggs3ne wrote:

Yea guys thanks.looking bess!!wen we doin d lancer meet ppl?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”