Timing belt burst what to do?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Tonio2000

Timing belt burst what to do?

Postby Tonio2000 » May 16th, 2013, 10:57 pm

I have a Mitsubishi Lancer CS2A a PCC model, it is a SOHC engine and i think its a 1.5, but it is a 4WD. Today the timing belt burst, the mechanic changed it cause after towing the car and it still wont start, he planning on scrapping it tomorrow and tell me i can go look for the parts. what is my best option?

should i go see if i get the parts and build it back ? will i get the parts and where?
or
should i change the engine? if so which engine will bolt up easily and be able to work with this transmission that i have?

xtech

Re: Timing belt burst what to do?

Postby xtech » May 16th, 2013, 11:50 pm

That engine mash up. That's why it won't start. Do a YouTube search for broken timing belt to see the kind of damage pistons and valves recieve

I See a new engine in your future

Postby Ted_v2 » May 17th, 2013, 9:22 pm

usually when the timing belt burst, the valves bend due to hitting the top of the pistons. pistons can also be damaged when this happens.

the best thing is to get a foreign used head and block/or engine

redserv

Postby redserv » May 19th, 2013, 10:57 am

hey can you guys tell me the original part # for the timing belt for CS2A lancer SOHC please?

ravi_kyle

Postby ravi_kyle » August 28th, 2013, 11:00 am

Notting would go wrong to the engine unless you try stating the car this can cause damage to your valves and changing a new head....other than that just change the belt .....

Postby BrotherHood » August 28th, 2013, 2:58 pm

Tonio2000 wrote:I have a Mitsubishi Lancer CS2A a PCC model, it is a SOHC engine and i think its a 1.5, but it is a 4WD. Today the timing belt burst, the mechanic changed it cause after towing the car and it still wont start, he planning on scrapping it tomorrow and tell me i can go look for the parts. what is my best option?

should i go see if i get the parts and build it back ? will i get the parts and where?or
should i change the engine? if so which engine will bolt up easily and be able to work with this transmission that i have?

When the timing belt burst, what did you do? Continued driving or did you stop immediately. If you continued driving or tried restarting the car, sorry to say, but yuh engine mash up.
Look for a foreign used engine and do the swap.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”