The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

slick

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby slick » November 10th, 2011, 2:21 am

Thanks for the info on the belts peeps

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 10th, 2011, 5:23 pm

xtech wrote:who can gap iridium's?

i guess u can if u have the right guage

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 11th, 2011, 1:17 pm

mety57 wrote:

That was a trick question.

Spark plugs come pre gapped.

NGK is OEM BTW.

ZeroOne wrote:
I installed the OEM plugs last week.

My previous BOSCH plugs were completely burnt out there was no pin in the middle.

No speed increase from the NGK but no more fuel scent coming from the exhaust and the fuel needle takes longer to drop so I'm sure that im getting better gas mileage.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 11th, 2011, 6:19 pm

That was a trick question. Here is the answer I found on another forum......

I have seen a lot of arguing about whether you should or shouldn't gap iridium plugs. Some say the iridium coating is so thin that the feeler gauge will damage or scrape it off.

Well, I decided to get some more factual info, so here is a direct reply from an NGK technician:

The coating is not the issue when checking the gap but rather the iridium being such a hard material it is brittle and snap off if gapped improperly. When gapping you do not want to apply any pressure or prying force to the fine wire center electrode or insulator or it can be broken and is not warranted. You want to adjust the plug only from the ground electrode. Sliding a tool across the iridium electrode will not damage it though as long as excess pressure is not applied. I am also including a photo of the proper way to gap the plugs. Thanks.

Best regards,

Brandon Peeler

Technical Support Representative

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 12th, 2011, 12:36 am

ZeroOne wrote:
mety57 wrote:

That was a trick question.

Spark plugs come pre gapped.

NGK is OEM BTW.

ZeroOne wrote:
I installed the OEM plugs last week.

My previous BOSCH plugs were completely burnt out there was no pin in the middle.

No speed increase from the NGK but no more fuel scent coming from the exhaust and the fuel needle takes longer to drop so I'm sure that im getting better gas mileage.

i notice when i use the oem plugs i get a slower take off than the normal bkr5es

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » November 12th, 2011, 3:57 pm

^^^ the plugs are suited to a specific type. the NGK 5 series is for lower RON (super) as compared to the 6 series for premium. straight outta the manual :D

so, today i took EVA to DM for a check-up, because i heard some funny noises from the front... seems the right ball joint boot is busted, and the ball bearing is starting to go bad. what replacement would you guys recommend, as OEM isn't available?
they also said they'd have to tack it if they change it, as it was originally designed to replace the entire cradle :S

also, the poly end links i put on the stabilizer bar seems to have caused it to vibrate more than usual, damaging the sta-bar mounts. any idea where i can get these, preferably poly?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 12th, 2011, 4:13 pm

Tein USA sells then online.

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 13th, 2011, 1:58 pm

eva / zero what i,m saying is when i use bkr5 or 6 i get a better performance than the oem bkr6euc but i was wondering if it,s cause of the gapping

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » November 14th, 2011, 8:56 am

EVA you can get Sankei Industry Three Five (Made in Japan) ball joints for like around $185, I got mine by Marud's in Marabella they had it the cheapest out ah d places I checked but u could do your calls...replaced both my ball joints but my left side ball joint had to get tack welded by a muffler shop with a mig welder (that was the first time we met by Tone)...it would have been so nice if our cradles were designed with unboltable ball joints so you doh have to take off d entire cradle to press it out...I suspect that I had to tack weld my left side ball joint because tone bent my cradle when they pressed it out, the right side pressed in tight and still goin strong

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 14th, 2011, 4:09 pm

Project evo7 lancer might be finishing sooner, but not rwd again.
Last edited by TeamH2O on November 14th, 2011, 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 14th, 2011, 6:01 pm

mety57 wrote:eva / zero what i,m saying is when i use bkr5 or 6 i get a better performance than the oem bkr6euc but i was wondering if it,s cause of the gapping

Same gapping on all.

Only difference is the heat rating.

Triple_T

Postby Triple_T » November 15th, 2011, 12:40 pm

Bajan 4G93 turbo driver here. Let me say I cannot find a more thorough CS5W thread online anywhere else! Excellent stuff guys. Learning a lot here.

Now to the issue at hand. Has anyone had issues running rich? I've found that my plugs are fouling quite quickly, and getting the smell of burnt oil. Been reading up on how dirty O2 sensors could lead to this. Other say it could be the MAF sensor. Anyone else had this issue?

The funny thing too is that the check engine light only comes on when number one plug is shorted out, so it could be a bad seal underneath that cylinder. Any ideas?

anielkhan

Postby anielkhan » November 15th, 2011, 5:51 pm

GOT a crashed red CS5 RALLY ART LANCER WAGON FOR SALE FRONT RIGHT HAND SIDE DAMAGED FOR DETAILS CALL 389-6009

Postby cinco » November 17th, 2011, 2:36 pm

fellas anyone have an IACV to sell i desperately need one

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 17th, 2011, 9:37 pm

aye fellas whats the difference between the plugs bkr6ekud and bkr6ekuc ....now the guy at the parts place the uc is for the gdi galant and the ud is for the gdi lancer will there be a difference if i used the uc

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 17th, 2011, 10:33 pm

C is for non turbo 4g93 gdi and D is for turbo 4g93 gdi.

But C and D works well on any engine, had no problems

mety57

Postby mety57 » November 18th, 2011, 1:49 pm

aye thks a-1 how the project btw

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 18th, 2011, 4:50 pm

^^The gdi 4g93t on hold, i think i might need an ecu for it.

The other project is basically ended, keeping the skyline so the project will be for sale.

At a cheap price of 35K for everything, evo parts, engine, registered car pbz and front frame to repair etc. EVERYTHING needed, is just to fix and install.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 20th, 2011, 10:36 am

hey guys...i've finally pulled thru with my gsr 93t project, pics up later... but i'm in need of an accessory tensioner. can anyone point me in the right direction in obtaining 1 or cud get 1 4 me? or cud any tensioner from any other mitsu engine work?

bcozier

Postby bcozier » November 21st, 2011, 2:42 pm

I am looking for a cs3 glx head & block, if anyone has or knows anybody that does, could you pls let me know

i dont mind even if head gasket blow

I'll appreciate any help..thanks tuners

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » November 28th, 2011, 9:17 pm

what you guys think of this gadget?
http://tunertools.com/proddetail.asp?prod=PLX-DM6

i also want some feedback on a cold air intake and free flow exhaust for a cs3 lancer, would it have any gain in performance?
i have the 4g18 model

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 29th, 2011, 9:17 am

My inspiration! Same colour mines is going in!

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 5th, 2011, 6:23 pm

afta da build

visit mitsu pic thread for further goodies :D

sharky!

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » December 6th, 2011, 7:35 am

^how come your cs front sittin so low

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 6th, 2011, 7:56 am

usin megan drop springs on kyb nitrogen shocks (10mm shorter than regular ones). n the springs r startin 2 sag a lil so slight fender rubbin when locking... looking for a set of coilovers also

Triple_T

Postby Triple_T » December 6th, 2011, 8:03 am

Had D2 coil overs on my turbo wagon for about 2 years now and they haven't missed a beat. Just my 2 cents. :mrgreen:

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » December 6th, 2011, 11:23 am

geometron what transmission you used on the 93T?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 6th, 2011, 3:06 pm

mivec tiptronic

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » December 6th, 2011, 3:44 pm

so everything sorted out with it?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 6th, 2011, 4:09 pm

yepz :D .. jus valve seals makin lil noise...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”