Brake Upgrades for CK Mivec?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Re: Brake Upgrades for CK Mivec?

Postby Rudman » June 17th, 2011, 1:53 pm

If you guys ever interested in running the Akebono application for the MIVEC, it's ACT 484 for the PROACT ceramic.

Bess could give yuh the review, he running them on his car now.

fras

Postby fras » June 17th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Morpheus wonder if these rotors are the same size?
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=365320

Postby Morpheus » June 17th, 2011, 10:44 pm

^^And look at the price.... would have been worth a check honestly :-/

Sanctifier

Re:

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2011, 3:43 pm

Sanctifier wrote:Mivec/1800 GSR BRAKE UPGRADE:
Stage 1: ... Evo 4/VR4 2-pot front calipers... PLUS E4/VR4 Master cylinder
................ PLUS OEM (E4/VR4) pads.

Stage 2: ... Stage 1 parts... PLUS 1-1½" WIDER rims & tyres.

Stage 3: ... Evo 5-9 BREMBO calipers (4-pot front / 2-pot rear)... PLUS E5-9 Master cylinder/Booster...
................ PLUS 17" Evo rims & tyres.

Stage 4: ... Stage 3 parts... PLUS Evo X rotors ft & rr... (Evo X MR Rotors are BIGGER/LIGHTER than E5-9)
................ PLUS 18" (Evo X ???) rims & tyres...

PHYSICS: Same braking effort + Greater "Moment of force" (bigger Rotors) = SHORTER Stopping Distance!

Your choice... BTW I went with Stage 3 for my GSR/Evo 6 conversion...
Just bought another set (ft. & rr.) for upcoming rwd Lancer 1800 GSR Project... No regrets. :wink:

EDIT: PHYSICS: Same braking effort + Greater "Moment of force" (bigger Rotors) = SHORTER Stopping Distance!...
Upgrading to Stage 4 for the Evo 6 RS2 Solodex project now. Bought the FRONT Evo X bits a couple months ago...
FRONT 2-piece 350mm Rotors, calipers, stone-shields, bolts etc.

Sanctifier wrote:BTW OEM Evo X rear rotors and calipers are NOT a bolt-in job in CKs or Evos 4-9.
Hunting for REAR slotted 330mm rotors and adapter plates for OEM 2-pot rear Brembos now.

Should be interesting when installed! 8-) :twisted:

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on June 20th, 2011, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » June 20th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Sweet. Pics of install? Wanna gape. Big brakes does look so lovely :oops:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2011, 4:11 pm

All I have so far are pix of used parts...
ImageImage

Long time before installed pix, I'm afraid.
1) Going abroad in a few days, for a month. (Family & Health first.)

2) On return, new farm to establish I hope! (If land purchase goes through)... ($$$ second.)

3) Car Projects restart. (Fun last, padna.)
Sanctifier wrote:1st : Trial assembly of engine & drivetrain etc. with all new bits...
2nd : Strip (& label :roll: )... DIY soda-blast on rotisserie 8-) ... DIY Stitch-weld 8-) ... DIY FoamSeal :roll: ... DIY Bodywork & Paint :roll: ...& on...& on!
3rd : DIY Reassemble... DIY Engine Install & "Tune"... DIY Chassis & Brake "Setup" etc. etc...
All that lot maybe in 18-24 months after new farm starts operation next year... :roll:

Morpheus, I only have 1 pair of hands... Do you want to handle pix for me occasionally, during DIY build?
If not, any volunteer from Petit Valley/Diego Martin area? "PM" or call me in early August... 684-4552.

Postby Morpheus » June 20th, 2011, 6:56 pm

^^Man if you want me to wash parts I dey!! LoL.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2011, 7:57 pm

^ ^ ^ We'll talk when I get back. :)

Postby Morpheus » July 15th, 2011, 7:15 pm

UPDATE: Collected and installed the rotors this afternoon (They landed just over a week ago). Everything is smooth now. On accelerating and braking - zero shaking/shimmying. Thanks for all your input.

NOTE: When the old discs were totally removed, only then was the scale of the problem seen properly. The inner surface especially was bad.

*Thanks for the heads up fras. They more or less the exact dimensions 8-)

Image New disc
ImageOld Disc
ImageUnevenly worn 3 week old Wagner pads. Apparently the previous pads were Bluebird SSS pads, hence the more narrow wear line :?
ImageHairline cracks on one of the old discs.
ImageCompleted
Last edited by Morpheus on July 16th, 2011, 3:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

fras

Postby fras » July 15th, 2011, 9:03 pm

Nice man... What pads u running with the new rotors?

Postby Morpheus » July 16th, 2011, 3:16 am

^^Used back the same Wagner brand (Galant E23A I think I saw on the box) as it was available at the time. What do you recommend?

Postby Morpheus » July 16th, 2011, 3:23 am

U should try to get oe pads or better tho!
I have the part numbers for oe, mintex, ebc red & green stuff if u need!

^^My bad :oops: Link me those numbers. Thanks!

fras

Postby fras » July 16th, 2011, 10:03 am

OE: MR389537 / MB699266 / MB699702 / MB858375

EBC Redstuff: DP3830C / MR389537 / MB699266 / MB699702 / MB858375

Mintex: MDB1509M1144

Postby Morpheus » July 16th, 2011, 3:27 pm

^^Thanks a Mil

Postby Morpheus » July 19th, 2011, 4:25 am

BTW I haven't heard anyone mention rear disc pads. Are they the same as Galant as well?

Also what type of grease do you use for the slide pins?
Last edited by Morpheus on December 4th, 2011, 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fras

Postby fras » July 23rd, 2011, 9:02 am

^I always ask for ck pads and get the correct ones... So I guess they are all the same

kbl

Postby kbl » October 20th, 2011, 10:03 pm

where to get OEM brake pads or any recommended brake pads for CK4?

fras

Postby fras » October 24th, 2011, 6:42 am

^Not sure... W2J or The OEM Source maybe able to provide or DM

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » November 2nd, 2011, 6:39 am

Hey guys I have a pair of vr4 4piston calipers (used) and vr4 power slot slotted front rotors(brand new) for sale
Was gonna put it on my lancer but I can't get any 17" rims to accommodate the large rotor caliper combination if anyone interested give me a call 759-8266 michael
Also I have the vr4 1 1/16 master cylinder and booster I put the cylinder on my car so I just have the booster.

Sanctifier

Re: Re:

Postby Sanctifier » December 4th, 2011, 2:25 pm

Sanctifier wrote:Stage 3: Evo 5-9 BREMBO calipers (4-pot ft / 2-pot rr) + E5-9 Master cylinder/Booster + 17" Evo rims & tyres.

Stage 4: Stage 3 parts... + Evo X rotors ft & "aftermarket" rr + 18" (Evo X ???) rims & tyres...

PHYSICS: Same braking effort + Greater "Moment of force" (bigger Rotors) = SHORTER Stopping Distance!
Your choice... BTW I went with Stage 3 for my GSR/Evo 6 conversion...

Upgrading to Stage 4 for the Evo 6 RS2 Solodex project now. Bought the FRONT Evo X bits a couple months ago...
FRONT 2-piece 350mm Rotors, calipers, stone-shields, bolts etc.

Hunting for REAR slotted 330mm rotors and adapter plates for OEM 2-pot rear Brembos now...
DONE!... Just bought a "used" StopTech ST22 Rear Big Brake kit from AMS (eBay) at more than $1000 US off regular retail price + FREE shipping to my Miami freight forwarder... Score "1000+ points" for me. :twisted:
SPECS: StopTech ST22 328mm slotted rotors + calipers + adapter plates + flex S/S brake lines etc.
Straight "bolt-on" job to E6 and should be VERY close to OEM E10 rear setup so hopefully, OEM E6 Master Cylinder will work well here. With around 700 lbs. less weight than an E10 GSR, my E6 should stop okay.
Sanctifier wrote:BTW also scored a "used" set of E10 GSR rims (1,200 miles old) - 4 x 18" x 8.5" on eBay. Alleged to be "unmarked". 8-)
Should be delivered this week... together with (yup eBay again) US E8 RS LSD + axles + both rear members.
Yup, Christmas is shaping up pretty good so far. The E6 Solodex Project is underway again at last. :evilbat:

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » December 11th, 2011, 2:38 am

how do you find all these goodies man?

let me know whenever you need my help.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 11th, 2011, 6:09 am

chindian88 wrote:how do you find all these goodies man?
let me know whenever you need my help.
how do you find all these goodies man?... It's called "lurking"!... :evilbat: ... :lol:
No really, it's weeks of searching eBay, Amazon etc... and luck. :wink:

EDIT: e.g. Just hit on another goodie for my Evo 6 Stage 4 brake system about an hour after first posting this reply...
I'll post details when I get it. Parts are too expensive these days to take a chance on more details right now.

BTW thanks for the offer to help. I'll be in touch early next year.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 12th, 2011, 5:02 am

^ ^ ^ SCORE: ---> AMS Evo X Brake Cooling Kit.

AMS Retail = $546 + $20 US Shipping :roll: ... eBay = $199 US + Free Shipping to Miami. Sounds reasonable. :lol:
This will save a lot of time instead of having to fabricate it.

The Stage 4 "big-brake" parts-chase is almost done. Just one more set of lightweight 18" x 9"-9.5" rims to find now.
Since I can't afford $30,000+ TT/set :roll: , it will have to be an eBay "special" again (I hope.) 8-)

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » December 14th, 2011, 12:41 am

would the brakes from a cs5 be a considerable upgrade? seeing that the car comes stock with the 4g93t. i think they are 10" in the front not sure about the back. think they are single pot calipers, not sure?
yes i know they are 5 hole.
would it be better to just go with the vr4 rotor and caliper? but what about the back, already have discs in the rear..
not planning on going turbo anytime soon or anything.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 14th, 2011, 6:13 am

cs5 brakes... yes i know they are 5 hole... There's your answer.

considerable upgrade... IMHO if you have to change to 5-stud hubs to fit CS5 rotors & calipers (and buy CS5 rims too), you might be better off upgrading to E3/E4/VR4 brakes and wheels front & rear. Straight bolt-on job and MUCH better stopping power. Just make sure to use the appropriate Master cylinder as well.

BTW I have been advised by those who know, that Image Evo 4 brake pads are the best choice for an upgrade to E4 brakes.

Link--> How To "Evolutionize" your Lancer!

My $0.02¢

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » December 14th, 2011, 4:55 pm

anyone have any idea on the average price for E3/E4/VR4 brakes front & rear, with hand brakes cable and MC?

and what size spare would you have to use?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 14th, 2011, 5:15 pm

^ ^ ^ Sorry, I never looked for E4 brakes. My old 4wd 1800 GSR was upgraded to E6 Brembos.

PM MISHI. He may be able to help... better yet, try ebay. You never know, you may get lucky.

fras

Postby fras » December 14th, 2011, 7:20 pm

I paid $1500 for E3 front brakes setup...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 14th, 2011, 11:43 pm

chindian88 wrote:anyone have any idea on the average price for E3/E4/VR4 brakes front & rear, with hand brakes cable and MC?

and what size spare would you have to use?

Depends on what car it's going on:

EVO 1-3 276mm rotors will work as a good upgrade to the CB/ CK crowd. Fronts will be Upgraded to 4 x 114.3

E4/VR4 are 5 hole.

Rears you're limited on a FWD vehicle to MIVEC rear discs also 4 x 114.3

I can't say price off hand, but general price range is 1500 -2000 for fronts inclusive of spindles, caliper etc & 2000 - 3000 for rear complete with trailing arm and cables

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » December 30th, 2011, 1:14 am

Sanctifier wrote:cs5 brakes... yes i know they are 5 hole... There's your answer.

considerable upgrade... IMHO if you have to change to 5-stud hubs to fit CS5 rotors & calipers (and buy CS5 rims too), you might be better off upgrading to E3/E4/VR4 brakes and wheels front & rear. Straight bolt-on job and MUCH better stopping power. Just make sure to use the appropriate Master cylinder as well.

BTW I have been advised by those who know, that Image Evo 4 brake pads are the best choice for an upgrade to E4 brakes.

Link--> How To "Evolutionize" your Lancer!

My $0.02¢

i got 5 stud vr4 fronts and cs5w 5 stud rears on mine... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: its amazing... i know now what 'hitting the brake hard' now means

Return to “MITSUBISHI”